FANDOM


You'll find more detailed FAQs addressing each individual card on their corresponding faction's page.

Common Beginner MistakesEdit

Don't interpret the cardsEdit

When you play a card or invoke the ability of one of your cards in play, do exactly what the card says word for word. Never try to guess the designer's intention.

For example, several cards let you remove a minion from play and play another one in its stead (e.g. Sprout, Mild Mannered Citizen, Disguise). A common misinterpretation is that the former minion "morphs/changes" into the new minion and so it's the same minion! Actually, if the minion is on a base where minions can't be played (e.g. Ice Castle, or because of Overrun) or if there's a card that reacts to newly-played minions (e.g. Fun Bear, Imperial Dragon), you can't ignore those cards by claiming "it's not a new minion, it's the old minion in a new form". In fact, if you strictly follow the card's instructions, you play a minion (that's what's written on the card), so the restrictions and card interactions on playing minions apply.

Extra cards can be played before the free cardsEdit

If you gain an extra minion/action, you can play it before playing the corresponding "free" card.

In this game, the term "extra" means that you increase the number of cards of that type that you can play for the current turn (and more specifically, only for the current phase!). So if you have a free minion and a free action to play, you can use your free action play and play They Keep Coming and gain an extra minion play from your discard pile. So now, you have two minion plays, the free one that you got for this turn and the extra one that you got from They Keep Coming and that's restricted to a minion in your discard pile. You're then free to use either your extra minion play, or your free minion play to play your first minion of the turn, or both in any order. If you choose to play the extra minion first, it has to be a minion from your discard pile.

There are (usually) no implied cost or pre-requisitesEdit

When you play a card, you have to resolve its ability entirely and do as much of it as possible. If something can't be done, it doesn't prevent the rest of the ability from happening. Usually.

The most common example of this are abilities that ask you to destroy a minion and do something else. This is very often misinterpreted as seeing the destruction of the minion as a pre-requisite to do that other thing. In reality, the wording of the ability will tell you exactly whether the destruction is required or not. If the card tells you something like "You may destroy a minion to do X", "Destroy a minion to do X" or "Destroy a minion. If you do, do X" (with some possible restrictions on the minion to destroy), the destruction is a requirement to do X. Failing to destroy the specified minion prevents you from doing X. Those are the only wordings you should look for.

With any other wording, such as "Destroy a minion. Do X", "Destroy a minion and do X",..., the destruction is not a requirement and if you fail to destroy the minion, the rest of the ability still applies. For example, if a Servitor of Cthulhu is made indestructible, using its talent still allows you to retrieve a discarded action even though the Servitor of Cthulhu isn't destroyed.

"Special" doesn't mean the card can be played at any timeEdit

A Special ability will tell you exactly when you can use it and how. Sometimes, the card must already be in play in order for you to use its Special ability.

As such, Special abilities usually start by stating "Special: When something happens", "Special: After something happens", or "Special: Before something happens", that's when you know you can use the Special ability, and if there are no more restrictions, they can be used on any turn, even your opponents'.

In general, the Special abilities of minions can only be used when they are already in play (e.g. Pirate King, Pack Alpha,...). If the Special ability can only be used from out of play, it will be stated that the minion can be played or discarded from the hand in the Special ability, for example, Shinobi, Spectre, Fan,...

On the other hand, in general, the Special abilities of actions can only be used when they are in your hand, allowing you to play them when the specified trigger occurs. A notable exception is Flying Monkey, which can only be invoked when its already in play.

The Start of your turn doesn't end as soon as you do somethingEdit

The Start of a turn is a whole phase, not a discrete moment, which only ends when the current player decides to move on to its Play Cards phase.

This is especially important for the Killer Plants as they have several abilities that trigger at the start of the turn. As such, at the start of the Killer Plant player's turn, if, for example, they have a Water Lily in play, resolving its ability (i.e. drawing a card) doesn't automatically end the start of their turn. After drawing their card, it is still their Start Turn phase, and if there are other cards that trigger at the start of their turn, they must resolve them. Only once they have done so and once they state they are done with their Start Turn phase, do they move on to their Play Cards phase.

A play-on-base action doesn't give an ability to the base that any player can useEdit

An action that is played on a base doesn't give any additional ability to that base. It is simply attached to it, and therefore will not be discarded after play like most actions, and those abilities are only that action's abilities.

So, if a base's ability is cancelled (e.g. Jammed Signal), it doesn't cancel those actions' abilities.

Also, that action has a controller, which is the player who played it, and so its ability is only resolved from that player's "point of view" (so "you" means that player, and "other players" means that player's opponents).

For example, if an action played on a base says "Each of your minions here has +1 power" (e.g. Full Moon), "your minions" means the minions of Full Moon's controller. If the action wanted to give +1 power to all minions there, it would have said so, for example "All minions here have +1 power" (e.g. Enchantment).

A play-on-minion action doesn't give an ability to the minion it is attached toEdit

An action that is played on a minion doesn't give any additional ability to that minion. It is simply attached to it, and therefore will not be discarded after play like most actions, and those abilities are only that action's abilities.

So, if the minion's ability is cancelled (e.g. Mind Lady, Cuddle), it doesn't cancel those actions' abilities (which would beat the purpose in the case of Cuddle).

A notable exception to this are actions that state "this minion has "ability"" (e.g. Flighterizer, Potion of Redundancy Potion,...) that do give an additional ability to the minion, but that is because they say so.

If you play a play-on-minion action on another player's minion, they don't control the action's abilitiesEdit

There are several play-on-minion actions that you can play on any minion. If you play it on another player's minions, they don't become the action's controller.

This is especially true for actions with talents (e.g. Boots of Running Really Fast, Ladybug, Leaf Armor,...) or with an ongoing ability which makes a distinction between its controller and its opponents, i.e. actions that say "you", "other players", or a variation on those (e.g. Daisy Chain, Flying Monkey,...) In those cases, only the player who played the action can use its talent, and "you" on those cards mean the action's controller (regardless of who controls the minion) and the "other players" are that player's opponents.

A notable exception to this are actions that state "this minion has "ability"" (e.g. Flighterizer, Potion of Redundancy Potion,...) While the player who played the action is still its controller, it's the minion that has the ability, so only the minion's controller can use it.

An action that targets a minion or a base isn't attached to itEdit

Actions that do something to a minion or a base without being played on it are, well, not played on it.

For example, if you play Augmentation and target a Furious George, Augmentation isn't played on Furious George and so Furious George doesn't get an additional +1 power from its own ability. Or, if you play Rampage to reduce a base's breakpoint, you can target The Dread Gazebo as Rampage isn't played on a base.

"Affect" has a very specific definitionEdit

When a card can't be affected by your opponents' cards, they aren't totally invincible. In fact, there are a few things that can be done to them that you'd think they would be immune to.

The important thing to know is when a card can't be affected (or when it reacts to being affected), it is immune to a very specific list of things that kept evolving after each rulebook. Here is the current list:

  • Moving or transferring THE CARD,
  • Returning THE CARD (only if THE CARD was in play),
  • Destroying THE CARD,
  • Having an action attached to THE CARD,
  • Placing THE CARD (only if THE CARD was in play),
  • Directly changing THE CARD's power,
  • Directly changing THE CARD's controller,
  • Cancelling THE CARD's ability,
  • Shuffling THE CARD into a deck (only if THE CARD was in play),
  • Transferring a +1 power counter to THE CARD,
  • Transferring a +1 power counter from THE CARD.

Anything that's not included in this list doesn't count as affecting the card. These include (but are not limited to):

  • Preventing THE CARD from being moved, transferred, returned, destroyed, placed, etc.
  • Playing THE CARD,
  • Removing an action attached to THE CARD,
  • Transferring an action to or away from THE CARD,
  • Discarding THE CARD from play,
  • Copying THE CARD's ability,
  • Simply choosing THE CARD.

You have to wait until the Score Bases phase to score basesEdit

The aim of the game is gaining VPs by scoring bases and a base scores when the total power on it is more than or equal to its breakpoint. But, you only check for that during the Score Bases phase of a turn.

During any other phase, if the total power on a base reaches or surpasses its breakpoint, you do not score it. You'll have to wait until the next Score Bases phase and check again if the total power is enough to score the base.

Another important point. During the course of a turn, it doesn't matter how much power each player has on each base at all, a base will only score if it meets the requirement during the Score Bases phase, and that phase only. For example, during your turn, if you play a power-5 Ninja Master, bringing the total power on the base above its breakpoint, but then destroy a minion so the total power drops below it, it won't score.

When a base is chosen to score, you finish scoring it even if before-scoring abilities lowers the total power thereEdit

A follow-up on the previous point is: During the Score Bases phase, once a base has been chosen to score, you have to go through its scoring even if a before-scoring ability changes how much total power is on the base.

For example, if a player plays Live and Let Chum, destroys a minion of power 3 or less on the scoring base and drops the total power there below the breakpoint, you still continue the scoring.

Currently, there are only two things that can prevent a base from scoring even after it's been chosen to score: replacing the base with another one (e.g. Terraforming, Burn It Down, etc. Exception: Unicrave) and playing Stasis Field on it. While all these cards cannot normally be played outside the Score Bases phase, they can when played with Mole, Lightning Rescue!, etc.

After a base scores, cards on it are "discarded", not "destroyed"Edit

After a base has scored, you can play or invoke after-scoring abilities and then all the cards on the scored base go to their respective discard pile. This does not count as a destruction and therefore would not grant any benefits from destroyed minions or actions (e.g. Cave of Shinies, Chum, The Count,...)

FAQ Edit

Questions on the setup Edit

Q: If we have more than one copy of a set, can I choose the same factions twice?

A: In the official rules, no, you're supposed to choose two different factions. Two or more different players can choose the same faction if you have enough copies though.

Rule: A given player cannot play with two copies of the same faction.

Q: If I choose to mulligan my hand (i.e. change it because I only have actions), where do I put those cards?

A: You put them in your discard pile.

Rule: If you have no minions in your starting hand, you may reveal your hand, discard it, and draw 5 new cards.


Questions on the phases of a turn Edit

Phase 1: Start Turn Edit

Q: I have two or more cards that trigger at the start of my turn (e.g. Sprout, Water Lily, Sharing Power, Hidden Base,...), can I only resolve one of them? Because once I've resolved one and draw a card, play an extra card or whatever, my turn will have already started so it's no longer the start of my turn.

A: No. The Start Turn phase is a whole phase, not a discrete moment, which only ends when you decide to move on to your Play Cards phase. All cards in play that are triggered by this phase must be resolved entirely.

Rule: The Start of a turn is a whole phase, not a discrete moment.

Q: During this phase, if I manage to play an extra card that also has an effect that happens at the start of my turn, can I resolve it or is it too late because it wasn't in play at the start of the Start Turn phase? E.g. if I resolve a Sprout's ability and play a Water Lily as the extra minion.

A: You must also resolve it. "At the start of your turn" means during your Start Turn phase, not at the start of it, so cards that enter play during this phase must be resolved if their abilities are triggered by this phase. In the particular case of a Sprout playing another Sprout during this phase, it seems the intention is for its ability to only be resolved at the start of your next turn. If that's the case, it would be an exception to this rule and would go against its own wording. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: At the start of your turn, if you manage to play an extra card with an ability that triggers "at the start of your turn", it is immediately activated because it is still the Start Turn phase of your turn.

Q: At the start of my turn, my hand is empty, either because I managed to play my remaining cards out of turn or because another player made me discard them. Do I draw a new hand of five cards then?

A: No, you can only draw cards if an ability tells you to, or during your Draw 2 Cards phase. Also, even if you can't play any cards, you can still invoke the abilities of cards in play.

Rule: N/A

Q: At the start of my turn, an ability allows me to draw cards. If I then have more than ten cards in hand, do I have to discard down to 10?

A: No, you only need to discard down to 10 if you have more than 10 cards during your Draw 2 Cards phase, after drawing the two cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Phase 2: Play Cards Edit

Q: I can only play a maximum of one minion and one action on my turn. So what's with the cards that grant me extra minion or action?

A: Actually, those aren't maximum numbers. On your turn, you're given one free minion play that you can spend to play one minion card and one free action play that you can spend to play one action card. You can spend one, both or none of them. When an ability allows you to play an extra minion (or an extra action), you're given one more minion play (or one more action play) that you can also spend to play one minion card (or one action card), with some possible requirements and limitations. So, while you're able to play one minion card and/or one action on your turn, those numbers can be raised when abilities grant you extra card plays.

Rule 1: During your Play Cards phase, you may play one minion and/or one action (or neither) from your hand in any order.

Rule 2: "Play an extra minion/action" means you increase the number of that type of card you can play in this phase by one.

Q: If I obtain extra card plays, I must play my free cards first before playing my extra ones, right? For example, I use my free action play to play They Keep Coming, therefore granting me an extra minion play from my discard pile. I must first spend my free minion play before playing the extra minion, right? So if I have no minions to play in hand, I just wasted my free action and extra minion plays.

A: No and no. "Extra" simply means that you increase your number of cards you can play. That extra card can be either played immediately, or saved for later in the same phase, an act also referred to as "banking" an extra card play throughout this wiki. That is to say, if you spend your free action play to play They Keep Coming, you now have two minions plays that you can spend, your free one and an extra one with the restriction that it must be a minion from your discard pile. You can spend those remaining card plays in ANY order, unless otherwise stated in the cards' abilities (e.g. Ninja Acolyte).

Rule: "Play an extra minion/action" means you increase the number of that type of card you can play in this phase by one.

Q: I have some unspent card plays, either free or extra ones, and I decide to end my Play Cards phase. Are they saved for my next turn?

A: No, they are lost.

Rule: If you don't use a free or extra card play, it is lost; you can't save it for the other phases of your turn.

Q: I use an ability that allows me to draw cards. If I then have more than ten cards in hand, do I have to discard down to 10?

A: No, you only need to discard down to 10 if you have more than 10 cards during your Draw 2 Cards phase, after drawing the two cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: I win a VP during this phase and I'm the player with the most VPs with 15 or more VPs. Did I just win the game?

A: Whoa, not so fast. You still have to finish the current turn. Some bases could score and grant more VPs to either you or other players, so it's not done yet. You only check for victory at the end of it.

Rule: At the end of a turn, anything that happens at the end of the turn happens here. Then check to see if any players have 15 or more victory points.


Phase 3: Score Bases Edit

Q: It's my Play Cards phase. I play a minion on a base increasing the total power there to its breakpoint or more. Does it score right away or can I still play cards if I have any left?

A: It doesn't score right away. Since it is your Play Cards phase, no bases can score while in this phase. You have to wait until the Score Bases phase of your turn to check if any bases can score.

Rule: Before phase 3, it doesn't matter how much power each player has on each base, they will only score if they meet the requirement during phase 3, and phase 3 only.

Q: It's my Play Cards phase. I play a minion on a base increasing the total power there to its breakpoint or more. So the base meets the requirement to be scored. Still in that Play Cards phase, I then use an action that destroys a minion there, therefore decreasing the total power below the breakpoint. The base still met the requirement during this turn, so it will score during the Score Bases phase, right?

A: No. During the Score Bases phase, you will check for each base if it currently fits the requirement to be scored. It doesn't matter if it fit it at an earlier time, all that matters is if it fits it when you're checking it.

Rule: Before phase 3, it doesn't matter how much power each player has on each base, they will only score if they meet the requirement during phase 3, and phase 3 only.

Q: During the scoring of a base, an ability allows me to draw cards. If I then have more than ten cards in hand, do I have to discard down to 10?

A: No, you only need to discard down to 10 if you have more than 10 cards during your Draw 2 Cards phase, after drawing the two cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Phase 3, Step 1: Check which bases are ready to score Edit

Q: To determine if a base is ready to score, I check the total power of all the minions on a base versus its breakpoint, right?

A: No. Well, to be more accurate, you check the sum of the total powers of all the players on that base. While minions are the main contributors of power, a wide variety of other cards (e.g. actions, bases, titans) can add power directly to a player's total power. So you have to take all the cards in consideration and determine each player's total power on a base, and the sum of all the players' total powers on a base is what you compare with the base's breakpoint.

Rule: A base is ready to score if the total power of all the players on that base is higher or equal to its breakpoint during the Score Bases phase.

Q: We chose one base to score. After scoring it entirely and discarding it, we check all the bases again. A base that wasn't ready to score before now fits the requirement (i.e. the total power of all the players there is now equal to or more than its breakpoint) because of what happened during the scoring of the previous base, e.g. because of Special before/after-scoring abilities. Can it score or did it have to fit the requirement at the start of the Score Bases phase?

A: That base is now considered as a base that's "ready to score".

Rule: A base is ready to score if the total power of all the players on that base is higher or equal to its breakpoint during the Score Bases phase.

Q: We chose one base to score. After scoring it entirely and discarding it, we check all the bases again. A base that was ready to score before doesn't fit the requirement anymore (i.e. the total power of all the players there is now less than its breakpoint) because of what happened during the scoring of the previous base, e.g. because of Special before/after-scoring abilities. Can we still score it because it did fit the requirement at the start of the Score Bases phase?

A: No, when you check the bases again, you have to compare the current total power of all the players there against the current breakpoint. If it doesn't fit anymore, it's no longer ready to score.

Rule: A base is ready to score if the total power of all the players on that base is higher or equal to its breakpoint during the Score Bases phase.


Phase 3, Step 2: Choose one base that is ready to score Edit

Q: Several bases are ready to score, how do we determine in which order the bases will score?

A: The Current Player chooses one of the eligible base, that's the base that will be scored. Once you're done scoring it, you'll have to check all the bases again in case the situation has changed, and if there are still more than one base that's ready to score, the Current Player chooses again.

Rule: If multiple bases are ready to score, the Current Player decides which base begins scoring.


Phase 3, Step 3: Play/invoke "before scoring" abilities Edit

Q: During this step, any players can play Special cards and use the abilities of their Special cards in play, right?

A: No, "Special" is not enough to use the card during this step and some non-Special cards can also be used and played during this step. During this step, cards that say "Before a base scores", "Before the base scores", "Before this base scores" or "Before another base scores" (or any other similar variations) are the ones that are triggered by this step. Special actions that say "Before a base scores" can be played from the hand during this step. Special minions that say "Before a base scores" can only be played if the Special abilities allow you to play it. In all the other cases (e.g. Ongoing abilities and abilities that say "Before this base scores" or "Before another base scores"), those abilities can only be invoked when they are already in play. Moreover, if any of those previous abilities grant you an extra card play, you're then immediately able to play a card from your hand normally.

Rule: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Q: There are several cards in play that can be invoked before the base scores and several players have cards in hand that can be played before a base scores. The Current Player decides the order, right?

A: Not really. First, cards in play that are triggered by this step must all be resolved. If there are more than one, it's indeed the Current Player who decides the order. Then, once all cards in play are resolved, players can now play Special cards that are triggered by this step. That order is determined by the rules, not by the Current Player. In order to do so, starting with the Current Player and going clockwise, each player has the opportunity to play one (and only one) Special before-scoring card or pass. If that Special before-scoring card grants that player an extra card, they must play it immediately or not at all. Continue until all the players have passed in sequence. Even if a player has passed, they may later decide to play a card on their next opportunity. If a player wants to play more than one Special card, they must wait until their next opportunity to play another one.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: There are several cards in play that can be invoked before the base scores, including the scoring base itself. The scoring base must be resolved before the players' cards, right?

A: No. The order in which the cards in play are resolved (including the base itself if it has a before-scoring ability) is decided by the Current Player.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: The cards in play that can be invoked before the base scores are now all resolved. I now have the opportunity to play a Special before-scoring card from my hand. If that card grants me an extra minion or action and if I spend it to play Pack Alpha, Loup-Garou, or Bring Down the Walls (which all have a before-scoring ability that can only be invoked once in play), is it too late to use their abilities?

A: No. They can still be activated.

Rule: Do what the card says.

Q: A before-scoring ability was used and the total power on the scoring base dropped below its breakpoint, so we must stop the scoring it, right?

A: No. You must continue scoring it. Currently, there are only two things that can prevent a base from scoring even after it's been chosen to score: replacing the base with another one (e.g. Terraforming, Burn It Down, etc. Exception: Unicrave) and playing Stasis Field on it.

Rule: If the total power on a base drops below its breakpoint after it is chosen, you still finish scoring the base.


Phase 3, Step 4: Award VPs and play/invoke "when scoring" abilities Edit

Q: When the base was chosen to score, I had the highest total power there. Now, because of before-scoring abilities, I only have the second highest total power. I still score the VPs for the winner position, right? I had the highest power at the start after all. Otherwise, Special abilities are too strong!

A: Sorry, but no, you score the VPs according to your current total power at the moment of this step. It doesn't matter how much power you had when the base was chosen to score. Yes, that makes before-scoring abilities very strong, that's their whole point: to change the scoring at the last second. Those are still rare abilities though (many factions don't even have before-scoring abilities), so you better be careful next time!

Rule: All the players are ranked based on their total power on the scoring base.

Q: It's time to award the VPs on a base. I only have one minion there and it has 0 power. Do I still gain VPs?

A: If 0 is among the top three total powers on the base, then yes, as long you have one minion there, you're eligible to receive the VPs

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: It's time to award the VPs on a base. I have no minions there but I manage to have at least 1 total power there (e.g. with the Kaiju actions, playing an action on Tokyo this turn, someone gave me +2 total power with Helping Hands, etc.). Do I still gain VPs?

A: If you have at least 1 total power and that total power is among the top three total powers on the base, then yes, even if you don't have any minions there, you're eligible to receive the VPs

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: How do we resolve ties?

A: You get the full VPs for the best position you tied for and you skip the next one. In details, you grant the VPs for each position in order, starting with the winner position. If two players are tied, they all get the VPs for that position, and you must skip the next position in the scoring. So, for example, if two players are tied for the winner position, the second best total power will be granted the VPs for the third place position, not the runner-up position, and the third best total power and lower won't get any VPs. If three or more players are tied for a position, they all get VPs for it and no other players get the VPs for the remaining position(s).

Rule: If players are tied on a base, all involved players get points for the best position they tied for.

Q: I win a VP during this step and I'm the player with the most VPs with 15 or more VPs. Did I just win the game?

A: Whoa, not so fast. You still have to finish the current turn. First, you need to finish the scoring phase. Other bases could score and grant more VPs to either you or other players, so it's not done yet. You only check for victory at the end of the turn.

Rule: At the end of a turn, anything that happens at the end of the turn happens here. Then check to see if any players have 15 or more victory points.

Q: The base doesn't say "When this base scores", but says starts with "The winner...", when is it resolved?

A: Presumably, it should be read as "After this base scores, the winner...". If so, it must be resolved during the after-scoring step. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD.


Phase 3, Step 5: Play/invoke "after scoring" abilities Edit

Q: During this step, any players can play Special cards and use the abilities of their Special cards in play, right?

A: No, "Special" is not enough to use the card during this step and some non-Special cards can also be used and played during this step. During this step, cards that say "After a base scores", "After this base scores" or "After another base scores" (or any other similar variations) are the ones that are triggered by this step. Special actions that say "After a base scores" can be played from the hand during this step. Special minions that say "After a base scores" can only be played if the Special abilities allow you to play it (there are currently no such minions, but if there are in the future, they will work that way). In all the other cases (e.g. Ongoing abilities and abilities that say "After this base scores" or "After another base scores"), those abilities can only be invoked when they are already in play. Moreover, if any of those previous abilities grant you an extra card play, you're then able to play a card from your hand normally (they usually allow you to play it on the new base, if so, you'll be able to play it immediately after the new base is drawn).

Rule: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Q: There are several cards in play that can be invoked after the base scores and several players have cards in hand that can be played after a base scores. The Current Player decides the order, right?

A: Not really. First, cards in play that are triggered by this step must all be resolved. If there are more than one, it's indeed the Current Player who decides the order. Then, once all cards in play are resolved, players can now play Special cards that are triggered by this step. That order is determined by the rules, not by the Current Player. In order to do so, starting with the Current Player and going clockwise, each player has the opportunity to play one (and only one) Special after-scoring card or pass. If that Special after-scoring card grants that player an extra card, they must play it or not at all, either immediately, or after the new base is drawn, whichever the case may be. Continue until all the players have passed in sequence. Even if a player has passed, they may later decide to play a card on their next opportunity. If a player wants to play more than one Special card, they must wait until their next opportunity to play another one.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: There are several cards in play that can be invoked after the base scores, including the scoring base itself. The scoring base must be resolved before the players' cards, right?

A: No. The order in which the cards in play are resolved (including the base itself if it has a after-scoring ability) is decided by the Current Player.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: The base doesn't say "After this base scores", but says starts with "The winner...", when is it resolved?

A: It should be read as "After this base scores, the winner..." and so must be resolved during this step.

Rule: Base abilities that start with "The winner..." are to be treated as "after this base scores" abilities.

Q: An after-scoring ability allows me to do something to a card on the scoring base "instead of the discard pile" (e.g. returning or moving it instead of placing it in the discard pile). I do it immediately during this step, right?

A: There's a subtlety here. Some abilities allow you to do something to a card on the scoring base without specifying "instead of the discard pile" (e.g. Port Me Up). These must be done immediately. Abilities that allow you to do something "instead of the discard pile" will actually change what will happen during the step where all the cards on the scoring base are discarded. So, while those are played/invoked during this step, they will only be applied during the step where the card is supposed to be discarded, and the effect will be applied instead of discarding the card.

Rule: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards are discarded simultaneously. That's when the cards with "instead of the discard pile" are resolved.


Phase 3, Step 6: Discard all the cards on the base Edit

Q: In which order are the cards discarded? I suppose the Current Player decides the order, right? For example, my First Mate is supposed to move, but an opponent's Entangled prevents it from moving. If the Current Player chooses for my First Mate to be discarded first, it won't be able to move because of Entangled.

A: No, the Current Player doesn't choose the order; all the cards are discarded at the same time. In your example, your First Mate and your opponent's cards are all discarded at the same time, therefore Entangled won't have any effect. Since Entangled has no longer any effect, First Mate is free to move instead of going to the discard pile.

Rule: All the cards on the scoring base and actions on the minions on the scoring base go to the discard pile simultaneously (The Current Player doesn't choose the order!)

Q: I have a card that is triggered by minions being destroyed. Are minions discarded after the scoring of a base considered as destroyed?

A: No, they are considered as "discarded", not "destroyed".

Rule: After a base is scored, cards on it go to the discard pile. This counts as being discarded, but not as being destroyed.


Phase 3, Step 7: Discard the base Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Phase 3, Step 8: Replace the base Edit

Q: We need to draw a new base, but the base deck is empty, so what do we do?

A: You simply shuffle the base discard pile to make a new deck and draw a new base from it.

Rule: Replace the scored base with the top card of the base deck; shuffle the base discard pile if needed.


Phase 4: Draw 2 Cards Edit

Q: I've only played one card or no card at all this turn, do I still draw two cards or fewer?

A: You draw exactly two cards, no matter what happened on your turn.

Rule: Just what it says: draw 2 cards.

Q: What if there's only one card left or no cards left in my deck before I draw?

A: If there's only one card left, you draw it, then shuffle your discard pile to make a new deck and draw your second card out of it. If there are no cards, shuffle your discard pile into a new deck and draw your two cards out of it.

Rule: If you need to draw, reveal, search for, or look at a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile and put it on the table face down — that’s your new deck. Start drawing from there.

Q: There are only two cards left in my deck, so I draw them. Do I need to shuffle my discard pile and make a new deck?

A: No, there were enough cards in your deck. You only need to shuffle your discard pile into a new deck when there aren't enough cards for you to draw.

Rule: If you need to draw, reveal, search for, or look at a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile and put it on the table face down — that’s your new deck. Start drawing from there.

Q: I have nine (or ten) cards in hand before drawing. Do I have to discard a card (or two cards) before I draw?

A: No. First, you draw your two cards, and then, if you have more than 10 in hand, you discard down to 10.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: I have more than ten cards in hand before drawing. Do I have to discard down to 10 before I draw?

A: No. First, you draw your two cards, and then you discard down to 10.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: It's the Draw 2 Cards phase of an opponent and I have more than 10 cards in hand. Do I have to discard down to 10?

A: No, you only discard down to 10 when it's your own Draw 2 Cards phase.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: At some point of the game, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately have to discard down to 10 or do I only discard down to 10 when it's my Draw 2 Cards phase?

A: You only discard down to 10 on your Draw 2 Cards phase after drawing the two cards. At any other point in the game, if you manage to have more than 10 cards in your hand, you don't discard down to 10.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: An ability allows me to draw cards "at the end of my turn". I suppose I have to draw them at the same time as I draw the two cards, right?

A: No, abilities that activate "at the end of your turn" only activate during your End Turn phase.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Phase 5: End Turn Edit

Q: At the end of my turn, an ability allows me to draw cards. If I then have more than ten cards in hand, do I have to discard down to 10?

A: No, you only need to discard down to 10 if you have more than 10 cards during your Draw 2 Cards phase, after drawing the two cards. Yes, that means you'll end your turn with more than ten cards in hand!

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: At the end of a turn, two or more players simultaneously gained their 15th or more VPs. Do we end the game?

A: It depends. While several players have 15 or more VPs but only one player has the highest amount of VPs, then yes. If two or more players are tied for the most VPs, no, all the players continue to play until there's only one player with the most VPs

Rule: At the end of any turn that someone reaches 15 VP, the player with the most victory points wins. If there is a tie for the most, keep playing turns until there isn’t.


Questions on the Card Resolution Order Edit

Q: I play a card that grants me an extra card play. Do I have to play the extra card immediately when I get it? Immediately after I finish resolving the first card? Any time I want after I finish resolving the first card?

A: Firstly, you don't have to play it: extra cards are always optional, just like regular card. Secondly, extra cards you obtain can always be played immediately if you want to, and in very specific cases, they must be play immediately or else they are lost. Extra cards are limited to being played immediately when any of these conditions are met and only one is enough:
- When they are obtained from a Special ability,
- When they are obtained outside your Play Cards phase,
- When they are limited to a specific card,
- When another part of the ability follows the extra card play.
In all those four cases, the extra card must be played immediately or not at all. Other than that, the extra card play can either be played immediately, or saved for later in the phase, something referred to as "banking" throughout this wiki.

Rule 1: Extra cards can always be played immediately.

Rule 2: Extra cards gained by a Special ability or outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Rule 3: You must play an extra card immediately if the extra card play effect refers to a specific card.

Rule 4: You must play an extra card immediately if another part of the ability follows the extra play.

Rule 5: Extra cards are always optional.

Q: I play a card that grants me an extra card play that I play immediately. In which order are their abilities resolved?

A: You must resolve the most recently played card and work backwards. So, if you play Commission and play an extra minion immediately, you must resolve the played minion's ability and then you finish resolving the rest of Commission's ability.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: I play a minion or action and am about to resolve its ability. There are cards in play (or hands) that have an ability that says "After a minion/an action is played,..." or "After you play/another player plays a minion/an action,..." When are those triggered? Before I start resolving the card I played or after I finish resolving it?

A: "After" abilities are triggered immediately but will have to wait until you've finished resolving the card you played before being resolved. For example, if you play an action while an opponent's Secret Agent is in play, you first resolve the action's ability entirely before discarding a card.

Rule: Resolve the played card's ability completely, then resolve any card reactions.

Q: I play a card that grants me an extra card play that I play immediately. I then play a minion or action as the extra card. There are "After" abilities in play (or hands) that are triggered by the second card I play. When are they resolved?

A: First, you must finish resolving the card you just played and any cards in the middle of resolving (here, your first card). Immediately after that, that's when triggered "After" abilities are resolved.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: I play a card and am in the process of resolving its ability. There are cards in play (or hands) that have an ability that says "After X,..." and X is something my played card just did. For example, I play Headlong and move my power-2 minion to a base with an enemy Cub Scout, which is triggered by moving minions. When is triggered card's ability resolved?

A: "After" abilities have to wait until you've finished resolving any cards in the middle of resolving before being resolved themselves. In your example, the Cub Scout is triggered, but it can only be resolved after you've finished resolving Headlong.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: I play a card and have resolved its ability. There are several cards in play and several cards in hands with "After" abilities that are triggered by the card I played. In which order are they resolved? I suppose the Current Player chooses the order, right?

A: Not really. First, cards in play that are triggered by your card must all be resolved. If there are more than one, it's indeed the Current Player who decides the order. Then, once all cards in play are resolved, players can now play Special cards that are triggered by your card. That order is determined by the rules, not by the Current Player. In order to do so, starting with the Current Player and going clockwise, each player has the opportunity to play one (and only one) Special "After X" card or pass. Continue until all the players have passed in sequence. Even if a player has passed, they may later decide to play a card on their next opportunity. If a player wants to play more than one Special card, they must wait until their next opportunity to play another one.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: When are "When" abilities triggered and resolved?

A: Like "After" abilities, they are triggered immediately when their triggering condition is met, but unlike them, they are resolved immediately too. For example, with Wil Wheaton, it is triggered as soon as an action is played and before that action is resolved. If you choose to activate it, it must be resolved immediately before the action's ability is resolved.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: When are "If X would happen" abilities triggered and resolved?

A: They are triggered immediately when X is about to happen and before it happens, that's also when they are resolved too. They usually cancel the effect stated as X, but the rest of the card they interrupted should be resolved normally. For example if The House of Nine Lives is in play, any time a minion on another base is about to be destroyed, it is triggered. It must then be resolved immediately before you go back to resolving the interrupted card.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on the Glossary Edit

Affect Edit

Q: One of my cards can't be affected by other players' cards. Mwahaha so it's invincible, nothing can happen to it!

A: Actually, it's not entirely true. First of all, it's immune to being affected by other players' cards, so it can still be affected by your cards, the bases and other cards not controlled by players (e.g. monsters). Secondly, "affect" has a very precise definition that doesn't include everything that can happen in the game. For example, if your card is a minion, other players can still play actions to destroy or transfer away actions attached to it. If your card is an action played on a base, removing the base (e.g. There Goes Tokyo, Terraforming, Burn It Down,...) discards the action, whether it can be affected or not.

Rule: Definition of "affect".


After Edit

Q: I play a minion or action and am about to resolve its ability. There are cards in play (or hands) that have an ability that says "After a minion/an action is played,..." or "After you play/another player plays a minion/an action,..." When are those triggered? Before I start resolving the card I played or after I finish resolving it?

A: "After" abilities are triggered immediately but will have to wait until you've finished resolving the card you played before being resolved. For example, if you play an action while an opponent's Secret Agent is in play, you first resolve the action's ability entirely before discarding a card.

Rule: Resolve the played card's ability completely, then resolve any card reactions.

Q: I play a card that grants me an immediate extra card play. I then play a minion or action as the extra card. There are "After" abilities in play (or hands) that are triggered by the second card I play. When are they resolved?

A: First, you must finish resolving the card you just played and any cards in the middle of resolving (here, your first card). Immediately after that, that's when triggered "After" abilities are resolved.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: I play a card and am in the process of resolving its ability. There are cards in play (or hands) that have an ability that says "After X,..." and X is something my played card just did. For example, I play Headlong and move my power-2 minion to a base with an enemy Cub Scout, which is triggered by moving minions. When is triggered card's ability resolved?

A: "After" abilities have to wait until you've finished resolving any cards in the middle of resolving before being resolved themselves. In your example, the Cub Scout is triggered, but it can only be resolved after you've finished resolving Headlong.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: I play a card and have resolved its ability. There are several cards in play and several cards in hands with "After" abilities that are triggered by the card I played. In which order are they resolved? I suppose the Current Player chooses the order, right?

A: Not really. First, cards in play that are triggered by your card must all be resolved. If there are more than one, it's indeed the Current Player who decides the order. Then, once all cards in play are resolved, players can now play Special cards that are triggered by your card. That order is determined by the rules, not by the Current Player. In order to do so, starting with the Current Player and going clockwise, each player has the opportunity to play one (and only one) Special "After X" card or pass. Continue until all the players have passed in sequence. Even if a player has passed, they may later decide to play a card on their next opportunity. If a player wants to play more than one Special card, they must wait until their next opportunity to play another one.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.


Cancel Edit

Q: When you cancel the ability of a card, it undoes any of the things it did, right?

A: No. It just makes the ability inaccessible for as long as the cancellation lasts, but most of the things the ability already did can't be undone. So Talents can't be invoked again and Ongoing abilities are ignored. But it doesn't undo things that already happened, such as card draws, VPs granted, the placing of +1 power counter, the previous destructions of minions, etc.

Rule: Definition of "cancel".


Control Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Destroy Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Directly Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Discard Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Extra Edit

Q: I play a card that grants me an extra card play. Do I have to play the extra card immediately when I get it? Immediately after I finish resolving the first card? Any time I want after I finish resolving the first card?

A: Firstly, you don't have to play it: extra cards are always optional, just like regular card. Secondly, extra cards you obtain can always be played immediately if you want to, and in very specific cases, they must be play immediately or else they are lost. Extra cards are limited to being played immediately when any of these conditions are met and only one is enough:
- When they are obtained from a Special ability,
- When they are obtained outside your Play Cards phase,
- When they are limited to a specific card,
- When another part of the ability follows the extra card play.
In all those four cases, the extra card must be played immediately or not at all. Other than that, the extra card play can either be played immediately, or saved for later in the phase, something referred to as "banking" throughout this wiki.

Rule 1: Extra cards can always be played immediately.

Rule 2: Extra cards gained by a Special ability or outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Rule 3: You must play an extra card immediately if the extra card play effect refers to a specific card.

Rule 4: You must play an extra card immediately if another part of the ability follows the extra play.

Rule 5: Extra cards are always optional.


In Play Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Move Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Ongoing Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


On your turn Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Owner Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Place Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Play Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Return Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Special Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Starting Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Talent Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


To Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Transfer Edit

Q:

A:

Rule: