FANDOM


Hang in there

Can haz base? Kitty Cats have the power to compel those of weak will to do what they wish... and the power to have billions of internet memes. Perhaps those are the key? Either way, the Kitty Cats will use their alluring power to dominate the fight at any base. Then head out for a night of jazzy music in the alleys!

- Pretty Pretty Smash Up rulebook

The Kitty Cats are one of the 4 factions from the Pretty Pretty Smash Up set.

The Kitty Cats focuses on lowering other minions' power and taking control of the other players' weak minions. Though you'll also have to manage your minions correctly as they tend fight one another to death.

Other factions from the same set: Fairies, Mythic Horses, Princesses.

Cards Edit

Kitty cats

The Kitty Cats have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion.

Minions Edit

1x Queen Fluffy - power 5 - Talent: Take control of a minion of power 3 or less until the end of the turn.

2x Whiskers - power 4 - Talent: Play an extra action. Destroy one of your minions.

3x Muffin - power 3 - Take control of a minion of power 3 or less until the end of the turn.

4x Mr. Grumpers - power 2 - Choose a minion. It has -2 power until the end of the turn.

Actions Edit

1x Can Has Cheeseburger? - Special: Before a base scores, take control of a minion there, of power 3 or less, until the end of the turn.

2x Cat Fight - Choose one of your minions. Draw cards equal to that minion's power. Destroy that minion.

1x Cat's Paw - Take control of a minion of power 5 or less until the end of the turn.

2x Grumpiness - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion has -2 power.

1x Hang in There - Play on one of your minions. Ongoing: If this minion would be destroyed, move it to another base and destroy this action instead.

1x Hissy Fit - Play on a base. Ongoing: All other players' minions here have -1 power.

1x Invisible Bicycle - Choose a base. Move any number of minions of power 2 or less from there to another base.

1x Nine Lives - Destroy one of your minions. Play an extra minion.

Kitty Cats

Bases Edit

Mechanics Edit

Kitty Cats have 3 primary mechanics that work together. First they have a platter of ways to weaken opponent minions. While thats good on it's own,it expands the range of their second mechanic: to take control of weak minions for a single turn. While that can be directly used to access the minions effects and power contribution, Kitties also have many benefits they can get from destroying minions they control. Because All Kitty Cat minion controlling is for a single turn, kitties have an extra advantage to bases scoring on their turn. Kitty Cat cards also don't specify that the minion needs to be destroyed "to" gain the advantages, meaning if the destruction is avoided (due to indestructability or actions such as Hang in There) the rest of the card text still takes place.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Queen Fluffy Edit

Q: I use Queen Fluffly's talent to take control of a minion and then Queen Fluffy is destroyed. Do I have to immediately give back control of the minion because of Queen Fluffy's destruction? If not, do I still have to give back control of it at the end of the turn?

A: No, even if Queen Fluffy is removed from play, its effect still persists until the end of the turn. And yes, at the end of the turn, the effect expires so you have to give back the control of the minion.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: I take control of another player's minion on which they played a Shielding or Expanded Power. I suppose I also take control of the action and so Shielding or Expanded wouldn't protect this minion against Cat Fight or Nine Lives, right?

A: Wrong. Even if you take control of another player's minion, you don't take control of the actions played on it, so Shielding and Expanded Power still "see" you as another player and still protects the minion from your actions (for Shielding) and from your destruction attempts (for Expanded Power).

Rule: When you take control of a minion, you don't take control of the actions played on it.

Q: An opponent takes control of my Gremlin. If it is destroyed while they still have control of it, do I draw a card?

A: No. Under the control of another player, the card treats its new controller as if they had played it. So "you" on the minion would designate its current controller, and an other player would be any player that is not the controller. So, if Gremlin is destroyed, its new controller draws a card and all other players (you included) discard a random card.

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: If I take control of a minion with a talent, can I use its talent for myself?

A: Yes. It's now your minion, so you can use it's talent (though only if it's your Play Cards phase).

Rule: A talent can only be used during your Play Cards phase.

Q: I take control of another player's minion on Cave of Shinies. If it's destroyed while still under my control, who gets the VP?

A: The minion's owner gets the VP, no matter who controls it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I use this card to take control of a monster?

A: Yes. It just says "a minion", so it applies to any monsters as well.

Rule: Monsters are considered as minions.

Q: I take control of another player's Scout. On the same turn, the base scores. Who can use Scout's ability? If used, where does Scout go?

A: Scout's controller decides if they want to use Scout's ability or not. But if they use it, Scout will be placed in its owner's hand, not its current controller's hand.

Rule 1: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Rule 2: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.


Questions on Whiskers Edit

Q: Can Whiskers destroy itself?

A: Yes. And if it's your only minion in play, you have no other choice but to destroy it.

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control".

Q: Do I have to play the extra action? It doesn't say "you may".

A: No. You gain an extra action that you can use, but you don't have to play it.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.

Q: When I use its talent to destroy a minion that can't be destroyed (e.g. General Ivan, Warbot). Is the minion still destroyed? If not, can I still play the extra action?

A: The destruction fails, but because the extra action is not dependent on the success of the destruction, you can still play an extra action.

Rule 1: "Can't" trumps "can".

Rule 2: Cards are resolved entirely.

Q: None of my minions are immune to destruction. When I use Whiskers's talent, can I play an action that protects a minion from destruction as the extra action, and target that minion?

A: No. When you use Whisker's talent, you first "bank" an extra action, that is you gain an extra action that you can play later on your turn, but that is NOT played immediately. Then you must destroy one of your minions. So, you wouldn't be able to play your action before attempting to destroy one of your minions.

Rule: An extra card isn't played right away, unless it was gained by a Special ability or outside the Play Cards phase.


Questions on Muffin Edit

Q: I play Muffin and take control of a minion and then Muffin is destroyed. Do I have to immediately give back control of the minion because of Muffin's destruction? If not, do I still have to give back control of it at the end of the turn?

A: No, even if Muffin is removed from play, its effect still persists until the end of the turn. And yes, at the end of the turn, the effect expires so you have to give back the control of the minion.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: I take control of another player's minion on which they played a Shielding or Expanded Power. I suppose I also take control of the action and so Shielding or Expanded wouldn't protect this minion against Cat Fight or Nine Lives, right?

A: Wrong. Even if you take control of another player's minion, you don't take control of the actions played on it, so Shielding and Expanded Power still "see" you as another player and still protects the minion from your actions (for Shielding) and from your destruction attempts (for Expanded Power).

Rule: When you take control of a minion, you don't take control of the actions played on it.

Q: An opponent takes control of my Gremlin. If it is destroyed while they still have control of it, do I draw a card?

A: No. Under the control of another player, the card treats its new controller as if they had played it. So "you" on the minion would designate its current controller, and an other player would be any player that is not the controller. So, if Gremlin is destroyed, its new controller draws a card and all other players (you included) discard a random card.

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: If I take control of a minion with a talent, can I use its talent for myself?

A: Yes. It's now your minion, so you can use it's talent (though only if it's your Play Cards phase).

Rule: A talent can only be used during your Play Cards phase.

Q: I take control of another player's minion on Cave of Shinies. If it's destroyed while still under my control, who gets the VP?

A: The minion's owner gets the VP, no matter who controls it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I use this card to take control of a monster?

A: Yes. It just says "a minion", so it applies to any monsters as well.

Rule: Monsters are considered as minions.

Q: I take control of another player's Scout. On the same turn, the base scores. Who can use Scout's ability? If used, where does Scout go?

A: Scout's controller decides if they want to use Scout's ability or not. But if they use it, Scout will be placed in its owner's hand, not its current controller's hand.

Rule 1: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Rule 2: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.


Questions on Mr. Grumpers Edit

Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So a minion's power can go negative with this card, right?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.
Q: I play Mr. Grumpers and lower another minion's power and then Mr. Grumpers is destroyed. Does the targeted minion regain its power?

A: No, even if Mr. Grumpers is removed from play, its effect still persists until the end of the turn.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: A base is 2 power away from breaking. I play Mr. Grumpers there (adding 2 power) and target a minion on the same base (removing 2 power). I know that if a base breaks, it will score on phase 3. So does reaching the breakpoint cause it to score on phase 3 even if the power dropped?

A: No. Before phase 3, you don't check if a base breaks or not. The power can exceed the breakpoint and then be lowered below it, it doesn't matter at all. What really matters is whether the total power reached the base's breakpoint on phase 3, and only on phase 3.

Rule: Before phase 3, it doesn't matter how much power each player has on each base, they will only score if they meet the requirement during phase 3, and phase 3 only.

Q: I use Mr. Grumpers to reduce a power-4 minion's power by 2. There's also a Plutonium Dragon there. At the end of the turn, Mr. Grumpers's ability expires and Plutonium Dragon's ability is activated. Is the power-4 minion destroyed or not?

A: When several abilities happen at the same time, the current player chooses the order, so either they make Plutonium Dragon activate first and the minion is destroyed, or they make Mr. Grumpers's expiration happen before and the minion is saved.

Rule: The current player decides the order of events that are supposed to happen simultaneously.


Questions on Can Has Cheeseburger? Edit

Q: I take control of another player's Scout. On the same turn, the base scores. Who can use Scout's ability? If used, where does Scout go?

A: Scout's controller decides if they want to use Scout's ability or not. But if they use it, Scout will be placed in its owner's hand, not its current controller's hand.

Rule 1: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Rule 2: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.

Q: Can I use this card to take control of a monster?

A: Yes. It just says "a minion", so it applies to any monsters as well.

Rule: Monsters are considered as minions.

Q: A player played an on-play action that boosts all its minions with +1 power (e.g. Howl, Swashbuckling). I take control of their power-3 minion (actually a power-2 minion boosted with +1 power). Does the minion keep its boost?

A: No. These actions only boost their minions. If you take control of it, it is no longer their minion and these actions don't affect them anymore.

Rule 1: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Rule 2: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Another player plays a minion that breaks a base. Before it scores, I play Can Has Cheeseburger? to take control of it. Because that player didn't play their action this turn, can they play Daisy Chain to boost that minion so I can't take control of it with my card?

A: Actually, something's not right with your scenario. During their turn, the current player plays their cards during the Play Cards phase (phase 2). Once they're done playing their cards, we move on to the Score Bases phase (phase 3). Can Has Cheeseburger is a Special action that can only be played during phase 3. Daisy Chain (assuming they're playing it using their free action) can only be played during phase 2. If that player played their minion and then declared they finished their Play Cards phase, then you have the right to play Can Has Cheeseburger? and they can't play Daisy Chain because it's no longer phase 2. If they played their minion but didn't declare that they finished their Play Cards phase, then you didn't have the right to play Can Has Cheeseburger?

Rule: Check phase 2 and phase 3.


Questions on Cat Fight Edit

Q: Does Cat Fight work with a minion in my hand and on the table? Or only on the table?

A: The minion you choose must be in play.

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control". (and a minion is only controlled if it's in play)

Q: If I choose a minion that "can't be destroyed" or has a similar ability (e.g. Warbot or Buccaneer), does Cat Fight still let me draw cards?

A: Yes. Drawing the cards and destroying your minion are independent. So even if the minion is not destroyed, you still draw your cards.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: No. You only discard down to 10 during the Draw Cards phase (phase 4) of your turn.

Rule: You only discard down to 10 cards during the Draw Cards phase (phase 4) of your turns; after drawing your two cards.

Q: If I take control of an opponent's minion, can I use Cat Fight on it?

A: Yes. If you have control of it, then it's one of "your minions" and is therefore an eligible minion for Cat Fight.

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control".


Questions on Cat's Paw Edit

Q: Can I use this card to take control of a monster?

A: Yes. It just says "a minion", so it applies to any monsters as well.

Rule: Monsters are considered as minions.

Q: I take control of another player's Scout. On the same turn, the base scores. Who can use Scout's ability? If used, where does Scout go?

A: Scout's controller decides if they want to use Scout's ability or not. But if they use it, Scout will be placed in its owner's hand, not its current controller's hand.

Rule 1: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Rule 2: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.

Q: If I take control of a minion with a talent, can I use its talent for myself?

A: Yes. It's now your minion, so you can use it's talent (though only if it's your Play Cards phase).

Rule: A talent can only be used during your Play Cards phase.


Questions on Grumpiness Edit

Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So a minion's power can go negative with this card, right?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.


Questions on Hang in There Edit

Q: If I play this on a minion that could not be destroyed in the first place (e.g. Warbot) and if it is targeted for destruction, can I move it to another base with Hang in There?

A: No. Since the minion is immune to destruction, it would not have been destroyed so Hang in There doesn't trigger.

Rule: In the case of "If X would happen, do Y instead.", you check if X is about to happen, and if so, you do Y instead of X.


Questions on Hissy Fit Edit

Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So a minion's power can go negative with this card, right?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.


Questions on Invisible Bicycle Edit

Q: Do the minions have to be moved to the same base or can I choose a different base for each minion to move to?

A: You must move the minions you chose to the same other base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Nine Lives Edit

Q: If I choose a minion that "can't be destroyed" or has a similar ability (e.g. Warbot or Buccaneer), do I still get an extra minion to play?

A: Yes. The extra minion play and destroying your minion are independent. So even if the minion is not destroyed, you still gained an extra minion.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is 2Minds Studio, who also designed the art of many other factions, including all the factions of the Pretty Pretty Smash Up set.
  • The Kitty Cats are themed after lolcats.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.