FANDOM


This page is about the faction. For the base of the same name, see Innsmouth (base).
Recruitment

Ah Innsmouth, idyllic little fishing village on the New England coast. Sample their excellent seafood. Become their excellent seafood! That’s right, you too can become a fish and live with Dagon below the depths. They may look like simple mutants, but in great numbers and with great power the residents of Innsmouth will welcome you into the fold. Or else.

- The Obligatory Cthulhu Set rulebook

Innsmouth is one of the 4 factions from The Obligatory Cthulhu Set.

This faction contains 10 copies of the same power-2 minion, which can search for each other. Its actions mainly plays around boosting and protecting your power-2 minions, and gaining advantage from having several minions with the same name.

While this faction comes from the The Obligatory Cthulhu Set, it very lightly uses the Madness mechanic. Only two cards give you an advantage for drawing Madness cards.

Other factions from the same set: Elder Things, Minions of Cthulhu, Miskatonic University.

Cards Edit

Innsmouth

The Innsmouth faction has the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. Every minion is power 2 which leads to an unusually low total minion base power (not counting any abilities) of only 20. The usual is a total of 30 power and with an average of 3 power per minion.

Minions Edit

10x The Locals - power 2 - Reveal the top three cards of your deck. Place any The Locals revealed into your hand. Put the rest of the cards on the bottom of your deck. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x In Plain Sight - Play on a base. Your minions here of power 2 or less are not affected by opponents’ cards. FAQ

1x Mysteries of the Deep - If you have three or more minions with the same name on a base, draw 3 cards, then you may draw 2 additional cards and 2 Madness cards. FAQ

1x New Acolytes - All players shuffle all minions in their discard piles into their decks. FAQ

1x Recruitment - Draw up to three Madness cards. For each one drawn, you may play an extra minion this turn. FAQ

1x Return to the Sea - Special: After a base scores, put any number of your minions with the same name on that base into your hand instead of the discard pile. FAQ

1x Sacred Circle - Play on a base. Talent: You may play an extra minion here with the same name as another minion here. FAQ

2x Spreading the Word - Play up to two extra minions with the same name as a minion in play. FAQ

2x The Deep Ones - Each of your minions of power 2 or less get +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

Innsmouth

Bases Edit

Mechanics Edit

Innsmouth specialize in searching for The Locals, their only minions, allowing you to nearly always have a minion to play on each of your turns. It might be good so you're not too far behind when playing with a minion-deprived faction, but The Locals have the disadvantage of being weak and potentially forcing you to put your strong cards under your deck.

One possible strategy is pulling all of your The Locals out of your deck so you're virtually left playing with their partner faction, but be ready for some painful first turns.

They also specialize in playing multiple copies of the same minion. While this faction has ten copies of The Locals, it also works well with the minions of their partner faction.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on The Locals Edit

Q: When playing The Locals, if I reveal one or more The Locals, can I choose not to put any in my hand and have all of them be placed under my deck?

A: No. You're meant to place all revealed The Locals in your hand.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on In Plain Sight Edit

Q: It's not Ongoing, so are my minions of power 2 or less only immune during the turn that I play In Plain Sight, then they're all vulnerable again?

A: This clearly seems like an oversight. The intention is probably that its immunity persists, and therefore it should have been phrased "Play on a base. Ongoing: Your minions here of power 2 or less are not affected by opponents' cards."

Rule: TBD

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion of power 2 or less there, it's no longer affected by my opponents' cards, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions" and "opponents" means "their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug (or Unfathomable Goals, Griefer, Out of Sight), forcing me to affect one of my minions. Can I choose one of my minions of power 2 or less on the same base as In Plain Sight? If so, does In Plain Sight protect it?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, since the cause of the affect is "another player's card", then yes, In Plain Sight protects it, even if the card makes you do the affect.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Q: I have a power 5 minion on a base where I also have In Plain Sight. In Plain Sight doesn't protect my minion, so an opponent can play Poison on it. My minion is now of power 1 and therefore In Plain Sight protects it from being affected. But if it becomes immune to Poison, it them goes back to be a power 5 and is therefore vulnerable again. How do we solve this situation?

A: I would say that you negate poison and keep your minion at 5 power. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Mysteries of the Deep Edit

Q: If you have three minions with the same name but on different bases, do you still draw three cards?

A: The intention is that the minions must be on the same base. "A base" means one base, "bases" means 1 or more bases

Rule: Do exactly as the card says.

Q: If you don't have at least three minions with the same name on a base, you can't draw three cards, but can you still draw two cards and two Madness cards?

A: No. Drawing the two cards and the two Madness cards are also dependent on the condition of having three or more minions with the same name.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: About the 2 additional cards, if I choose to draw, can I draw only 1 card instead of 2?

A: No. If you choose to draw the 2 additional cards, you have to draw 2 if possible.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: About the 2 cards with the 2 Madness cards, can I draw 2 cards and 0 Madness cards, or 0 cards and 2 Madness cards?

A: No. It doesn't say "you may draw 2 additional cards and you may draw 2 Madness cards". So, if you choose to draw, you have to draw all 4 if possible.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on New Acolytes Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Recruitment Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Return to the Sea Edit

Q: Can I use this if I have only one minion on the base?

A: Yes. "Any number" can be 1.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I have one group of minions with the same name and another group of minion with the same other name on the base, can I get them all back in my hand?

A: No. The minions you put back in your hand must all have the same name as each other.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: With Ship's Engineer, can I move the returned minions instead?

A: No. Return to the Sea doesn't "return" your minions, it "puts" them, which an entirely different term. So, Ship's Engineer doesn't apply here.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Sacred Circle Edit

Q: When you play a card that says "Play on a base" BUT DOES NOT include the word Ongoing, does the card still stay on the base or do only cards with "Play on a base. Ongoing: etc...." stay on the base?

A: Actions that are played on a base (with an Ongoing ability or not) remain on the base until something explicitly tells you to destroy or return it, or until its base scores.

Rule: Actions played on a card (minion or base) remain in play as long as the card remains in play.

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so on my turn, I can now use its talent, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore only they can use its talent.

Rule: A talent can be activated on each of its controller's turns.


Questions on Spreading the Word Edit

Q: Can I play one extra minion with the same name as a minion in play; and play another extra minion with the same name as a different minion in play?

A: No. Both extra minions must share the same name as the same minion in play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If another player took control of one of my minions (e.g. Make Contact, Flower Child), can I use Spreading the Word and play extra minions with the same name as that minion (supposing I don't have one already in play)?

A: Yes. The extra minions can have the same name as any player's minion in play, not just yours.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".


Questions on The Deep Ones Edit

Q: If I play The Deep Ones, all my power-2 minions become power 3, so they aren't concerned by The Deep Ones, lose their boost and revert back to power 2. But, then they are concerned by The Deep Ones again, so they get the boost and then they go outside ot The Deep Ones' range. How do we resolved that?

A: Your minions of power 2 or less get +1 power and still stay in The Deep Ones' range.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Benjamin Sowa.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.