Fandom

Smash Up Wiki

Killer Plants

76pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Comments3 Share
Water lily

Feed them, Seymour! (Don't do it Seymour!) Because these guys grow all on their own. They become stronger the longer they remain in play, so plants can be a major problem for anyone who came to the table without garden shears.

- Awesome Level 9000 rulebook

The Killer Plants are one of the 4 factions from the Awesome Level 9000 set.

Killer Plants feature "growing" cards that get better over time.

Cards Edit

Killer plants

The Killer Plants have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is unusually high at 32 or an average of 3.2 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3. Note, however, that Weed Eater takes a turn to reach its base power.

Minions Edit

1x Venus Man Trap - power 5 - Talent: Search your deck for a minion of power 2 or less and play it here as an extra minion. Shuffle your deck.

2x Weed Eater - power 5 - This minion has -2 power on the turn you play it.

3x Water Lily - power 3 - Ongoing: Draw a card at the start of each of your turns. Only use one Water Lily's ability each turn.

4x Sprout - power 2 - Ongoing: Destroy this card at the start of your turn. You may search your deck for a minion of power 3 or less, and play it here as an extra minion. Shuffle your deck.

Actions Edit

1x Blossom - Play up to three extra minions that all have the same name.

1x Budding - Choose a minion in play. Search your deck for a copy of that card and place it into your hand. Shuffle your deck.

1x Choking Vines - Play on a minion. Ongoing: At the start of your turn, destroy this minion.

1x Deep Roots - Play on a base. Ongoing: Your minions here cannot be moved or returned to your hand by other players' abilities.

1x Entangled - Play on a base. Ongoing: Minions may not be moved or returned to hands from any base where you have a minion. Destroy this card at the start of your turn.

2x Insta-Grow - Play an extra minion.

1x Overgrowth - Play on a base. Ongoing: At the start of your turn, reduce the breakpoint of this base to 0.

2x Sleep Spores - Play on a base. Ongoing: Other players' minions have -1 power here (minimum power 0).

Killer Plants

Bases Edit

Mechanics Edit

Killer Plants primarily "grow" over time, and have multi-turn abilities that are more useful the longer they are in play. This often takes the form of increasing in minion power, as well as extra drawing and playing. Many of their abilities take place at the "start of ones turn" which mandates they don't benefit you until your next turn.In line with being weeds, they also have many ways of playing extra minions, especially extra minions that are all the same.

To make sure your minions survive long enough for pay off, plants also have many ways of base manipulation by playing actions on bases that make their minions more sturdy against being affected. They also allow minions to sprout right out of your deck, with multiple ways to search your deck to directly bring out any low power minions.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Venus Man Trap Edit

Q: The Venus Man Trap card specifies that a player go through "your deck." What happens if there's only 2 or 3 cards left in their "deck"? Do they go through their discards as well?

A: They still have a deck, even if it has only a few cards, so they only search through these cards. Their discard pile isn't their deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Is it right that I can use a talent at any time during my turn? So I could use the Venus Man Trap during phase 1 to get a Sprout, and then destroy that same Sprout to get a 3-power minion straight away?

A: No. Unless stated otherwise (e.g. Happy Zapper), a talent can only be used during the Play Cards phase (phase 2) of any of your turns.

Rule: A talent can only be used during your Play Cards phase.

Q: Can I use Venus Man Trap.'s talent on the same turn that I play it?

A: Yes. You can use it, but only during your Play Cards phase.

Rule 1: A talent can be used on the same turn the card is played.

Rule 2: A talent can only be used during your Play Cards phase.

Q: If I play Venus Man Trap before a base scores (e.g. Hidden Ninja), can I immediately use its talent?

A: No. A talent is not resolved when a minion is played and can only be used duing your Play Cards phase.

Rule 1: When you play a card, an ability that starts with "Talent:" is never resolved immediately.

Rule 2: A talent can only be used during your Play Cards phase.


Questions on Weed Eater Edit

Q: What is Weed Eater's power? When does it lose the -2 penalty?

A: In your hand, deck, and discard pile, it has 5 power. On the turn you play it, it is played as a 3-power minion. Once that turn ends, it goes back to being a 5-power minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So if this minion already has its power reduced by other cards, does it go negative?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.
Q: I play a Weed Eater on a base with an enemy Leprechaun. Weed Eater starts at power 5, so is it destroyed or not?

A: Yes. You resolve the minion's ability first, so its power drops to 3. And unless something can boost your Weed Eater's power or lower the Leprechaun's power, Weed Eater's (modified) power is less the Leprechaun's.

Rule: In play, a minion's power includes all modifiers.

Q: We decided that Sprout cannot search for Weed Eater because even though its power on the turn you play it is 3, its printed power is 5. Is this correct?

A: Yes.

Rule: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.

Q: Can I play a Weed Eater on a base that needs 5 power to break and break it immediatly before its power is reduced?

A: No. You don't score a base as soon as the power is enough to break it, you have to wait until phase 3 to check if there's enough power.

Rule: Before phase 3, it doesn't matter how much power each player has on each base, they will only score if they meet the requirement during phase 3, and phase 3 only.


Questions on Water Lily Edit

Q: What does Water Lily's "Only use one Water Lily's ability each turn" mean?

A: It means you will only draw one card at the start of your turn, even if you have two or three Water Lilies in play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: When the start of my turn comes around, and I destroy a Sprout to its ability, if I choose to get Water Lily, do I get to use its draw-a-card ability right then and there?

A: Yes. It is still the start of your turn, so Water Lily's ability is triggered.

Rule: During the Start Turn phase, if you play a card, it is still the start of your turn.


Questions on Sprout Edit

Q: So I "play" Sprout, only to discard it? Then replace it with another power 3 card? Why does it have a power of 2 if it is "destroyed" at the end of the turn? The current turn it's played on? or the next ?

A: Actually, Sprout sticks around until your next turn. At the start of your next turn, that's when it's destroyed and replaced by another minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: When do you play the extra minion of power 3 or less? When you play Sprout or at the start of your turn?

A: At the start of your turn. The way it is worded is confusing, especially compared to Überserum, but it is commonly agreed that's how Sprout works.

Rule: N/A

Q: When I play Sprout, do I get to destroy it and find a 2-power minion this turn?

A: No. Sprout's ability only works during the Start Turn phase of one of your turns. If you play Sprout at any time other than that phase, you cannot use its ability.

Rule: "At the start of your turn" means "during the Start Turn (phase 1) of one of your turns".

Q: When the start of my turn comes around, can I choose not to destroy a Sprout for its ability?

A: No, it doesn't say "you may destroy", so you must do it at the start of your turn.

Rule: If the ability doesn't say "you may", you must do it immediately.

Q: When the start of my turn comes around, and I destroy a Sprout to its ability, if I choose to get a minion with another ability that triggers at the start of my turn (e.g. Water Lily, Mild Mannered Citizen), do I get to use its ability right then and there?

A: Yes. It is still the start of your turn, so its ability is triggered.

Rule: During the Start Turn phase, if you play a card, it is still the start of your turn.

Q: When the start of my turn comes around, and I destroy a Sprout to its ability, if I choose to get another Sprout, can I already destroy it to use its ability again?

A: The intention was probably for Sprout to survive on the turn it is played. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: If Sprout can't be destroyed due to an effect, like General Ivan's ability, and the start of my turn comes around, do I still get to search for a minion through Sprout's ability? How about the following turns?

A: Yes. Sprout's destruction is independent from the extra minion. So, even if Sprout is not destroyed, you still resolve the rest of its ability. And you will be able to do that at the start of each of your turns, as long as Sprout is indestructible.

Rule 1: "Can't" trumps "can".

Rule 2: Cards are resolved entirely.

Q: When I use the ability of Sprout, do I have to play the extra minion immediately, or can it be saved like an extra minion play?

A: You must play it immediately because the extra minion was gained outside of your Play Cards phase.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: The Sprout card specifies that a player go through "your deck." What happens if there's only 2 or 3 cards left in their "deck"? Do they go through their discards as well?

A: They still have a deck, even if it has only a few cards, so they only search through these cards. Their discard pile isn't their deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: We decided that Sprout cannot search for Weed Eater because even though its power on the turn you play it is 3, its printed power is 5. Is this correct?

A: Yes.

Rule: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.

Q: If I have a Sprout in play and an opponent plays Overrun on its base, does it cancel Sprout's ability? Or since Sprout's ability replaces it with another minion, I can still replace it, right? That's not playing a minion.

A: At the start of your turn, you have to activate Sprout's ability and do as much as you can, while resolving it completely, even if some part of it can't be done. Firstly, you destroy it (no problem here). Secondly, you search your deck for a minion of power 3 or less (no problem here). Thirdly, you play it on Sprout's former base (problem: Overrun forbids it, so you can't play it. What happens to that minion is to be confirmed TBD). Fourthly, you shuffle your deck (no problem here).

Rule 1: Cards are resolved entirely.

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: When playing Sprout on the R'lyeh base, both cards say to destroy a minion at the start of your turn. If I destroy Sprout, do I get the benefit from both cards?

A: No. Either you destroy Sprout using its own ability and you only get its benefit, or you destroy Sprout using R'lyeh's ability and you only get R'lyeh's benefit, not both. The reason is Sprout and R'lyeh are two cards that trigger at the start of your turn. In such a situation, it's the current player who decides the order of activation. So either you destroy Sprout with its own ability and it's not around anymore for you to destroy it with R'lyeh, or you destroy it with R'lyeh's ability and Sprout's not around anymore for you to use its ability. That said, you can use Sprout's ability to play a new minion and destroy that minion with R'lyeh's ability.

Rule: The current player decides the order of events that are supposed to happen simultaneously.

Q: If I have a Sprout on Field of Honor or Cave of Shinies. At the start of my turn, it destroys itself. Do I gain 1 VP?

A: Yes. When Sprout's ability is activated, it tells you to destroy it, so you're the one who did the destruction, you would then get 1 VP from Field of Honor. For Cave of Shinies, Sprout's owner gains 1 VP.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If you destroy your Sprout to find and play a Puck (or Chronomage), that would give you an extra action during the "start of your turn", since that's when the minion was played. Does it mean you could then play Overgrowth as that extra action which would immediately reduce the base breakpoint to 0, since it is still the start of your turn?

A: Yes.

Rule 1: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Rule 2: During the Start Turn phase, if you play a card, it is still the start of your turn.


Questions on Blossom Edit

Q: Must the minions already be in my hand to play them? Or, for example, if I play an Enchantress with Blossom and draw another Enchantress, can I play also it?

A: You can play the Enchantress you just drew as another extra minion. When you play Blossom, the three minions aren't played at the same time. You actually "bank" three minion plays with the restriction that they must all have the same name. If you play one and later draw a minion with the same name, you can use one of those extra minion plays to play the minion you just drew.

Rule: Cards are played one at a time.


Questions on Budding Edit

Q: Is your deck , your draw pile only or does it also include your discard pile?

A: It's only your draw pile.

Rule: N/A

Q: The card doesn't tell me to reveal the card I took, so how do I prove that I actually placed a copy of the minion in my hand?

A: Cards that tell you to search for a card in your deck usually tell you to reveal it before placing it in your hand. (e.g. Scry, Ship's Captain) Here, it seems to be an oversight and you of course have to reveal the card you took.

Rule: TBD


Questions on Choking Vines Edit

Q: How does Choking Vines interact with an ability that prevents the minion's destruction?

A: Choking Vines remains attached to the minion and at the start of each of the Choking Vines' player's turns, Choking Vines will try to destroy the minion. Who knows? Maybe it will succeed eventually.

Rule: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: An opponent played Choking Vines on one of my minions. If I play Ornate Dome on its base, can I destroy Choking Vines?

A: No, Ornate Dome only destroys actions played "here", that is to say actions played on the same base as Ornate Dome. Choking Vines isn't played on that base, but on a minion on that base, so it doesn't count.

Rule: "Here" means "on this base".

Q: What happens with the choking vines after the destruction? Does it stay on the table and can you use it again on another minion?

A: After a minion is destroyed, all its power counters and actions played on it are discarded. So, after the minion is destroyed, Choking Vines must be discarded.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard attachments.

Q: "At the start of your turn", does it mean at the the start of the minion controller's turn or the one who owns the choking vines card?

A: It means at the start of Choking Vines' controller's turn, i.e. at the start of the turn of whoever played Choking Vines.

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.


Questions on Deep Roots Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion there, it can no longer be moved or returned, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So this ability must be interpreted as "Their minions here cannot be moved or returned to their hand by their opponents' abilities."
Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.
Q: What kind of "abilities" does Deep Roots protect from?

A: Deep Roots protects against other players' cards, which doesn't include the bases.

Rule 1: Each card has an ability.

Rule 2: A base isn't any player's card.

Q: I have Deep Rooted a minion, can the Aliens move that minion with Disintegrator? We interpreted the "Place" as a "Move" and therefore would not work against Deep Roots. It that correct or incorrect?

A: Incorrect. "Place" is a specific term that's entirely distinct from "move". Deep Root protects against abilities that "move" or "return" your minions, but not against abilities that "place" your minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: I'm controlling another player's minion on the base with Deep Roots. Is it also protected by Deep Roots's ability?

A: Sort of. If another player plays a card that moves that minion, then Deep Root definitely prevents it. However, if another player plays a card that returns it to its owner's hand, then no. The reason is Deep Roots specifically prevents your minions there from being returned, but only if it's to returned "to your hand". Since you don't own that minion, it will be returned to its owner's hand, not yours, so Deep Roots doesn't prevent that.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Entangled Edit

Q: Is it limited to the base where Entangled is played or any base?

A: It applies to any base where the player who played Entangled has a minion, not just the base where Entangled is. Besides, if that player has no minion on Entangled, it doesn't apply Entangled's base, but it still applies to the other bases if they have a minion there.
Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so now basically no minions anywhere can be moved or returned, right? Because it says on any base where any player has a minion.
A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "where you have a minion" means "where they have a minion".
Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.
Q: What happens when you try to destroy an Entangled Buccaneer?

A: You resolve each card in order. When you attempt to destroy the Buccaneer, its ability is triggered and it changes it into a move effect. Then, when Buccaneer tries to move, Entangled prevents it. So Buccaneer survives but can't move.[1]

Rule: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: What happens when you use an Entangled Ninja Acolyte's ability?

A: You resolve its ability in order. First, you return it to your hand, but Entangle prevents it, so Ninja Acolyte remains in play. Next, you gain an extra minion play that can only be played on Ninja Acolyte's base and must be played immediately or not at all.

Rule 1: Cards are resolved entirely.

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".

Rule 3: Extra cards gained by a Special ability must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: What happens when you destroy a minion on a base with both Entangled and Escape Hatch (which belongs to the minion's player)?

A: The minion is placed in its owner's hand. Entangled only prevents actions from being moved or returned. Escape Hatch does none of that, instead it "places" the destroyed minion into its owner's hand.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What happens after a base scores where there is a First Mate, with Entangled in play?

A: While activated during the after-scoring step, a First Mate's ability is eventually resolved during the step where all the cards on the base are discarded. So if all the cards are discarded, Entangled stops working and First Mate can move.[1]

Rule: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards are discarded simultaneously. That's when the cards with "instead of the discard pile" are resolved.

Q: What happens after The Grey Opal scores while Entangled is in effect? Whether Entangled is on the base or another, and whether the player who played Entangled is the winner or not.

A: TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Insta-Grow Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Overgrowth Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base. My turn is next, so at the start of my turn; the base's breakpoint is reduced to 0, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your turn" means "their turn".
Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.
Q: When I play the Overgrowth action card on a base, does it break this turn?

A: Unless you manage to play Overgrowth during your Start Turn phase, which is pretty uncommon, you must have played it during your Play Cards phase (phase 2), in which case Overgrowth's ability isn't triggered because it is not the start of your turn anymore.

Rule: "At the start of your turn" means "during the Start Turn (phase 1) of one of your turns".

Q: I already have Overgrowth in play and it's the start of my turn, so do we score the base immediately or am I allowed to play cards there before it happens?

A: The base doesn't score until it's the Score Bases phase (phase 3). So you still have to go through phase 1 and 2 before scoring the base.

Rule: Before phase 3, it doesn't matter how much power each player has on each base, they will only score if they meet the requirement during phase 3, and phase 3 only.

Q: Overgrowth was triggered at the start of my turn. If Overgrowth is destroyed or returned before we score the base, is its breakpoint still 0?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: Overgrowth was triggered at the start of my turn. If Overgrowth is transferred to another base, is its former base's breakpoint still 0? Is its new base's breakpoint now 0?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: Overgrowth was triggered at the start of my turn. When it's finally the Score Bases phase of my turn, if there are no minions on Overgrowth's base, do we still score it?

A: Yes. The requirement for scoring a base is if the total power on the base (here 0) meets or exceeds its breakpoint (here 0 too), then the base must be scored. So the base is scored and since noone has any minion there, noone gets any VP.

Rule 1: A base is ready to score if the total power of all the players on that base is higher or equal to its breakpoint during phase 3.

Rule 2: A player must have at least one minion on a scoring base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: If you destroy your Sprout to find and play a Puck (or Chronomage), that would give you an extra action during the "start of your turn", since that's when the minion was played. Does it mean you could then play Overgrowth as that extra action which would immediately reduce the base breakpoint to 0, since it is still the start of your turn?

A: Yes.

Rule 1: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Rule 2: During the Start Turn phase, if you play a card, it is still the start of your turn.

Q: How does Overgrowth interact with monsters on its base?

A: Overgrowth actually reduces the base's printed breakpoint. Monsters then add their power to that new breakpoint.

Rule: If a card resets a base’s breakpoint, that refers to its printed value. Monster power and other effects add to or subtract from that value.


Questions on Sleep Spores Edit

Q: There are 2 Sleep Spores cards in the deck. If both of these are placed on the same base, do the other players' minions have -2 to their power at that base?

A: That's correct. Both Sleep Spores are active and will therefore reduce minions' power by 2 there.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if they have a minion there, since they're "another player" from my point of view, their minion also gets -1 power, right?
A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "other players" means "their opponents".
Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.
Q: When a base scores, if a player has minions there but a total of 0 power (e.g. because of Sleep Spores), can they still get VP?

A: If 0 is among the top three total power there, then as long as a player has a minion there, they can get VP.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion on a scoring base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: Sleep Spores is on Tsar's Palace. Does that mean that minions of power 3 or less can't be played there anymore?

A: No. Tsar's Palace only forbids minions of power 2 or less from being played there, so power-3 minions are fine. Sleep Spores only affects minions once they are in play, not in hand. So, when a minion of power 3 is played there, Tsar's Palace authorizes it, then Sleep Spores reduces its power to 2, but Tsar' Palace doesn't retroactively kick the minion out.

Rule: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.

Q: If I move my minion with Incorporeal a base with Sleep Spores on it, the Incorporeal would also not protect it from Sleep Spores because it is not affecting it by the definition of affect. Again is that fair to say?

A: The definition of "affect" has been updated to include "change of power". So, Incorporeal would now protect your minion from Sleep Spores.

Rule: Definition of "affect".

Q: My opponent plays Sleep Spores on a base with my Ghost. My Ghost now has -1 power. On my turn, I play Incorporeal on it. Under my understanding of what affect means, the Incorporeal will not retroactively prevent the -1 power from the Sleep Spores. It already happened. Incorporeal will block further changes in power. Is that correct?

A: No. Before you play Incorporeal, Sleep Spores is considered as already "affecting" your minion (its power is being changed), so once you play Incorporeal, it can block it and restore your minion's power.

Rule: Definition of "affect".

Q: An ability is already affecting my minion (e.g. Sleep Spores). What happens if I play Tooth and Claw... and Guns on it?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Trivia Edit

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/12235239#12235239

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.