FANDOM


15078616 1151665421586377 5543732638667687430 n

No risk is too high, no treasure is too big! The Explorers will peek into every locked chamber and lost temple searching for gold, fame and wahoo powers! - AEG

This faction doesn’t belong in a museum! They belong on bases! The Explorers use their fearless sense of adventure to move quickly early onto new bases and establish your their power there quickly. By helping you control controlling the flow of bases, they can nearly guarantee winning fortune and glory... or at least victory points.

- What Were We Thinking? rulebook (updated in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook)

The Explorers are one of the 4 factions from the What Were We Thinking? set.

The Explorer focus on controlling which will be the next base to appear, mobility and being the first to play a minion on a new base.

Other factions from the same set: Grannies, Rock Stars, Teddy Bears.

Cards Edit

Trhnpzw

The Explorers have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion. They are also one of the rare factions to have received a titan from the TITANS Event Kit.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 1 play-on-base action: Forgotten Horrors,
  • 9 standard actions (7 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Dr Livingstone, I Presume?, Fortune and Glory (2x), I Said No Camels!, It Belongs in a Museum, Lost City (2x), X Never Marks the Spot, You Call This Archaeology?,
  • 1 action that directly increases a minion's power: I Said No Camels!.

Minions Edit

1x Idaho Smith - power 5 - You may play the top base of the base deck, and move this minion and any number of your other minions from here to there. FAQ

2x Guide - power 4 - Ongoing: After the first time each of your minions moves in a turn it gains +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

3x Crypt Looter - power 3 - Special: After a new base comes into play, you may play this minion on it as an extra minion. FAQ

4x Glory Hound - power 2 - Look at the top two cards of the base deck. Place one on the bottom of the deck and the other on the top. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Dr Livingstone, I Presume? - Choose a minion. If it is the only minion on its base, shuffle it into its owner’s deck. FAQ

1x Forgotten Horrors - Play on a base. Ongoing: After you play a minion here or play a card that moves your minions to here, draw a card and transfer this action to another base. FAQ

2x Fortune and Glory - Choose a base. You may move up to two minions from there to another base. FAQ

1x I Said No Camels! - Choose a base. Place a +1 power counter on each of your minions there OR draw a card for each of your minions there. FAQ

1x It Belongs in a Museum - Choose two minions on different bases. Move each one to the other’s base. FAQ

2x Lost City - Special: After a base scores, reveal the top two cards of the base deck. Choose one to replace the scored base and discard the other. Play a minion on the new base as an extra minion. FAQ

1x X Never Marks the Spot - Move each of your minions. FAQ

1x You Call This Archaeology? - Move one of your minions. Special: You may play this before or after a base scores. FAQ

Titan Edit

(available in each "Smash Up TITANS" pack released with the TITANS Event Kit)

1x Very Large Boulder - Special: Instead of your regular minion play, you may play this titan on a base that has no player's minions. Ongoing: Once per turn, after a minion moves from here, you may move this titan to the same base. Then destroy a minion at that base with less power than the number of +1 power counters on this titan. Ongoing: At the end of your turn, if this titan didn't move, place a +1 power counter on it. FAQ

Explorers

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the What Were We Thinking? rulebook:

Crypt Looter: This triggers even when a base with minions on it changes (e.g. by Terraforming).

Forgotten Horror: Actions that move multiple minions (e.g. Ticket to Ride (sic: No card is named Ticket to Ride, the correct card seems to be "X Never Marks the Spot"), Full Sail) and minions that move other minions to their base (e.g. Twister) only get one card draw from this. Talents that move minions (e.g. Zeppelin) can trigger this only in the turn they are played, and only if used. (errata'd by The Bigger Geekier Box)

Idaho Smith: The new base is replaced after it scores, so this permanently increases the number of bases in play.

Lost City: Even if a different ability chooses the next base, Lost Cities can still let you play a minion on it.

It Belongs in a Museum: If there’s only one eligible minion in play, you cannot move it with this card. (added by The Bigger Geekier Box)

Very Large Boulder: If you do not move this titan you may not destroy a minion at its base. (added by The Bigger Geekier Box)

Mechanics Edit

Explorers focus on movements, base deck manipulation and playing extra minions on newly revealed bases.

The Explorers have the unique mechanic of knowing and influencing which will be the next bases drawn from the base deck, allowing you to look at the top cards of the base deck and selecting which base remains on top.

They also allow you to play an extra minion on a base when it's newly revealed, giving you a head start over the other players.

Finally, the Explorers are a movement-heavy faction, able to move their minions and other players' minions.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Idaho Smith Edit

Q: If I use Idaho Smith's ability and bring a new base into play, do I replace the next base that scores as usual or do I ignore replacing it like what Weird New Worlds does?

A: It is replaced normally, so using Idaho Smith's ability increases the number of bases for the rest of the game.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says, especially when the rulebook clearly addresses the issue.

Q: If I keep playing and replaying Idaho Smith, that means I can add lots of bases, right? That's so broken.

A: Remember that Idaho Smith's ability is optional, so you don't have to use it when you play it. Though, if you do, that would be exactly what would happen. Though honestly, it's not that easy to perform and there's no strategic advantage to do that.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I choose to play a new base, do I have to move Idaho Smith there? It says "you may" after all.

A: Yes, you have to. It doesn't say "You may play the top base of the base deck, and you may move this minion and you may move any number of your other minions from here to there." So, if you choose to do the "you may", you then have to do all of it, i.e. you have to play a new base and you have to move Idaho Smith there. Moving your other minions is a special case, you definitely have to do it, but since it says "any number", you can legally choose to move zero of your other minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: It allows me to move any of "my other minions". Can I move minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".


Questions on Guide Edit

Q: It gives +1 power to "each of my minions" that move. Does it also give +1 power to moving minions that I own but don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: With a Guide in play, if one of my power-2 minions is moved to a base with an opponent's power-3 Cub Scout, my minion isn't destroyed, right? It becomes power 3 after all.

A: It depends. Both Guide's and Cub Scout's abilities are activated after the minion is moved. According to the rules, it's the current player who decides the order in which these two cards are activated. If Guide is activated before Cub Scout, the minion gains +1 power and it becomes invulnerable to Cub Scout. However, if Cub Scout is activated before Guide, the minion is destroyed because it has a lower power than Cub Scout.

Rule 1: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Rule 2: The current player decides the order of events that are supposed to happen simultaneously.


Questions on Crypt Looter Edit

Q: At the start of the game, when the bases are dealt, can I play a Crypt Looter on any of the starting bases?

A: No, during setup, the first bases are drawn before players even draw their starting hands, so you can't have any Crypt Looters in hand to play.

Rule: Check the order of operations for the setup.

Q: If a base is Terraformed into another one or if Unicrave transforms into another base, does it count as a new base coming into play for Crypt Looter's Special ability?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says. Except when the rulebook clearly addresses the issue.


Questions on Glory Hound Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Dr Livingstone, I Presume? Edit

Q: Which minion can I shuffle back with Dr Livingstone, I Presume??

A: You can target any minion in play, but it will only get shuffled if it is the only minion on its base:
- If it's a minion you own, it's shuffled into your deck.
- If it's a minion owned by another player, it's shuffled into that player's deck.
- If it's a minion that no one owns (e.g. a treasure, a monster), it remains in play.

Rule 1: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Rule 2: Cards that refer to a minion’s owner do not apply to monsters or treasures.

Q: Can I target a minion that cannot be affected? (e.g. Elder Thing)

A: No. Shuffling a minion in play into a deck is considered as affecting it since Big in Japan.

Rule: Definition of "affect".

Q: I shuffle a minion into its owner's deck with Dr Livingstone, I Presume?. What happens to actions that were played on the shuffled minion? Are they also shuffled to their owners' deck? into the minion's owner's deck?

A: They are discarded in the appropriate discard piles.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard attachments.

Q: I suppose I can shuffle a minion card from the discard pile into a deck with Dr Livingstone, I Presume?. But why does it say "on its base"? Am I missing something here?

A: You can only target a minion in play! Cards that allow you to target something in the discard pile, like the cards from the Zombie faction, will explicitly say so. By default, "a minion" refers to a minion that's in play.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: While being a standard action and one that affects a minion, Dr Livingstone, I Presume? won't interact with the Disco Dancers, nor with Funky Town, because Dr Livingstone, I Presume? only affects a minion that's alone on its base and so there are no other minion on which to copy the effect.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Forgotten Horrors Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I play a minion there or play a card that moves at least one of my minions there, I draw a card and transfer Forgotten Horrors to another base, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So its ability should be interpreted as "After they play a minion here or play a card that moves their minions to here, they draw a card and transfer this action to another base."

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: I draw a card after I play a card that moves "my minions" there. Do I also draw a card if the card only moves minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: After using this card's ability, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: If I play a card that allows me to move several minions to various bases (e.g. Full Sail, X Never Marks the Spot), can I move one to the base with Forgotten Horrors, draw a card and transfer Forgotten Horrors to another base, then move another minion to that new base and draw another card?

A: No. Firstly, when you play a card that allows you to move several minions, all the minion movements are done "simultaneously", as in they count as happening all at once, even though you cannot physically move several minions at the same time with only your own two hands. So, you must finish moving all the minions you want before triggering card reactions. Secondly, Forgotten Horrors specifically says that it triggers "after you play a card that moves your minions to here", so it is only activated after you are done resolving the card you played, and it only triggers once from playing that single card.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: If I play Zeppelin on Forgotten Horrors's base and use its talent to move one of my minions to there, does Forgotten Horrors trigger?

A: Surprisingly, yes. If you play a card with talent, and use the talent on the same turn that the card was played to move of your minions to Forgotten Horrors's base, then that counts as having played a card that moves your minions to there. Also, it doesn't matter if you use the talent right after the card played, or if you play or do something else between playing the card and using the talent.

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook admits that this was an error, so no, Forgotten Horrors doesn't trigger.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says. Except when the rulebook clearly addresses the issue.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Forgotten Horrors's base, do I still draw a card?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Forgotten Horrors says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Fortune and Glory Edit

Q: Can I also move another player's minion?

A: Yes.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: Do the minions have to be moved to the same base or can I choose a different base for each minion to move to?

A: You must move the minions you chose to the same other base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to move only one additional minion, not one per affected minion.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it moves one of your minions away from Funky Town, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that Funky Town only triggers once and allows you to move only one additional minion, not one per affected minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on I Said No Camels! Edit

Q: I play I Said No Camels! and choose to give my minions +1 power counters. If I later play a minion there on the turn, does it gain a counter?

A: No. When you play I Said No Camels!, you only resolve its ability with the minions that are currently in play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I either draw a card or place a +1 power counter on "each of my minions". Do I also draw a card or place a +1 power counter on minions there that I own but don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: After playing this card and choosing to draw cards, I end up with more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - Diva can't copy it because it would already be directly affected by it.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets a +1 power counter.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets a +1 power counter.
- Funky Town can't copy it because you need to be the one who played the action and so all your minions are already directly affected by it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on It Belongs in a Museum Edit

Q: Can I choose one of my minions and another player's minion? Two of another player's minions? Another player's minion and a different other player's minion?

A: You can target any two minions in play, no matter who controls them. You can even move uncontrolled monsters!

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: If I move another player's minion, do I take control of it?

A: No. Moving is just relocating a minion, it doesn't mean that you take control of it.

Rule: If a card allows you to move another player's minion, they still remain that minion's controller; you do not take control of it.

Q: Do I have to choose exactly two minions? Or can I choose 0, 1 or 2?

A: You must choose exactly two minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What if there's only one eligible minion? Does it mean I can move it to any base?

A: No, if there's only one minion, it means there are no other minion's base to go to.

Rule: Check It Belongs in a Museum's clarification.

Q: If one of the moved minion is a Cub Scout, does it destroy the other moved minion? I suppose I can choose the order in which they are moved and make it so the other minion is destroyed before moving Cub Scout.

A: No. The two minions are moved at the same time, so when the other minion is moved, Cub Scout is no longer on the base to destroy it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it moves one of your minions away from Funky Town, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Lost City Edit

Q: How do you resolve conflicts with other cards that influence which is the replacement base? (e.g. Time is Fleeting, School of Wizardry, The Nexus)

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: If I play Lost City, but another card takes precedence and chooses the next base, can I still play the extra minion on the new base?

A: Yes. Choosing the next base and playing the extra minion are independent, so even if you don't get to choose the next base, you can still play an extra minion on it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says. Except when the rulebook clearly addresses the issue.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Lost City doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on X Never Marks the Spot Edit

Q: Do I have to move all my minions?

A: Yes. It doesn't say "you may", nor "any number of", so each of your minions must be moved.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: It tells me to move "each of my minions". Do I also move minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - Diva can't copy it because it would already be directly affected by it.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. If several minions were moved away from Dancing King's base, choose one of them to follow. Note that if several minions were moved from the same base, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to move only one additional minion, not one per affected minion. Also, note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. If several minions were moved away from the minion's base, choose one of them to follow. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- Funky Town can't copy it because you need to be the one who played the action and so all your minions are already directly affected by it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on You Call This Archaeology? Edit

Q: It tells me to move "one of my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Is this still a standard action if I play it through its Special ability for the Disco Dancers and Funky Town?

A: Yes. A standard action is an action that doesn't "Play on a minion/base" or any variation on it. You Call This Archaeology? doesn't say that, whether it's played normally or as a Special, so it IS a standard action no matter what.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it moves one of your minions away from Funky Town, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Very Large Boulder Edit

Main article: Titans

Q: The card says "Special" so I can use it outside of my turn, but why does the card also say "instead of your regular minion play"?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Very Large Boulder, the condition is "instead of your regular minion play", this means that you can only activate it when you have a regular minion play available, which is only on your turn and more specifically on your Play Cards phase. It cannot be played out of turn, because, outside of your own Play Cards phase, you don't have any regular minion plays to give up.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: “Instead of your regular minion play” means instead of the normal minion play allowed during your Play Cards phase.

Q: Regarding its second Ongoing ability, if Very Large Boulder is moved at any point in the game, it basically screws this ability for all future turns, right?

A: No, at the end of each of your turns, you check whether this titan has been moved on that turn only. It doesn't matter if it moved on a previous turn.

Rule: N/A

Q: Regarding its first Ongoing ability, after a minion is moved from Very Large Boulder's base, I don't have to move the titan. If I don't move it, may I still destroy a minion? If so, on which base?

A: No, the titan must be moved through its ability to destroy a minion.

Rule: Check Very Large Boulder's clarification.

Q: On my turn I use They Say He’s Got to Go to move Very Large Boulder. So it triggers its first Ongoing ability, right? And so I must destroy a minion on the destination base.

A: No, the trigger of its first Ongoing ability is "after a minion moves from here". If you use They Say He’s Got to Go, you're moving a titan, not a minion, so its first Ongoing ability is triggered.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: On my turn I use They Say He’s Got to Go to move Very Large Boulder. Since it didn't move through its first Ongoing ability, it gains a +1 power counter at the end of my turn, right?

A: No, if you strictly follow the wording, at the end of each of your turns, you check whether this titan has been moved. It doesn't matter if it moved through its own ability or another card.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: After a base scores where there is a First Mate, if the First Mate moves, the Very Large Boulder can follow it, right?

A: No. While activated during the after-scoring step, a First Mate's ability is eventually resolved during the step where all the cards on the base are discarded. So if all the cards are discarded, Very Large Boulder is discarded at the same time the First Mate moves, and so it can't follow it. Note that it is different if you use You Call This Archaeology? to move a minion because the movement is immediate, while the First Mate's movement only happens instead of being discarded and therefore only happens during the step where all the cards are discarded.[1]

Rule: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards are discarded simultaneously. That's when the cards with "instead of the discard pile" are resolved.

Q: If there's a restriction on where I can play a minion (e.g. Ice Castle, Overrun), does it also apply to Very Large Boulder if I play it instead of my regular minion play?

A: No, such a restriction only applies when you play a minion. If you convert your regular minion play into a titan play, you're playing a titan, not a minion, so the restriction doesn't apply.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says, especially when clarified in the rulebook.

Q: What happens to Very Large Boulder when the base that it's on scores?

A: It remains on that base until the step where you discard all the cards on the base. At which point it leaves play and is set aside. Any +1 power counter on it is removed.

Rule 1: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards on the scored base are discarded simultaneously.

Rule 2: If, for whatever reasons, a titan must leave play, it's actually set aside near its owner's deck and any +1 power counters on it are removed.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have Very Large Boulder there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. Very Large Boulder is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if Very Large Boulder had any +1 power counters on it or gave you any total power (e.g. on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: An opponent is playing the Explorers with their titan. Their Very Large Boulder isn't in play. There is a base where no one has a minion and I haven't played my regular minion yet, I can then invoke Very Large Boulder through its Special ability and play it there, right?

A: No, it doesn't seem like it's the intention. Out of play, "you" on cards probably refers to the player who has them physically, i.e. in their discard pile, hand, next to their deck, etc. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: If Very Large Boulder's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed on it by its own ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled).

Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: Can Very Large Boulder be played on a base with only monsters?

A: It depends. If all the monsters there are uncontrolled, then yes, there are no player's minions there, i.e. no minions there controlled by any player. If at least one monster is controlled there, then no.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Alberto Tavira, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • The artist for the titan (which was released after What Were We Thinking?) is Gong Studios, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • The font used for the Explorer cards is AdventureNormal.
  • Idaho Smith is a reference to Indiana Jones. Incidentally, "I Said No Camels!", "It Belongs in a Museum", "X Never Marks the Spot", and "You Call This Archaeology?" are quotes from Indiana Jones movies.
  • The Guide is a reference to Hadji from the Jonny Quest series, with some resemblance to Dora the Explorer.
  • Crypt Looter is a reference to Lara Croft from the Tomb Raider franchise.
  • "Dr Livingstone, I Presume?" is Henry Morton Stanley's greeting upon finding David Livingstone.
  • A Giant Ant has been shot by the Glory Hound
  • A Killer Plant is present on the Crypt Looter card.
  • The skeleton of a King Rex is present on Lost City.
  • City of Gold is a reference to The Mysterious Cities of Gold

In other languages Edit

Language Name
French Explorateurs
German Entdeckern


What Were We Thinking?

Factions: Explorers  •  Grannies  •  Rock Stars  •  Teddy Bears
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Titans (optional, since the TITANS Event Kit)

TITANS Event Kit

Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Madness  •  Titans

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. https://www.reddit.com/r/smashup/comments/7m1bow/smash_up_wiki_says_flock_first_mate_dont_work/drsd322/