FANDOM


Bear cavalry minion

What’s scary? A bear. What’s really scary? A cossack riding a bear! Bear Cavalry will use fear to drive opposing minions away to other bases. - AEG

The Tsar wasn’t satisfied with mere horses, so you’re pretty much screwed. You can run away from them. Or you can get killed. Sometimes you get both. Just count yourself lucky that the bears aren’t also riding sharks.

- Awesome Level 9000 rulebook (updated in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook)

The Bear Cavalry are one of the 4 factions from the Awesome Level 9000 set.

They specialize in moving opponent minions to destroy them, as well as immunity to opponent attacks.

Other factions from the same set: Ghosts, Killer Plants, Steampunks.

Cards Edit

Bear cavalry

The Bear Cavalry have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is unusually high at 35 or an average of 3.5 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3. They are also one of the rare factions to have received a titan from the TITANS Event Kit.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 2 play-on-base actions: High Ground, Superiority,
  • 8 standard actions (7 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Bear Hug, Bear Necessities, Bear Rides You, Commission (2x), You’re Pretty Much Borscht, You’re Screwed (2x),
  • 0 actions that directly increase a minion's power.

Minions Edit

1x General Ivan - power 6 - Ongoing: Your minions cannot be destroyed. FAQ

2x Polar Commando - power 4 - Ongoing: If this is your only minion on this base, it has +2 power and cannot be destroyed. FAQ

3x Bear Cavalry - power 3 - Move another player’s minion from here to another base. FAQ

4x Cub Scout - power 3 - Ongoing: After another player’s minion moves here, if it has less power than this minion, destroy it. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Bear Hug - Each other player destroys his or her minion with the least power (owner controller chooses in case of ties). (errata'd by The Bigger Geekier Box) FAQ

1x Bear Necessities - Destroy an action that has been played on a minion or base. FAQ

1x Bear Rides You - Move one of your minions to another base. FAQ

2x Commission - Play an extra minion. Then move another player’s minion from the extra minion’s base to another base. FAQ

1x High Ground - Play on a base. Ongoing: If you have a minion here, destroy any other player’s minion that moves here. FAQ

1x Superiority - Play on a base. Ongoing: Your minions here cannot be destroyed, moved, or returned to your hand or deck by other players’ cards. FAQ

1x You’re Pretty Much Borscht - Choose a base where you have a minion. Move all other players’ minions from there to one other base. FAQ

2x You’re Screwed - Choose a base where you have a minion. Move another player’s minion from there to another base. FAQ

Titan Edit

(available in each "Smash Up TITANS" pack released with the TITANS Event Kit)

1x Major Ursa - Special: Instead of your regular minion play, you may play this titan on a base where you have a minion. Ongoing: After this titan is moved to a base, you may move another player’s minion of power 3 or less from there to another base. Talent: Place a +1 power counter on this titan, and then move it to another base. FAQ

Bear Cavalry

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Commission: You must play the extra minion, and move the other player’s minion, immediately, if at all.

Cub Scout: This does not trigger if it is moved at the same time as the other minion.

Superiority: This does not protect a minion from being placed or shuffled.

Mechanics Edit

Bears primary theme is a combination of movement and destruction. They create certain bases that kill opponent minions to be moved there, and use their other cards to move minions there (specifically "intimidating" minions at a base with themselves to make them leave). Bears are also very powerful, and destroying opponent minions often require them to be weaker than your own minions. To supplement this, bears also have a degree of extra minion playing and moving outside of that strategy.

Bears protect themselves, with multiple ways to be indestructible and negate other players' abilities over them. On the whole Bears have a theme of "dominating" specific bases, which is assisted with a decent amount of base actions.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on General Ivan Edit

Q: Does General Ivan prevent all your minions, including him, from being destroyed?

A: Yes. Any of your minions on any base (including General Ivan).

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: It protects "all of my minions". Does it also protect minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I have General Ivan in play. One of my cards tells me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. Sacrifice), or an opponent's card forces me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. Griefer), or a base's ability allows me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. R'lyeh). Since my minions can't be destroyed, I can just ignore those cards, right?

A: Nope, if it doesn't say "you may", you must still target one of them for destruction (don't worry, it won't be destroyed anyway). It doesn't matter in most cases, but some cards do things depending on which minion you targeted (e.g. Transmogrify, "... Really?") Moreover, even if your minion isn't destroyed, the rest of the card's ability may still happen. If the card was the kind of card that says "Destroy a minion to do Y" or "Destroy a minion. If you do, do Y", then the effect stated as "Y" can't be done at all, simply because in the end the targeted minion isn't destroyed. If the card says something else, such as "Destroy a minion. Do Y", "Destroy a minion and do Y", etc., the destruction isn't a pre-requisite so you resolve the rest of the card's ability.

Rule 1: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Rule 2: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you need to completely do the effect stated as "X" before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: I have General Ivan and Sprout in play. Does General Ivan cancel Sprout's ability?

A: Sprout's destruction is not necessary to carry out the rest of its ability. At the start of your turn, you have to activate Sprout's ability and do as much as you can, while resolving it completely, even if some part of it can't be done. Firstly, you destroy it (problem: General Ivan forbids it, so you don't destroy it). Secondly, you search your deck for a minion of power 3 or less (no problem here). Thirdly, you play it on Sprout's former base (no problem here). Fourthly, you shuffle your deck (no problem here).

Rule 1: Cards are resolved entirely.

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: I have General Ivan and Mild Mannered Citizen in play. Mild Mannered Citizen is essentially a better version of Sprout. So can I use Mild Mannered Citizen to play a power-5 minion without losing Mild Mannered Citizen?

A: Unfortunately, no. Mild Mannered Citizen has a major difference compared to Sprout: the wording makes its destruction necessary to carry out the rest of its ability. So, if you use Mild Mannered Citizen's ability, it won't destroyed because of General Ivan, and if it isn't destroyed, you can't do the rest of its ability.

Rule 1: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you need to completely do the effect stated as "X" before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: I have General Ivan in play. I play Cat Fight or Sacrifice and choose one of my minions (either General Ivan or another one). Do I still draw cards?

A: Yes. The destruction isn't a condition for drawing cards. So you resolve the card completely, even if some part of it can't be done. Firstly, you choose a minion (you have at least one in play, so no problem here). Secondly, you draw the cards (no problem here). Thirdly, you destroy the chosen minion (problem: General Ivan forbids it, so you don't destroy it).

Rule 1: Cards are resolved entirely.

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: I have General Ivan and Whiskers in play. What happens if I use Whiskers's talent?

A: Again, the destruction of the minion isn't a condition for gaining an extra action to play. So you resolve Whiskers's talent completely, even if some part of it can't be done. First, you bank an extra action to play (no problem here, just remember that it is not played immediately). Then, you destroy one of your minions (problem: General Ivan forbids it, so you don't destroy it).

Rule 1: Cards are resolved entirely.

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: An opponent has General Ivan and another minion in play. I take control of that other minion. Is it still immune to destruction?

A: No. General Ivan makes all their minions immune to destruction. If you take control of one of their other minions, it is no longer one of their minions, so General Ivan's ability doesn't apply to it anymore.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I have General Ivan in play and another minion on R'lyeh. At the start of my turn, can I use R'lyeh's ability?

A: Sure, but here's what will happen. You resolve R'lyeh's ability so you start by destroying your minion there, but General Ivan prevents it, so it isn't destroyed. Next, you resolve the second part that says that if you did destroy your minion, you gain 1 VP. You didn't, so you don't gain 1 VP.

Rule 1: Cards are resolved entirely.

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: I have General Ivan in play. If another player plays a card to destroy my Gremlin or one of my minion on Cave of Shinies. I know that the destruction fails, but do I still get the benefits of Gremlin or Cave of Shinies?

A: No. Both cards have an ability that triggers after a minion is destroyed (itself in the case of Gremlin, a minion there in the case of Cave of Shinies). Since the minion isn't destroyed, you can't do the rest of the ability.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".


Questions on Polar Commando Edit

Q: It needs to be "my only minion". If there is a minion there that I own but don't control, does it prevent Polar Commando's ability?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: One of my cards tells me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. Sacrifice), or an opponent's card forces me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. Griefer), or a base's ability allows me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. R'lyeh), can I target my lone Polar Commando? If so, is it destroyed? If not, does it stop the rest of the ability if there were more to it?

A: Short answer: Yes, no and it depends. Firstly, you can indeed choose any of your minions as long as it fits the card's requirement (e.g. if Polar Commando is on R'lyeh, you can target it with R'lyeh's ability, but you can't if it was on another base, obviously), but you must choose one if you have any in play and if it's a mandatory ability (i.e. there's no "you may"). Secondly, because it is targeted for destruction, Polar Commando's ability protects it, so Polar Commando will not be destroyed. Lastly, you must finish resolving the card that was originally invoked. If the card was the kind of card that says "Destroy a minion to do Y" or "Destroy a minion. If you do, do Y", then the effect stated as "Y" can't be done at all, simply because in the end Polar Commando isn't destroyed. If the card says something else, such as "Destroy a minion. Do Y", "Destroy a minion and do Y", etc., the destruction isn't a pre-requisite so you resolve the rest of the card's ability.

Rule 1: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Rule 2: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you need to completely do the effect stated as "X" before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: I want to play Powderkeg with a polar, but the polar cannot be destroyed. Does this mean I cannot play the Powderkeg?

A: No, even if you have a minion that can't be destroyed, it is still an eligible target for Powderkeg. In that case, it is not destroyed, but all other minions there with equal or less power are still destroyed. The destruction of the minions are not conditioned to the destruction of your minion.

Rule 1: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Rule 2: Cards are resolved entirely.

Q: I have two Polar Commandos on the same base as an enemy Nukebot. If Nukebot is destroyed, are the two Polar Commando destroyed or one survives because it becomes indestructible when it's alone?

A: They are both destroyed. After Nukebot is destroyed, the resulting destructions happen at the same time, not one after another.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Bear Cavalry Edit

Q: If I play Bear Cavalry on a Leprechaun's base and move Leprechaun to another base, will Bear Cavalry be destroyed?

A: No, The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook gave an erratum to Leprechaun: For the destruction to take place, the two minions must be on the same base after the played minion's ability is resolved.

Rule: Check Leprechaun's clarification.


Questions on Cub Scout Edit

Q: When does a Cub Scout check for opponent power? Does the moving minion keep their old power, text power, or new base power?

A: You check the minion's power after moving it and after applying all modifiers.

Rule: In play, a minion's power includes all modifiers.

Q: Can this minion kill more than one minion per turn? Like if I use Bear Calvary to move a minion and then use You're Screwed on another.

A: Sure, there's no limit to how many minions it can destroy.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I move a War Raptor to a base where there's a Cub Scout. If there's no other War Raptor there, is it destroyed?

A: If Cub Scout's power is still 3, then no. War Raptor's Ongoing ability remains active and gives it +1 power by itself.

Rule: An Ongoing ability lasts for as long as the card is in play.

Q: A Cub Scout is on The Central Brain and has therefore 4 power. I move a power-3 minion there. Is it destroyed by the Cub Scout?

A: No. Cub Scout's ability is only resolved after the move has been completed. The Central Brain is active as soon as a minion is present, so it gives the minion +1 power before Cub Scout is activated, so the minion survives.

Rule 1: In play, a minion's power includes all modifiers.

Rule 2: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: I move a power-3 minion on a base where another player has a Cub Scout and a Hatchling. Is the minion destroyed?

A: It depends. Both Hatchling's and Cub Scout's abilities are activated after you're done moving the minion. According to the rules, it's the current player who decides the order in which these two cards are activated. If Hatchling is activated before Cub Scout, the minion's power will be lowered to 2 and it becomes vulnerable to Cub Scout. However, if Cub Scout is activated before Hatchling, the minion survives Cub Scout's destruction first and then has its power lowered by 1.

Rule 1: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Rule 2: The current player decides the order of events that are supposed to happen simultaneously.

Q: An opponent has a Cub Scout on Field of Honor. I move a power-2 minion there, so it's destroyed. Who gains the VP, me or my opponent? I caused it to move, so I should get the VP, right? If I didn't move it, it wouldn't have been destroyed.

A: Short answer: your opponent. In-depth answer: Just check the card where the destruction is mentioned. That card directly caused the destruction, you moving the minion only triggered that card. Cub Scout states that after an opponent's minion is moved there, Cub Scout's controller destroys it if it's eligible for destruction. So it's Cub Scout's controller who does the destruction, and therefore the one who gains the VP.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I move Cub Scout and several power-2 minions to the same base (e.g. Felicia Day). Are they destroyed?

A: No, Cub Scout needs to be present on the destination base when the movement happens. Since it wasn't, it didn't "witness" the minions being moved to its base.

Rule: Check Cub Scout's clarification.


Questions on Bear Hug Edit

Q: In which order are the minions destroyed? I suppose it's the current player who chooses.

A: Nope, there's already a defined order so the current player doesn't decide the order. The order is: each player (except Bear Hug's play) in clockwise order and starting with the current player destroys one of their lowest-power minions.

Rule: If several players get to use an effect because of a single card, each player uses it in clockwise order from the current player.

Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug, do I destroy my lowest-power minion in play or in my hand?

A: Only in play.

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control". (and a minion is only controlled if it's in play)

Q: If I only have one minion in play and a player plays Bear Hug, do I have to destroy it?

A: Unfortunately, yes. It's a mandatory ability, so you have to do it.

Rule: If the ability doesn't say "you may", you must do it immediately.

Q: My lowest-power minions in play are a minion that can't be destroyed and a minion that can. Do I have to choose the destructible minion?

A: No, you don't have to. You can choose either one.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Q: It tells me to destroy "one of my minions". Can I destroy a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: My lowest-power minions in play are a minion I own and a minion I don't own (e.g. Flower Child, Sneaky Squire, Halfling Hireling, Make Contact), so the owner chooses in case of a tie, but which owner? Me or the owner of the other minion?

A: It's been corrected in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook: The card now says that the controller chooses in case of a tie.

Rule: Check Bear Hug's erratum.

Q: I play Bear Hug and an opponent chooses to destroy their minion on Field of Honor. Who gets the VP?

A: Your card made another player destroy the minion, so it's that player who did the destruction. Therefore, your opponent gets the VP because Field of Honor rewards the player who destroys it.

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[1]

Q: I play Bear Hug and an opponent chooses to destroy their Elder Thing, claiming that it can't be destroyed by my card and therefore survives. Is that correct?

A: Yes. Elder Thing is immune to any effect caused by other players' cards, as long as the effect is included in the definition of "affect", such as a destruction.

Rule: Definition of "affect".

Q: I play Bear Hug and an opponent chooses to destroy their Awesome Guy, claiming that it can't be destroyed by my card and therefore survives. Is that correct?

A: No. There's a subtle nuance. When you play Bear Hug to make another player destroy a minion, the minion is considered both "destroyed by your card's ability" and "destroyed by that player". So the cause of the destruction is your card's ability, but the person who carried out the destruction is that player. A card that can't be destroyed by "other players' abilities" is only immune to destruction if the cause is another player's ability. However, a card that can't be destroyed by "other players" is only immune to destruction if the person who does the destruction is another player. So Awesome Guy is not immune to destruction if it's destroyed by its own controller, even if the destruction was caused by another player's card.

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[1]

Q: I play Bear Hug and other players are forced to destroy their own minion. Can I activate Mako's ability and play it?

A: No. Mako's ability can only be triggered after you destroy a minion. When you play Bear Hug, you make other players destroy their minions, so they are the ones who destroyed them, not you. On the other hand, if your opponent played a similar card as Bear Hug (e.g. Griefer) and made you destroy one of your minions, then you can activate Mako's ability.

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[1]

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of Diva's power.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that while the action is restricted to other players' minions, the destruction can be copied onto another minion regardless of whoever controls it. Also, note that if several of the destroyed minions were on the same base, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to destroy only one additional minion, not one per affected minion.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that while the action is restricted to other players' minions, the destruction can be copied onto another minion regardless of whoever controls it.
- It is impossible for Funky Town to copy that action's effect because you can only directly affect opponents' minions, which won't trigger Funky Town.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Bear Necessities Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Bear Necessities doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied. Yes, destroying an action affects that action, but not the card (minion or base) it is on.

Rule: Definition of "affect".


Questions on Bear Rides You Edit

Q: It tells me to move "one of my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it moves one of your minions away from Funky Town, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Commission Edit

Q: Do I have to play the extra minion immediately or can I delay it until later and finish doing the rest of the card when I do it?

A: The minion must be played immediately because there are further instructions on the card's ability that depend on the extra minion being played.

Rule: You must play an extra card immediately if another part of the ability follows the extra play.

Q: When I play the extra minion, do I have to move another player's minion?

A: If another player has a minion there, yes, you have to do it.

Rule: If the ability doesn't say "you may", you must do it immediately.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that moving a second minion doesn't allow the action player to play a second extra minion; the extra minion is played before the move effect can be copied, and besides, merely playing a minion doesn't count as affecting it and so that part can't be copied.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player's opponents, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion controlled by that player. Also, note that moving a second minion doesn't allow the action player to play a second extra minion; the extra minion is played before the move effect can be copied, and besides, merely playing a minion doesn't count as affecting it and so that part can't be copied.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player's opponents, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion controlled by that player. Also, note that moving a second minion doesn't allow the action player to play a second extra minion; the extra minion is played before the move effect can be copied, and besides, merely playing a minion doesn't count as affecting it and so that part can't be copied.
- It is impossible for Funky Town to copy that action's effect because you can only directly affect an opponent's minion, which won't trigger Funky Town. Note that merely playing a minion doesn't count as affecting it and so the part allowing you to play an extra minion can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on High Ground Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion there and they don't, my opponents' minions that are moved to there are destroyed, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent) and "any other player" means "any of their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: I play a minion on a base where an opponent has a minion and High Ground. Is my minion destroyed?

A: High Ground destroyed minions that move to its base. It does nothing to minions that are played there.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: It works "if I have a minion" there. Is it enough if there is just a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: I have High Ground and a minion on Field of Honor. I play You're Pretty Much Borscht and move several minions there and destroy them. Do I gain 1 VP for each minion I destroyed?

A: No. You're Pretty Much Borscht moved all those minions simultaneously, so High Ground destroyed them simultaneously as well. No matter how many minions were destroyed simultaneously, it's still counted as one destruction event. So you only get 1 VP from that destruction.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have High Ground and a minion on Field of Honor. I play Commission to play a Bear Cavalry on a base and move two minions to Field of Honor (one because of Bear Cavalry and the other because of Commission). How many VPs do I gain?

A: 2 VPs. The reason is that the two minions are destroyed one after the other, so it's counted as two separate destructions. First, you resolve Bear Cavalry's ability and immediately move a minion to Field of Honor, where it triggers High Ground (High Ground is triggered but doesn't immediately destroy the minion). Then, you finish resolving Commission because it's in the middle of resolving and move a second minion to Field of Honor, where it triggers High Ground again. Next, you resolve card reactions. What you did triggered High Ground twice, so two separate destructions occur one after another, each time triggering Field of Honor, which awards you 2 VPs in total.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: I have High Ground on a base, but no minion there. I move one of my minions and several of other players' minions to there (e.g. Hyperspeed 10). Are they destroyed?

A: No, High Ground needs to be able to destroy the minions right before they are moved there. This case is similar to Cub Scout's situation. For High Ground to trigger, the conditions must be met right before the minions are moved.

Rule: TBD

Q: I have a minion and High Ground on Pony Land and another player already has a minion there too. If I move one of their other minions to Pony Land, is it destroyed?

A: No. Pony Land is applicable as soon as a player has two minions or more there. So it's already indestructible and High Ground has no effect on it.

Rule: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because High Ground says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Superiority Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion there, it's now protected from all those things, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions" and "other players" means "their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: It protects "my minions". Does it also protect minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Is there a card that "returns" a card in play to a deck?

A: Strictly speaking, no. No card "returns" (as in, actually uses the term "return") a card in play to a deck. [2] And in case you're wondering, no, it doesn't protect against cards that place or shuffle your minions in play into your deck.

Rule: Check Superiority's clarification.

Q: An opponent plays Unfathomable Goals (or Griefer, Out of Sight), forcing me to affect one of my minions. Can I choose one of my minions on the same base as Superiority? If so, does Superiority protect it?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, since the cause of the affect is "another player's card", then yes, Superiority protects it, even if the card makes you do the affect.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If you're asking about when Superiority is played, it doesn't interact with them at all, because Superiority says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.
- If you're asking about when you copy an effect onto an opponent's minion with Superiority protecting it, then the minion isn't affected. Note that Superiority only protects against other player's cards, so if Superiority's controller plays a standard action, you can copy it with Dancing King or We are Family and have it affect one of that player's minion, bypassing Superiority's protection because the minion is considered as being affected by its own controller's action and what Dancing King and We are Family do is copy the effect onto it, which itself doesn't count as affecting the minion.
- If you're asking about when an opponent's minion with Superiority protecting it is directly affected by your standard action and you want to copy that, then it's not possible because the minion isn't affected by your action and because no minion was affected, you can't copy the effect.
- If you're asking about when an opponent's minion with Superiority protecting it is directly affected by that player's standard action and you want to copy that, then you can indeed copy it the same way.

Rule 1: Definition of "standard".

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".


Questions on You’re Pretty Much Borscht Edit

Q: It tells me to choose a base "where I have a minion". Can I choose a base with a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: I play You're Pretty Much Borscht on a base that has like 8 power-2 creatures and move them to a base where I have a cub scout. Do all the level 2 creatures die BEFORE the base scores, or does the base score THEN all the creatures die, and whatever is left is what determines the winner?

A: You only check if a base scores during phase 3 of a player's turn. If you've played You're Pretty Much Borscht during your Play Cards phase, then you don't check whether the base scores or not. So, in your scenario, the power-2 minions are all destroyed. Whether the base scores or not during phase 3 depends only on how much power is there when you check.

Rule: Before phase 3, it doesn't matter how much power each player has on each base, they will only score if they meet the requirement during phase 3, and phase 3 only.

Q: I have High Ground and a minion on Field of Honor. I play You're Pretty Much Borscht and move several minions there and destroy them. Do I gain 1 VP for each minion I destroyed?

A: No. You're Pretty Much Borscht moved all those minions simultaneously, so High Ground destroyed them simultaneously as well. No matter how many minions were destroyed simultaneously, it's still counted as one destruction event. So you only get 1 VP from that destruction.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Do the moved minions all go to the same base?

A: Yes. The card text says to move all other players' minions from the chosen base to one other base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - Diva can't copy it because it would already be directly affected by it.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player's opponents, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion controlled by that player. Also, note that even though several minions are moved, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to move only one additional minion, not one per affected minion.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player's opponents, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion controlled by that player.
- It is impossible for Funky Town to copy that action's effect because you can only directly affect opponents' minions, which won't trigger Funky Town.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on You’re Screwed Edit

Q: It tells me to choose a base "where I have a minion". Can I choose a base with a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player's opponents, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion controlled by that player.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player's opponents, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion controlled by that player.
- It is impossible for Funky Town to copy that action's effect because you can only directly affect an opponent's minion, which won't trigger Funky Town.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Major Ursa Edit

Main article: Titans

Q: The card says "Special" so I can use it outside of my turn, but why does the card also say "instead of your regular minion play"?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Major Ursa, the condition is "instead of your regular minion play", this means that you can only activate it when you have a regular minion play available, which is only on your turn and more specifically on your Play Cards phase. It cannot be played out of turn, because, outside of your own Play Cards phase, you don't have any regular minion plays to give up.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: “Instead of your regular minion play” means instead of the normal minion play allowed during your Play Cards phase.

Q: If there's a restriction on where I can play a minion (e.g. Ice Castle, Overrun), does it also apply to Major Ursa if I play it instead of my regular minion play?

A: No, such a restriction only applies when you play a minion. If you convert your regular minion play into a titan play, you're playing a titan, not a minion, so the restriction doesn't apply.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says, especially when clarified in the rulebook.

Q: I need to "have a minion". Do minions that I own but don't control also count?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: What happens to Major Ursa when the base that it's on scores?

A: It remains on that base until the step where you discard all the cards on the base. At which point it leaves play and is set aside. Any +1 power counter on it is removed.

Rule 1: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards on the scored base are discarded simultaneously.

Rule 2: If, for whatever reasons, a titan must leave play, it's actually set aside near its owner's deck and any +1 power counters on it are removed.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have Major Ursa there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. Major Ursa is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if Major Ursa had any +1 power counters on it or gave you any total power (e.g. on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: An opponent is playing the Bear Cavalry with their titan. Their Major Ursa isn't in play. There is a base where I have a minion and I haven't played my regular minion yet, I can then invoke Major Ursa through its Special ability and play it there, right?

A: No, it doesn't seem like it's the intention. Out of play, "you" on cards probably refers to the player who has them physically, i.e. in their discard pile, hand, next to their deck, etc. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: If Major Ursa's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed on it by its own ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled).

Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: Another player plays They Say He's Got to Go and moves Major Ursa. Does it activate its Ongoing ability? If so, who can move a minion of power 3 or less?

A: Yes, its trigger is "After this titan is moved to a base", so no matter how it happened, if this titan is moved, its ability is triggered. If triggered, no matter who moved the titan, it's Major Ursa's controller who can move a minion of power 3 or less of their choice.

Rule: "You" on a card means the controller of the card.

Q: My Major Ursa is moved to a base where another player has a titan and more power than me. Can I move a minion of power 3 or less from there? Or is Major Ursa immediately removed from play? If I can move a minion and end up with more power than that player, is Major Ursa still removed or is their titan removed?

A: A clash will indeed happen, but before the clash happens, you will have the opportunity to use Major Ursa's ongoing ability. As proof, the rulebook does mention that in a clash the titan controllers compare their total power after resolving their ongoing abilities. Put simply, regarding Card Resolution Order with titans, titan clash is resolved after card reactions (Major Ursa's ongoing ability is one). Once you're done resolving card reactions, the titan controllers must now compare their "final" total powers, so moving a minion away has to be taken into account because it influences its controller's total power.

Rule: After you play or move a titan to a base that already has a titan, one of them must be removed from play. The two controllers compare their total power at that base, after resolving their ongoing abilities though not their talents. The one with the lesser total removes their titan; the earlier titan wins ties.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Gong Studios, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • The artist for the titan (which was released after Awesome Level 9000) is Francisco Rico Torres, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • Although the official text never specifies a particular country of origin, it is implied that this faction comes from Russia. The term "Tsar" usually refers to Russian monarchs, and the card "Bear Rides You" is a fragment of a Russian reversal "In Soviet Russia, bear rides you!".
  • In Bear Rides You, the Bear Cavalry is battling against Robots. In fact, several Microbot Guards and a Microbot Fixer can be seen.
  • In High Ground, a Bear Cavalry is shooting at three War Raptors.

In other languages Edit

Language Name Translation (if different)
Chinese 黑熊骑兵 Black Bear Cavalry
French Cavalerie ours
German Bärenreiter Bear Riders
Greek Ιππικό των Αρκούδων
Italian Cavalleria Ursina
Portuguese Cavalaria Ursina
Russian Медвежья кавалерия
Spanish Ejército del Oso Army of the Bear


Awesome Level 9000

Factions: Bear Cavalry  •  Ghosts  •  Killer Plants  •  Steampunks
Mechanics: Titans (optional, since the TITANS Event Kit)

TITANS Event Kit

Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Madness  •  Titans

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again  •  World Tour: International Incident
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22554680#22554680
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/15390367#15390367