FANDOM


Scout art

Aliens love to mess with people, and they love to mess with other players even more. From bouncing minions back to players’ hands, to replacing bases in play, aliens are out to have a great time, at any planet’s expense.

- Core Set rulebook

The Aliens are one of the eight factions from the Core Set.

Aliens are able to neutralize opponent minions in unorthodox ways, usually by returning minions to their hand, and to return your minions, allowing you to replay them again and again.

Cards Edit

Aliens

The Aliens have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is slightly lower than usual at only 28 or an average of 2.8 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Minions Edit

1x Supreme Overlord - power 5 - You may return a minion to its owner's hand.

2x Invader - power 3 - Gain 1 VP.

3x Scout - power 3 - Special: After this base is scored, you may place this minion into your hand instead of the discard pile.

4x Collector - power 2 - You may return a minion of power 3 or less on this base to its owner's hand.

Actions Edit

1x Abduction - Return a minion to its owner's hand. Play an extra minion.

2x Beam Up - Return a minion to its owner's hand.

1x Crop Circles - Choose a base. Return each minion on that base to its owner's hand.

2x Disintegrator - Place a minion of power 3 or less on the bottom of its owner's deck.

1x Invasion - Move a minion to another base.

1x Jammed Signal - Play on a base. Ongoing: All players ignore this base's ability.

1x Probe - Look at another player's hand and choose a minion in it. That player discards that minion.

1x Terraforming - Search the base deck for a base. Swap it with a base in play (discard all actions attached to it). Shuffle the base deck. You may play an extra minion on the new base.

Aliens

Bases Edit

Mechanics Edit

Aliens focus on removing minions in unorthodox ways, usually by returning them to the player's hand. While this can be used offensively against opponents, it is more effectively used on the player's own Invaders, which grant 1 VP each time they're played. By playing Invaders, returning them to one's hand, and repeating, the game can be won without winning a single base. Aliens other major mechanic is base manipulation, which combined with returning minions to players hands serve to slow the game progression down, allowing more time to find and continuously replay invader.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Supreme Overlord Edit

Q: Which minion can I return with Supreme Overlord?

A: You can target any minion that's in play, even Supreme Overlord itself:
- If it's a minion you own, it's returned to your hand.
- If it's a minion owned by another player, it's returned to that player's hand.
- If it's a minion that noone owns (e.g. a treasure, a monster), it remains in play.

Rule 1: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Rule 2: Cards that refer to a minion’s owner do not apply to monsters or treasures.

Q: Can I return a minion from the discard pile with Supreme Overlord?

A: No, it must be a minion in play. Cards that allow you to target something in the discard pile, like the cards from the Zombie faction, will explicitly say so. By default, "a minion" refers to a minion that's in play.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: Can Supreme Overlord return a minion on any base or just its own base?

A: There's no restrictions, so it can be any minion (even itself!) on any base.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: I return a minion with Supreme Overlord. What happens to actions that were played on the returned minion? Are they also returned to their owners' hands?

A: They are discarded in the appropriate discard piles.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard attachments.


Questions on Invader Edit

Q: If an Invader leaves play (e.g. it's destroyed, its base scores) or if its ability is later cancelled by another card, do I keep the 1 VP I gained from playing the Invader?

A: Yes, you gained the VP and, unless otherwise stated, you keep it for the rest of the game. This makes it very attractive to use Collector, Abduction, and similar abilities to return the Invaders to your hand to play them again for more VPs.

Rule: On-play abilities are resolved only once and have no further effect.

Q: If I give control of an Invader to another player or if another player takes control of it, do I also give them the VP I gained from playing the Invader? If not, do they gain 1 VP from Invader?

A: No to both. You gained the VP and, unless otherwise stated, you keep it for the rest of the game. Also, Invader's ability is an on-play ability, which is only resolved when it is played. When a minion's controller changes, that's not playing it, so its ability isn't resolved again.

Rule: On-play abilities are resolved only once and have no further effect.


Questions on Scout Edit

Q: When is my Scout placed in my hand with its ability?

A: After its base scores, Scout's ability is triggered during the step where the players can play/invoke after-scoring abilities. But, that's just when its controller can decide to activate it or not. If they choose to activate it, nothing happens for the moment. However, when the players move on to the step where the cards on the base are all discarded, that's when the Scout is placed into its owners hand instead of being discarded.

Rule: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards are discarded simultaneously. That's when the cards with "instead of the discard pile" are resolved.

Q: When I use a Scout's ability, does it count as returning the Scout to my hand? (e.g. for Entangled, Ship's Engineer)

A: No. Even though the card also goes from a base to your hand, it says "place", not "return". Entangled and Ship's Engineer do not interact with cards that are "placed".

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If Scout's controller is changed during the game, after its base scores, who decides whether its ability is activated or not? And whose hand does it go to? It says "your hand", so it's probably Scout's current controller, right?

A: It's Scout's controller who decides whether or not Scout's ability is activated. But, if they decide that it is, then it will be returned to its owner's hand, not theirs.

Rule 1: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Rule 2: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.


Questions on Collector Edit

Q: Which minion can I return with Collector?

A: You can target any minion of power 3 or less on the same base as the Collector, even Collector itself:
- If it's a minion you own, it's returned to your hand.
- If it's a minion owned by another player, it's returned to that player's hand.
- If it's a minion that noone owns (e.g. a treasure, a monster), it remains in play.

Rule 1: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Rule 2: Cards that refer to a minion’s owner do not apply to monsters or treasures.

Q: I return a minion with a Collector. What happens to actions that were played on the returned minion? Are they also returned to their owners' hands?

A: They are discarded in the appropriate discard piles.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard attachments.


Questions on Abduction Edit

Q: Which minion can I return with Abduction?

A: You can target any minion that's in play:
- If it's a minion you own, it's returned to your hand.
- If it's a minion owned by another player, it's returned to that player's hand.
- If it's a minion that noone owns (e.g. a treasure, a monster), it remains in play.

Rule 1: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Rule 2: Cards that refer to a minion’s owner do not apply to monsters or treasures.

Q: Can I return a minion card from the discard pile with Abduction?

A: No, it must be a minion in play. Cards that allow you to target something in the discard pile, like the cards from the Zombie faction, will explicitly say so. By default, "a minion" refers to a minion that's in play.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: If I return a minion to my hand with Abduction, can I play it again as Abduction's extra minion?

A: Sure. You can play any minion in your hand as the extra minion, even the one that was returned to your hand.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If the minion I targeted isn't returned (e.g. because of Entangled or Ship's Engineer), can I still play an extra minion?

A: Yes, returning the minion and the extra minion are independent, so you still get an extra minion play even if no minion was returned.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.

Q: I return a minion with Abduction. What happens to actions that were played on the returned minion? Are they also returned to their owners' hands?

A: They are discarded in the appropriate discard piles.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard attachments.


Questions on Beam Up Edit

Q: Which minion can I return with Beam Up?

A: You can target any minion that's in play:
- If it's a minion you own, it's returned to your hand.
- If it's a minion owned by another player, it's returned to that player's hand.
- If it's a minion that noone owns (e.g. a treasure, a monster), it remains in play.

Rule 1: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Rule 2: Cards that refer to a minion’s owner do not apply to monsters or treasures.

Q: Can I return a minion card from the discard pile with Beam Up?

A: No, it must be a minion in play. Cards that allow you to target something in the discard pile, like the cards from the Zombie faction, will explicitly say so. By default, "a minion" refers to a minion that's in play.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: I return a minion with Beam Up. What happens to actions that were played on the returned minion? Are they also returned to their owners' hands?

A: They are discarded in the appropriate discard piles.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard attachments.


Questions on Crop Circles Edit

Q: I return minions with Crop Circles. What happens to actions that were played on a returned minion? Are they also returned to their owners' hand?

A: They are discarded in the appropriate discard piles.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard attachments.

Q: I play Crop Circles and target a base. In what order do I return the minions there? For example, if someone has a Ship's Engineer there, can I return it before their other minions?

A: The minions are all returned at the same time, so there's no order to decide. A Ship's Engineer there would trigger for each of that player's other minions that are returned.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I play Crop Circles and target The Dread Gazebo or a base with Magic Ward?

A: Yes. Crop Circles targets a base, but is not played on it. Those cards only prevent "play on a base" actions, and Crop Circles is no such action.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.


Questions on Disintegrator Edit

Q: Can I use Disintegrator on a minion that cannot be returned to the deck? (e.g. because of Superiority)

A: Yes. The card says "place", not "return". So Disintegrator can be used on a card that cannot be "returned to the deck". Also, there are currently no abilities that "return" a card in play to the deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Is the ability of Disintegrator the same as moving/returning the minion?

A: Unless the card explicitly tells you to "move" or "return" the minion, it is not moving or returning the minion, so no.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I use Disintegrator to place a minion of power 3 or less from a player's discard pile to the bottom of that player's deck?

A: No. The minion must be a minion in play. Cards that allow you to target something in the discard pile, like the cards from the Zombie faction, will explicitly say so. By default, "a minion" refers to a minion that's in play.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: I target a minion with Disintegrator. What happens to actions that were played on the targeted minion? Are they also placed on the bottom of their owners' decks?

A: They are discarded in the appropriate discard piles.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard attachments.


Questions on Invasion Edit

Q: Can Invasion move another player's minion, or just my own minion?

A: It doesn't specify "your minion"; it just says "a minion", so you can target any minion that's in play, even uncontrolled monsters.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".


Questions on Jammed Signal Edit

Q: Can I play Jammed Signal on The Dread Gazebo?

A: No. The Ongoing ability of Jammed Signal would take effect after being played there, and the Dread Gazebo prevents you from playing Jammed Signal there at all. (However, Jammed Signal can be transfered there using Rules Lawyer.)

Rule: Choose an eligible base in play. The base choice must be a legal play.

Q: What does Jammed Signal stop?

A: It shuts off the ability of the base for all players, regardless of when that ability is triggered or what it does. It does not prevent the base from breaking when the breakpoint is reached.

Rule: The base's ability is what's written at the bottom of its card.

Q: With Jammed Signal, do uncontrolled monsters also ignore a base's ability? (e.g. a monster on The Central Brain with Jammed Signal played on it)

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: Does Jammed Signal cancel other player's actions played on the same base?

A: No. Jammed Signal only makes players ignore the base's ability. The abilities of actions played there don't count as the base's ability.

Rule: The base's ability is what's written at the bottom of its card.


Questions on Probe Edit

Q: If I play Probe, do I look at a player's entire hand or just their minions?

A: You look at their entire hand.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If the discarded minion is a Fan or an Igor, does the minion's owner get to use their benefit (i.e. draw a card or place a +1 power counter)?

A: No. Fan only lets you draw a card if it's discarded through its own Special ability. Igor's ability is an Ongoing ability, so it only works if it's discarded from play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Terraforming Edit

Q: Does Terraforming destroy actions played on the base, or are they "discarded"?

A: They are not "destroyed", they are "discarded". This works similar to what happens when scoring a base. Also, Terraforming actually doesn't do anything to those actions; the part in parenthesis is there to remind you the rule that "When a card leaves play, discard attachments." So, when a base leaves play, any actions attached to it are discarded.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard attachments.

Q: When Terraforming is played, does Steam Queen prevent the actions from being discarded?

A: No. Steam Queen protects actions from being affected. Being "discarded" is not listed as being "affected". Also Steam Queen only protects against other players' cards, and what happens to the actions are not because of Terraforming, but because of the general rule that "When a card leaves play, discard attachments."

Rule: Definition of "affect". Discarding a card from play does not affect the card.

Q: Can I use Terraforming on The Dread Gazebo or a base with Magic Ward?

A: Yes. Terraforming targets a base, but is not played on it. Those cards only prevent "play on a base" cards, and Terraforming is no such action.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: Where do I put the base that was in play?

A: It's shuffled back into the base deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What happens to the minions on the swapped base and actions played on minions there?

A: They remain in play and will go on the new base. Only the actions that were played on the chosen base are discarded.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Before a base scores, I manage to play Terraforming (e.g. with a Mole). I target the scoring base. What happens now?

A: The scoring stops for that base (because it's not the same base anymore), but you still get to play an extra minion there, that must be done immediately or not at all. Then, you must continue the Score Bases back to step 1 if a base (including the new base) is ready to score.[1]

Rule: Check the steps for phase 3.

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22359274#22359274

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.