FANDOM


13892210 1066172380135682 4092921467891371234 n

Quite a while back, in a grouping of stars not close to here, the Astroknights protected the various species of the galaxy! Boosting their strength, speed and skill with the incredible powers of the Fours, they were the equal of armies. But now their time is past, and darkness reigns. Will a rag-tag group of heroes be able to defeat a massive juggernaut of an imperium and restore freedom? Hey, it's a space opera -- of course they will!

- Cease and Desist rulebook

The Astroknights are one of the 4 factions from the Cease and Desist set.

The Astroknights focus on increasing minion power and finding and playing key actions.

Cards Edit

IMG 0556

The Astroknights have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is 27 or an average of 2.7 per minion. There are several minions and actions that can boost the power of minions beyond their base value. Each of the ten minions are unique.

Minions Edit

1x Space Knight - power 5 - Talent: Reveal the top three cards of your deck. You may draw one action from the revealed cards. Return the rest in any order.

1x Scoundrel - power 4 - Talent: Move this minion and another one of your minions here to another base.

1x Space Prince - power 4 - Talent: Play an extra action that directly increases the power of one of your minions.

1x Walking Carpet - power 4 - Special: Before this base scores, if you are not winning, you may play an action that directly increases the power of this minion.

1x Alien Guru - power 2 - Ongoing: Once per turn, after you play an action that directly increases a minion's power, you may also place a +1 power counter on it.

1x Annoying Alien - power 2 - Talent: Name a minion. All minions here with that name get -2 power until the start of your next turn.

1x Astro Robot - power 2 - Destroy an action played on this base or on a minion here.

1x Mannersbot - power 2 - Talent: Reveal the top card of your deck. If it is an action, draw it, otherwise return it.

1x Pupoks - power 2 - Talent: Lose 1 VP to reveal the top three cards of your deck and draw them. You may play one of them as an extra card.

1x Ghost Knight - power 0 - Ongoing: This minion cannot be destroyed. Your other minions here have +2 power.

Actions Edit

2x Block the Probe - Choose a minion. It gains +2 power until the end of the turn. Special: You may play this card before a base scores.

1x Hidden Base - Play on a base. Ongoing: At the start of your turn, if you have a minion here, draw a card.

1x It's a Trap! - Special: Before a base scores, reveal cards from your deck until you reveal an action. You may draw it or play it immediately. Shuffle the unused cards into your deck.

2x Laser Sword - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion has +1 power and is not affected by other players' minions.

1x Prepare for Battle - Reveal the top two cards of your deck. Place one into your hand and the other on the bottom of your deck.

1x Recycle the Trash - Shuffle up to two actions from your discard pile into your deck.

1x Use the Fours - One of your minions gains +4 power until the end of the turn.

1x Yield to Rage - One of your minions gains +2 power until the end of the turn. Play an extra action.

Astro Knights

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Cease and Desist rulebook:

Alien Guru: If the action increases the power of more than one minion, choose one of them to get the power counter.

Scoundrel: You can use its talent if you have no other minions at its base.

Space Prince, Walking Carpet, Alien Guru: A card directly increases power if it gives it “+N power”, or places a +1 power counter, or sets the printed power to a higher value. Granting a power-increase talent (e.g. The Touch), or destroying a negative power card (e.g. Change Into A Gun) are not direct power increases.

Mechanics Edit

The Astroknights' main focus is actions that directly increase a minion's power. Out of their 10 actions, they have 6 that count as such. Their other cards mainly focus on drawing, searching actions and playing them as extra cards.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Space Knight Edit

Q: What if I don't want to draw an action?

A: Then all three cards are returned to the top of your deck in any order.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Scoundrel Edit

Q: If Scoundrel is my only minion on a base, I can't use its talent, right?

A: Yes, you can. It's even clarified in the rulebook.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says. Except when the rulebook clearly addresses the issue.
Q: If Scoundrel is on the same base as other of my minions, can I choose to move Scoundrel without moving another minion?
A: No, if you use Scoundrel's talent, you must choose another minion on the same base to move along with it.

Rule: When you use a talent, resolve it entirely.


Questions on Space Prince Edit

Q: If the action increases the power of several minions, does it count as an "action that directly increases the power of one of your minions"?

A: As long as it directly increases the power of at least one of your minions, it counts.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: +1 power counters directly increases a minion's power, so actions that add power counters indirectly increases it, right?

A: No. Actions that place +1 power counters on a minion are considered as directly increasing it.

Rule: Definition of "directly".

Q: As the extra action, I play a card that gives me a choice between directly increasing a minion's power and doing something else (e.g. Fairy Godmother, Enchantment), can I choose not to increase my minion's power?

A: No. If you play it with Space Prince's ability, you must choose the option to increase a minion's power and you must target one of your minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: As the extra action, I want to play a card that can increase a minion's power but only if certain conditions are met. (e.g. Encouragement Power, Door to the Beyond) Can I play it if the conditions aren't met?

A: No. If you play it with Space Prince's ability, the card must increase one of your minion's power, so the conditions must be met after you play it, otherwise the play wasn't legal.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: As the extra action, I want to play a card that can increase a minion's power but only if I discard certain types of cards. (e.g. ... It Just Might Work, Potion Bandolier, Cull the Weak) What if I can't do it?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: As the extra action, can I play Cellular Bonding and copy an action that's considered as directly increasing a minion's power?

A: Cellular Bonding does count, as long as one of your minion's power is directly increased by Cellular Bonding.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: As the extra action, can I play IT'S ALIVE or Crack of Dusk?

A: Technically, you must increase the power of one of your minions, i.e. one of your minions in play. So, these cards probably don't qualify. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: As the extra action, I play War Cry. What if the monster I target is indestructible? Or if it's destructible, but the destruction is thwarted at the last second?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Walking Carpet Edit

Q: If the action increases the power of several minions, does it count as an "action that directly increases the power of this minion"?

A: As long as it directly increases the power of Walking Carpet as well, it counts.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: +1 power counters directly increases a minion's power, so actions that add power counters indirectly increases it, right?

A: No. Actions that place +1 power counters on a minion are considered as directly increasing it.

Rule: Definition of "directly".

Q: As the extra action, I play a card that gives me a choice between directly increasing a minion's power and doing something else (e.g. Fairy Godmother, Enchantment), can I choose not to increase Walking Carpet's power?

A: No. If you play it with Walking Carpet's ability, you must choose the option to increase a minion's power and you must target Walking Carpet.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: As the extra action, I want to play a card that can increase a minion's power but only if certain conditions are met. (e.g. Encouragement Power, Door to the Beyond) Can I play it if the conditions aren't met?

A: No. If you play it with Walking Carpet's ability, the card must increase Walking Carpet's power, so the conditions must be met after you play it, otherwise the play wasn't legal.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: As the extra action, I want to play a card that can increase a minion's power but only if I discard certain types of cards. (e.g. ... It Just Might Work, Potion Bandolier, Cull the Weak) What if I can't do it?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: As the extra action, I want to play a card that can increase a minion's power but only if I destroy one of minions (e.g. Body Shop). Can I choose to destroy Walking Carpet?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: As the extra action, can I play Cellular Bonding and copy an action that's considered as directly increasing a minion's power?

A: Cellular Bonding does count, as long as Walking Carpet's power is directly increased by Cellular Bonding.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: As the extra action, I play War Cry. What if the monster I target is indestructible? Or if it's destructible, but the destruction is thwarted at the last second?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: If an opponent played Shielding on Walking Carpet, there's no way I can play an action that directly increases its power. Am I still allowed to play one?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: Before a base scores, the current player chooses to resolve my Walking Carpet's ability. Turns out I'm currently winning the game, so it's ability doesn't activate. As we are resolving other before-scoring abilities, I'm no longer winning. Can I go back and use Walking Carpet's ability?

A: No. Walking Carpet was actually activated when the current player chose to resolve its ability. You were already winning, so its ability was resolved by doing nothing, but it still counts as having been resolved and can't be resolved again for this base scoring.

Rule: When an ability is triggered, it's resolved once per trigger.


Questions on Alien Guru Edit

Q: If the action increases the power of several minions, does it count as an "action that directly increases a minion's power"?

A: As long as it directly increases the power of at least one minion, it counts.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: +1 power counters directly increases a minion's power, so actions that add power counters indirectly increases it, right?

A: No. Actions that place +1 power counters on a minion are considered as directly increasing it.

Rule: Definition of "directly".
Q: If I directly increase the power of several minions with the same card, do I place a +1 power counter on each of them?
A: No. Only one of them will get the power counter, it's even clarified in the rulebook.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says. Except when the rulebook clearly addresses the issue.


Questions on Annoying Alien Edit

Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So a minion's power can go negative with this card, right?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.
Q: On my turn, I use Annoying Alien's talent and name a minion. On another player's turn and before Annoying Alien's talent expires, a minion with that name is played on Annoying Alien's base. Does it get the -2 power? Or does Annoying Alien only affect minions that were present at the time of activation of its talent?

A: It also gets the -2 power because the effect remains active until the start of your next turn.

Rule: "Until the start of your next turn" means the effect persists until the stated deadline.
Q: Following the activation of its talent, what happens if Annoying Alien is destroyed/returned/moved to another base?
A: The effect remains active until the start of your next turn even if Annoying Alien is removed from play. If Annoying Alien is moved to another base, the effect still remains active on Annoying Alien's "original" base (the one it was on when the talent was activated).

Rule: "Until the start of your next turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.


Questions on Astro Robot Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Mannersbot Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Pupoks Edit

Q: Can I use its ability if I have 0 VP?

A: No. You must have at least 1 VP to be able to lose one and go through with its ability.

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you need to completely do the effect stated as "X" you do the effect stated as "Y".


Questions on Ghost Knight Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Block the Probe Edit

Q: When played as a Special, do I have to choose a minion on the scoring base?

A: No. You can choose any minion on any base.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".


Questions on Hidden Base Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion there, I draw a card at the start of my turn, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your turn" means "their turn", "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent) and "(you) draw" means "they draw".
Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.


Questions on It's a Trap! Edit

Q: Can I choose not to play, nor draw the action?

A: Yes. In that case, the action is treated as an unused card and is shuffled into your deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I reveal a "Special: before a base scores" action, can I play it?

A: Whether you can play it immediately or not is to be confirmed. However, you can choose to draw it, and when the right moment comes, you can play it as one of your before-scoring cards. TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Laser Sword Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Prepare for Battle Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Recycle the Trash Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Use the Fours Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Yield to Rage Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:

Trivia Edit

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.