FANDOM


Lunch run

It's hard to tell if you're up to your knees in children or Munchkin Halflings. A stabbing feeling in your thigh and the faint smell of sausage almost definitely means Halflings. They get everywhere and they just keep coming!

- Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook

The Halflings are one of the 8 factions from the Smash Up: Munchkin set.

The Halflings focus on playing extra minions, a lot of extra minions! Especially on bases where you're behind.

Other factions from the same set: Clerics, Dwarves, Elves, Mages, Orcs, Thieves, Warriors.

Cards Edit

Halflings

The Halflings have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is unusually low at only 24 or an average of 2.4 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 1 play-on-minion action: Small But Tough,
  • 3 play-on-base actions: Lunch Run (2x), Sneaksy,
  • 6 standard actions (2 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Last Call, Out of Nowhere!, Rude Awakening, Spoiled Brats, Unexpected Party (2x),
  • 0 actions that directly increase a minion's power.

Minions Edit

1x Shire Marshal - power 4 - Talent: Play an extra minion on a base where another player has more power than you. FAQ

2x Pestling - power 3 - You may play an extra minion here. FAQ

3x Bardling - power 2 - If another player has more power here than you, you may play an extra minion here. FAQ

4x Quarterling - power 2 - If this is your only minion here, you may play an extra minion on this base. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Last Call - Special: Play before a base scores. Play a minion there. Cancel that minion’s ability until the end of the turn. FAQ

2x Lunch Run - Play on a base. Ongoing: After each time you play a minion here, draw a card. FAQ

1x Out of Nowhere! - Reveal cards from the top of your deck until two minions have been revealed. Place those minions into your hand. Shuffle the rest of the cards back into your deck. FAQ

1x Rude Awakening - Choose a base. Reveal your hand and play all minions in it onto that base as extra minions; cancel their abilities until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Small But Tough - Play on your minion. Ongoing: When this minion goes to the discard pile, place it on top of your deck instead. FAQ

1x Sneaksy - Play on a base. Ongoing: Your minions here are not affected by other players’ actions. FAQ

1x Spoiled Brats - Choose any number of minions from your discard pile, shuffle them, and place them on top of your deck. FAQ

2x Unexpected Party - Play an extra minion on a base where you have no minions. FAQ

Halflings

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Last Call, Rude Awakening: This also cancels restrictions on the minions for how to play them (e.g., Shoggoth).

Mechanics Edit

Halflings specialize in playing many extra minions, though it's usually limited to bases where another player has more power than you, or where you don't already have a minion.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Shire Marshal Edit

Q: There's only one base where I have less power than someone, so I use Shire Marshal's talent and choose to "bank" the extra minion play. Before I play the extra minion there, the situation changes and no player has more power than me on any base. Can I still play the extra minion that I banked?

A: No. The extra minion play you get from Shire Marshal is restricted to bases where another player has more power than you there. If there's none, you can't play it. And actually, you can activate Shire Marshal's talent no matter the situation on the board. If there's no base where you have less power than someone, you can still choose to bank the extra minion. It's just that when you spend it, you'll only be able to play it on a base another player currently has more power there than you.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Pestling Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Bardling Edit

Q: If you play a Bardling through Crack of Dusk or IT'S ALIVE! (which both give a power counter to the minion you summon). Do you trigger its ability before or after it gets a power counter?

A: After. So you play Bardling, if another player has more power there than you, you gain an extra minion to play that you can play either immediately or "bank" for later, then Bardling gets a +1 power counter.[1]

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: So, I play a Bardling through Crack of Dusk or IT'S ALIVE! (which both give a power counter to the minion you summon). Without the +1 power counter, another player has more power than me, so I gain an extra minion play with Bardling's ability that I choose to "bank". After the +1 power counter is placed, I'm now tied with that other player, so do I lose the banked extra minion play?

A: No. Having less power is a condition for triggering Bardling's ability, but once it's triggered, the extra minion has been gained and having less power is no longer required if you bank it. This is different than Shire Marshal. With Bardling, having less power is a condition to gain the extra minion, but if it's met, it doesn't matter what happens later. With Shire Marshal, you gain an extra minion no matter what, but if you bank it, the extra minion play will be limited to a base where you have less power, so having less power is a restriction here.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Quarterling Edit

Q: It needs to be "my only minion". If there is a minion there that I own but don't control, does it prevent Quarterling's ability?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".


Questions on Last Call Edit

Q: Can I play Elder Thing with Last Call without having to destroy minions?

A: Yes. You play it, then immediately cancel its ability until the end of the turn. At the end of the turn, its immunity is restored and you ignore the destruction part because it's only resolved when Elder Thing is played.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I play Shoggoth with Last Call on a base where I have less than 6 power?

A: Yes, Last Call also cancels Shoggoth's play restriction. At the end of the turn, the cancellation is lifted and you ignore its whole ability because it's only resolved when Shoggoth is played.

Rule: Check Last Call's clarification.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has all its abilities cancelled (i.e. the ability that appears on its card and the abilities granted by it by ability-granting actions, e.g. Flighterizer, The Touch, Passengers,...) Quite frankly, it's not that useful with Diva.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has all its abilities cancelled (i.e. the ability that appears on its card and the abilities granted by it by ability-granting actions, e.g. Flighterizer, The Touch, Passengers,...)
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has all its abilities cancelled (i.e. the ability that appears on its card and the abilities granted by it by ability-granting actions, e.g. Flighterizer, The Touch, Passengers,...)
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has all its abilities cancelled (i.e. the ability that appears on its card and the abilities granted by it by ability-granting actions, e.g. Flighterizer, The Touch, Passengers,...)

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Lunch Run Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I play a minion there, I draw a card, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent) and "(you) draw" means "they draw".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: I have They’re Coming To Get You on the same base as Lunch Run. I also have ten cards in hand. What happens if I decide to play a minion from my discard pile with They’re Coming To Get You? Do I draw a card? If so, is it immediately discarded because of the ten-card limit? or do I draw it and immediately discard a card?

A: You draw a card and don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Lunch Run's base, do I still draw a card?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Lunch Run says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Out of Nowhere! Edit

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's a minion, it goes to its owner's hand, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.
- If it's an action, it's shuffled into its owner's deck, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand. Do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Out of Nowhere! doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Rude Awakening Edit

Q: Can I play Elder Thing with Rude Awakening without having to destroy minions?

A: Yes. You play it, then immediately cancel its ability until the end of the turn. At the end of the turn, its immunity is restored and you ignore the destruction part because it's only resolved when Elder Thing is played.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I play Shoggoth with Rude Awakening on a base where I have less than 6 power?

A: Yes, Last Call also cancels Shoggoth's play restriction. At the end of the turn, the cancellation is lifted and you ignore its whole ability because it's only resolved when Shoggoth is played.

Rule: Check Last Call's clarification.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has all its abilities cancelled (i.e. the ability that appears on its card and the abilities granted by it by ability-granting actions, e.g. Flighterizer, The Touch, Passengers,...) Quite frankly, it's not that useful with Diva.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has all its abilities cancelled (i.e. the ability that appears on its card and the abilities granted by it by ability-granting actions, e.g. Flighterizer, The Touch, Passengers,...) Note that if several minions were directly affected, Dancing King only triggers once, not once per affected minion.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has all its abilities cancelled (i.e. the ability that appears on its card and the abilities granted by it by ability-granting actions, e.g. Flighterizer, The Touch, Passengers,...)
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has all its abilities cancelled (i.e. the ability that appears on its card and the abilities granted by it by ability-granting actions, e.g. Flighterizer, The Touch, Passengers,...) Note that if several minions were directly affected, Funky Town only triggers once, not once per affected minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Small But Tough Edit

Q: It tells me to play it on "my minion". Can I play it on a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If you have a Clyde 2.0 with Small but Tough, what happens when Clyde 2.0 is destroyed/discarded?

A: Clyde 2.0 is placed on the top of your deck and Small but Tough can be placed into your hand.[2]

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: If I use Gimme! to destroy a minion with Small But Tough, is the minion placed on top of its owner's deck or not?

A: Yes. You destroy the minion before transferring the action, so the action still applies and the minion is placed on its owner's deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: An opponent plays this card on one of their minions. If it is transferred to one of my minions, e.g. with Tinx or Rules Lawyer, where does it go when it goes to the discard pile?

A: It goes on the top of its owner's deck. Also of note, it's the player who originally played Small But Tough who places the minion on the top of its owner's deck because they are still Small But Tough's controller, even though it was transferred.

Rule 1: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Rule 2: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Small But Tough says "Play on your minion", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Sneaksy Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion there, it's no longer affected by my opponents' actions, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions" and "other players" means "their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: This protects "my minions". Does it also protect minions there that I own but don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug (or Unfathomable Goals, Griefer, Out of Sight), forcing me to affect one of my minions. Can I choose one of my minions on the same base as Sneaksy? If so, does Sneaksy protect it?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, since the cause of the affect is "another player's action", then yes, Sneaksy protects your minion.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If you're asking about when Sneaksy is played, it doesn't interact with them at all, because Sneaksy says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.
- If you're asking about when you copy an effect onto an opponent's minion with Sneaksy protecting it, then the minion isn't affected. Note that Sneaksy only protects against other player's actions, so if Sneaksy's controller plays a standard action, you can copy it with Dancing King and have it affect the minion with Sneaksy, bypassing its protection because the minion is considered as being affected by its own controller's action.
- If you're asking about when an opponent's minion with Sneaksy protecting it is directly affected by your standard action and you want to copy that, then it's not possible because the minion isn't affected by your action and because no minion was affected, you can't copy the effect.
- If you're asking about when an opponent's minion with Sneaksy protecting it is directly affected by that player's standard action and you want to copy that, then you can indeed copy it the same way.

Rule 1: Definition of "standard".

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".


Questions on Spoiled Brats Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Spoiled Brats doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Unexpected Party Edit

Q: I can play the extra minions on bases where I have no minions. Do minions I own but don't control also count?

A: No. "Where you have no minions" means "where you don't control any minions (whether or not you own them)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Unexpected Party doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artists are John Kovalic, who is well-known for drawing the art of many boardgames including Munchkin and several of its expansions, Gong Studios (the faction cards) and Francisco Rico Torres (the base cards), who both designed the art of many other factions.
  • The font used for the Halfling cards is Quasimodo.
  • Orcs are present on the Out of Nowhere, Rude Awakening and Small But Tough cards.
  • Pestling is annoying a Mage.
  • Quarterling is bothering a Warrior, a Mage and an Elf.
  • A Mage and a Cleric are present on the Sneaksy card.

In other languages Edit

Language Name
French Halfelins
German Halblinge
Russian Хафлинги
Spanish Medianos


Smash Up: Munchkin

Factions: Clerics  •  Dwarves  •  Elves  •  Halflings  •  Mages  •  Orcs  •  Thieves  •  Warriors
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Monsters  •  Treasures

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Sheep!  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/20694183#20694183
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/15395000#15395000