FANDOM


Dancing root

Munchkin Elves want everyone to live in harmony, and they'll bash whomever they have to over the head to make that happen. Elves are also quite happy to help you ... and help themselves, while they're at it.

- Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook

The Elves are one of the 8 factions from the Smash Up: Munchkin set.

The Elves focus on helping others to help themselves.

Other factions from the same set: Clerics, Dwarves, Halflings, Mages, Orcs, Thieves, Warriors.

Cards Edit

Elves

The Elves have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is unusually low at only 27 or an average of 2.7 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Minions Edit

1x Fae Fighter - power 5 - Ongoing: After another player plays a minion, you may place a +1 power counter on it to place a +1 power counter on one of your minions here.

2x Lord of the Prance - power 4 - Talent: Another player of your choice draws a card. Draw a card.

3x Flower Child - power 2 - You may give another player control of this minion until it leaves play, to take control of one of that player's minions of power 3 or less until it leaves play.

4x Elf Help Guru - power 2 - Talent: Give all other players' minions here +1 power each until the end of the turn.

Actions Edit

1x After You - Each other player draws a card. Draw a card for each player in the game, including yourself.

1x Dancing Root - All players shuffle their discard piles into their decks. Draw a card.

1x Helping Hands - Special: Play before a base scores if you have a minion there. Choose another player. That player gets +2 total power; your minion gets -2 power (minimum 0). If that player is the winner, you get one of that player's VPs.

2x Pumping Iron - Choose another player. That player chooses a minion to gain +2 power until the end of the turn. You choose a minion to get +3 power until the end of the turn.

1x Run Away! - Special: Play before a base scores if you have a minion there. Move one of your minions and another player's minion from there to another base.

1x Run Away More! - Special: Play before a base scores. Move any number of your minions from that base to another base.

2x Trade - Draw a random card from another player's hand and place it in yours, then place this card in that player's hand. You may play an extra action this turn.

1x Traveling Elf - Play on one of your minions. Talent: Move this minion to another base.

Elves

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook:

Dancing Root: Cards are discarded after they are resolved, so Dancing Root is not shuffled in.

Flower Child: This card and the minion swapped with it have no connection: when one of them leaves play the other one is not given back. Flower Child cannot swap with a monster, unless it is controlled by a player.

Helping Hands: Losing a VP does not affect any cards, so cards like Too Tough do not block the loss.

Lord of the Prance: “Monsters” is not a faction, so you may not choose it.

Pumping Iron: Neither player is required to choose one of their own minions.

Mechanics Edit

Elves give other players advantages in ways that when used properly end up favoring themselves much more. All of the ongoing benefits Elves bestow are optional on your part, and need to be used selectively. This makes them more useful with more players, as you can choose to help the player who stands to gain the least. As an extension of Elf abillitites needing to be used oppertunistically comes many elve abilities that only benefit you circumstantially (making other players shuffle their discard piles, all of them gaining plus 1 power, etc). Elves are particularly good at drawing cards (both you and your opponent). which comes back to favor them through Trade, taking good cards from their opponent. Trade also favors Elves as so many of their own cards are circumstantial, and stealing from others helps them more than it would help their opponents to steal back. This is a mechanic that comes back as well in Flower Child. Elves also have a decent amount of specials that are only to be played when they benefit them, furthering Elves circumstantially amicable nature.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Fae Fighter Edit

Q: Can I wait after my opponent plays all of their cards before deciding to activate Fae Fighter's ability? For example, if my opponent plays Microbot Fixer, can I wait until they play their extra minion before deciding whether to give +1 counter to one or both of them?

A: No. Your Fae Fighter's ability triggers immediately after each time an opponent plays a minion and must be resolved immediately for the minion that was just played. Based on your example, supposing it's their turn to play, your opponent plays Microbot Fixer and resolves its ability. (Remember, in this case, resolving the "you may play an extra minion" part is done by "banking" an extra minion play, not by playing one) After Microbot Fixer's ability is resolved, Fae Fighter is triggered and you must immediately decide if you want to give a +1 power counter to Microbot Fixer or not. If you decide no to, it will be too late to change your mind. Later on that turn, your opponent can then use their banked extra minion to play another minion. After resolving that new minion's ability, your Fae Fighter triggers for that minion and you must then immediately decide if you want to give a +1 power counter to that newly-played minion (and only that minion) or not.

Rule 1: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Rule 2: An extra card isn't played right away, unless it was gained by a Special ability or outside the Play Cards phase.


Questions on Lord of the Prance Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Flower Child Edit

Q: Does Flower Child have to be played on the same base as the minion you want to swap it with?

A: No. Flower Child can be played on any base and be swapped with a minion of power 3 or less on any base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Another player has Flower Child. I play Copycat, copy Flower Child's ability and give control of Copycat to another player. Normally the control of Flower Child is definitive (i.e. it doesn't expire at the end of the turn like the Kitty Cats do), but Copycat sets a deadline, so at the end of the turn, I get Copycat's control back, right?

A: No. Copycat's deadline determines how long it keeps the copy of the ability, but it doesn't change Flower Child's ability original deadline.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If another player took control of one of my minions (e.g. Make Contact, Flower Child), can I use Spreading the Word and play extra minions with the same name as that minion (supposing I don't have one already in play)?

A: Yes. The extra minions can have the same name as any player's minion in play, not just yours.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: If I take control of an opponent's minion (Kitty Cats, Flower Child), can I use Sacrifice on it?

A: Yes. If you have control of it, then it's one of "your minions" and is therefore an eligible minion for Sacrifice.

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control".

Q: An opponent takes control of my Gremlin (Flower Child, Make Contact). If it is destroyed while they still have control of it, do I draw a card?

A: No. Under the control of another player, the card treats its new controller as if they had played it. So "you" on the minion would designate its current controller, and an other player would be any player that is not the controller. So, if Gremlin is destroyed, its new controller draws a card and all other players (you included) discard a random card.

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: When I play Flower Child on a base with an enemy Bag of Caltrops, Imperial Dragon, and Hatchling, and choose to give it to that player (without taking control of any of their minions), does it still trigger their cards?

A: Yes. These cards are triggered when another player plays a minion, which you did, even if that card changed controller.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play Flower Child on a base with an enemy Imperial Dragon and take control of it. Is Imperial Dragon activated?

A: No. Imperial Dragon is activated after a minion play, but at that time, it's already in your possession and isn't activated because none of the other players played Flower Child.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Elf Help Guru Edit

Q: I use Elf Help Guru's talent. Elf Help Guru is then removed from play or has its ability cancelled. Do the minions lose their boost?

A: No. Even if Elf Help Guru is no longer in play or loses its ability, the +1 power persists until the end of the turn.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: After using Elf Help Guru's talent, I move it to another base. Do the minions on the former base lose their boost and do the minions on the new base get it instead?

A: No. The power boost was given to the minions when you used the talent and it sticks with them.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: After using Elf Help Guru's talent, I move another player's minion there to another base. Does the minion lose its power boost?

A: No, it keeps it even if it's moved to another base. The power boost was given to that minion when you used the talent and it sticks with it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: After using Elf Help Guru's talent, I play or move another player's minion to Elf Help Guru's base. Does the minion get a power boost?

A: No. The power boost was given to the minions present on Elf Help Guru's base at the time you used its talent. Any other minion won't be able to get it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on After You Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Dancing Root Edit

Q: I suppose all players draw a card, right?

A: No. Only you draw a card, because the card addresses you.

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.


Questions on Helping Hands Edit

Q: If after playing Helping Hands, the chosen player ties for first on that base, do you still get one of their points? What if you are also tied for first?

A: You still get one of their VPs. Even if there's a tie, they are still considered a winner.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Do all my minions there get -2 power?

A: No. Just one of them.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I choose another player that has no minion on the scoring base? What happens if they have one of the top three total powers there?

A: There's no restriction as to which player you can choose, so yes, you can designate a player that has no minion there. If they (somehow...) have one of the three total power on the base, they don't gain any VP because you must have at least one minion on the scoring base to get some VP.

Rule: When a base scores, a player must have at least one minion on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.


Questions on Pumping Iron Edit

Q: I play Pumping Iron. Must the chosen player choose one of their minions? Do I have to choose one of my minions?

A: No to both. Both of you can choose any minions, even the same one.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".


Questions on Run Away! Edit

Q: Before a base scores, if I'm the only player who has minions there, can I still play Run Away!?

A: You can indeed play Run Away! because you have at least one minion there, which is the only condition. You must then move one of your minions there to another base, even if there are no other players' minions there.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Do the minions have to be moved to the same base or can I choose a different base for each minion to move to?

A: You must move the minions you chose to the same other base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Run Away More! Edit

Q: Do the minions have to be moved to the same base or can I choose a different base for each minion to move to?

A: You must move the minions you chose to the same other base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Trade Edit

Q: What happens when I play another player's minion obtained with Trade?

A: You play it on a base, resolve its abilities from your point of view and keep control of it.

Rule: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Q: What happens when the card obtained by Trade leaves play?

A: It goes to its owner's hand/deck/discard pile (whatever is appropriate).

Rule: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.

Q: I obtained a card through Trade. If an effect tells me to shuffle my hand into my deck (Mulligan, Winds of Change) or place cards from hand on the bottom of my deck (Field Trip), what do I do with the Traded card?

A: The other players can't see which cards go into your deck, so it goes into your deck, not its owner's deck.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner


Questions on Traveling Elf Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:

Trivia Edit

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.