FANDOM


Tinx

From deep in the magical glades come these little sprites, bringing magical wishes and pixie dust to your plans for world domination. Don’t judge them by their size. The Fairies’ magic gives you great options in how to deal with your enemies.

- Pretty Pretty Smash Up rulebook

The Fairies are one of the 4 factions from the Pretty Pretty Smash Up set.

This faction focus on disrupting the opponents' actions in play, especially the "play on a minion" actions. Most of their cards also offer a choice between two effects, giving their controller a wide variety of effects.

Other factions from the same set: Kitty Cats, Mythic Horses, Princesses.

Cards Edit

Fairies

The Fairies have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion. Additionally, there are several abilities that can boost the power of minions beyond its base value.

Minions Edit

1x Titania - power 5 - Return an opponent's minion to its owner's hand, OR play an extra minion.

2x Glymmer - power 4 - Talent: Until the start of your next turn, either another minion has -4 power (minimum power 0), OR this minion has +1 power.

3x Puck - power 3 - Play an extra action OR draw a card.

4x Tinx - power 2 - You may transfer an action played on another minion to this one.

Actions Edit

2x Daisy Chain - Play on a minion. Ongoing: If you control this minion it has +2 power, otherwise it has -2 power.

1x Enchantment - Play on a base and choose one: Ongoing: All minions here have +1 power. OR Ongoing: All minions here have -1 power.

1x Fairy Ballet - Draw two cards, OR draw a card and play an extra action.

1x Ladybug - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion cannot be destroyed. Talent: Transfer this action to another minion.

2x Leaf Armor - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion has +1 power. Talent: Transfer this action to another minion.

1x Magic Acorns - Each other player discards a card at random, OR you draw a card and play an extra action.

1x Magic Ward - Play on a base. Ongoing: Other players cannot play actions on this base or on minions here.

1x Playful Tricks - Destroy up to 2 actions played on minions and/or bases.

Fairies

Bases Edit

Mechanics Edit

Fairies are all about expanding your options with many cards allowing you to pick between effects, partially between drawing/playing cards, and increasing/decreasing power. Fairies also manipulate actions quite a bit, with ways to move actions around, destroy actions and forbid actions. Overall, Fairies are very flexible and allow you to buff/de-buff many minions and play extra cards, giving a large degree of control over how much power is at a base.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Titania Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Glymmer Edit

Q: I used Glymmer's talent and gave -4 power to another minion. Before the start of my next turn, Glymmer is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, returned, its base scored), does the targeted minion regain its power?

A: No. Even if Glymmer is no longer in play, the -4 power persists until the start of your next turn.

Rule: "Until the start of your next turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: I used Glymmer's talent. Before the start of my next turn, Glymmer's ability is lost or cancelled. Does its talent no longer has any effect?

A: The effect of its talent still remains. It's the same as removing Glymmer from play. Because there is a stated deadline, the effect persists until that deadline even if the ability is no longer there.

Rule: "Until the start of your next turn" means the effect persists even if the ability is lost or cancelled.

Q: I used Glymmer's talent. Before the start of my next turn, another player takes control of my Glymmer. Does it reset the effects of my use of the talent? What if that player uses Glymmer's talent too?

A: It does not reset Glymmer's talent. Your use of its talent will persist until the start of your next turn no matter what. The other player can use Glymmer's talent. If they do, there will be two effects from Glymmer's talent that are active at the same time, one that will expire at the start of your next turn and one that will expire at the start of that player's next turn.

Rule: "Until the start of your next turn" means the effect persists even if the ability changes controler.


Questions on Puck Edit

Q: With a Sprout, I manage to play Puck at the start of my turn. If I choose the extra action, can I save it for my Play Cards phase?

A: No. Because the extra action play was gained outside the Play Cards phase, you must immediately play it. If you don't, it is lost.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: If you destroy your Sprout to find and play a Puck, that would give you an extra action during the "start of your turn", since that's when Puck was played. Does it mean you could then play Overgrowth as that extra action which would immediately reduce the base breakpoint to 0, since it is still the start of your turn?

A: Yes.

Rule 1: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Rule 2: During the Start Turn phase, if you play a card, it is still the start of your turn.


Questions on Tinx Edit

Q: An opponent played Missing Uplink on one of their minions. Can I play Tinx to steal it even though it says "Play on your minion"? If so, who gets to draw the additional card?

A: Yes, you can transfer it to one of your minions. "Play on your minion" is only a requirement for playing the card. Once transferred, however, the action doesn't change controller, so it's still your opponent's card and therefore its ability applies to them, not you. They will still continue to draw an extra card at the end of their turn.

Rule: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Q: Can an action be transferred away from a minion that cannot be affected? I would say that yes, it can, since un-attaching actions is still not included. This would mean that I can use Tinx to steal an Incorporeal, or another action on a minion protected by Incorporeal.

A: You're right. Transferring an action away from a minion doesn't count as affecting that minion, so you can steal actions from a minion that cannot be affected. BUT, while you can steal Incorporeal from another player's minion with Tinx, Incorporeal won't change controller. Tinx then becomes unaffectable "by other player's cards", "other players" being players that are not Incorporeal's controller (including you), and so it will also make Tinx unaffectable by your own cards.

Rule 1: Definition of "affect". Transferring an action away from a minion doesn't count as affecting the minion.

Rule 2: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Rule 3: "Other players" on a minion or action means everyone except the controller of the minion or action.

Q: What happens when I want to steal an action on a minion who has Tooth and Claw... and Guns?

A: Transferring an action away from a minion doesn't count as affecting that minion, so you can steal Tooth and Claw... and Guns from any player's minion. So, now Tinx can no longer be affected by any further abilities, including any abilities coming from your cards. Please refer to the FAQ of Tooth and Claw... and Guns for further implications of that.

Rule 1: Definition of "affect". Transferring an action away from a minion doesn't count as affecting the minion.

Rule 2: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Daisy Chain Edit

Q: I play Daisy Chain on one of my minions, so it has +2 power. Another player takes control of that minion, does Daisy Chain give it -2 power or does the player also get control of Daisy Chain?

A: The minion has -2 power from Daisy Chain, because while the minion changed controller, you still control Daisy Chain, so its ability is applied accordingly.

Rule: When you take control of a minion, you don't take control of the actions played on it.

Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So a minion's power can go negative with this card, right?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.


Questions on Enchantment Edit

Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So a minion's power can go negative with this card, right?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.

Q: I have a power-3 minion and In Plain Sight on the same base (In Plain Sight doesn't protect my minion yet). Another player plays Enchantment on that base and chooses to give -1 power to all minions, so my power-3 minion becomes power 2 and is now in the range of protection of In Plain Sight and so Enchantment doesn't affect it anymore. But then it loses the -1 power and becomes power-3, out of range of In Plain Sight, so Enchantment can affect it again. And so on, and so on... How do we settle this loop?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Fairy Ballet Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Ladybug Edit

Q: I can play this action on another player's minion, right? If so, who can use Ladybug's talent to transfer it to another minion?

A: You're the one who played it, so you're the controller of Ladybug and the only player who can use its talent, no matter who controls the minion.

Rule: If you play an action on another player's minion, you're still the action's controller.


Questions on Leaf Armor Edit

Q: I can play this action on another player's minion, right? If so, who can use Leaf Armor's talent to transfer it to another minion?

A: You're the one who played it, so you're the controller of Leaf Armor and the only player who can use its talent, no matter who controls the minion.

Rule: If you play an action on another player's minion, you're still the action's controller.


Questions on Magic Acorns Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Magic Ward Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base. Since they're another player from my point of view, they can't play actions on minions there or on that base either, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "other players" means "their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: An opponent's Magic Ward is on a base where I have minions, can I play Swashbuckling and boost them?

A: Sure. Magic Ward only prevents "play on a base" actions from being played there, but Swashbuckling isn't played on a base, so Magic Ward does nothing to it.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: Can I use Terraforming or Crop Circles on a base with Magic Ward?

A: Yes. Those cards target a base, but are not played on it. Magic Ward only prevents "play on a base" actions.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: Can Disenchant be used to destroy Magic Ward?

A: Yes. Magic Ward only prevents "Play on base" actions from being played on its base. Disenchant isn't such an action.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug. Can I choose to target my minion on a base with my Magic Ward? Does Magic Ward protect against actions that target minions?

A: You can target any of your minions, but Magic Ward doesn't protect against it because Bear Hug isn't played on a minion.

Rule: Only "play on a minion" actions are played on a minion.


Questions on Playful Tricks Edit

Q: A minion has Shielding and another action played on it, so Shielding protects that action. Can I play Playful Tricks to destroy Shielding first and then the other action?

A: No. The two destructions happen at the same time and not one after another. So you first choose the two actions you want to destroy, and then destroy them at the same time, not one after another. So Shielding would still be protecting the other action.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is 2Minds Studio, who also designed the art of many other factions, including all the factions of the Pretty Pretty Smash Up set.
  • Titania and Puck are characters from Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream.
  • Tinx is a reference to Peter Pan's Tinkerbell.
  • A Cyborg Ape is being attacked in the Playful Tricks card.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.