FANDOM


13934724 1066172276802359 8690807546468654149 n

Quite a lot more than your eyes first perceive! The Changerbots hail from another world, but secretly move about ours in the form of everyday transportation. They change their form and abilities to fight a never-ending battle against their enemies, and protect the human race from their robotic shenanigans. They are also the subject of an absolutely terrible movie reboot, apparently.

- Cease and Desist rulebook

The Changerbots are one of the 4 factions from the Cease and Desist set.

The Changerbots focus on talents allowing you to "switch" between having a strong minion or a weaker utility minion.

Cards Edit

IMG 0551

The Changerbots have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is unusually high at 32, or an average of 3.2 per minion. Additionally, there are several minions and actions that can increase or decrease the power of minions beyond their base value.

Minions Edit

1x Leader Two - power 6 - Talent: One of your other minions gains +2 power until the end of the turn.

2x Solarshout - power 4 - Talent: Play an extra action. Give this minion -2 power until the end of the turn.

3x Bruiser - power 2 - Ongoing: This minion cannot be destroyed. Talent: This minion gains +2 power and loses its Ongoing ability and all other abilities until the start of your next turn.

4x Huffie - power 3 - Talent: Move this minion to another base and give it -1 power until the end of the turn.

Actions Edit

1x Cesium Armor - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion has +1 power and cannot be destroyed.

2x Change Into A Gun - Play on one of your minions to destroy a minion of power 4 or less there. Ongoing: This minion has -2 power. Destroy this card at the start of your turn.

1x Change Up and Roll On - Special: Before a base scores you may move any number of your minions to there. They each get -1 power until the end of the turn.

1x Flighterizer - Play on one of your minions. Ongoing: This minion has the ability: "Talent: Move this minion to another base and give it -1 power until the end of the turn."

1x Form Mergacon - Choose a base. Each of your minions there gains +1 power until the end of the turn.

1x Matrix of Bossiness - Play on one of your minions. Ongoing: This minion's printed power is treated as if it were 5.

1x Passengers - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion has the ability: "Talent: If this minion moved this turn, move another one of your minions from the previous base to here."

2x The Touch - Play on one of your minions. Ongoing: This minion has the ability: "Talent: This minion gains +3 power and loses all other abilities until the end of the turn."

Changerbots

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Cease and Desist rulebook:

Bruiser, The Touch: When the talent is used, the minion loses the abilities granted by actions (The Touch, Passengers, Flighterizer), but not the benefits of an action’s own abilities (Cesium Armor, Matrix of Bossiness).

Solarshout: Once triggered, the -2 power lasts even if it loses its ability (e.g. from The Touch).

Mechanics Edit

Changerbots specialize in versatility allowing them to shift their minions or action from high power number to powerful abilities. They have the most amount of Talent ability and all of its minions use talents. Due to this, the minion can change its tactic shifting to more power to capture bases or skills such as moving to other bases or playing extra action. Its actions are also versatile. Action like Passengers, Flighterizer and The Touch grant a minion a brand new talent giving a minion a new ability while other focus on increasing power. However, they have a few weakness. The biggest weakness is that while Chargerbots have multiple talents, they can only use one talent (unless there a base that grant two talents) so player must choose wisely. Another things is that most abilities have a side effect such as losing power for an abilities or losing Ongoing skill for more power so choose carefully.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Leader Two Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Solarshout Edit

Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So if this minion already has its power reduced by other cards, does it go negative?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.
Q: I use Solarshout's talent, so it gets -2 power until the end of the turn. Before the end of the turn, if I manage to cancel of make it lose that talent, does it regain +2 power?

A: No, the -2 power persists until the end of the turn even if the ability that caused it is lost or cancelled.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists until the stated deadline.


Questions on Bruiser Edit

Q: What are the "other abilities"?

A: By itself, Bruiser has two abilities, its Ongoing and its Talent. If you play an action that gives it another ability (e.g. Potion of Redundancy Potion, Flighterizer, The Touch, Passengers), then Bruiser will have other abilities, besides its original two. Using its Talent would make it lose those additional abilities until the end of the turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: I use Bruiser's talent, so it loses its other abilities until the start of my next turn. If I play an action on it that gives it another ability (e.g. Potion of Redundancy Potion, Flighterizer, The Touch, Passengers), does it immediately lose them or not?
A: Yes, Bruiser will automatically lose these abilities, even though they were gained after the activation of its talent because the loss of abilities persists until the start of your next turn.

Rule: "Until the start of your next turn" means the effect persists until the stated deadline.


Questions on Huffie Edit

Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So if this minion already has its power reduced by other cards, does it go negative?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.
Q: I use Huffie's talent, so it gets -1 power until the end of the turn. Before the end of the turn, if I manage to cancel of make it lose that talent, does it regain +1 power?

A: No, the -1 power persists until the end of the turn even if the ability that caused it is lost or cancelled.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists until the stated deadline.


Questions on Cesium Armor Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Change Into A Gun Edit

Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So a minion's power can go negative with this card, right?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.
Q: If my minion which I attach this to is a power 5, can I choose to destroy it? It has -2 power after all.

A: No. When you resolve a card, you must resolve it step by step. So first, you destroy a minion of power 4 or less (your minion, being a power 5, is not eligible at this point). Then, the Ongoing ability is activated and your minion gets -2.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.


Questions on Change Up and Roll On Edit

Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So a minion's power can go negative with this card, right?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.
Q: Can I choose minions that can't be moved (e.g. Entangled), just to give them -1 power for whatever reason?

A: Yes, moving the minion and giving it -1 power are independent. So, choose any number of your minions on any bases, they all move and get -1 power. If one of them can't move, it still gets -1 power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Flighterizer Edit

Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So a minion's power can go negative with this card, right?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.
Q: When I play this card on a minion, does it overwrite the minion's original abilities?

A: No. The minion will keep its original abilities and will gain an additional one.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If played on a minion with a talent, can you only use one of its talents per turn or can you trigger each talent separately?

A: If played on a minion with a talent, the minion will then have two talents. Each talent can be activated once per turn, independently from each other, unless one of the talents makes the minion lose its other abilities (e.g. Bruiser).

Rule: Each talent can be activated once per turn.


Questions on Form Mergacon Edit

Q: If I play Form Mergacon and then play another minion there afterward, does the new minion get +1 power from Form Mergacon?

A: The official answer is yes[1].

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: If I play Form Mergacon and then move one of my minions to the targeted base. Does the minion get +1 power from Form Mergacon?

A: Yes. Even though Form Mergacon is discarded, its effect still persists until the end of the turn, so any of your minions on the targeted base gets the boost.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: If I play Form Mergacon and then move one of my minions from the targeted base to another base. Does the minion lose the +1 power from Form Mergacon?

A: Yes. Even though Form Mergacon is discarded, its effect still persists until the end of the turn, so any of your minions on the targeted base gets the boost and any of them loses it when they are moved away from that base.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.


Questions on Matrix of Bossiness Edit

Q: The highest printed power in play is 6. What happens if you play Matrix of Bossiness on Mimic? Is its power 6 or 5?

A: 6. It makes more sense to treat Mimic as modifying its starting power if its printed power isn't the highest one in play, somewhat similarly to how Lovey Bear works.

Rule: TBD


Questions on Passengers Edit

Q: When I play this card on a minion, does it overwrite the minion's original abilities?

A: No. The minion will keep its original abilities and will gain an additional one.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If played on a minion with a talent, can you only use one of its talents per turn or can you trigger each talent separately?

A: If played on a minion with a talent, the minion will then have two talents. Each talent can be activated once per turn, independently from each other, unless one of the talents makes the minion lose its other abilities (e.g. Bruiser).

Rule: Each talent can be activated once per turn.

Q: If I play this on another player's minion, who can use this action's talent?

A: You're still the action's controller, but in that case, it's the minion that has the talent, not the action. This means that it's only the minion's controller who can use the new talent.

Rule: A talent can be activated on each of its controller's turns.


Questions on The Touch Edit

Q: When I play this card on a minion, does it overwrite the minion's original abilities?

A: No. The minion will keep its original abilities and will gain an additional one.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If played on a minion with a talent, can you only use one of its talents per turn or can you trigger each talent separately?

A: If played on a minion with a talent, the minion will then have two talents. Each talent can be activated once per turn. However, if you use the talent from The Touch first, it will remove the other talent until the end of the turn and you won't be able to trigger the second talent.

Rule: Each talent can be activated once per turn.

Trivia Edit

  • Leader Two's name is a reference to Leader One (gobot and Transformers Armada).
  • Leader Two's Robot form is a reference to Optimus Prime.
  • Leader Two's RV form is a reference to Breaking Bad.
  • Solarshout's name is a reference to Starscream.
  • The Touch is a reference to the Transformers movie song.
  • Unicrave is a reference to Unicron.
  • The Matrix of Bossiness is a reference to the Matrix of Leadership.
  • Change Up and Roll On is a reference to the common order in Transformers universe "transform and roll out"

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/16247336#16247336

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.