FANDOM


Loot lover

Digging underground for most of their lives gives them a sensitivity to light, especially the light glinting off a piece of treasure! It also gives them impressive muscles. The last place you want to be is between a Munchkin Dwarf with his pickaxe and some treasure.

- Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook (updated in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook)

The Dwarves are one of the 8 factions from the Smash Up: Munchkin set.

The Dwarves focus on getting treasures and they get benefits from treasures played on their minions.

Other factions from the same set: Clerics, Elves, Halflings, Mages, Orcs, Thieves, Warriors.

Cards Edit

Dwarves

The Dwarves have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion. Additionally, there are several abilities that can boost the power of minions beyond its base value.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 0 play-on-base actions,
  • 10 standard actions (none of them affect minions): Anything for Money, Cash Out, Cunning Plan, Greed is Good (2x), Hidden Assets (2x), Mine!, No! My Precious!, Salvage,
  • 0 actions that directly increase a minion's power.

Minions Edit

1x Dwarf King - power 5 - Ongoing: When a treasure card on one of your minions goes to the discard pile, place it into your hand instead. FAQ

2x Loot Lover - power 4 - Ongoing: This minion has +2 power for each treasure card on it. FAQ

3x Gold Digger - power 3 - Talent: Place a treasure card from the discard pile into your hand. FAQ

4x Gem Grabber - power 2 - Ongoing: If this minion has a treasure card on it, it has +2 power. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Anything for Money - Discard any number of cards. Draw one treasure card for each card you discarded. FAQ

1x Cash Out - Play up to 3 treasure cards from your hand as extra cards. FAQ

1x Cunning Plan - Special: Play before a base scores. Draw a treasure card. You may play it. FAQ

2x Greed is Good - Draw a treasure card OR place a treasure card from the discard pile into your hand. You may play an extra action. FAQ

2x Hidden Assets - Place the top 3 cards from the treasure card deck into its discard pile. Draw a card. You may play an extra action. FAQ

1x Mine! - Search the treasure deck for a card that can be played on a minion. Play it on one of your minions as an extra action. Shuffle the treasure deck. FAQ

1x No! My Precious! - Destroy an action played on a minion. If it is a treasure card, you may play an extra action. FAQ

1x Salvage - Special: Play before a base scores. Play a treasure card from the discard pile onto one of your minions there. FAQ

Dwarves

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Cunning Plan: If you play the treasure card, it’s as an extra card.

Mechanics Edit

Dwarves specialize in getting treasures, especially from the treasure discard pile, and gaining power from on-minion treasures.

Out of its 22 cards, the treasure discard pile has 10 actions that can be played on minions, so nearly half of the deck, though Potion of Cowardice is more detrimental to the Dwarves. Some of the Dwarf minions gaining advantage from having on-minion actions on them, they need to draw the right treasures from the treasure deck, or they can choose the appropriate treasures from the treasure discard pile.

While players could think that Dwarves greatly depend on Munchkin bases to have treasures, Dwarves actually have several cards allowing them to draw treasures and to put treasures into the treasure discard pile. So, they can get treasure by themselves, but they do have an advantage when Munchkin bases are in play.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Dwarf King Edit

Q: Does Dwarf King's ability work after any base scores? Do I place treasures played on my minions there into my hand?

A: Yes.[1]

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: If Dwarf King is destroyed, do I place treasures played on him into my hand?

A: Yes.[1]

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: But, there's this rule, "When a monster or treasure card leaves play, it always goes to the corresponding discard pile, regardless of card text to the contrary.", so Dwarf King actually can't prevent the treasure from going to your hand since this rule explicitly tells us to ignore the card abilities.

A: This is obviously a very inaccurate rule because that would make Dwarf King useless. A more accurate rule would be that it only applies if the card text refers more generally to "a minion", "an action" or "a card". If the card text specifically refers to the treasure/monster nature of the card, then follow the card text instead.

Rule: N/A

Q: It applies to treasures on "one of my minions". Does it also apply to treasures on minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: What about Magic Missile? When I use its talent, is it placed in my hand or the bottom of the treasure deck?

A: The bottom of the treasure deck. When you use Magic Missile's talent, you immediately place it under the treasure deck. Note that it doesn't say "instead of the discard pile", so it's not replacing its fate of being discarded so you don't wait for the step where the card should normally be discarded. Since it never reaches that step, Dwarf King's ability can't apply.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I already have ten cards in hand. Something happens (a base scores, one of my minions with treasures on it is destroyed, etc.) that allows me to place treasures into my hand. What happens? Are they discarded anyway? Or do I get them and then immediately choose cards to discard?

A: You get them back and you discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So, if it happens during another player's turn, you keep all the cards and can therefore play your next turn with more than ten cards in hand.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on Loot Lover Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Gold Digger Edit

Q: I already have ten cards in hand. What happens if I decide to use this talent? Do I place a treasure in my hand and immediately discard a card?

A: It is placed in your hand and you don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on Gem Grabber Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Anything for Money Edit

Q: Can I discard cards that are already in play?

A: No. When a card tells you to discard a card, it comes from your hand unless it says otherwise.

Rule: Unless otherwise specified, discarding cards refers to cards in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Anything for Money doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Cash Out Edit

Q: If the first treasure I play is Wand of Dowsing, can I play any of the drawn treasures as any of the remaining extra card plays? Or can I only play three treasure I already had in hand?

A: Yes, you can. Cards are played one at a time and each is resolved as soon as it is played. Moreover, unlike Teleport Overflow, there's nothing that tells you to reveal beforehand which treasures you intend to play.

Rule: Cards are played one at a time.[2]

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Cash Out doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Cunning Plan Edit

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10 before I can play the treasure?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Cunning Plan doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Greed is Good Edit

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10 before I play the extra action?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Greed is Good doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Hidden Assets Edit

Q: Does "Draw a card" mean that I draw a treasure card?

A: No, it means you draw a card from your deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Hidden Asset doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Mine! Edit

Q: It says to play the treasure on "one of my minions". Can I play it on a minion I own that I don't control? For example if the treasure is Potion of Cowardice.

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Mine! doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on No! My Precious! Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because No! My Precious! doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied. Yes, destroying an action affects that action, but not the card (minion or base) it is on.

Rule: Definition of "affect".


Questions on Salvage Edit

Q: It says to play the treasure on "one of my minions". Can I play it on a minion I own that I don't control? For example if the treasure is Potion of Cowardice.

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Salvage doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artists are John Kovalic, who is well-known for drawing the art of many boardgames including Munchkin and several of its expansions, and Gong Studios, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • The font used for the Dwarf cards is Quasimodo.
  • An Elf and a Warrior are present on the Cash Out card.
  • An Elf is also present on the Cunning Plan card.

In other languages Edit

Language Name
French Nains
German Zwerge
Russian Дварфы
Spanish Enanos


Smash Up: Munchkin

Factions: Clerics  •  Dwarves  •  Elves  •  Halflings  •  Mages  •  Orcs  •  Thieves  •  Warriors
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Monsters  •  Treasures

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/15395000#15395000
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/19200177#19200177