FANDOM


Screen-shot-2017-06-14-at-10.23.04-am

Find ’em, put ’em in cages, and teach ’em to fight. That’s how you show your love for the Itty Critters! - AEG

They’re tiny, and they come and go quickly, but once you learn which one to call when, the Itty Critters can really pack a punch. We know you’ll want to have them all. If you can make these things as popular as certain other things (you know which ones) we’d be eternally grateful.

- Big in Japan rulebook

The Itty Critters are one of the 4 factions from the Big in Japan set.

The Itty Critters focus on temporarily playing low-power minions directly from the deck and that will leave play at the end of the turn.

Other factions from the same set: Kaiju, Magical Girls, Mega Troopers.

Cards Edit

Itty Critters

The Itty Critters have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. They are also one of the rare factions to have a titan. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is slightly lower than usual at only 29 or an average of 2.9 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Minions Edit

1x Critter Champion - power 5 - Talent: Search your deck for a minion of power 2 or less and play it here as an extra minion. If you control it at the end of the turn, place it on the bottom of your deck. FAQ

3x Critter Coach - power 4 - You may search your deck for a minion of power 2 or less and play it here as an extra minion. If you control it at the end of the turn, place it on the bottom of your deck. FAQ

1x Calicoin - power 2 - You may place +1 power counter on another minion here. FAQ

1x Flooffairy - power 2 - You may draw a card. FAQ

1x Krakatoad - power 2 - You may choose another minion here to gain +2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Leafaroo - power 2 - You may shuffle a card from your discard pile into your deck. FAQ

1x Shellshock - power 2 - You may destroy another minion of power 2 or less here. FAQ

1x Tadpour - power 2 - You may move another minion from here to another base. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Coach Combat - Choose one of your minions. Destroy a minion with lower power at its base. FAQ

1x Critter Cube - Choose a minion in play of power 3 or less, owned by any player, and shuffle it into your deck. FAQ

2x Evolution - Choose one of your minions. Destroy it to either play Rainboroc there, or search your deck for a minion with up to 1 more power and play it there as an extra minion. FAQ

1x Gotta Get ‘Em All - Shuffle one of each minion with different name from your discard pile into your deck. FAQ

1x I Select You! - Search your deck for a minion of power 3 or less and play it as an extra minion. If you control it at the end the turn, place it on the bottom of your deck. FAQ

2x Ittypedia - Play on a base. Ongoing: After you play a minion here, it gains +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Recall Critter - Play a minion of power 2 or less from your discard pile as an extra minion. If you control it at the end of the turn, place it on the bottom of your deck. FAQ

1x Super Effective! - Destroy an action on a minion or on a base. FAQ

Titan Edit

1x Rainboroc - Special: After you win a base while this card is not in play, you may play it on the base that replaces it. Ongoing: After the first time each turn you play a minion here of power 2 or less, place a +1 power counter on this card. Talent: Shuffle a minion with power 2 or less from your discard pile into your deck. If you do, you may move this card to another base. FAQ

Itty Critters

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Big in Japan rulebook:

Critter Champion, Critter Coach, Evolution, I Select You: It is now part of the rules that cards that tell you to search your deck also require that you reveal the card searched for, and shuffle your deck afterwards.

Critter Coach, Critter Champion: The minion they play must go to the bottom of the deck even if the card that summoned them is out of play by the end of the turn.

Critter Cube: The other players’ minion in your deck is drawn and played normally, and you control it. When it leaves play it goes back to the owner.

Mechanics Edit

The Itty Critters' main mechanic is playing extra minions of power 2 or less directly from the deck but that will go back under your deck at the end of the turn. While a power of 2 is quite low, their power-2 minions have a wide range of abilities that go from card draw, card retrieval to power boosts, giving you a toolkit of abilities that can answer to nearly all kinds of situations.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Critter Champion Edit

Q: I have Foot of the King in play and play Critter Champion. I then use her ability to play Sneaky Squire, who I then give control away to another player using his ability. At the end of the turn, if I use Foot of King's ability to take back control of my Sneaky Squire, does he get placed on the bottom of my deck? Or can I resolve the rest of Critter Champion's ability first and check if Sneaky Squire is under my control, and then take back control with Foot of the King?

A: When several abilities happen at the same time, the current player chooses the order, so either they make Foot of the King activate first and the minion will be placed on the bottom of your deck when Critter Champion is resolved next, or they make Critter Champion check first and then Foot of the King can safely take back control of the minion.

Rule: The current player decides the order of events that are supposed to happen simultaneously.

Q: I play an extra minion with Critter Champion's ability and then give control of Critter Champion to another player. At the end of the turn, who checks if they control the minion to determine if it is placed on the bottom of a deck?

A: It's the player who used Critter Champion's ability who checks. If it helps, you can see it like that: When you play the extra minion, it is immediately "programmed" to go on the bottom of your deck if you still control if at the end of the turn. That program is determined when you use Critter Champion's talent and won't change no matter what happens to Critter Champion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Critter Coach Edit

Q: I have Foot of the King in play and play Critter Coach. I then use the Coach's ability to play Sneaky Squire, who I then give control away to another player using his ability. At the end of the turn, if I use Foot of King's ability to take back control of my Sneaky Squire, does he get placed on the bottom of my deck? Or can I resolve the rest of Critter Coach's ability first and check if Sneaky Squire is under my control, and then take back control with Foot of the King?

A: When several abilities happen at the same time, the current player chooses the order, so either they make Foot of the King activate first and the minion will be placed on the bottom of your deck when Critter Coach is resolved next, or they make Critter Coach check first and then Foot of the King can safely take back control of the minion.

Rule: The current player decides the order of events that are supposed to happen simultaneously.

Q: I play Critter Coach with its extra minion and then give control of Critter Coach to another player. At the end of the turn, who checks if they control the minion to determine if it is placed on the bottom of a deck?

A: It's the player who used Critter Coach's ability who checks. If it helps, you can see it like that: When you play the extra minion, it is immediately "programmed" to go on the bottom of your deck if you still control if at the end of the turn. That program is determined when you play Critter Coach and won't change no matter what happens to Critter Coach. Besides, Critter Coach's ability is an on-play ability and therefore it is only evaluated when it is played and won't be reevaluated again no matter what happens to Critter Coach later (destroyed, returned, ability cancelled, or change in controller)

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Calicoin Edit

Q: If Calicoin is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, placed on the bottom of a deck, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress is destroyed or has its ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by that one Calicoin's ability and which ones were not (e.g. if you're playing Itty Critters Giant Ants or Itty Critters Mad Scientists)? That would be very cumbersome.
Rule: Cancelling an effect or removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.


Questions on Flooffairy Edit

Q: If I play Flooffairy using Critter Champion, Critter Coach, or I Select You!, do I shuffle my deck before or after drawing the card with Flooffairy?

A: You must shuffle your deck before playing and resolving Flooffairy.

Rule: After searching a deck it must be shuffled.


Questions on Krakatoad Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Leafaroo Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Shellshock Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Tadpour Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Coach Combat Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Critter Cube Edit

Q: It's weirdly worded. Since cards that leave play go back to their owners anyway, why doesn't it say "Shuffle a minion of power 3 or less into its owner's deck"?

A: It's purposely worded that way to conflict with the rules and therefore have priority over them. So, when you play Critter Cube, you can choose any minion of power 3 or less in play and shuffle it into your deck, not its owner's.

Rule: Often, card text and rules text will conflict. When there's a fight, card text wins.

Q: I draw and play a minion I previously "captured" with Critter Cube. Where does it go it if later leaves play?

A: Unless you "recapture" with Critter Cube, the normal rule about cards going to their owners applies normally.

Rule: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.

Q: I "capture" another player's minion with Critter Cube. I later use Critter Champion, Critter Coach or I Select You! to play it. At the end of the turn, it goes on the bottom of my deck, right? Because those cards say "on the bottom of your deck" and therefore they conflict with the rules and win.

A: Actually, those cards don't conflict with the rules. The rule about cards going to their owners specify an exception to the way Critter Champion, Critter Coach and I Select You! work. Since there's no conflict, the normal rules apply and the minion is actually placed on the bottom of its rightful owner's deck.[1]

Rule: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.


Questions on Evolution Edit

Q: When I play Evolution, do I have to destroy a minion?

A: No. While it doesn't say "you may", "Do X to do Y" abilities imply that doing X is optional.[2]

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Q: When choosing a minion "with up to 1 more power", do I have to choose a minion with more power than the minion I destroyed?

A: No. You can choose a minion of any power from 0 to up to 1 more power than your minion. For example, if you destroy a minion of power 2, you can choose a minion with a power of 0 to 3.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: An opponent is playing with the Itty Critters. I manage to get their Evolution card (e.g. Trade, Mass Enchantment, Min-Maxing, Word of Recall) What happens if I choose the "play Rainboroc" option?
A: It depends. Now, let's suppose you do have a minion in play and you are able to destroy it, you're then entitled to use the "play Rainboroc" option. First, if you already control a titan, you won't be able to play another titan anyway, so your minion would be destroyed for nothing. Second, if there's no Rainboroc out of play, you can't play it because it's already in play and you won't gain control of one that's already in play either as that's not what Evolution does, so your minion would be destroyed for nothing. Other than that, if you are able to play a titan and if there's a Rainboroc that's currently out of play, you can play it on the destroyed minion's base (as per Evolution's ability) and you have control of it, even if you're not that Rainboroc's owner.
Rule: If you play a titan you don't own, you get control of it.


Questions on Gotta Get ‘Em All Edit

Q: I don't get how this works. Why does it tell you to choose? Do I choose a name?

A: You just shuffle into your deck one minion of each name from your discard pile. The choose part is if you have several copies of the same minion in your discard pile, in which case you choose only one copy to shuffle back into your deck. It doesn't make a difference which copy you choose.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on I Select You! Edit

Q: I have Foot of the King in play and play I Select You! I then use its ability to play Sneaky Squire, who I then give control away to another player using his ability. At the end of the turn, if I use Foot of King's ability to take back control of my Sneaky Squire, does he get placed on the bottom of my deck? Or can I resolve the rest of the I Select You!'s ability first and check if Sneaky Squire is under my control, and then take back control with Foot of the King?

A: When several abilities happen at the same time, the current player chooses the order, so either they make Foot of the King activate first and the minion will be placed on the bottom of your deck when I Select You! is resolved next, or they make I Select You! check first and then Foot of the King can safely take back control of the minion.

Rule: The current player decides the order of events that are supposed to happen simultaneously.


Questions on Ittypedia Edit

Q: I play a minion on a base where I have Ittypedia. If I move it to another base, does it keep its +1 power?

A: Yes. The condition is only for the minion to be played there. Once played there, it keeps the +1 power even if it's moved to another base.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I later play a minion there, it also gains +1 power, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.


Questions on Recall Critter Edit

Q: I have Foot of the King in play and play Recall Critter. I then use its ability to play Sneaky Squire, who I then give control away to another player using his ability. At the end of the turn, if I use Foot of King's ability to take back control of my Sneaky Squire, does he get placed on the bottom of my deck? Or can I resolve the rest of the Recall Critter's ability first and check if Sneaky Squire is under my control, and then take back control with Foot of the King?

A: When several abilities happen at the same time, the current player chooses the order, so either they make Foot of the King activate first and the minion will be placed on the bottom of your deck when Recall Critter is resolved next, or they make Recall Critter check first and then Foot of the King can safely take back control of the minion.

Rule: The current player decides the order of events that are supposed to happen simultaneously.


Questions on Super Effective! Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Rainboroc Edit

Q: I have a different titan on the scored base where I'm the winner. Since the titan will be removed from play when the base is replaced, can I then play Rainboroc on the new base?

A: Yes. Rainboroc allows you to play it, but it will only happen when the new base comes into play, at which point your previous titan is no longer in play and therefore no longer preventing you from playing Rainboroc.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have Rainboroc there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. Rainboroc is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if Rainboroc had any +1 power counters on it or gave you any total power (e.g. on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.
Q: An opponent is playing with the Itty Critters. Their Rainboroc isn't in play. A base scores and I'm the winner there, I can then invoke Rainboroc through its Special ability and play it on the new base, right?
A: No, it doesn't seem like it's the intention. Out of play, "you" on cards probably refers to the player who has them physically, i.e. in their discard pile, hand, next to their deck, etc. To be confirmed. TBD
Rule: TBD
Q: If Rainboroc's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed on it by its own ability removed?
A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled).
Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Studio 2Minds (also credited as 2Minds Studio), who also designed the art of many other factions, including all the factions of the Pretty Pretty Smash Up set.
  • This faction is based on Pokémon.
  • Leafaroo looks like a Grass-type Pikachu.
  • Calicon resembles Meowth.
  • Krakatoad looks like a Fire-type Bulbasaur.
  • Tadpour looks like a Water-type Charmander.
  • Shellshock looks like an Electric-type Squirtle.
  • Rainboroc is a reference to Ho-oh.
  • In Coach Combat, Critter Champion is battling against Aunt of Drakes.
  • The Ittypedia is a reference to the Game Boy from the 90s.

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/26236986#26236986
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/17014769#17014769

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.