FANDOM


Wil wheaton

The Geeks were the single faction in The Big Geeky Box set. They will be repackaged in The Bigger Geekier Box (along with the Smash Up All Stars).

This faction had no official flavor text when it first came out, because the Big Geeky Box had no rulebook. However, the following flavor text can be found on the digital version of Smash Up:

Geeks are, well… Geeks! Slightly eccentric individuals with intellectual pursuits! They can also be thoughtful and tricky! You may also spot a couple of famous tabletop Geeks’ in there. Say hello and play them at least once!

- Smash Up Digital

The Bigger Geekier Box also provides an updated flavor text:

Geeks are… well, geeks—slightly eccentric individuals with intellectual prowess and often social ineptitude. They know the game better than you do, and are prone to mess with your turn to ruin your game plan. You may also spot a couple of famous tabletop geeks in there, so say “Hello” and play them at least once!

- The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook

The Geeks specialize in messing with the other players' gameplan.

Other factions from The Big Geeky Box: (none).

Other factions from The Bigger Geekier Box: Smash Up All Stars.

Cards Edit

Geeks

The Geeks have only 9 minions and 11 actions compared to the usual 10 and 10. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is 25 or an average of 2.78 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 0 play-on-base actions,
  • 11 standard actions (2 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Banned List (2x), Control Minion, Cosplay, Force of Wil, Griefer, Min-Maxing, Mulligan, Non-Infinite Loop, Rules Lawyer (2x),
  • 0 actions that directly increase a minion's power.

Minions Edit

1x Felicia Day - power 4 - Move all minions to this base. FAQ

1x Wil Wheaton - power 4 - Special: You may play this minion when an opponent plays an action. Discard that action; it has no effect. FAQ

3x Game Guru - power 3 - Ongoing: This minion is not affected by other players’ abilities. FAQ

4x Fan - power 2 - Special: On your turn, you may discard this card from your hand to draw a card. FAQ

Actions Edit

2x Banned List - For each other player, name a card and look at that player’s hand. They must place any copies of that card from their hand on the bottom of their deck. FAQ

1x Control Minion - Choose a minion. You control that minion until the end of the turn. Special: Play when another player plays a minion. You gain control of that minion until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Cosplay - Special: Play when you gain 1 or more VP. Gain an additional 1 VP. FAQ

1x Force of Wil - Special: Play when an opponent plays an action. Discard that action; it has no effect. FAQ

1x Griefer - Choose one effect for each other player: That player discards a random card, or destroys one of his or her minions, or shuffles his or her discard pile into his or her deck. FAQ

1x Min-Maxing - Look at an opponent’s hand. You may play an action from that opponent’s hand as an extra action. FAQ

1x Mulligan - Look at the top 5 cards of your deck. You may draw them and shuffle the rest of your hand into your deck. FAQ

1x Non-Infinite Loop - Choose an action in your hand. Play it as an extra action, then you may put it back into your hand instead of the discard pile. FAQ

2x Rules Lawyer - Transfer an action played on a base to another base, or transfer an action played on a minion to another minion. FAQ

Geeks

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Banned List: If players new to Smash Up cannot remember a card’s name, you may allow them to identify a card through its power, ability and/or art.

Control Minion: If you take control of a minion as it is played, you still cannot change which base it is played on. Allow a reasonable reaction time for the holder of these cards, and be willing to let card resolution be interrupted and undone if the player plays too quickly.

Felicia Day: All minions move as a group to the base at the same time. Minions in that group that react to other minions moving (e.g., Cub Scout) are not triggered by minions within that group. The minions are all moved by Felicia Day’s controller.

Force of Wil, Wil Wheaton: This triggers after an action card is played, but before its ability is carried out. Allow a reasonable reaction time as for Control Minion, above.

Griefer: You don’t have to choose the same effect for each player.

Mulligan: If you don’t draw the cards, return them to the top of the deck in the same order.

Non-Infinite Loop: The extra action must be played at once. If you choose an action whose conditions for play are not met (e.g., Cosplay, Force of Wil), it has no effect and you just return it to your hand. This ability expires at the end of the turn, so if you play an action on a base or minion and it doesn’t go to the discard pile during that turn, you cannot return that action to your hand when it leaves play.

Mechanics Edit

Geeks specialty is causing massive headache to other player by disrupting player hands by discard or disrupt player plan by disabling or controlling minion or action while opponent turn. This mean that Geek can quickly intercept and neutralize player action or minion at any time. While their minion are average, their real strength are their action.

While their role is intercepting player moves, their second role is focus on improving your deck and disrupt other players. However, they have no offense cards and they have no defensive cards.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Felicia Day Edit

Q: In which order are the minions moved?

A: The minions are all moved at the same time, there's no order to decide.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play Felicia Day and move several minions, including a Cub Scout and some minions it can normally destroy. Are the destroyable minion destroyed by Cub Scout?

A: No, Cub Scout cannot destroy minions it is moved with.

Rule: Check Felicia Day's clarification.

Q: If I play Felicia Day and move several minions, including an enemy Imperial Dragon. How many cards does the Dragon player draw?

A: Short answer: Only one card. Long answer: Let's break it down. Were there any minions played? Yes, Felicia Day. Was it played on Imperial Dragon's base? No, it was played on a different base and had Imperial Dragon moved to it, so Imperial Dragon didn't "witness" Felicia Day being played on its base, so you don't draw a card for Felicia Day. Were there any minions moved? Yes, Imperial Dragon and several others. In fact, Imperial Dragon triggers from it being moved by another player (check Imperial Dragon's clarification), so you have one card to draw. But were any of the other minions moved to Imperial Dragon's base? No, those were moved to a different base and Imperial Dragon was moved there at the same time, so Imperial Dragon didn't "witness" the minions coming to it, it went along with them, so you don't draw a card for those minions. To sum it up, there is only one card you can draw, the one from Imperial Dragon being moved.

Rule: Check Felicia Day's clarification.


Questions on Wil Wheaton Edit

Q: When can I play Wil Wheaton as a Special?

A: Wil Wheaton is played as a Special when a player plays an action, but before that player begins resolving its effects.

Rule: Check Wil Wheaton's clarification.

Q: Do I have to have Wil Wheaton in play to use its Special ability?

A: To use Wil Wheaton's Special, you must be able to play it. If it's already in play, you cannot play it, so you cannot use its Special ability.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play an action, but it gets interrupted by Wil Wheaton or Force of Wil. Am I allowed to play another action to replace it or does it count toward my one-action-per-turn limit?

A: You've used an action play, it just had no effect.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: A player plays an action and announces what they will do before doing it. Like playing Seeing Stars and announcing that they will destroy a certain minion. Can Wil Wheaton be played to discard it? Or must Wil Wheaton be played before you know what the player intends to do?

A: Technically, you just announced what you intended to do, but have yet to carry it out, so Wil Wheaton can indeed interrupt you. Next time, don't be so vocal ;)

Rule: Check Wil Wheaton's clarification.

Q: A player plays an action and quickly carries its ability out to prevent the Geek player from reacting. Like playing Seeing Stars and immediately destroying a minion while the other players are still processing the card's ability. Can Wil Wheaton be played to discard it? Or does the Geek player just have to be quicker?

A: Actually, when playing against a Geek player, it should be common courtesy to allow them a reasonable reaction time. If you do that and they still don't react, then you have their implicit approval to carry out the action's ability without their interference. However, it's not common for players to play quickly and resolve their cards soon after they reveal them. That's perfectly understandable as you could just be in the heat of the moment or really excited about a clever move you've been planning and so it shouldn't immediately be tagged as a dirty move against the Geek player. But even then, you should be a good sport and allow the Geek player to interrupt you, even undoing what you did so far. If all other players judge that you allowed the Geek player enough time, then they have no excuse to interrupt you, but if all players judge that it wasn't enough time (and you yourself should honestly realize it too), then the Geek player is in their rights to interrupt you.

Rule: Check Wil Wheaton's clarification.

Q: A player plays And Stay Down!. Can I play Wil Wheaton as a Special to discard And Stay Down! without effect?

A: Wil Wheaton is played as a Special when a player plays an action, but before that player beings resolving its effects. So And Stay Down! won't prevent you from using specials because it's ability won't be resolved yet.

Rule: Check Wil Wheaton's clarification.

Q: Can Steam Queen protect your actions against Wil Wheaton and Force of Wil?

A: No. Wil Wheaton and Force of Wil makes you discard the action without resolving the effect. Discarding the action isn't included the definition of "affect". Not resolving the effect is merely a result of forcing you to discard the card and not the same as a cancellation.

Rule: Definition of "affect". Discarding the card doesn't count.

Q: If a player plays an action, but is interrupted by Wil Wheaton or Force of Wil, does Secret Agent still make that player discard a card?

A: Yes. Wil Wheaton and Force of Wil make that player discard the action without resolving its effect, but it still counts as having played an action for Secret Agent.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If a Mythic Greek player plays an action, but is interrupted by Wil Wheaton or Force of Wil, would Spartan, Jason, Odysseus and Heracles still trigger?

A: Yes. Wil Wheaton and Force of Wil make that player discard the action without resolving its effect, but it still counts as having played an action for these minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If a player plays an Argonaut, can another player play Wil Wheaton? If so, is the Argonaut discarded?

A: A player can probably play Wil Wheaton because playing an Argonaut activates cards that react to playing action, but Argonaut itself will not be discarded because it's not an action. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Game Guru Edit

Q: Does ability only refer to a minion card text?

A: An ability is what's written at the bottom of any card. Minions, actions and bases have abilities. A player's abilities refer to any abilities on the cards played by that player. So, here "other players' abilities" is synonymous of "other players' cards", which excludes bases' abilities.

Rule 1: An ability is what's written at the bottom of any card.

Rule 2: A base isn't any player's card.

Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug (or Unfathomable Goals, Griefer, Out of Sight), forcing me to affect one of my minions. Can I choose Game Guru? If so, does it protect itself?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, since the cause of the affect is "another player's ability", then yes, Game Guru is protected.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Q: I have a Game Guru on the same base as my Rotary Slug Thrower. Since Game Guru cannot be affected by other players' cards, it means it cannot be changed in power by other players' cards. By extension, it means that other players cannot play a card that destroys, returns, transfers or discards Rotary Slug Thrower, because that would change Game Guru's power, right?

A: No, what you do to Rotary Slug Thrower is only affecting Rotary Slug Thrower, not Game Guru.

Rule: When a minion's power is changed because a card that gave it +/-N power leaves play , the minion is not affected by either the removed card or the card that caused the removal.

Q: I play a standard action in order to affect an opponent's minion on Game Guru's base. An opponent uses their Dancing King to copy that effect and have Game Guru be affected as well, but Game Guru is protected, right?

A: No. Game Guru is protected from being affected by other players' cards. Firstly, what Dancing King does is copy the effect onto Game Guru, which itself doesn't count as affecting the minion. Secondly, Game Guru is now considered as indirectly affected by your action, which Game Guru isn't protected against.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Fan Edit

Q: So this minion can never be played on the table as a minion, but can only be discarded from your hand to draw a card, correct? If this is the case it seems like a pointless card.

A: No. Minions with a Special ability can be played as a normal minion without invoking their Special ability.

Rule: N/A

Q: If you discard the Fan card to draw a new card, does that count as your minion play for that turn?

A: No.

Rule: If you use a Special ability to play a card on your turn, it doesn’t count as one of your free cards for that turn.


Questions on Banned List Edit

Q: You must know the name of the banned card, name it and after that you can see that player's hand, right?

A: Yes, you must give the exact card name before looking at the player's hand. However, if the Geek player is a beginner player who may not yet know the name of most cards, you should allow them to describe the card as accurately as they can and then the other players can collectively agree if Banned List can work or not.

Rule: Check Banned List's clarification.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Banned List doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Control Minion Edit

Q: When using Control Minion as a Special, do you control the minion's ability when it enters play? Can you decide what base it will be played on?

A: You do gain control over the minion's ability, but you can't change on which base to play it.

Rule: Check Control Minion's clarification.

Q: If I play a minion, but it gets interrupted by Control Minion. Am I allowed to play another minion to replace it or does it count toward my one-minion-per-turn limit?

A: You've used a minion play, so it counts toward the limit.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: A player plays a minion and announces what they will do before doing it. Like playing Tiger Assassin and announcing that they will destroy a certain minion. Can Control Minion be played to prevent that? Or must Control Minion be played before you know what the player intends to do?

A: Technically, you just announced what you intended to do, but have yet to carry it out, so Control Minion can indeed interrupt you. Next time, don't be so vocal ;)

Rule: Check Control Minion's clarification.

Q: A player plays a minion and quickly carries its ability out to prevent the Geek player from reacting. Like playing Tiger Assassin and immediately destroying a minion while the other players are still processing the card's ability. Can Control Minion be played to prevent that? Or does the Geek player just have to be quicker?

A: Actually, when playing against a Geek player, it should be common courtesy to allow them a reasonable reaction time. If you do that and they still don't react, then you have their implicit approval to carry out the minion's ability without their interference. However, it's not common for players to play quickly and resolve their cards soon after they reveal them. That's perfectly understandable as you could just be in the heat of the moment or really excited about a clever move you've been planning and so it shouldn't immediately be tagged as a dirty move against the Geek player. But even then, you should be a good sport and allow the Geek player to interrupt you, even undoing what you did so far. If all other players judge that you allowed the Geek player enough time, then they have no excuse to interrupt you, but if all players judge that it wasn't enough time (and you yourself should honestly realize it too), then the Geek player is in their rights to interrupt you.

Rule: Check Control Minion's clarification.

Q: A minion is played on a base that reacts to minions being played (e.g. The Homeworld, Haunted House), or if there an action or a minion there that reacts to minions being played (e.g. Pay the Piper). If that minion play is interrupted by Control Minions, who gets the benefit or the drawback?

A: Since the player who played the minion used one of their minion play, they probably get the benefit/drawback from those cards. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: A player plays a Dork Orc. Can you play Control Minion as a Special to take control of it?

A: Control Minion is played before its ability is resolved, so it's not immune yet.

Rule: Check Control Minion's clarification.

Q: Can I take control of a monster with Control Minion?

A: Yes.

Rule: Monsters are considered as minions.

Q: When another player plays a monster, can I use Control Minion as a Special to take control of it?

A: If the monster is played by another player's card, yes because it's a minion and it's played by a player. If the monster was played as one of the initial monsters on the base or because of The Gauntlet's ability, no because they aren't played by another player.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action, can a player play Control Minion as a Special to take control of it?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Is this still a standard action if I play it through its Special ability for the Disco Dancers and Funky Town?

A: Yes. A standard action is an action that doesn't "Play on a minion/base" or any variation on it. Control Minion doesn't say that, whether it's played normally or as a Special, so it IS a standard action no matter what.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and if Control Minion is played as a Special, Diva can still copy it even though it's not the minion that was played), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (and if Control Minion is played as a Special, Dancing King can still copy it onto that minion even though it's not the minion that was played), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player.
- If We are Family copies it (and if Control Minion is played as a Special, We are Family can still copy it even though it's not the minion that was played), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player.
- Funky Town can't copy it because you need to be the one who played the action and use it on one of your minions, but it would already be under your control.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Cosplay Edit

Q: Can I play this card when a base scores? It doesn't say "Special: When/After a base scores".

A: Yes, you can play it whenever you gain a VP, including from base scoring.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Cosplay doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Force of Wil Edit

Q: When can I play Force of Wil?

A: Force of Wil is played when a player plays an action, but before that player beings resolving its effects.

Rule: Check Force of Wil's clarification.

Q: If I play an action, but it gets interrupted by Wil Wheaton or Force of Wil. Am I allowed to play another action to replace it or does it count toward my one-action-per-turn limit?

A: You've used an action play, it just had no effect.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: A player plays an action and announces what they will do before doing it. Like playing Seeing Stars and announcing that they will destroy a certain minion. Can Force of Wil be played to discard it? Or must Force of Wil be played before you know what the player intends to do?

A: Technically, you just announced what you intended to do, but have yet to carry it out, so Force of Wil can indeed interrupt you. Next time, don't be so vocal ;)

Rule: Check Force of Wil's clarification.

Q: A player plays an action and quickly carries its ability out to prevent the Geek player from reacting. Like playing Seeing Stars and immediately destroying a minion while the other players are still processing the card's ability. Can Force of Wil be played to discard it? Or does the Geek player just have to be quicker?

A: Actually, when playing against a Geek player, it should be common courtesy to allow them a reasonable reaction time. If you do that and they still don't react, then you have their implicit approval to carry out the action's ability without their interference. However, it's not common for players to play quickly and resolve their cards soon after they reveal them. That's perfectly understandable as you could just be in the heat of the moment or really excited about a clever move you've been planning and so it shouldn't immediately be tagged as a dirty move against the Geek player. But even then, you should be a good sport and allow the Geek player to interrupt you, even undoing what you did so far. If all other players judge that you allowed the Geek player enough time, then they have no excuse to interrupt you, but if all players judge that it wasn't enough time (and you yourself should honestly realize it too), then the Geek player is in their rights to interrupt you.

Rule: Check Force of Wil's clarification.

Q: Can Steam Queen protect your actions against Wil Wheaton and Force of Wil?

A: No. Wil Wheaton and Force of Wil makes you discard the action without resolving the effect. Discarding the action isn't included the definition of "affect". Not resolving the effect is merely a result of forcing you to discard the card and not the same as a cancellation.

Rule: Definition of "affect". Discarding the card doesn't count.

Q: If a player plays an action, but is interrupted by Wil Wheaton or Force of Wil, does Secret Agent still make that player discard a card?

A: Yes. Wil Wheaton and Force of Wil make that player discard the action without resolving its effect, but it still counts as having played an action for Secret Agent.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If a Mythic Greek player plays an action, but is interrupted by Wil Wheaton or Force of Wil, would Spartan, Jason, Odysseus and Heracles still trigger?

A: Yes. Wil Wheaton and Force of Wil make that player discard the action without resolving its effect, but it still counts as having played an action for these minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If a player plays an Argonaut, can another player play Force of Wil? If so, is the Argonaut discarded?

A: A player can probably play Force of Wil because playing an Argonaut activates cards that react to playing action, but Argonaut itself will not be discarded because it's not an action. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Force of Wil doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Griefer Edit

Q: I play Griefer. Do I have to choose a different effect for each other player or one effect that will be the same for all the other players?

A: You choose any effect for each other player. You can a different one for each other player, the same effect for all of them, or the same effect for two of them and a different one for the third other player.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: An opponent plays Griefer and makes me destroy one of my minions. Can I choose a minion that cannot be destroyed or affected?

A: Yes. You're free to choose any of your minions, even if that makes the destruction fail

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Q: An opponent plays Griefer and makes me destroy "one of my minions". Can I destroy a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I play Griefer and make an opponent destroy one of their minions. They choose their minion on Field of Honor. Who gets the VP?

A: Your card made another player destroy the minion, so it's that player who did the destruction. Therefore, your opponent gets the VP because Field of Honor rewards the player who destroys it.

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[1]

Q: I play Griefer and make an opponent destroy one of their minions. They choose their Elder Thing, claiming that it can't be destroyed by my card and therefore survives. Is that correct?

A: Yes. Elder Thing is immune to any effect caused by other players' cards, as long as the effect is included in the definition of "affect", such as a destruction.

Rule: Definition of "affect".

Q: I play Griefer and make an opponent destroy one of their minions. They choose their Awesome Guy, claiming that it can't be destroyed by my card and therefore survives. Is that correct?

A: No. There's a subtle nuance. When you play Griefer to make another player destroy a minion, the minion is considered both "destroyed by your card's ability" and "destroyed by that player". So the cause of the destruction is your card's ability, but the person who carried out the destruction is that player. A card that can't be destroyed by "other players' abilities" is only immune to destruction if the cause is another player's ability. However, a card that can't be destroyed by "other players" is only immune to destruction if the person who does the destruction is another player. So Awesome Guy is not immune to destruction if it's destroyed by its own controller, even if the destruction was caused by another player's card.

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[1]

Q: I play Griefer and make an opponent destroy one of their minions. They do. Can I activate Mako's ability and play it?

A: No. Mako's ability can only be triggered after you destroy a minion. When you play Griefer, you make other players destroy their minions, so they are the ones who destroyed them, not you. On the other hand, if your opponent played a similar card as Griefer (e.g. Bear Hug) and made you destroy one of your minions, then you can activate Mako's ability.

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[1]

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: Griefer can only interact with them if you choose the destroy option:
- If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- It is impossible for Funky Town to copy that action's effect because you can only directly affect an opponent's minion, which won't trigger Funky Town.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Min-Maxing Edit

Q: If I play a Madness card from an opponent's hand and choose to draw two cards, where is the Madness card discarded?

A: You played it, so you've got control of, which makes you its owner as well. Non-standard actions are discarded into their owner's deck, so the Madness card goes into your discard pile, not the other player's.

Rule: The current controller of each Madness card is treated as its owner as well.

Q: If I use Min-Maxing to play another player's Time Walk, where does Time Walk end, on the bottom of their deck or mine?

A: It is placed on the bottom of its rightful owner's deck.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Min-Maxing doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Mulligan Edit

Q: If I don't draw the 5 cards, where do they go? Are they discarded? Are they returned to the top of my deck? If so, in which order?

A: They are returned to the top of your deck in the same order.

Rule: Check Mulligan's clarification.

Q: If I choose to draw the 5 cards, do I have to shuffle the rest of my hand into my deck? It says "you may" after all.

A: Yes, you have to. It doesn't say "You may draw them and you may shuffle the rest of your hand into your deck." So, if you choose to do the "you may", you then have to do all of it, both the drawing and the shuffling.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Mulligan doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Non-Infinite Loop Edit

Q: If I play Non-Infinite Loop with Time Walk, does Time Walk go to my hand or the bottom of the deck?

A: Time Walk replaces "discard the action" with "place it on the bottom of your deck", while Non-Infinite Loop replaces "discard the action" with "put it in your hand". Both are equally possible, so the current player decides.[2]

Rule: The current player decides the order of events that are supposed to happen simultaneously.

Q: If I have another player's action in my hand because of Trade. What happens if I play it with Non-Infinite Loop?

A: After you're finished resolving the action's abilities, you can decide whether it's discarded or placed "into your hand". If you choose to discard it, it goes to its owner's discard pile, not yours. If you choose to place it "into your hand", it's placed into its owner's hand, not yours.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: If I play Non-Infinite Loop on a play-on-a-minion or play-on-a-base action, does that card eventually make its way back into my hand rather than the discard pile, or does Non-Infinite Loop's effect only apply to immediate actions?

A: Non-Infinite Loop's replacement of "put in the discard pile" with "put into your hand" lasts until the end of the turn, so if the action is discarded by the end of the turn, it goes into your hand instead. Beyond the current turn, Non-Infinite Loop stops working.

Rule: Check Non-Infinite Loop's clarification.

Q: I don't get the clarification about actions on minions or bases going to the discard pile during the turn.

A: Non-Infinite Loop replaces "put in the discard pile" with "put into your hand" for that extra action. But that only stays in effect for the turn Non-Infinite Loop is played. For example, if you play Non-Infinite Loop to Aggromotive and score a base on that same turn, when Aggromotive is eventually discarded, it actually goes into your hand thanks to Non-Infinite Loop. However, if the base actually scores on a different turn, Non-Infinite Loop stops applying to Aggromotive and it is discarded as normal.

Rule: Check Non-Infinite Loop's clarification.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Non-Infinite Loop doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Rules Lawyer Edit

Q: I use Rules Lawyer to transfer an opponent's Difference Engine to a base where I have a minion. Do I now control Difference Engine and can I now draw a card at the end of my turn?

A: No. You transferred it, but it doesn't give you control over it. Difference Engine is still under the control of whoever played it.

Rule: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Rules Lawyer doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

In other languages Edit

Language Name
French Geeks
German Geeks
Italian Geeks


The Big Geeky Box

Factions: Geeks

The Bigger Geekier Box

Factions: Geeks  •  Smash Up All Stars
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Sheep!  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22554680#22554680
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/17003850#17003850