FANDOM


16998132 1263629503723301 2821977370025014466 n

Never underestimate the power of an old lady to Smash All The Bases! - AEG

Everybody loves grandma! And grandma loves you, let me find something in my bag here for you... Grannies keep close tabs on the family, even if the family includes dinosaurs or zombies! They always know who is coming and going, and that slight busybody-ness can come in incredibly handy when planning your strategies for smashing bases.

- What Were We Thinking? rulebook

The Grannies are one of the 4 factions from the What Were We Thinking? set.

The Grannies focus on arranging the top and bottom of your deck, allowing them to draw and play minions from the bottom, and to draw and play actions from the top.

Other factions from the same set: Explorers, Rock Stars, Teddy Bears.

Name Edit

This faction is called "Grannies" in the rulebook and on the divider included in this set. However, AEG's product page for this set calls this faction "Grandmas".

Cards Edit

4ue7B8N

The Grannies have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 2 play-on-base actions: Don’t Mess With My Babies!, Family Reunion,
  • 8 standard actions (1 that affects one or more minions, in bold): Always Room at Granny’s, Attic Treasures (2x), Chicken Soup, Granny’s Purse (2x), Hush, My Stories are On, Knitting Circle,
  • 0 actions that directly increase a minion's power.

Minions Edit

1x Matriarch - power 5 - Talent: Reveal the bottom two cards of your deck. Draw any minions revealed, and discard the rest. FAQ

2x Granny - power 4 - Talent: Look at the top card of your deck. Place it on the top or bottom of your deck. FAQ

3x Nana - power 3 - Reveal the top card of your deck. If it is an action, draw it or play it as an extra action. Otherwise place it on the bottom of your deck. FAQ

4x Grandma - power 2 - Look at the top card of your deck. Place it on the top or bottom of your deck. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Always Room at Granny’s - Special: Play after a base scores. Place up to three of your minions there on the top and/or bottom of your deck in any order. FAQ

2x Attic Treasures - Place three cards from your hand on the bottom of your deck in any order. Draw three cards. FAQ

1x Chicken Soup - Place up to two cards from your discard pile on the top and/or bottom of your deck. FAQ

1x Don’t Mess With My Babies! - Play on a base. Ongoing: Your minions here cannot be affected by other players’ cards. FAQ

1x Family Reunion - Play on a base. Ongoing: After you play a minion here, reveal the bottom card of your deck. If it is a minion, draw it, otherwise place it on top of your deck. FAQ

2x Granny’s Purse - Reveal the top card of your deck. If it is an action, you may draw it or return it. Otherwise place it on the bottom of your deck. Play an extra action. FAQ

1x Hush, My Stories are On - Reveal the bottom card of your deck and draw it. If it is a minion you may play it as an extra minion. FAQ

1x Knitting Circle - Destroy up to three actions played on minions and/or bases. Draw a card for each one destroyed. FAQ

Grannies

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the What Were We Thinking? rulebook:

Attic Treasures: If you have fewer than 3 cards in hand, place all you have and still draw 3 cards.

Mechanics Edit

Grannies focus on sorting your deck and drawing/playing cards from your deck if your deck is correctly sorted.

There are mainly two kinds of cards in the Grannies faction. Those that help you check and/or sort the top and bottom of your deck, and those that check the top or bottom of your deck and give you an advantage if the right type of card is present, usually the drawing of the card and/or playing it as an extra card.

Regarding how to sort your deck correctly, Grannies like when actions are present on top of your deck and minions are present on the bottom.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Matriarch Edit

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's a minion, it goes to its owner's hand, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.
- If it's an action, it goes to its owner's discard pile, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: I already have ten cards in hand. What happens if I decide to use this talent? Do I draw the minions and immediately discard down to 10?

A: You draw the minions and don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on Granny Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Nana Edit

Q: If I reveal an action that I don't want to either draw or play, what happens?

A: It's placed on the bottom of your deck. Basically, you must choose between drawing it or playing it. If you choose to play it, you don't have to do it, because playing a card is always optional. If you choose not to do it, then you apply the "otherwise" instructions and place the card on the bottom of your deck.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: There are three different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's an action and you choose to draw it, it goes to its owner's hand, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.
- If it's an action and you choose to play it, then you control it like any card you play.
- If it's a minion, or an action that you don't want to either draw or play, it goes to the bottom of its owner's deck, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.

Rule 1: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Rule 2: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Q: After playing this card and choosing to draw the action, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on Grandma Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Always Room at Granny’s Edit

Q: It tells me to place "up to three of my minions" into my deck. Can I place a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is placed on the top or the bottom of its owner's deck, regardless of whoever owns the minions that were directly affected by the action and even if there were already three minions that were directly affected by Always Room at Granny’s.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is placed on the top or the bottom of its owner's deck, regardless of whoever owns the minions that were directly affected by the action and even if there were already three minions that were directly affected by Always Room at Granny’s. Note that if more than one minion were directly affected, Dancing King only triggers once, not once per affected minions. Also, note that if the minion is a monster or a treasure, it is discarded instead. This is a different answer compared to cards that refer to a minion's owner; this card never refers to the card's owner ("you" means "the controller", who may not be the owner) and so the rule is that the treasure/monster is discarded.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is placed on the top or the bottom of its owner's deck, regardless of whoever owns the minions that were directly affected by the action and even if there were already three minions that were directly affected by Always Room at Granny’s. Also, note that if the minion is a monster or a treasure, it is discarded instead. This is a different answer compared to cards that refer to a minion's owner; this card never refers to the card's owner ("you" means "the controller", who may not be the owner) and so the rule is that the treasure/monster is discarded.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is placed on the top or the bottom of its owner's deck, regardless of whoever owns the minions that were directly affected by the action and even if there were already three minions that were directly affected by Always Room at Granny’s. Note that if more than one minion were directly affected, Funky Town only triggers once, not once per affected minions.

Rule 1: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Rule 2: Monsters and treasures go to their own discard pile when they leave play.


Questions on Attic Treasures Edit

Q: What happens if I only have two cards in hand?

A: If you have less than three cards in hand, place your entire hand on the bottom of your deck, then draw three cards.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Attic Treasures doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Chicken Soup Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Chicken Soup doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Don’t Mess with My Babies! Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion there, it's no longer affected by my opponents' cards, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions" and "other players" means "their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: It protects "my minions". Does it also protect minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug (or Unfathomable Goals, Griefer, Out of Sight), forcing me to affect one of my minions. Can I choose my minion on the same base as Don't Mess with My Babies!? If so, does Don't Mess with My Babies! protect it?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, since the cause of the affect is "another player's card", then yes, Don't Mess with My Babies! protects your minion.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If you're asking about when Don’t Mess with My Babies! is played, it doesn't interact with them at all, because Don’t Mess with My Babies! says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.
- If you're asking about when you copy an effect onto an opponent's minion with Don’t Mess with My Babies! protecting it, then the minion isn't affected. Note that Don’t Mess with My Babies! only protects against other player's cards, so if Don’t Mess with My Babies!'s controller plays a standard action, you can copy it with Dancing King and have it affect one of that player's minion, bypassing Don’t Mess with My Babies!'s protection because the minion is considered as being affected by its own controller's action and what Dancing King does is copy the effect onto it, which itself doesn't count as affecting the minion.
- If you're asking about when an opponent's minion with Don’t Mess with My Babies! protecting it is directly affected by your standard action and you want to copy that, then it's not possible because the minion isn't affected by your action and because no minion was affected, you can't copy the effect.
- If you're asking about when an opponent's minion with Don’t Mess with My Babies! protecting it is directly affected by that player's standard action and you want to copy that, then you can indeed copy it the same way.

Rule 1: Definition of "standard".

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".


Questions on Family Reunion Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I play a minion there, I reveal the bottom card of my deck and draw it if it's a minion, etc., right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So its ability should be interpreted as "After they play a minion here, they reveal the bottom card of their deck. If it is a minion, they draw it, otherwise they place it on the top of their deck."

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's a minion, it goes to its owner's hand, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.
- If it's an action, it goes to the top of its owner's deck, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Family Reunion's base, do I still reveal the bottom card of my deck?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have They’re Coming To Get You on the same base as Family Reunion. I also have ten cards in hand. What happens if I decide to play a minion from my discard pile with They’re Coming To Get You and reveal a minion from the bottom of my deck? Do I draw it? If so, is it immediately discarded because of the ten-card limit? or do I draw it and immediately discard a card?

A: You draw the minion and don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Family Reunion says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Granny’s Purse Edit

Q: If I reveal an action that I don't want to either draw or return to the top of my deck, what happens?

A: It's placed on the bottom of your deck. Basically, choosing between drawing it or returning it is optional (notice the "you may"). If you choose not to do either, then you apply the "otherwise" instructions and place the card on the bottom of your deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: There are three different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's an action and you choose to draw it, it goes to its owner's hand, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.
- If it's an action and you choose to return it, it goes to the top of your deck, that's because, while the other players can see who owns the card, the card is merely revealed and doesn't change location.
- If it's a minion, it goes to the bottom of its owner's deck, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.

Rule 1: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Rule 2: Cards you don’t own that are merely revealed in your hand or deck stay there.

Q: After playing this card and revealing an action, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Granny’s Purse doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Hush, My Stories are On Edit

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: It goes to its owner's hand, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location. If it's a minion, you won't be able to play it because it's not in your hand.[1]

Rule 1: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Rule 2: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Hush, My Stories are On doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Knitting Circle Edit

Q: Can I target an action that cannot be destroyed? (e.g. Heirloom)

A: Yes, but it won't be destroyed and you won't draw a card for that action.

Rule: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: After playing this card, I end up with more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Knitting Circle doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

In other languages Edit

Language Name
French Grand-Mères
German Omis


What Were We Thinking?

Factions: Explorers  •  Grannies  •  Rock Stars  •  Teddy Bears
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Titans (optional, since the TITANS Event Kit)

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Sheep!  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/19167111#19167111