FANDOM


Deep friar

Munchkin Clerics are here to spread the holy word ... and do some smiting while they're at it! They've got blessings for you and curses for your opponents, all for a low, low tithe!

- Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook

The Clerics are one of the 8 factions from the Smash Up: Munchkin set.

The clerics focus on returning cards from their discard pile to their hand and deck, as well as preventing cards from going to their discard pile.

Cards Edit

Clerics

The Clerics have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion. Additionally, there are several actions that can boost the power of minions beyond its base value but they also benefit opponents' minions.

Minions Edit

1x Cardinal - power 5 - Talent: If your discard pile has at least five cards, place two of them, chosen at random, into your hand.

2x Deep Friar - power 4 - Special: After this base scores, you may move another one of your minions here to another base instead of the discard pile.

3x Turner - power 3 - Destroy an undead monster here OR shuffle a random minion from your discard pile into your deck.

4x Holy Roller - power 2 - You may shuffle a card from your discard pile into your deck.

Actions Edit

1x Bin and Gone - Play on a base. Ongoing: After another base scores, you may move one of your minions from there to here instead of the discard pile.

2x Collection Plate - Place two random cards from your discard pile into your hand.

1x Curse of Imprisonment - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion loses its abilities.

1x Curse of Uselessness - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion adds no power to the base it is on.

1x Good Habits - All minions gain +1 power until the end of the turn.

2x Join the Club - Choose a base. All minions there get +1 power until the end of the turn.

1x Remove Curse - Destroy an action on a base or on a minion.

1x Word of Recall - Choose a random action from each other player's discard pile. You may play one of them as an extra action. Return the others.

Clerics

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook:

Curse of Uselessness: A minion with CoU still has power, but that power does not count towards breaking the base or earning VPs. A monster with CoU doesn’t add to the breakpoint. If you only have a minion with CoU on it at the base, your total there is 0, and if 0 is one of the top 3 totals you can still earn VPs.

Deep Friar: If both Deep Friars are on a base, they trigger separately, so they cannot both save each other.

Mechanics Edit

Clerics revolve around saving your cards from the discard pile, either by retrieving cards or by moving your minions instead of discarding them.

Deep Friars and Bin and Gone are very strong cards that allow you to save a minion after a base scores by moving it to another base, meaning that it gets to keep any actions and +1 power counters on it.

Unlike Zombies, which specialize in minions, and Time Travelers, which specialize in actions, Clerics can get back any cards from your discard pile, but it's mitigated as the cards are usually chosen randomly.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Cardinal Edit

Q: Do I have to reveal which cards were randomly chosen from my discard pile?

A: Discard piles are "public knowledge", so you can check which cards are in any player's discard pile at any time. If you take a card out of the discard pile, players are supposed to know what card was taken out. So, you should reveal it.

Rule: Anyone may look through any discard pile at any time.


Questions on Deep Friar Edit

Q: If the chosen minion has action cards attached to it, does the minion move to another base along with all the action cards? Or only the minion itself?

A: The minion moves with the actions attached to it.

Rule: When a minion moves, anything attached to the minion go with the minion and stay attached.

Q: How come two Deep Friar on the same base can't save each other?

A: During the step where after-scoring abilities can be invoked/played, you can invoke both Deep Friars' abilities. They will allow you to replace "placing another one of your minions here into the discard pile" with "moving it to another base", but this is NOT done immediately. You don't even choose which minions will be saved yet. All will only be resolved during the step where the cards are placed in the discard pile. When it's time to discard all cards on the scored base, the two Deep Friars are to be resolved, so the current player decides which one is activated first. Once the order is decided, the Deep Friars' controller chooses which is the first minion to be saved from the discard pile by the first Deep Friar. At that point, they can choose the other Deep Friar. If they do, it's moved immediately. However, when it's time to resolve the second Deep Friar's ability, there's a problem: it's not on a scored base, so it's ability can't be used.

Rule: Check the steps for phase 3.


Questions on Turner Edit

Q: Can you choose to attempt to destroy an Undead monster here with Turner even if there aren´t any? (Because you don´t want to shuffle a minion back)

A: Sure. When you resolve an "OR" ability, you choose which of the two effects you want to do, even if you can't do one of them, you can still choose it.

Rule 1: When you resolve an "OR" ability, you must choose one of the two effects.

Rule 2: You can play a card even if its ability can’t happen.

Q: Can I see which minion was chosen before shuffling it in my deck?

A: Yes. Discard piles can be checked by any players at any time, so by extension, you should be allowed to know what card was removed from it. And actually, even the other players should be allowed to know what card was randomly chosen. So, you should also reveal it.

Rule: Anyone may look through any discard pile at any time.

Q: It's so annoying to choose a random minion from my discard pile. I have to separate all my actions and minions, then randomly choose a minion without looking at it, then shuffle it into my deck.

A: You don't have to separate your discard pile into two. You can just shuffle your entire discard pile and reveal cards until you reveal a minion. That will be the minion that will be shuffled into your deck.

Rule: N/A


Questions on Holy Roller Edit

Q: Do I have to reveal which card I shuffled in my deck to the other players?

A: Discard piles are "public knowledge", so you can check which cards are in any player's discard pile at any time. If you take a card out of the discard pile, players are supposed to know what card was taken out. So, you should reveal it.

Rule: Anyone may look through any discard pile at any time.


Questions on Bin and Gone Edit

Q: If the chosen minion has action cards attached to it, does the minion move to another base along with all the action cards? Or only the minion itself?

A: The minion moves with the actions attached to it.

Rule: When a minion moves, anything attached to the minion go with the minion and stay attached.
Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so after another base scores, I too can save one of my minions there, right?
A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent) and "your" means "their" (i.e. your opponent's).
Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.


Questions on Collection Plate Edit

Q: Do I have to reveal which cards were randomly chosen from my discard pile?

A: Discard piles are "public knowledge", so you can check which cards are in any player's discard pile at any time. If you take a card out of the discard pile, players are supposed to know what card was taken out. So, you should reveal it.

Rule: Anyone may look through any discard pile at any time.


Questions on Curse of Imprisonment Edit

Q: An opponent has Elder Thing in play. Can I play Curse of Imprisonment to remove its immunity?

A: No. Their Elder Thing cannot be affected by your cards, and playing an action on it counts as affecting it, so it won't work.

Rule: Definition of "affect". Playing an action on a minion counts as affecting the minion.


Questions on Curse of Uselessness Edit

Q: What does it mean "This minion adds no power to the base it is on."? Is it the same as reducing its power to 0?

A: It's not the same as reducing its power to 0. The minion is still considered as having its modified power for cards that target minions of a certain power. You just don't count the minion when you calculate your total power and the minion doesn't help break the base it's on. For example, if you play it on a minion of power 5, it's still considered as a minion of power 5, so it can't be targeted by Seeing Stars, but it can be targeted by Justice Friends. When you check if its base scores, you don't count it when determining the total power there. And when the base scores, this minion isn't counted when you calculate its controller's total power there. In the case of an uncontrolled monster, the monster doesn't add its power to the base's breakpoint.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Good Habits Edit

Q: If I play Good Habits and then play another minion afterward, does the new minion get +1 power from Good Habits?

A: The official answer is yes[1].

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: An opponent plays Good Habits. On the same turn, I manage to play a minion afterward (e.g. Shinobi), does the new minion get +1 power from Good Habits?

A: The official answer is yes[1].

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.


Questions on Join the Club Edit

Q: If I play Join the Club and then play another minion there afterward, does the new minion get +1 power from Join the Club?

A: The official answer is yes[1].

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: An opponent plays Join the Club. On the same turn, I manage to play a minion there afterward (e.g. Shinobi), does the new minion get +1 power from Join the Club?

A: The official answer is yes[1].

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: If I play Join the Club and then move a minion to the targeted base. Does the minion get +1 power from Join the Club?

A: Yes. Even though Join the Club is discarded, its effect still persists until the end of the turn, so any minion on the targeted base gets the boost.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: If I play Join the Club and then move a minion from the targeted base to another base. Does the minion lose the +1 power from Join the Club?

A: Yes. Even though Join the Club is discarded, its effect still persists until the end of the turn, so any minion on the targeted base gets the boost and any minion moved away from it loses it.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.


Questions on Remove Curse Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Word of Recall Edit

Q: If I play another player's Madness card and use it to draw two cards, where is the Madness card discarded?

A: Since you played it, you discard it. So, it's discarded into your discard pile.

Rule: If you discard a Madness card, it goes into your discard pile.

Q: This is so annoying to use. Each other player must first separate their actions from their discard pile, then shuffle them, then pick one at random.

A: The other players don't have to separate their discard pile into two. They can just shuffle their entire discard pile and reveal cards until they reveal an action. Each one will be that player's "random action".

Rule: N/A

Trivia Edit

  • The artists are John Kovalic, who is well-known for drawing the art of many boardgames including Munchkin and several of its expansions, and Francisco Rico Torres, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • A Ghoul is being repelled by the Turners.
  • A Web Troll is present on both Curses cards.

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/16247336#16247336

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.