FANDOM


13925104 1066172280135692 8375599341790742696 n

The Ignobles fight over the king’s seat, but don’t trust any of them! They pay their debts, and wait for winter (seriously, we hope winter hurries up already). And when you least expect it – RANDOM DRAGONS! Because everything is better with dragons. - AEG

In the game of kingly seats, you smash the base, or you are destroyed. The Ignobles can be trusted just about as far as you can throw them. Backstabbing, swapping sides, and the occasional party crashing is par for the course for these medieval schemers. Watch out for help offered from one of these untrustworthy types, it will be short lived.

- Cease and Desist rulebook

The Ignobles are one of the 4 factions from the Cease and Desist set.

The Ignobles focus on giving other players control of your minions and then taking them back.

Other factions from the same set: Astroknights, Changerbots, Star Roamers.

Cards Edit

IMG 0554

The Ignobles have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30, or an average of 3 per minion. They are also one of the rare factions to have received a titan from the TITANS Event Kit.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 0 play-on-base actions,
  • 10 standard actions (all of them affect one or more minions): Activate the Spy (2x), Banner Call, Fate of the Favorites, Hostage Exchange, Inevitable Betrayal, Out of Sight, Red Birthday Party, Repaying Debts (2x),
  • 0 actions that directly increase a minion's power.

Minions Edit

1x Aunt of Drakes - power 5 - Talent: Give control of one of your minions to another player to draw a card and play an extra action. FAQ

2x Foot of the King - power 4 - Ongoing: At the end of your turn, you may take control of a minion you own. FAQ

3x Betrothed - power 3 - You may give control of this minion to another player. Ongoing: The owner of this minion gains 1 VP if another player wins this base and controls this minion. FAQ

4x Sneaky Squire - power 2 - You may give control of this minion to another player to play an extra minion. FAQ

Actions Edit

2x Activate the Spy - Take control of a minion you own. Play an extra action. FAQ

1x - Take control of any number of minions you own. FAQ

1x Fate of the Favorites - Each player destroys a minion they own. FAQ

1x Hostage Exchange - Give another player control of one of your minions to take control of one of their minions of equal or less power. FAQ

1x Inevitable Betrayal - Special: Before a base scores, take control of a minion you own there. FAQ

1x Out of Sight - Each player returns a minion they own to their hand. FAQ

1x Red Birthday Party - Destroy a minion you own and all minions with less power on the same base. FAQ

2x Repaying Debts - Give control of one of your minions to another player to draw two cards and play an extra minion. FAQ

Titan Edit

(available in each "Smash Up TITANS" pack released with the TITANS Event Kit)

1x The Hill that Strolls - Special: On your turn, you may play this titan if two or more minions you own are controlled by other players. Ongoing: After you give control of one of your minions to another player, you may place a +1 power counter on it. Talent: Give control of one of your minions to another player to draw a card, OR take control of a minion here you own. FAQ

Ignobles

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Cease and Desist rulebook:

Activate the Spy, Banner Call, Foot of the King, Inevitable Betrayal: These target minions from your deck whether or not you still control them.

Betrothed: The ability works regardless of how control was gained, and even if the Betrothed is moved to another base.

Mechanics Edit

Ignobles' main mechanics are giving control of your minions to your opponents for good effects, usually card draws and extra card plays, and taking back control of the minions you own.

Since giving control of your minions means you give more total power to your opponent, the tricky thing about playing with the Ignobles is knowing when it's better to give control of a minion and when it's better to keep control of it. Extra card plays, especially extra minion plays, is good to compensate your loss of power, while card draws is good to have cards to play as the extra cards and to get faster to the cards that will allow you to take back control of the minions you own.

Alternatively, if you find yourself unable to take back control of the minions you gave, you can also destroy or return them to decrease your opponent's total power.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Aunt of Drakes Edit

Q: Can I give control of Aunt of Drakes using its own ability? If so, who draws the card and gets the extra action?

A: Yes. If you want to use its ability, you have to choose one of your minions, and your Aunt of Drakes is a perfectly legit choice. Also, you're the one who gave control of it, so you're the one who draws the card and gets to play an extra action.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: It tells me to give control of "one of my minions". Can I choose a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I already have ten cards in hand. What happens if I decide to use this talent and draw a card? Do I draw one and immediately discard a card?

A: You draw a card and don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: Can I use its talent and choose not to give any of my minions to another player? (e.g. because Aunt of Drakes is on Changing Room)

A: Yes, its talent is a "Do X to do Y" ability, which means that even if it doesn't say "you may", doing X, i.e. giving control of one of your minions, is actually optional.[1] Obviously, if you don't give control of a minion, then you don't draw a card and you don't get an extra action.

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.


Questions on Foot of the King Edit

Q: Can I use this to permanently regain control of my former minion, despite an opponent's Make Contact being connected to it?

A: No. You can use a card to take control of it, but Make Contact would prevent it because its ability allows the player to take control and keep control of it.

Rule: An Ongoing ability lasts for as long as the card is in play.

Q: If I give control of a Sneaky Squire to a player with In Plain Sight. Can I take back control of it?

A: No. Once you give Sneaky Squire to another player, it's considered as their minion and you're considered as another player for that minion, so In Plain Sight protects it from changing controller.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I use this to take control of a minion I own that is already under my control?

A: Yes, the target must be a minion you own, but it doesn't say that the minion must be under the control of another player. Though it's not that useful.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Betrothed Edit

Q: I'm given control of a Betrothed. Can I use my Mind Lady to cancel Betrothed's ability? Just in case...

A: No. Mind Lady can only target another player's minion, which is a minion controlled by another player. You now control the Betrothed, so it's considered as "your minion" and Mind Lady can't target it.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: When an opponent gives you control of a Betrothed, what actions can you perform on it? Move it? Destroy it? Or does it just give you the power on the card, 3?

A: It's now considered one of your minions, so you can do anything to it that targets "a minion" or "one of your minions", but not something that targets "another player's minion", because it's yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I give a Betrothed to another player. When the base scores, they are tied for first place. Are they still the winner? Do I still gain 1 VP?

A: Yes and yes. They are considered the base winner even if they are tied for the winner position.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Sneaky Squire Edit

Q: If I give control of a Sneaky Squire to a player with In Plain Sight. Can I take back control of it?

A: No. Once you give Sneaky Squire to another player, it's considered as their minion and you're considered as another player for that minion, so In Plain Sight protects it from changing controller.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I give control of Sneaky Squire to another player, do I have to play the extra minion on Sneaky Squire's base?

A: No. There's no restriction to the extra minion, so you can play it on any base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Activate the Spy Edit

Q: Can I use this to permanently regain control of my former minion, despite an opponent's Make Contact being connected to it?

A: No. You can use a card to take control of it, but Make Contact would prevent it because its ability allows the player to take control and keep control of it.

Rule: An Ongoing ability lasts for as long as the card is in play.

Q: If I give control of a Sneaky Squire to a player with In Plain Sight. Can I take back control of it?

A: No. Once you give Sneaky Squire to another player, it's considered as their minion and you're considered as another player for that minion, so In Plain Sight protects it from changing controller.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If taking control of the minion fails (like the above example or with Make Contact), do I still get an extra action?

A: Yes. Taking control of a minion and the extra action are independent, so even if you fail to take control of a minion, you still get an extra action to play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I use this to take control of a minion I own that is already under my control?

A: Yes, the target must be a minion you own, but it doesn't say that the minion must be under the control of another player. With the Mythic Greeks, I suppose it could be useful to do this and play two actions in a row, especially if none of the minions you own are under the control of another player.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the action player, even if they don't own Diva. Note that you don't get a second extra action for affecting a second minion, because Diva only copies the part that changes the minion's controller and the extra action part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the action player, even if they don't own the minion. Note that you don't get a second extra action for affecting a second minion, because Dancing King only copies the part that changes the minion's controller and the extra action part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the action player, even if they don't own the minion. Note that you don't get a second extra action for affecting a second minion, because We are Family only copies the part that changes the minion's controller and the extra action part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
- It is impossible for Funky Town to copy that action's effect because for Funky Town to copy it, you must be the one playing the action and it must directly affect a minion you already control, and since you already control it, its controller won't change and the action would have done nothing that counts as affecting, therefore not triggering Funky Town.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Banner Call Edit

Q: Can I use this to permanently regain control of my former minion, despite an opponent's Make Contact being connected to it?

A: No. You can use a card to take control of it, but Make Contact would prevent it because its ability allows the player to take control and keep control of it.

Rule: An Ongoing ability lasts for as long as the card is in play.

Q: Can I use this to take control of a minion I own that is already under my control?

A: Yes, the target must be a minion you own, but it doesn't say that the minion must be under the control of another player. Though it's not that useful.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the action player, even if they don't own Diva. Note that you don't get a second extra action for affecting a second minion, because Diva only copies the part that changes the minion's controller and the extra action part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the action player, even if they don't own the minion. Note that you don't get a second extra action for affecting a second minion, because Dancing King only copies the part that changes the minion's controller and the extra action part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the action player, even if they don't own the minion. Note that you don't get a second extra action for affecting a second minion, because We are Family only copies the part that changes the minion's controller and the extra action part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
- It is impossible for Funky Town to copy that action's effect because for Funky Town to copy it, you must be the one playing the action and it must directly affect a minion you already control, and since you already control it, its controller won't change and the action would have done nothing that counts as affecting, therefore not triggering Funky Town.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Fate of the Favorites Edit

Q: In which order are the minions destroyed? I suppose it's the current player who chooses.

A: Nope, there's already a defined order so the current player doesn't decide the order. The order is: each player in clockwise order and starting with the current player destroys a minion they own.

Rule: If several players get to use an effect because of a single card, each player uses it in clockwise order from the current player.

Q: Can a player choose a minion that can't be destroyed or affected?

A: Yes, in that case, its destruction fails and it doesn't interfere with the other destructions.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Q: I play Fate of the Favorites. An opponent chooses to destroy their minion on Field of Honor. Who gets the VP?

A: Your card made another player destroy the minion, so it's that player who did the destruction. Therefore, your opponent gets the VP because Field of Honor rewards the player who destroys it.

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[2]

Q: I play Fate of the Favorites. An opponent chooses to destroy their Elder Thing, claiming that it can't be destroyed by my card and therefore survives. Is that correct?

A: Yes. Elder Thing is immune to any effect caused by other players' cards, as long as the effect is included in the definition of "affect", such as a destruction.

Rule: Definition of "affect".

Q: I play Fate of the Favorites. An opponent chooses to destroy their Awesome Guy, claiming that it can't be destroyed by my card and therefore survives. Is that correct?

A: No. There's a subtle nuance. When you play Fate of the Favorites to make another player destroy a minion, the minion is considered both "destroyed by your card's ability" and "destroyed by that player". So the cause of the destruction is your card's ability, but the person who carried out the destruction is that player. A card that can't be destroyed by "other players' abilities" is only immune to destruction if the cause is another player's ability. However, a card that can't be destroyed by "other players" is only immune to destruction if the person who does the destruction is another player. So Awesome Guy is not immune to destruction if it's destroyed by its own controller, even if the destruction was caused by another player's card.

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[2]

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of whoever owns Diva.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of whoever owns the minion. Note that if several minions on the same base are directly destroyed, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to destroy only one additional minion, not one per affected minion.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of whoever owns the minion.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys a minion you control, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of whoever owns the minion. Note that if several minions on the same base are directly destroyed, Funky Town only triggers once and allows you to destroy only one additional minion, not one per affected minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Hostage Exchange Edit

Q: It tells me to give control of "one of my minions". Can I choose a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: It tells me to take control of "one of their minions". Can I choose a minion they own that they don't control?

A: No. "Their minions" are minions they control, whether or not they own them. A minion they own but don't control isn't theirs.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Can I play this and choose not to give any of my minions to another player? (e.g. because I'm playing with the Mythic Greeks)

A: Yes, this action is a "Do X to do Y" ability, which means that even if it doesn't say "you may", doing X, i.e. giving control of one of your minions, is actually optional.[1] Obviously, if you don't give control of a minion, then you don't take control of another player's minion either.

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: Hostage Exchange affects minions at two different moments. First when you give control of one of your minions, and then when you take control of a minion. When you use any of the effect-copying cards, each one may only copy one of the two effects, either giving or taking control, not both. Of course, if you have several effect-copying cards that are triggered, you may have each one copy a different effect.
If you choose to copy giving control of a minion:
- If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player. Note that giving control of an additional minion doesn't allow you to take control of an additional minion. The rest is resolved as written and so "take control of one of their minions of equal or less power" should be understood as "take control of one of their minions of equal or less power than the minion that was directly affected."
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player. Note that giving control of an additional minion doesn't allow you to take control of an additional minion. The rest is resolved as written and so "take control of one of their minions of equal or less power" should be understood as "take control of one of their minions of equal or less power than the minion that was directly affected." Also, note that while the minion that's directly affected must be one controlled by the action player, the copy effect can be applied to any minion, even one not controlled by the action player.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player. Note that giving control of an additional minion doesn't allow you to take control of an additional minion. The rest is resolved as written and so "take control of one of their minions of equal or less power" should be understood as "take control of one of their minions of equal or less power than the minion that was directly affected." Also, note that while the minion that's directly affected must be one controlled by the action player, the copy effect can be applied to any minion, even one not controlled by the action player.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player. Note that giving control of an additional minion doesn't allow you to take control of an additional minion. The rest is resolved as written and so "take control of one of their minions of equal or less power" should be understood as "take control of one of their minions of equal or less power than the minion that was directly affected."
If you choose to copy taking control of a minion:
- If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player, regardless of Diva's power.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion, that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player, regardless of its power. Also, note that while the minion that's directly affected must be one controlled by the player chosen by the action player, the copy effect can be applied to any minion, even one not controlled by that player.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 2), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player, regardless of its power. Also, note that while the minion that's directly affected must be one controlled by the player chosen by the action player, the copy effect can be applied to any minion, even one not controlled by that player.
- Funky Town can't copy it because you can only take control of another player's minion, which won't trigger Funky Town.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Inevitable Betrayal Edit

Q: If I give control of a Sneaky Squire to a player with In Plain Sight. Can I take back control of it?

A: No. Once you give Sneaky Squire to another player, it's considered as their minion and you're considered as another player for that minion, so In Plain Sight protects it from changing controller.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I use this to permanently regain control of my former minion, despite an opponent's Make Contact being connected to it?

A: No. You can use a card to take control of it, but Make Contact would prevent it because its ability allows the player to take control and keep control of it.

Rule: An Ongoing ability lasts for as long as the card is in play.

Q: Can I use this to take control of a minion I own that is already under my control?

A: Yes, the target must be a minion you own, but it doesn't say that the minion must be under the control of another player. Though it's not that useful.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the action player, even if they don't own Diva.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the action player, even if they don't own the minion.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the action player, even if they don't own the minion.
- It is impossible for Funky Town to copy that action's effect because for Funky Town to copy it, you must be the one playing the action and it must directly affect a minion you already control, and since you already control it, its controller won't change and the action would have done nothing that counts as affecting, therefore not triggering Funky Town.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Out of Sight Edit

Q: In which order are the minions returned? I suppose it's the current player who chooses.

A: Nope, there's already a defined order so the current player doesn't decide the order. The order is: each player in clockwise order and starting with the current player returns a minion they own.

Rule: If several players get to use an effect because of a single card, each player uses it in clockwise order from the current player.

Q: Can a player choose a minion that can't be returned or affected, or that will move instead of being returned? (e.g. Entangled, Ship's Engineer)

A: Yes, in that case, its return fails and it doesn't interfere with the other returns.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Q: Can a player return a minion from their discard pile with Out of Sight? They own it after all.

A: No, it must be a minion in play. Cards that allow you to target something in the discard pile, like the cards from the Zombie faction, will explicitly say so. By default, "a minion" refers to a minion that's in play.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: What if playing this card makes it so a player (myself included) have more than ten cards in hand? Do those players have to immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is returned to its owner's hand, regardless of whoever owns the minion that was directly affected by the action.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is returned to its owner's hand, regardless of whoever owns the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that if several minions on the same base are directly returned, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to return only one additional minion, not one per affected minion. Also, note that if the minion is a monster or a treasure, it is discarded instead. This is a different answer compared to cards that return a minion "to its owner's hand" because here, "you own" is used as a prerequisite for which minions can be directly affected and Dancing King allows you to ignore the prerequisite when you copy an effect; on the other hand, "to its owner's hand" is not a prerequisite, it doesn't limit you in your choice of a minion.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is returned to its owner's hand, regardless of whoever owns the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that if the minion is a monster or a treasure, it is discarded instead. This is a different answer compared to cards that return a minion "to its owner's hand" because here, "you own" is used as a prerequisite for which minions can be directly affected, i.e. it limits your choice of a minion, and Dancing King allows you to ignore the prerequisite when you copy an effect; on the other hand, "to its owner's hand" is not a prerequisite, it doesn't limit you in your choice of a minion.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is returned to its owner's hand, regardless of whoever owns the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that if several minions on the same base are directly returned, Funky Town only triggers once and allows you to return only one additional minion, not one per affected minion. Also, note that if the minion is a monster or a treasure, it is discarded instead. This is a different answer compared to cards that return a minion "to its owner's hand" because here, "you own" is used as a prerequisite for which minions can be directly affected and Funky Town allows you to ignore the prerequisite when you copy an effect; on the other hand, "to its owner's hand" is not a prerequisite, it doesn't limit you in your choice of a minion.

Rule 1: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Rule 2: Monsters and treasures go to their own discard pile when they leave play.


Questions on Red Birthday Party Edit

Q: Can I choose a minion that can't be destroyed or affected?

A: Yes, in that case, its destruction fails and it doesn't interfere with the other destructions.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of Diva's power. Note that the part that destroys "all minions with less power on the same base" only refers to minions with less power than the minion directly destroyed in the previous part, so destroying Diva can't trigger more destruction of minions of less power.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that the part that destroys "all minions with less power on the same base" only refers to minions with less power than the minion directly destroyed in the previous part, so destroying the extra minion can't trigger more destruction of minions of less power. Also, note that if several minions are destroyed, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to destroy only one additional minion, not one per affected minion.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that the part that destroys "all minions with less power on the same base" only refers to minions with less power than the minion directly destroyed in the previous part, so destroying the extra minion can't trigger more destruction of minions of less power.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if you destroy one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that the part that destroys "all minions with less power on the same base" only refers to minions with less power than the minion directly destroyed in the previous part, so destroying the extra minion can't trigger more destruction of minions of less power. Also, note that if several minions are destroyed, Funky Town only triggers once and allows you to destroy only one additional minion, not one per affected minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Repaying Debts Edit

Q: It tells me to give control of "one of my minions". Can I choose a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Can I play this and choose not to give any of my minions to another player? (e.g. because I'm playing with the Mythic Greeks)

A: Yes, this action is a "Do X to do Y" ability, which means that even if it doesn't say "you may", doing X, i.e. giving control of one of your minions, is actually optional.[1] Obviously, if you don't give control of a minion, then you don't draw cards and you don't get an extra minion.

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player. Note that giving control of an additional minion doesn't give you two additional card draws, nor an additional extra minion. The rest is resolved as written and there's no dependence on the number of affected minions.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player. Note that giving control of an additional minion doesn't give you two additional card draws, nor an additional extra minion. The rest is resolved as written and there's no dependence on the number of affected minions. Also, note that while the minion that's directly affected must be one controlled by the action player, the copy effect can be applied to any minion, even one not controlled by the action player.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player. Note that giving control of an additional minion doesn't give you two additional card draws, nor an additional extra minion. The rest is resolved as written and there's no dependence on the number of affected minions. Also, note that while the minion that's directly affected must be one controlled by the action player, the copy effect can be applied to any minion, even one not controlled by the action player.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player. Note that giving control of an additional minion doesn't give you two additional card draws, nor an additional extra minion. The rest is resolved as written and there's no dependence on the number of affected minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on The Hill that Strolls Edit

Main article: Titans

Q: The card says "Special" so I can use it outside of my turn, but why does the card also say "on your turn"? Aren't Special playable at any time?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of The Hill that Strolls, the condition is "on your turn", which already restricts its usage during your Play Cards phase, not at any other times. Note that it's restricted to your Play Cards phase only, not any other phases of your turn either.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of each of your turns".

Q: Regarding its Special ability, do the two or more minions I own and controlled by other players have to be on the same base? Do I have to play The Hill that Strolls there?

A: No and no. As long as you have two or more minions you own under the control of other players, no matter which bases they are on, you can play this titan and you can play it on any base as well, not necessarily one with one of those minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Regarding its Ongoing ability, when I give control of a minion to another player, what is the "it" that I may place a +1 power counter on? The titan or the minion?

A: The +1 power counter is placed on the minion you give control of. If it was the titan, it would have said "you may place a +1 power counter on this card" or "on this titan". Here, "it" refers to the minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Its Talent ability tells me to give control of "one of my minions". Can I choose a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Regarding its Talent ability, when I give control of a minion to another player, I suppose it has to be a minion on The Hill that Strolls's base, right? It says "here" for taking control.

A: No, the "here" is only to restrict which minion you can take control of and doesn't apply to the control-giving part. Since there are no such restrictions, you can actually give control of any of your minions on any base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have The Hill that Strolls there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. The Hill that Strolls is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if The Hill that Strolls had any +1 power counters on it or gave you any total power (e.g. on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: An opponent is playing the Ignobles with their titan. Their The Hill that Strolls isn't in play. It's my Play Cards phase and there are two minions I own and that are controlled by other players, I can then invoke The Hill that Strolls through its Special ability and play it there, right?

A: No, it doesn't seem like it's the intention. Out of play, "you" on cards probably refers to the player who has them physically, i.e. in their discard pile, hand, next to their deck, etc. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: If The Hill that Strolls's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed on it by its own ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled). Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were placed by The Hill that Strolls and which ones were not (for example if you're playing Ignobles Giant Ants)? That would be cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: After using its talent to draw a card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Gong Studios, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • The artist for the titan (which was released after Cease and Desist) is Francisco Rico Torres, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • Aunt of Drakes is a reference to Daenerys Targaryen, the Mother of Dragons. One of her dragons is a Tiamat. Another is a Chinese dragon. A Pokéball-like item can seen by her side.
  • Foot of the King is a reference to the Hand of the King position. While he wasn't Hand of the King, this minion could also represent Jaime Lannister, a swordsman who lost his sword hand.
  • Betrothed is a reference to Sansa Stark and the bubblegum was used to represent her status as a teenager. This was confirmed by Todd Rowland.
  • Sneaky Squire is a reference to Tyrion Lannister.
  • The Hill that Strolls is a reference to Gregor Clegane, also called "the Mountain That Rides" or just "the Mountain".
  • In Fate of the Favorites, the Zombie Lord, a Gnome and a Clyde 2.0 can be seen.
  • In Hostage Exchange, the exchange occurs between Wizards and Bear Cavalry.
  • Inevitable Betrayal is a reference to Wash from Firefly and his statement "Curse your sudden but inevitable betrayal", all while playing with dinosaur toys.
  • An Armor Stego is present on the Inevitable Betrayal card.
  • A Pinkie is present on the Out of Sight card.
  • Red Birthday Party is a reference to the Red Wedding.
  • Repaying Debts is a reference to House Lannister's unofficial motto "A Lannister always pays his debts".
  • The Spikey Chair Room is a reference to the Iron Throne.
  • Wintersquashed is a reference to Winterfell.

In other languages Edit

Language Name Translation (if different)
French Squatteurs de Trône Squatters of Throne
German Unedle


Cease and Desist

Factions: Astroknights  •  Changerbots  •  Ignobles  •  Star Roamers
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Titans (optional, since the TITANS Event Kit)

TITANS Event Kit

Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Madness  •  Titans

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/17014769#17014769
  2. 2.0 2.1 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22554680#22554680