FANDOM


15078616 1151665421586377 5543732638667687430 n

This faction doesn't belong in a museum! They belong on bases! The Explorers use their fearless sense of adventure to move quickly onto new bases and establish your power there quickly. By helping you control the flow of bases, they can nearly guarantee fortune and glory... or at least points.

- What Were We Thinking? rulebook

The Explorers are one of the 4 factions from the What Were We Thinking? set.

The Explorer focus on controlling which will be the next base to appear, mobility and being the first to play a minion on a new base.

Cards Edit

Trhnpzw

The Explorers have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion.

Minions Edit

1x Idaho Smith - power 5 - You may play the top base of the base deck, and move this minion and any number of your other minions from here to there.

2x Guide - power 4 - Ongoing: After the first time each of your minions moves in a turn it gains +1 power until the end of the turn.

3x Crypt Looter - power 3 - Special: After a new base comes into play, you may play this minion on it as an extra minion.

4x Glory Hound - power 2 - Look at the top two cards of the base deck. Place one on the bottom of the deck and the other on the top.

Actions Edit

1x Dr Livingstone, I Presume? - Choose a minion. If it is the only minion on its base, shuffle it into its owner’s deck.

1x Forgotten Horrors - Play on a base. Ongoing: After you play a minion here or play a card that moves your minions to here, draw a card and transfer this action to another base.

2x Fortune and Glory - Choose a base. You may move up to two minions from there to another base.

1x I Said No Camels! - Choose a base. Place a +1 power counter on each of your minions there OR draw a card for each of your minions there.

1x It Belongs in a Museum - Choose two minions on different bases. Move each one to the other's base.

2x Lost City - Special: After a base scores, reveal the top two cards of the base deck. Choose one to replace the scored base and discard the other. Play a minion on the new base as an extra minion.

1x X Never Marks the Spot - Move each of your minions.

1x You Call This Archaeology? - Move one of your minions. Special: You may play this before or after a base scores.

Explorers

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the What Were We Thinking? rulebook:

Crypt Looter: This triggers even when a base with minions on it changes (e.g. by Terraforming).

Forgotten Horror: Actions that move multiple minions (e.g. Ticket to Ride (sic: No card is named Ticket to Ride, the correct card seems to be "X Never Marks the Spot")) and minions that move other minions to their base (e.g. Twister) only get one card draw from this. Talents that move minions (e.g. Zeppelin) can trigger this only in the turn they are played, and only if used.

Idaho Smith: The new base is replaced after it scores, so the number of bases in play increases.

Lost City: Even if a different ability chooses the next base, Lost Cities can still let you play a minion on it.

Mechanics Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Idaho Smith Edit

Q: If I use Idaho Smith's ability and bring a new base into play, do I replace the next base that scores as usual or do I ignore replacing it like what Weird New Worlds does?

A: It is replaced normally, so using Idaho Smith's ability increases the number of bases for the rest of the game.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says. Except when the rulebook clearly addresses the issue.
Q: If I keep playing and replaying Idaho Smith, that means I can add lots of bases, right? That's so broken.
A: Remember that Idaho Smith's ability is optional, so you don't have to use it when you play it. Though, if you do, that would be exactly what would happen. Though honestly, it's not that easy to perform and there's no strategic advantage to do that.
Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Guide Edit

Q: With a Guide in play, if one of my power-2 minions is moved to a base with an opponent's power-3 Cub Scout, my minion isn't destroyed, right? It becomes power 3 after all.

A: It depends. Both Guide's and Cub Scout's abilities are activated after the minion is moved. According to the rules, it's the current player who decides the order in which these two cards are activated. If Guide is activated before Cub Scout, the minion gains +1 power and it becomes invulnerable to Cub Scout. However, if Cub Scout is activated before Guide, the minion is destroyed because it has a lower power than Cub Scout.
Rule 1: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".
Rule 2: The current player decides the order of events that are supposed to happen simultaneously.


Questions on Crypt Looter Edit

Q: If a base is Terraformed into another one or if Unicrave transforms into another base, does it count as a new base coming into play for Crypt Looter's Special ability?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says. Except when the rulebook clearly addresses the issue.


Questions on Glory Hound Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Dr Livingstone, I Presume? Edit

Q: Can I target a minion that cannot be affected? (e.g. Elder Thing)

A: Strictly speaking, "being shuffled into the deck" is not listed under the things considered as "affecting". One could say that shuffling a card should be treated as "placing" it in the deck and giving the deck a shuffle, but it doesn't use the word "place". That same argument was also made in the early days of Smash Up when the word "place" wasn't yet included in the list of "affect" and community consensus (as well as official sources) didn't treat "placing" a card from play under its owner's deck as affecting it. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Forgotten Horrors Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I play a minion there or play a card that moves at least one of my minions there, I draw a card and transfer Forgotten Horrors to another base, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So its ability should be interpreted as "After they play a minion here or play a card that moves their minions to here, they draw a card and transfer this action to another base."

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: If I play a card that allows me to move several minions to various bases (e.g. Full Sail, X Never Marks the Spot), can I move one to the base with Forgotten Horrors, draw a card and transfer Forgotten Horrors to another base, then move another minion to that new base and draw another card?

A: No. Firstly, when you play a card that allows you to move several minions, all the minion movements are done "simultaneously", as in they count as happening all at once, even though you cannot physically move several minions at the same time with only your own two hands. So, you must finish moving all the minions you want before triggering card reactions. Secondly, Forgotten Horrors specifically says that it triggers "after you play a card that moves your minions to here", so it is only activated after you are done resolving the card you played, and it only triggers once from playing that single card.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: If I play Zeppelin on Forgotten Horrors's base and use its talent to move one of my minions to there, does Forgotten Horrors trigger?

A: Suprisingly, yes. If you play a card with talent, and use the talent on the same turn that the card was played to move of your minions to Forgotten Horrors's base, then that counts as having played a card that moves your minions to there. Also, it doesn't matter if you use the talent right after the card played, or if you play or do something else between playing the card and using the talent.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says. Except when the rulebook clearly addresses the issue.


Questions on Fortune and Glory Edit

Q: Can I also move another player's minion?

A: Yes.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".
Q: Do the minions have to be moved to the same base or can I choose a different base for each minion to move to?
A: You must move the minions you chose to the same other base.
Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on I Said No Camels! Edit

Q: I play I Said No Camels! and choose to give my minions +1 power counters. If I later play a minion there on the turn, does it gain a counter?

A: No. When you play I Said No Camels!, you only resolve its ability with the minions that are currently in play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on It Belongs in a Museum Edit

Q: Can I choose one of my minions and another player's minion? Two of another player's minions? Another player's minion and a different other player's minion?

A: You can target any two minions in play, no matter who controls them. You can even move uncontrolled monsters!

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: If I move another player's minion, do I take control of it?

A: No. Moving is just relocating a minion, it doesn't mean that you take control of it.

Rule: If a card allows you to move another player's minion, they still remain that minion's controller; you do not take control of it.

Q: Do I have to choose exactly two minions? Or can I choose 0, 1 or 2?

A: You must choose exactly two minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What if there's only one eligible minion? Does it mean I can move it to any base?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: If one of the moved minion is a Cub Scout, does it destroy the other moved minion? I suppose I can choose the order in which they are moved and make it so the other minion is destroyed before moving Cub Scout.

A: No. The two minions are moved at the same time, so when the other minion is moved, Cub Scout is no longer on the base to destroy it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Lost City Edit

Q: How do you resolve conflicts with other cards that influence which is the replacement base? (e.g. Time is Fleeting, School of Wizardry, The Nexus)

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: If I play Lost City, but another card takes precedence and chooses the next base, can I still play the extra minion on the new base?

A: Yes. Choosing the next base and playing the extra minion are independent, so even if you don't get to choose the next base, you can still play an extra minion on it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says. Except when the rulebook clearly addresses the issue.


Questions on X Never Marks the Spot Edit

Q: Do I have to move all my minions?

A: Yes. It doesn't say "you may", nor "any number of", so each of your minions must be moved.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on You Call This Archaeology? Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:

Trivia Edit

  • Idaho Smith is a reference to Indiana Jones. Incidentally, "I Said No Camels!", "It Belongs in a Museum", "X Never Marks the Spot", and "You Call This Archaeology?" are quotes from Indiana Jones movies.
  • The Guide is a reference to Hadji from the Jonny Quest series, with some resemblance to Dora the Explorer.
  • Crypt Looter is a reference to Lara Croft from the Tomb Raider franchise.
  • "Dr Livingstone, I Presume?" is Henry Morton Stanley's greeting upon finding David Livingstone.
  • A Giant Ant has been shot by the Glory Hound
  • A Killer Plant is present on the Crypt Looter card.
  • The skeleton of a King Rex is present on Lost City.
  • City of Gold is a reference to The Mysterious Cities of Gold

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.