FANDOM


Touch of madness

From reaches beyond space and time come these incredible horrors, bent on... bent on... well we really don’t know, do we? Everytime we learn a little bit, we go nuts. Perhaps its the madness they cause that gives them power after all...

- The Obligatory Cthulhu Set rulebook

The Elder Things are one of the 4 factions from The Obligatory Cthulhu Set.

This faction specializes in driving other players insane, by making them draw madness cards. Sometimes they'll have a choice between drawing a madness card or giving you an advantage.

Cards Edit

Elder things

The Elder Things have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is unusually high at 39 or an average of 3.9 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3. However, there are some restrictions on playing the highest powered minions (Elder Thing and Shoggoth).

Minions Edit

1x Elder Thing - power 10 - Destroy two of your other minions or place this minion on the bottom of your deck. This minion is not affected by opponents' cards.

2x Shoggoth - power 6 - You can only play this minion on a base where you have at least 6 power. Each other player may draw a Madness card. Destroy a minion here belonging to each player who does not do so.

3x Mi-go - power 3 - Each other player may draw a Madness card. For each other player that does not, you may draw a card.

4x Byakhee - power 2 - Each other player with a minion at this base draws a Madness card.

Actions Edit

2x Begin the Summoning - Place a minion from your discard pile on top of your deck. You may play an extra action this turn.

1x Dunwich Horror - Play on a minion. This minion gains 5 power. Destroy this minion at the end of the turn.

1x Insanity - Each other player draws two Madness cards.

2x Power of Madness - All other players reveal their hands, discard all Madness cards and then shuffles their discard pile into their deck.

1x Spreading Horror - Each other player discards cards at random until that player discards a non-Madness card.

1x The Price of Power - Special: Before a base scores, all other players with minions there reveal their hand. One of your minions there has +2 power for each Madness card revealed.

1x Touch of Madness - Each other player draws a Madness card. Draw a card and play an extra action this turn.

1x Unfathomable Goals - All other players reveal his or her hands. Each player who reveals a Madness card must destroy one of their minions.

Elder Things

Bases Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Elder Thing Edit

Q: It lacks "Ongoing", so does it mean it's only immune on the turn it's played?

A: This clearly seems like an oversight. The intention is probably that its immunity persists, and therefore it should have been phrased "Ongoing: This minion is not affected by opponents' cards."

Rule: TBD

Q: I don't get its first ability. Why would I place it on the bottom of my deck?

A: This card seems to be badly worded. The intention is probably that when you play Elder Thing, you must destroy two of your other minions. If you fail to do that, either because you chose minions that are immune to destruction, or because you don't have enough minions to destroy, then you must place Elder Thing on the bottom of your deck.

Rule: TBD

Q: Why would I play it if I can't destroy two other minions?

A: Some rare abilities may force you to play it despite not having minions to destroy. (e.g. Secret Volcano Headquarters)

Rule: N/A

Q: If I only have one minion to destroy, do I still destroy it?

A: No, if you cannot satisfy the destruction requirement, you don't destroy any minions.[1]

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: An opponent has Elder Thing in play. Can I play Curse of Imprisonment or Potion of Cowardise to remove its immunity?

A: No. Their Elder Thing cannot be affected by your cards, and playing an action on it counts as affecting it, so it won't work.

Rule: Definition of "affect". Playing an action on a minion counts as affecting the minion.

Q: Can I play Elder Thing with Last Call or Rude Awakening without having to destroy minions?

A: Yes. You play it, then immediately cancel its ability until the end of the turn. At the end of the turn, its immunity is restored and you can ignore the destruction part because it's only resolved when Elder Thing is played.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play Bear Hug and an opponent chooses to destroy their Elder Thing, claiming that it can't be destroyed by my card and therefore survives. Is that correct?

A: Yes. Elder Thing is immune to any effect caused by other players' cards, as long as the effect is included in the definition of "affect", such as a destruction.

Rule: Definition of "affect".


Questions on Shoggoth Edit

Q: If I play Shoggoth, only the other players get a choice whether to draw a Mmadness card or not, not me. Yet, it tells me to "destroy a minion here belonging to each player who does not do so." It says "each player who does not do so", not "each other player who does not do so" (especially compared to Mi-go), so am I included among the players? Do I have to destroy one of my minions because I didn't draw a Madness card?

A: The intention is probably that you only destroy other players' minions, not yours. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: Can I play Shoggoth with Last Call or Rude Awakening on a base where I have less than 6 power?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: With Disguise, if I have minions on the same base for a total power of 6 or more, can I play Shoggoth there before returning one of them because of Disguise?

A: Based on the wording the Shoggoth (as an extra minion) isn't played before the chosen minion is returned, but the intent of the designer may be different.

Rule: TBD


Questions on Mi-go Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Byakhee Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Begin the Summoning Edit

Q: It doesn't say to reveal the card you place on your deck, so I don't have to reveal it if I don't want to, right?

A: No. Discard piles are "public knowledge", so you can check which cards are in any player's discard pile at any time. If you take a card out of the discard pile, players are supposed to know what card was taken out. So, you should reveal it. Otherwise, how are you supposed to prove that you didn't put an action instead of a minion?

Rule: Anyone may look through any discard pile at any time.


Questions on Dunwich Horror Edit

Q: The card is a bit unclear. Does the minion have +5 power forever (assuming it survives the destruction) or only the turn it is played?

A: This card seems to be missing an Ongoing keyword. Based on existing cards, it should be phrased "Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion gains 5 power. Destroy this minion at the end of the turn." To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: Is the minion destroyed before the base scores?

A: No. It is destroyed at the end of the turn (phase 5), which happens later than the Score Bases phase (phase 3).

Rule: "At the end of the turn" means "during the End Turn (phase 5) of the current turn".

Q: I know that if I play this on Brownie, I have to discard two random cards. But at the end of the turn, Brownie is destroyed (which counts as affecting it), do I discard two more random cards?

A: No. Brownie's ability only triggers immediately after you play a card that affects it. When Brownie is destroyed, the card is already in play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Insanity Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Power of Madness Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Spreading Horror Edit

Q: Spreading horror does not specify that the discard has to come from the players' own hands... Is this the case?

A: Yes. When a card tells you to discard a card, it comes from your hand unless it says otherwise.

Rule: Unless otherwise specified, discarding cards refers to cards in your hand.


Questions on The Price of Power Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Touch of Madness Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Unfathomable Goals Edit

Q: An opponent plays Unfathomable Goals and I have a Madness card in my hand. Can I choose to destroy a minion in my hand instead of in play?

A: No. The card specifically tells you to destroy one of "your minions", which by definition refers to "minions in play that you control".

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control". (and a minion is only controlled if it's in play)

Q: An opponent plays Unfathomable Goals and I have a Madness card in my hand. Can I choose to destroy a minion that cannot be destroyed? Even if I have another minion that's not immune?

A: Sure.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Q: An opponent plays Unfathomable Goals and I have more than one Madness card in my hand. Do I still have to destroy one of my minions? The card says "a Madness card". If I have to, do I destroy one minion per Madness card?

A: You have to destroy one minion in total. The card meant to say "at least one Madness card".

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play Unfathomable Goals and an opponent chooses to destroy their minion on Field of Honor. Who gets the VP?

A: Your card made another player destroy the minion, so it's that player who did the destruction. Therefore, your opponent gets the VP because Field of Honor rewards the player who destroys it.

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[2]

Q: I play Unfathomable Goals and an opponent chooses to destroy their Awesome Guy, claiming that it can't be destroyed by my card and therefore survives. Is that correct?

A: No. There's a subtle nuance. When you play Unfathomable Goals to make another player destroy a minion, the minion is considered both "destroyed by your card's ability" and "destroyed by that player". So the cause of the destruction is your card's ability, but the person who carried out the destruction is that player. A card that can't be destroyed by "other players' abilities" is only immune to destruction if the cause is another player's ability. However, a card that can't be destroyed by "other players" is only immune to destruction if the person who does the destruction is another player. So Awesome Guy is not immune to destruction if it's destroyed by its own controller, even if the destruction was caused by another player's card.

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[2]

Q: I play Unfathomable Goals and other players are forced to destroy their own minion. Can I activate Mako's ability and play it?

A: No. Mako's ability can only be triggered after you destroy a minion. When you play Unfathomable Goals, you make other players destroy their minions, so they are the ones who destroyed them, not you. On the other hand, if your opponent played a similar card as Unfathomable Goals (e.g. Bear Hug) and made you destroy one of your minions, then you can activate Mako's ability.

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[2]

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Alex Konstad.

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/15662994#15662994
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22554680#22554680

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.