FANDOM


Worker

The future of atomic energy was never supposed to have this disastrous effect! Mutant ants spill out from giant hills, intent on destroying our homes and all else that stands in their colony’s way! The ants work as a great hive mind, spreading their power around as necessary to ensure their atomic-age victory!

- Monster Smash rulebook

The Giant Ants are one of the 4 factions from the Monster Smash set.

The Giant Ants focus on getting a lot of +1 power counters and transferring them among your minions.

Other factions from the same set: Mad Scientists, Vampires, Werewolves.

Cards Edit

Giant ants

The Giant Ants have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is extremely low at only 13 or an average of 1.3 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3. However, all minions have the ability to boost their power with +1 power counters. The on-play abilities alone of the minions return them to a total power of 29 and an average power of 2.9, much closer to the average.

Minions Edit

1x Killer Queen - power 4 - Talent: If you played another minion here this turn, place a +1 power counter on this minion and that minion. FAQ

2x Drone - power 3 - Place a +1 power counter on this minion. Ongoing: Before one of your minions is destroyed, you may remove a +1 power counter from this minion to prevent the destruction. FAQ

3x Soldier - power 1 - Place two +1 power counters on this minion. Talent: Transfer a +1 power counter from this minion to another minion. FAQ

4x Worker - power 0 - Place two +1 power counters on this minion. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x A Kind of Magic - Transfer any or all of your +1 power counters among your minions. FAQ

2x Gimme the Prize - Place a +1 power counter on up to 3 of your minions. FAQ

1x Headlong - Move one of your minions to another base. Place two +1 power counters on that minion. FAQ

1x The Show Must Go On - Play on a base. Ongoing: Your minions here with +1 power counters are not affected by other players’ cards. FAQ

1x Under Pressure - Special: Before a base scores, you may transfer any number of +1 power counters from one of your minions to another. FAQ

1x We Are the Champions - Special: After this base scores, transfer any or all +1 power counters from one of your minions here to another minion. FAQ

2x We Will Rock You - Each of your minions gains +1 power for each +1 power counter on it until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Who Wants to Live Forever? - Remove any number of +1 power counters from your minions. Draw a card for each counter removed. FAQ

Giant Ants-0

Bases Edit

Mechanics Edit

The Giant Ants deck attempts to mimic a well coordinated hive through power counters. Ant minions are all at a below power average with on play counters to make up the deficit. These counters are very mobile and allow you to distribute and transfer exaclty as much power as you want, wherever you want it to go. As the counters are the true place of power in this deck, there are lots of ways to aggragate the counters, as well as to salvage them from a base as it score. The mobile nature of your counters also lets you position them on a single minion for some benefits (removing them to draw cards or protect minions) and to divide them amongst all you minions( allowing any minion with a power counter to be unaffected by other players). Ants also have a decent degree of protection on their minions to prevent destruction (possibly to make up for having many low power minions that are vulnerable). Many ant minions allow for moving a lot of power quickily to a base, making them decent at breaking bases once ready.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Killer Queen Edit

Q: Does "this turn" refer to the turn Killer Queen is played?

A: "This turn" means the turn you are using this talent.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play a minion on the Killer Queen's base, but that minion is destroyed. (e.g. Leprechaun) When I use Killer Queen's talent, do I still get +1 power counters?

A: Yes. When you activate this talent, it asks whether you have played a minion here this turn or not. It doesn't matter if it's still in play. If you did, place a +1 power counter on Killer Queen. Of course, you can't put one on the destroyed minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play a minion on the Killer Queen's base, but that minion is moved to another base. When I use Killer Queen's talent, do I still get +1 power counters?

A: Yes. When you activate this talent, it asks whether you have played a minion here this turn or not. It doesn't matter if it's still on the base. If you did, place a +1 power counter on Killer Queen and on that minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play a minion on the Killer Queen's base, but Killer Queen is moved to another base where I haven't played any minion on this turn. When I use Killer Queen's talent, do I still get +1 power counters?

A: No. When you activate this talent, it asks whether or not you have played a minion on Killer Queen's current base this turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I managed to play two minions on Killer Queen's base on the same turn. When I use Killer Queen's talent, do all three minions get +1 power counters?

A: No. When you use Killer Queen's talent, it asks whether you have played a minion here this turn or not. You did, so designate one of them and that minion and Killer Queen get a +1 power counters.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Killer Queen is on Standing Stones. I managed to play two minions there on this turn. Both times I use Killer Queen's talent, do I have to the +1 power counters on the same minion (other than Killer Queen)?

A: You can place the +1 power counters on two different minions or the same minion twice, as long as those minions were played there this turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play a minion on a base, and then Killer Queen on that base. Can I give both of them +1 power counters using Killer Queen's talent?

A: Yes. When you use Killer Queen's talent, it asks whether you have played a minion here this turn or not. Whether the minion was played before or after Killer Queen, it doesn't matter.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: If Killer Queen's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability (both those placed on Killer Queen and those placed on my other minions) removed?
A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Killer Queen's ability and which ones were not (e.g. transferred by Soldier or We Are the Champions, or placed by Headlong or Gimme the Prize)? That would be very cumbersome.
Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.
Q: If Killer Queen is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, returned, etc.), are the +1 power counters placed by its ability on my other minions removed?
A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress is destroyed). On the other hand, if a card is removed while it had +1 power counters, only the +1 power counters on it are removed, but that's because a card that leaves play loses all its attachments. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Killer Queen's ability and which ones were not (e.g. transferred by Soldier or We Are the Champions, or placed by Headlong or Gimme the Prize)? That would be very cumbersome.
Rule: Removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.


Questions on Drone Edit

Q: One of my cards tells me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. Sacrifice), or an opponent's card forces me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. Bear Hug), or a base's ability allows me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. R'lyeh), can I target one of my minions and use Drone's ability? If so, is it destroyed? If not, does it stop the rest of the ability if there were more to it?

A: Short answer: Yes, no and it depends. Firstly, you can indeed choose any of your minions as long as it fits the card's requirement (e.g. if your minion is on R'lyeh, you can target it with R'lyeh's ability, but you can't if it was on another base, obviously), but you must choose one if you have any in play and if it's a mandatory ability (i.e. there's no "you may"). Secondly, because one of your minions is targeted for destruction, Drone's ability kicks in, and allows you to protect it. If you choose to do so, it won't be destroyed. Lastly, you must finish resolving the card that was originally invoked. If the card was the kind of card that says "Destroy a minion to do Y" or "Destroy a minion. If you do, do Y", then the effect stated as "Y" can't be done at all, that is, if no minion is destroyed in the end. If the card says something else, such as "Destroy a minion. Do Y", "Destroy a minion and do Y", etc., the destruction isn't a pre-requisite so you resolve the rest of the card's ability.

Rule 1: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Rule 2: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you need to completely do the effect stated as "X" before you do the effect stated as "Y".
Q: I have a Drone in play. I play a minion on a base with a Leprechaun. Leprechaun normally destroys it, but Drone prevents it. However, Leprechaun's ability is Ongoing, so that player can continue to destroy my minion until I run out of counters, right?

A: No. Leprechaun only tries to destroy your minion once, it does not repeatedly try to destroy it.

Rule: When an ability is triggered, it's resolved once per trigger.

Q: A player plays a Nightstalker and tries to destroy one of my minions. I use Drone to stop it, do they still get Nightstalker's bonus?

A: No. Nightstalker's ability is a "Do X to do Y" type or ability. Since they failed to destroy the targeted minion, they don't get a +1 power counter.

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you need to completely do the effect stated as "X" before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: If I play Sacrifice and use Drone to prevent the destruction, does Sacrifice still let me draw cards?

A: Yes. Drawing the cards and destroying your minion are independent. So even if the minion is not destroyed, you still draw your cards.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.

Q: A player plays Powderkeg. I use Drone's ability to protect one of my minions there, but removing a +1 power counter from the Drone brings it within the range of destruction of Powderkeg. Is my Drone destroyed?

A: No. When playing Powderkeg, you first determine which minions are destroyed before the destruction happens. If Drone is not among them, it won't be destroyed, even if you remove +1 power counters to prevent some destructions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: If Drone's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed on it by its own ability removed?
A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled). Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Drone's ability and which ones were not (e.g. transferred by Soldier or We Are the Champions, or placed by Headlong or Gimme the Prize)? That would be very cumbersome.
Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.


Questions on Soldier Edit

Q: If Soldier's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed on it by its own ability and the ones transferred to other minions by its own ability removed?

A: No. When you place or transfer a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed or transferred them has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled). Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added or transferred by that one Soldier's ability and which ones were not (e.g. transferred by another Soldier or We Are the Champions, or placed by Headlong or Gimme the Prize)? That would be very cumbersome.
Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.
Q: If Soldier is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, returned, etc.), are the +1 power counters transferred to other minions by its own ability removed?
A: No. When you transfer a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that transferred them has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress is destroyed). Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were transferred by that one Soldier's ability and which ones were not (e.g. transferred by another Soldier or We Are the Champions, or placed by Headlong or Gimme the Prize)? That would be very cumbersome.
Rule: Removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.


Questions on Worker Edit

Q: Shouldn't it have power 2 with no description?

A: No. It is power 0, with an ability that places two +1 power counters on it. This is intentional, as there are other cards in this faction (as well as in other factions) that interact with +1 power counters. For example, playing We Will Rock You will give this minion +2 power, as opposed to +0 power for your other minions without +1 power counters.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: If Worker's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed on it by its own ability removed?
A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled). Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Worker's ability and which ones were not (e.g. transferred by Soldier or We Are the Champions, or placed by Headlong or Gimme the Prize)? That would be very cumbersome.
Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.


Questions on A Kind of Magic Edit

Q: I have +1 power counters on Summon Wolves, can I use A Kind of Magic to transfer them to my minions, or to transfer +1 power counters from my minions to Summon Wolves?

A: No. When you play A Kind of Magic, the transfers can only be done from minions to minions. Summon Wolves, being an action, is out.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Gimme the Prize Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Headlong Edit

Q: With Headlong, I move a power-2 minion to a base with a Cub Scout. Is it destroyed before getting its +1 power counter?

A: No. Because Cub Scout triggers after the move, you must finish resolving Headlong's ability first before resolving any reactions.

Rule: Resolve the played card's ability completely, then resolve any card reactions.


Questions on The Show Must Go On Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion with +1 power counters there, it's no longer affected by my opponents' cards, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions" and "other players" means "their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.
Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug (or Unfathomable Goals, Griefer, Out of Sight), forcing me to affect one of my minions. Can I choose my minion with +1 power counters on the same base as The Show Must Go On? If so, does The Show Must Go On protect it?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, since the cause of the affect is "another player's card", then yes, The Show Must Go On protects your minion.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.


Questions on Under Pressure Edit

Q: Do the transferred counters all go to the same minion?

A: Yes. The card text says to transfer the counters from the chosen minion to "another", i.e. one other minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Which minion is "another"? Does it mean "another one of my minions" or "another minion" (i.e. any other minion, including other players')?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on We Are the Champions Edit

Q: Do the transferred counters all go to the same minion?

A: Yes. The card text says to transfer the counters from the chosen minion to "another minion", i.e. one other minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Is this a play-on-a-base card? It doesn't say "play on a base", but it says "this base".

A: This is a typo. The card is really an "after a base scores" card and should be phrased "Special: After a base scores, transfer any or all +1 power counters from one of your minions there to another minion."

Rule: N/A

Q: It says "to another minion", so can I transfer the power counter to an opponent's minion?

A: Based on the wording, yes, but since Under Pressure also has an ambiguous wording, it may also be a mistake here too. TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on We Will Rock You Edit

Q: After playing We Will Rock You, if the amount of power counters on a minion is changed (one is added or removed), how is its power adjusted?

A: After playing We Will Rock You, its effect will last until the end of the turn, so if a minion gains a +1 power counter, it will get +1 power from We Will Rock You as well. If the minion loses a +1 power counter, it will also lose a +1 power from We Will Rock You.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: After playing We Will Rock You, what happens if a +1 power counter is transferred?

A: The +1 from We Will Rock You follows the power counter.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.


Questions on Who Wants to Live Forever? Edit

Q: Using this card, if I remove +1 power counters from The Monster, do I get extra minions from The Monster's ability?

A: No. You can only get the extra minion from The Monster if a +1 power counter is removed from it using The Monster's own ability.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Marcel Stobinski, who also designed the art of a few other factions.
  • Killer Queen and every action in this faction are named after songs by British rock band Queen.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.