FANDOM


13925104 1066172280135692 8375599341790742696 n

In the game of kingly seats, you smash the base, or you are destroyed. The Ignobles can be trusted just about as far as you can throw them. Backstabbing, swapping sides, and the occasional party crashing is par for the course for these medieval schemers. Watch out for help offered from one of these untrustworthy types, it will be short lived.

- Cease and Desist rulebook

The Ignobles are one of the 4 factions from the Cease and Desist set.

The Ignobles focus on giving other players control of your minions and then taking them back.

Cards Edit

IMG 0554

The Ignobles have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30, or an average of 3 per minion.

Minions Edit

1x Aunt of Drakes - power 5 - Talent: Give control of one of your minions to another player to draw a card and play an extra action.

2x Foot of the King - power 4 - Ongoing: At the end of your turn, you may take control of a minion you own.

3x Betrothed - power 3 - You may give control of this minion to another player. Ongoing: The owner of this minion gains 1 VP if another player wins this base and controls this minion.

4x Sneaky Squire - power 2 - You may give control of this minion to another player to play an extra minion.

Actions Edit

2x Activate the Spy - Take control of a minion you own. Play an extra action.

1x - Take control of any number of minions you own.

1x Fate of the Favorites - Each player destroys a minion they own.

1x Hostage Exchange - Give another player control of one of your minions to take control of one of their minions of equal or less power.

1x Inevitable Betrayal - Special: Before a base scores, take control of a minion you own there.

1x Out of Sight - Each player returns a minion they own to their hand.

1x Red Birthday Party - Destroy a minion you own and all minions with less power on the same base.

2x Repaying Debts - Give control of one of your minions to another player to draw two cards and play an extra minion.

Ignobles

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Cease and Desist rulebook:

Activate the Spy, Banner Call, Foot of the King, Inevitable Betrayal: These target minions from your deck whether or not you still control them.

Betrothed: This triggers even if it is not on its original base, or if control was gained through another card’s ability.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Aunt of Drakes Edit

Q: Can I give control of Aunt of Drakes using its own ability? If so, who draws the card and gets the extra action?

A: Yes. If you want to use its ability, you have to choose one of your minions, and your Aunt of Drakes is a perfectly legit choice. Also, you're the one who gave control of it, so you're the one who draws the card and gets to play an extra action.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".
Q: Can I use its talent and choose not to give any of my minions to another player? (e.g. because Aunt of Drakes is on Changing Room)
A: Yes, its talent is a "Do X to do Y" ability, which means that even if it doesn't say "you may", doing X, i.e. giving control of one of your minions, is actually optionnal.[1] Obviously, if you don't give control of a minion, then you don't draw a card and you don't get an extra action.

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.


Questions on Foot of the King Edit

Q: Can I use this to permanently regain control of my former minion, despite an opponent's Make Contact being connected to it?

A: No. You can use a card to take control of it, but Make Contact would prevent it because its ability allows the player to take control and keep control of it.

Rule: An Ongoing ability lasts for as long as the card is in play.

Q: If I give control of a Sneaky Squire to a player with In Plain Sight. Can I take back control of it?

A: No. Once you give Sneaky Squire to another player, it's considered as their minion and you're considered as another player for that minion, so In Plain Sight protects it from changing controller.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: Can I use this to take control of a minion I own that is already under my control?
A: Yes, the target must be a minion you own, but it doesn't say that the minion must be under the control of another player. Though it's not that useful.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Betrothed Edit

Q: I'm given control of a Betrothed. Can I use my Mind Lady to cancel Betrothed's ability? Just in case...

A: No. Mind Lady can only target another player's minion, that is a minion controlled by another player. You now control the Betrothed, so it's considered as "your minion" and Mind Lady can't target it.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: When an opponent gives you control of a Betrothed, what actions can you perform on it? Move it? Destroy it? Or does it just give you the power on the card, 3?

A: It's now considered one of your minions, so you can do anything to it that targets "a minion" or "one of your minions", but not something that targets "another player's minion", because it's yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".


Questions on Sneaky Squire Edit

Q: If I give control of a Sneaky Squire to a player with In Plain Sight. Can I take back control of it?

A: No. Once you give Sneaky Squire to another player, it's considered as their minion and you're considered as another player for that minion, so In Plain Sight protects it from changing controller.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I give control of Sneaky Squire to another player, do I have to play the extra minion on Sneaky Squire's base?

A: No. There's no restriction to the extra minion, so you can play it on any base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Activate the Spy Edit

Q: Can I use this to permanently regain control of my former minion, despite an opponent's Make Contact being connected to it?

A: No. You can use a card to take control of it, but Make Contact would prevent it because its ability allows the player to take control and keep control of it.

Rule: An Ongoing ability lasts for as long as the card is in play.

Q: If I give control of a Sneaky Squire to a player with In Plain Sight. Can I take back control of it?

A: No. Once you give Sneaky Squire to another player, it's considered as their minion and you're considered as another player for that minion, so In Plain Sight protects it from changing controller.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: If taking control of the minion fails (like the above example or with Make Contact), do I still get an extra action?
A: Yes. Taking control of a minion and the extra action are independent, so even if you fail to take control of a minion, you still get an extra action to play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: Can I use this to take control of a minion I own that is already under my control?
A: Yes, the target must be a minion you own, but it doesn't say that the minion must be under the control of another player. With the Mythic Greeks, I suppose it could be useful to do this and play two actions in a row, especially if none of the minions you own are under the control of another player.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Banner Call Edit

Q: Can I use this to permanently regain control of my former minion, despite an opponent's Make Contact being connected to it?

A: No. You can use a card to take control of it, but Make Contact would prevent it because its ability allows the player to take control and keep control of it.

Rule: An Ongoing ability lasts for as long as the card is in play.
Q: Can I use this to take control of a minion I own that is already under my control?
A: Yes, the target must be a minion you own, but it doesn't say that the minion must be under the control of another player. Though it's not that useful.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Fate of the Favorites Edit

Q: Can a player choose a minion that can't be destroyed or affected?

A: Yes, in that case, its destruction fails and it doesn't interfere with the other destructions.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.
Q: I play Fate of the Favorites. An opponent chooses to destroy their minion on Field of Honor. Who gets the VP?
A: Your card made another player destroy the minion, so it's that player who did the destruction. Therefore, your opponent gets the VP because Field of Honor rewards the player who destroys it.
Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[2]
Q: I play Fate of the Favorites. An opponent chooses to destroy their Elder Thing, claiming that it can't be destroyed by my card and therefore survives. Is that correct?
A: Yes. Elder Thing is immune to any effect caused by other players' cards, as long as the effect is included in the definition of "affect", such as a destruction.
Rule: Definition of "affect".
Q: I play Fate of the Favorites. An opponent chooses to destroy their Awesome Guy, claiming that it can't be destroyed by my card and therefore survives. Is that correct?
A: No. There's a subtle nuance. When you play Fate of the Favorites to make another player destroy a minion, the minion is considered both "destroyed by your card's ability" and "destroyed by that player". So the cause of the destruction is your card's ability, but the person who carried out the destruction is that player. A card that can't be destroyed by "other players' abilities" is only immune to destruction if the cause is another player's ability. However, a card that can't be destroyed by "other players" is only immune to destruction if the person who does the destruction is another player. So Awesome Guy is not immune to destruction if it's destroyed by its own controller, even if the destruction was caused by another player's card.
Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[2]


Questions on Hostage Exchange Edit

Q: Can I play this and choose not to give any of my minions to another player? (e.g. because I'm playing with the Mythic Greeks)

A: Yes, this action is a "Do X to do Y" ability, which means that even if it doesn't say "you may", doing X, i.e. giving control of one of your minions, is actually optionnal.[1] Obviously, if you don't give control of a minion, then you don't take control of another player's minion either.

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.


Questions on Inevitable Betrayal Edit

Q: If I give control of a Sneaky Squire to a player with In Plain Sight. Can I take back control of it?

A: No. Once you give Sneaky Squire to another player, it's considered as their minion and you're considered as another player for that minion, so In Plain Sight protects it from changing controller.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: Can I use this to permanently regain control of my former minion, despite an opponent's Make Contact being connected to it?
A: No. You can use a card to take control of it, but Make Contact would prevent it because its ability allows the player to take control and keep control of it.

Rule: An Ongoing ability lasts for as long as the card is in play.
Q: Can I use this to take control of a minion I own that is already under my control?
A: Yes, the target must be a minion you own, but it doesn't say that the minion must be under the control of another player. Though it's not that useful.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Out of Sight Edit

Q: Can a player choose a minion that can't be returned or affected, or that will move instead of being returned? (e.g. Entangled, Ship's Engineer)

A: Yes, in that case, its return fails and it doesn't interfere with the other returns.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.


Questions on Red Birthday Party Edit

Q: Can I choose a minion that can't be destroyed or affected?

A: Yes, in that case, its destruction fails and it doesn't interfere with the other destructions.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.


Questions on Repaying Debts Edit

Q: Can I play this and choose not to give any of my minions to another player? (e.g. because I'm playing with the Mythic Greeks)

A: Yes, this action is a "Do X to do Y" ability, which means that even if it doesn't say "you may", doing X, i.e. giving control of one of your minions, is actually optionnal.[1] Obviously, if you don't give control of a minion, then you don't draw cards and you don't get an extra minion.

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Trivia Edit

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/17014769#17014769
  2. 2.0 2.1 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22554680#22554680

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.