FANDOM


Screen-shot-2017-06-14-at-10.24.11-am

WHAT? Huge oversized cards? Run! Run for your lives! - AEG

Giant monsters stomp around Tokyo, smashing countless buildings as they battle. Their amazing destructive power confounds scientists, whose greatest weaponry proves useless against them. Who can stop the massive power of a guy in a rubber suit? We know! We’ll let the precocious 10-year-old, with unexplained access to the Japanese military’s most secure facilities, talk to it!

- Big in Japan rulebook

The Kaiju are one of the 4 factions from the Big in Japan set.

The Kaiju focus on getting power through your play-on-base actions as well as mass card destruction.

Other factions from the same set: Itty Critters, Magical Girls, Mega Troopers.

Cards Edit

Kaiju

The Kaiju have only 3 minions and 17 actions compared to the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. They are also one of the rare factions to have a titan. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is unusually low at only 9 or an average of 3 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3. However, most of their actions are power actions, i.e. actions that add power directly to your total power without the need for a minion. Including these actions brings them to a total power of 30 and an average power of 2.5, much closer to the average.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 9 play-on-base actions: The Folly of Men, Oh, No!, Radioactive Breath (3x), Stomp (2x), Tail Smash, Wade Through the Buildings,
  • 8 standard actions (1 that affects one or more minions, in bold): Kaiju Alliance (2x), Kaiju Conflict (2x), Pick Up A Bus (2x), There Goes Tokyo, They Say He’s Got to Go,
  • 0 actions that directly increase a minion's power.

Minions Edit

1x Kaijookey - power 4 - Ongoing: This minion has +1 power for each of your actions played on this base. FAQ

1x Tiny Priestesses - power 3 - Play or move Gorgodzolla to here. FAQ

1x Johnny - power 2 - You may return one of your actions on a base to your hand and play it here as an extra action. FAQ

Actions Edit

2x Kaiju Alliance - Reduce the breakpoint of all bases by 4 until the end of the turn. FAQ

2x Kaiju Conflict - Play two extra actions. FAQ

1x Oh, No! - power 2 - Play on a base. Play or move Gorgodzolla to here. Ongoing: You gain +2 power here. FAQ

2x Pick Up a Bus - Choose an action in your discard pile that can be played on a base and place it into your hand. FAQ

3x Radioactive Breath - power 3 - Play on a base. Destroy all minions you don’t control here of power 2 or less. Ongoing: You gain +3 power here. FAQ

2x Stomp - power 2 - Play on a base. Reduce its breakpoint by 3 until the end of the turn. Ongoing: You gain +2 power here. FAQ

1x Tail Smash - power 4 - Play on a base. Destroy a minion you don’t control here of power 3 or less. Ongoing: You gain +4 power here. FAQ

1x The Folly of Men - power 2 - Play on a base. Ongoing: Your minions and actions here cannot be destroyed by other players’ cards. You gain +2 power here. FAQ

1x There Goes Tokyo - If Gorgodzolla is in play, destroy its base and all other cards on it. Move Gorgodzolla to another base and replace the destroyed base normally. FAQ

1x They Say He’s Got to Go - Move a titan to another base. FAQ

1x Wade Through the Buildings - power 4 - Play on a base. Destroy all other players’ actions on this base. Ongoing: You gain +4 power here. FAQ

Titan Edit

1x Gorgodzolla - Special: Instead of your regular minion play, you may play this card on a base where you have two or more actions. Ongoing: After you play an action or a minion on this base, place a +1 power counter on this card. Ongoing: After you play an action on this base, you may draw a card. FAQ

Kaiju-0

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Big in Japan rulebook:

Gorgodzolla: You may play these instead of a regular minion play whether or not you have any minions in hand. No restrictions on minion play apply to titan play.

Kaijookey, Wade through the Buildings, Gorgodzolla: Actions on minions do not count.

Oh No!, Tiny Priestesses: If this is used to play or move Gorgodzolla to their base, Gorgodzolla gets the +1 power counter for them having been played there. (added by The Bigger Geekier Box)

There Goes Tokyo: Cards immune to destruction are discarded instead, because their base left play. (added by The Bigger Geekier Box)

They Say He’s Got to Go: This can move any player’s titan. (added by The Bigger Geekier Box)

Mechanics Edit

The Kaiju, while severely lacking minions, make up for it with several powerful play-on-base actions that add power to your total power. These actions can help you summon Gorgodzolla, which in turn will greatly benefit from your play-on-base actions and help you get more cards in hand.

To help them set up their game, the Kaiju can also stall the game by destroying other players' cards.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Kaijookey Edit

Q: It gets +1 power for "each of my actions". Does it also get +1 power from actions there that I own but don't control? For example, if an opponent used Mass Enchantment to play one of my play-on-base actions.

A: No. "Your actions" are actions you control, whether or not you own them. An action you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your action" means "an action that you control".

Q: I suppose it also gets +1 power from my play-on-minion actions played on minions on its base, right?

A: No, Kaijookey's ability only applies to play-on-base actions. Play-on-minion actions are only played on minions, not on bases and as such are not considered as being "on a base". That's even clarified in the rules.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.


Questions on Tiny Priestesses Edit

Q: My opponent has Gorgodzolla in play. I play Copycat to copy their Tiny Priestesses's ability. Do I take control of their Gorgodzolla?

A: No. If you choose the "play Gorgodzolla" option, nothing happens because Gorgodzolla is already in play. So you will neither play, nor take control of it. That is, of course, if there's only one Gorgodzolla in the game, if there are two players using Kaiju and the second Gorgodzolla isn't in play, you can play that one and you will therefore control it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: My opponent has Gorgodzolla out of play, next to their deck. I play Copycat to copy their Tiny Priestesses's ability. Am I then able to play their Gorgodzolla? Do I have control of it then?

A: Yes and yes. That is if you don't already have control of a titan, in which case, you can't play a second one. Supposing you don't control any titan, you can indeed choose the "play Gorgodzolla" option and actually play it on Copycat's base (that's where "here" will refer to). Since you've played it, you'll then have control of Gorgodzolla until that titan leaves play.

Rule: If you play a titan you don't own, you get control of it.

Q: An opponent is playing with the Kaiju. I manage to get their Tiny Priestesses card (e.g. Trade, Critter Cube) What happens if I choose the "play Gorgodzolla" option?

A: It depends. First, if you already control a titan, you won't be able to play another titan anyway. Second, if there's no Gorgodzolla out of play, you can't play it because it's already in play and you won't gain control of one that's already in play either as that's not what Tiny Priestesses does. Other than that, if you are able to play a titan and if there's a Gorgodzolla that's currently out of play, you can play it on Tiny Priestesses's base and you have control of it, even if you're not that Gorgodzolla's owner.

Rule: If you play a titan you don't own, you get control of it.

Q: Is the restriction "to here" only for moving Gorgodzolla or also for playing it?

A: It's for both, whether you use Tiny Priestesses's ability to move or play Gorgodzolla, it must be played on or moved to Tiny Priestesses's base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Johnny Edit

Q: It tells me to return "one of my actions". Can I return an action I own that I don't control? For example, if an opponent used Mass Enchantment to play one of my play-on-base actions.

A: No. "Your actions" are actions you control, whether or not you own them. An action you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your action" means "an action that you control".

Q: I suppose I can return one of my play-on-minion actions and replay it, right?

A: No, Johnny's ability only applies to play-on-base actions. Play-on-minion actions are only played on minions, not on bases and as such are not considered as being "on a base".

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on Kaiju Alliance Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Kaiju Alliance doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Kaiju Conflict Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Kaiju Conflict doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Oh, No! Edit

Q: Is the restriction "to here" only for moving Gorgodzolla or also for playing it?

A: It's for both, whether you use Oh, No!'s ability to move or play Gorgodzolla, it must be played on or moved to Oh, No!'s base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Do I have 2 or 4 power on that base? It has 2 power printed on it and an ability that gives me +2 power, so is that 4 power total?

A: No, it only gives you +2 power on its base. The printed number is just a reminder of its ability for quick counting.

Rule: On Actions with Power, the printed number is a reminder of the power they give.

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so each player (including myself) gains +2 power there, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but this card gives me power there. Can I still gain VPs from the base if I'm among the top three total power there?

A: Yes. It is now part of the rules that you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power to be eligible. If you have no minions there but you have at least 1 total power there, you can indeed gain VPs from the base if your total power is among the top three.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: An opponent is playing with the Kaiju. I manage to get their Oh, No! card (e.g. Trade, Mass Enchantment, Min-Maxing, Word of Recall) What happens if I choose the "play Gorgodzolla" option?

A: It depends. First, if you already control a titan, you won't be able to play another titan anyway. Second, if there's no Gorgodzolla out of play, you can't play it because it's already in play and you won't gain control of one that's already in play either as that's not what Oh, No! does. Other than that, if you are able to play a titan and if there's a Gorgodzolla that's currently out of play, you can play it on Oh, No!'s base and you have control of it, even if you're not that Gorgodzolla's owner.

Rule: If you play a titan you don't own, you get control of it.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Oh, No! says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Pick Up a Bus Edit

Q: What kind of action cards can Pick Up a Bus get from the discard pile?

A: Only action cards with the words "play on a base" as part of its ability. Action cards with abilities that let you "choose a base", or more generally actions that do something to a base without having to be played on it, don't count.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Pick Up a Bus doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Radioactive Breath Edit

Q: Do I have 3 or 6 power on that base? It has 3 power printed on it and an ability that gives me +3 power, so is that 6 power total?

A: No, it only gives you +3 power on its base. The printed number is just a reminder of its ability for quick counting.

Rule: On Actions with Power, the printed number is a reminder of the power they give.

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so each player (including myself) gains +3 power there, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: Why does it say "all minions you don't control"? Wouldn't it have be simpler to say "other players' minions"?

A: If it wasn't worded that way, you wouldn't be able to destroy an uncontrolled monster.

Rules: N/A

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but this card gives me power there. Can I still gain VPs from the base if I'm among the top three total power there?

A: Yes. It is now part of the rules that you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power to be eligible. If you have no minions there but you have at least 1 total power there, you can indeed gain VPs from the base if your total power is among the top three.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Radioactive Breath says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Stomp Edit

Q: Do I have 2 or 4 power on that base? It has 2 power printed on it and an ability that gives me +2 power, so is that 4 power total?

A: No, it only gives you +2 power on its base. The printed number is just a reminder of its ability for quick counting.

Rule: On Actions with Power, the printed number is a reminder of the power they give.

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so each player (including myself) gains +2 power there, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but this card gives me power there. Can I still gain VPs from the base if I'm among the top three total power there?

A: Yes. It is now part of the rules that you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power to be eligible. If you have no minions there but you have at least 1 total power there, you can indeed gain VPs from the base if your total power is among the top three.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Stomp says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Tail Smash Edit

Q: Do I have 4 or 8 power on that base? It has 4 power printed on it and an ability that gives me +4 power, so is that 8 power total?

A: No, it only gives you +4 power on its base. The printed number is just a reminder of its ability for quick counting.

Rule: On Actions with Power, the printed number is a reminder of the power they give.

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so each player (including myself) gains +4 power there, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: Why does it say "a minion you don't control"? Wouldn't it have be simpler to say "another player's minion"?

A: If it wasn't worded that way, you wouldn't be able to destroy an uncontrolled monster.

Rules: N/A

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but this card gives me power there. Can I still gain VPs from the base if I'm among the top three total power there?

A: Yes. It is now part of the rules that you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power to be eligible. If you have no minions there but you have at least 1 total power there, you can indeed gain VPs from the base if your total power is among the top three.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Tail Smash says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on The Folly of Men Edit

Q: Do I have 2 or 4 power on that base? It has 2 power printed on it and an ability that gives me +2 power, so is that 4 power total?

A: No, it only gives you +2 power on its base. The printed number is just a reminder of its ability for quick counting.

Rule: On Actions with Power, the printed number is a reminder of the power they give.

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion or an action there, it also cannot be destroyed by my opponents' cards, right? In addition to this, I also gain +2 power there, right?

A: No and no. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions", "other players" means "their opponents" and "you" means "they".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but this card gives me power there. Can I still gain VPs from the base if I'm among the top three total power there?

A: Yes. It is now part of the rules that you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power to be eligible. If you have no minions there but you have at least 1 total power there, you can indeed gain VPs from the base if your total power is among the top three.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: It protects "my minions" and "my actions". Does it also protect minions and actions there that I own but don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. Similarly, "your actions" are actions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion or an action you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule 1: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Rule 2: "Your action" means "an action that you control".

Q: I suppose it also protects my play-on-minion actions that are attached to minions on its base, right?

A: No, The Folly of Men's ability only applies to play-on-base actions. Play-on-minion actions are only played on minions, not on bases and as such are not considered as being "on a base".

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug (or Unfathomable Goals, Griefer), forcing me to destroy one of my minions. Can I choose one of my minions on the same base as The Folly of Men? If so, does The Folly of Men protect it?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, since the cause of the affect is "another player's card", then yes, The Folly of Men protects your minion from destruction.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If you're asking about when The Folly of Men is played, it doesn't interact with them at all, because The Folly of Men says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.
- If you're asking about when you copy a destruction effect onto an opponent's minion with The Folly of Men protecting it, then the minion isn't affected. Note that The Folly of Men only protects against other player's cards, so if The Folly of Men's controller plays a standard action that destroys a minion, you can copy it with Dancing King and have it affect one of that player's minion, bypassing The Folly of Men's protection because the minion is considered as being affected by its own controller's action.
- If you're asking about when an opponent's minion with The Folly of Men protecting it is directly destroyed by your standard action and you want to copy that, then it's not possible because the minion isn't destroyed by your action and because no minion was affected, you can't copy the effect.
- If you're asking about when an opponent's minion with The Folly of Men protecting it is directly affected by that player's standard action and you want to copy that, then you can indeed copy it the same way.

Rule 1: Definition of "standard".

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".


Questions on There Goes Tokyo Edit

Q: My cards are immune to it, right?

A: No, it says "all other cards", i.e. all cards on that base except for Gorgodzolla.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If one or more of the cards on the base are immune to destruction, do they go to the base that replaces the one you destroy?

A: No, except for minions that are moved to another base (e.g. Buccaneer, a minion with Hang in There), the remaining cards that survive the destruction (except for Gorgodzolla) are all discarded. That's because, according to the rulebook, "when a card leaves play, discard attachments." The base being a card and cards on it being attachments of the base, they are discarded. If there were any other titans there (e.g. on Kaiju Island), those are set aside.

Rule 1: When a card leaves play, discard attachments.

Rule 2: Titans also leave play if the base card they are on leaves play.

Q: If one of the minions on the base cannot be destroyed, would this card destroy any actions played on that minion, or are they not considered to be "on the base?"

A: Only actions played on the base are "on the base". Actions played on a minion are "on the minion", but not "on the base. Also, except for minions that survive the destruction by moving to another base, the remaining minions are discarded as well as well as their attachments.

Rule 1: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Rule 2: When a card leaves play, discard attachments.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: While being a standard action and one that affects minions, There Goes Tokyo won't interact with the Disco Dancers, nor with Funky Town, because Crop Circles already directly affect all minions on the base, and copying the effect can only be applied to minions that aren't already directly affected by the action.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on They Say He’s Got to Go Edit

Q: Can I move another player's titan with this card? If so, do I take control of it?

A: Yes, you can move any titan in play with it. But no, if you move another player's titan, you simply relocate it, you don't take control of it on top of that.

Rule: If a card allows you to move another player's titan, they still remain that titan's controller; you do not take control of it.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because They Say He’s Got to Go doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Wade Through the Buildings Edit

Q: Do I have 4 or 8 power on that base? It has 4 power printed on it and an ability that gives me +4 power, so is that 8 power total?

A: No, it only gives you +4 power on its base. The printed number is just a reminder of its ability for quick counting.

Rule: On Actions with Power, the printed number is a reminder of the power they give.

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so each player (including myself) gains +4 power there, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: Can this card destroy any actions played on minions on its base?

A: Only actions played on the base are "on the base". Actions played on a minion are "on the minion", but not "on the base.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but this card gives me power there. Can I still gain VPs from the base if I'm among the top three total power there?

A: Yes. It is now part of the rules that you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power to be eligible. If you have no minions there but you have at least 1 total power there, you can indeed gain VPs from the base if your total power is among the top three.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Wade Through the Buildings says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Gorgodzolla Edit

Main article: Titans

Q: The card says "Special" so I can use it outside of my turn, but why does the card also say "instead of your regular minion play"?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Gorgodzolla, the condition is "instead of your regular minion play", this means that you can only activate it when you have a regular minion play available, which is only on your turn and more specifically on your Play Cards phase. It cannot be played out of turn, because, outside of your own Play Cards phase, you don't have any regular minion plays to give up.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: “Instead of your regular minion play” means instead of the normal minion play allowed during your Play Cards phase.

Q: If there's a restriction on where I can play a minion (e.g. Ice Castle, Overrun), does it also apply to Gorgodzolla if I play it instead of my regular minion play?

A: No, such a restriction only applies when you play a minion. If you convert your regular minion play into a titan play, you're playing a titan, not a minion, so the restriction doesn't apply.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says, especially when clarified in the rulebook.

Q: Does Gorgodzolla's first Ongoing work with any action? It says "After you play an action or a minion on this base", so I take it that "on this base" only refers to playing the minion and that any played action works for that ability.

A: No, "on this base" refers to both playing the action and playing the minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Do Ongoing abilities work each time when I play action on base or a minion (in case of the first ability). Or do they work once per turn? If they work once per turn, does the first ability work once per minion and once per action?

A: There's no such restrictions, so the Ongoing abilities work each time. Otherwise, they would have clearly stated it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play an action on my Gorgodzolla's base. Which Ongoing ability does it trigger?

A: Both.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play an action on a minion on my Gorgodzolla's base. Which Ongoing ability does it trigger?

A: None, you played an action on a minion, not on a base. Gorgodzolla's abilities are limited to actions on bases, not on minions. It's even clarified in the rules.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: What happens to Gorgodzolla when the base that it's on scores?

A: It remains on that base until the step where you discard all the cards on the base. At which point it leaves play and is set aside. Any +1 power counter on it is removed.

Rule 1: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards on the scored base are discarded simultaneously.

Rule 2: If, for whatever reasons, a titan must leave play, it's actually set aside near its owner's deck and any +1 power counters on it are removed.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have Gorgodzolla there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. Gorgodzolla is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if Gorgodzolla had any +1 power counters on it or gave you any total power (e.g. on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: An opponent is playing with the Kaiju. Their Gorgodzolla isn't in play. I have two actions played on the same base and I haven't played my regular minion yet, I can then invoke Gorgodzolla through its Special ability and play it there, right?

A: No, it doesn't seem like it's the intention. Out of play, "you" on cards probably refers to the player who has them physically, i.e. in their discard pile, hand, next to their deck, etc. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: I need to "have two or more actions". Do actions that I own but don't control also count?

A: No. "Where you have an action" means "where you control at least one action (whether or not you own it)". Actions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: I need to have two or more actions "on the base". Do actions that are played on minions on the base also count?

A: Gorgodzolla's ability only applies to play-on-base actions. Play-on-minion actions are only played on minions, not on bases and as such are not considered as being "on a base".

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: If Gorgodzolla's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed on it by its own ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled).

Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Gorgodzolla's base, what happens?

A: Actually, it doesn't matter whether you play the Argonaut instead of an action play or a minion play. In both cases, Gorgodzolla treats it as you playing a card that's both a minion and an action. So Gorgodzolla will get a +1 power counter (because you did play a minion or action on its base, and it counts as you playing one card, not two, so only one +1 power counter) and you draw a card (because Argonaut counts as you playing an action as well).

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I already have ten cards in hand. What happens if Gorgodzolla makes me draw a card? Do I draw one and immediately discard a card?

A: You draw a card and don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Alberto Tavira, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • The font used for the Kaiju cards is MOGAMBO! in small caps.
  • Gorgodzolla is based on Godzilla.
  • Kaijookey is named after Godzooky from the 1978 Hanna-Barbera Godzilla cartoon, and his design has elements of Minilla from Son of Godzilla.
  • Kaiju were one of the top 32 nominated factions for "Smash Up: It's Your Fault". They lost to Elementals.
  • The Folly of Men, Oh, No!, Pick Up A Bus, There Goes Tokyo, They Say He's Got to Go, and Wade Through the Buildings are all based on lines from the Blue Öyster Cult song "Godzilla".

In other languages Edit

Language Name
French Kaijū
German Kaiju


Big in Japan

Factions: Itty Critters  •  Kaiju  •  Magical Girls  •  Mega Troopers
Mechanics: Titans+1 Power Counters  •  Titans

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Sheep!  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit