FANDOM


Hang in there

Can haz base? Kitty Cats have the power to compel those of weak will to do what they wish… and the power to have billions of internet memes. Perhaps those are the key? Either way, Kitty Cats use their alluring power to dominate the fight at any base, then head out for a night of jazzy music in the alleys!

- Pretty Pretty Smash Up rulebook

The Kitty Cats are one of the 4 factions from the Pretty Pretty Smash Up set.

The Kitty Cats focuses on lowering other minions' power and taking control of the other players' weak minions. Though you'll also have to manage your minions correctly as they tend fight one another to death.

Other factions from the same set: Fairies, Mythic Horses, Princesses.

Cards Edit

Kitty cats

The Kitty Cats have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 3 play-on-minion actions: Grumpiness (2x), Hang in There,
  • 1 play-on-base action: Hissy Fit,
  • 6 standard actions (all of them affect one or more minions): Can Has Cheeseburger?, Cat Fight (2x), Cat’s Paw, Invisible Bicycle, Nine Lives,
  • 0 actions that directly increase a minion's power.

Minions Edit

1x Queen Fluffy - power 5 - Talent: Take control of a minion of power 3 or less until the end of the turn. FAQ

2x Whiskers - power 4 - Talent: Play an extra action. Destroy one of your minions. FAQ

3x Muffin - power 3 - Take control of a minion of power 3 or less until the end of the turn. FAQ

4x Mr. Grumpers - power 2 - Choose a minion. It has -2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Can Has Cheeseburger? - Special: Before a base scores, take control of a minion there, of power 3 or less, until the end of the turn. FAQ

2x Cat Fight - Choose one of your minions. Draw cards equal to that minion’s power. Destroy that minion. FAQ

1x Cat’s Paw - Take control of a minion of power 5 or less until the end of the turn. FAQ

2x Grumpiness - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion has -2 power. FAQ

1x Hang in There - Play on one of your minions. Ongoing: If this minion would be destroyed, move it to another base and destroy this action instead. FAQ

1x Hissy Fit - Play on a base. Ongoing: All other players’ minions here have -1 power. FAQ

1x Invisible Bicycle - Choose a base. Move any number of minions of power 2 or less from there to another base. FAQ

1x Nine Lives - Destroy one of your minions. Play an extra minion. FAQ

Kitty Cats

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Whiskers: Extra plays are always optional, but if you claim the extra action you must also destroy the minion.

Mechanics Edit

Kitty Cats have 3 primary mechanics that work together. First they have a platter of ways to weaken opponent minions. While that's good on its own, it expands the range of their second mechanic: taking control of weak minions for a single turn. While this can be directly used to access the minions effects and power contribution, it can also combo with their third mechanic: gaining benefits from destroying minions they control. Kitty Cat cards also don't specify that the minion needs to be destroyed "to" gain the advantages, meaning if the destruction is avoided (due to indestructibility or actions such as Hang in There) the rest of the card text still takes place.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Queen Fluffy Edit

Q: I use Queen Fluffly's talent to take control of a minion and then Queen Fluffy is destroyed. Do I have to immediately give back control of the minion because of Queen Fluffy's destruction? If not, do I still have to give back control of it at the end of the turn?

A: No, even if Queen Fluffy is removed from play, its effect still persists until the end of the turn. And yes, at the end of the turn, the effect expires so you have to give back the control of the minion.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: I take control of another player's minion on which they played a Shielding or Expanded Power. I suppose I also take control of the action and so Shielding or Expanded Power wouldn't protect this minion against Cat Fight or Nine Lives, right?

A: Wrong. Even if you take control of another player's minion, you don't take control of the actions played on it, so Shielding and Expanded Power still "see" you as another player and still protects the minion from your actions (for Shielding) and from your destruction attempts (for Expanded Power).

Rule: When you take control of a minion, you don't take control of the actions played on it.

Q: An opponent takes control of my Gremlin. If it is destroyed while they still have control of it, do I draw a card?

A: No. Under the control of another player, the card treats its new controller as if they had played it. So "you" on the minion would designate its current controller, and another player would be any player that is not the controller. So, if Gremlin is destroyed, its new controller draws a card and all other players (you included) discard a random card.

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: If I take control of a minion with a talent, can I use its talent for myself?

A: Yes. It's now your minion, so you can use it's talent (though only if it's your Play Cards phase).

Rule: A talent can only be used during your Play Cards phase.

Q: I take control of another player's minion on Cave of Shinies. If it's destroyed while still under my control, who gets the VP?

A: The minion's owner gets the VP, no matter who controls it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I use this card to take control of a monster?

A: Yes. It just says "a minion", so it applies to any monsters as well.

Rule: Monsters are considered as minions.

Q: I take control of another player's Scout. On the same turn, the base scores. Who can use Scout's ability? If used, where does Scout go?

A: Scout's controller decides if they want to use Scout's ability or not. But if they use it, Scout will be placed in its owner's hand, not its current controller's hand.

Rule 1: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Rule 2: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.


Questions on Whiskers Edit

Q: Can Whiskers destroy itself?

A: Yes. And if it's your only minion in play, you have no other choice but to destroy it.

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control".

Q: Do I have to play the extra action? It doesn't say "you may".

A: No. You gain an extra action that you can use, but you don't have to play it.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.

Q: It tells me to destroy "one of my minions". Can I destroy a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: When I use its talent to destroy a minion that can't be destroyed (e.g. General Ivan, Warbot). Is the minion still destroyed? If not, can I still play the extra action?

A: The destruction fails, but because the extra action is not dependent on the success of the destruction, you can still play an extra action.

Rule 1: "Can't" trumps "can".

Rule 2: Cards are resolved entirely.

Q: None of my minions are immune to destruction. When I use Whiskers's talent, can I play an action that protects a minion from destruction as the extra action, and target that minion?

A: No. When you use Whisker's talent, you first "bank" an extra action, that is you gain an extra action that you can play later on your turn, but that is NOT played immediately. Then you must destroy one of your minions. So, you wouldn't be able to play your action before attempting to destroy one of your minions.

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box has updated the way extra cards are played. Now, when you gain an extra card play, you can play it immediately. In the scenario, you can indeed play an extra action immediately before moving onto the destruction part. And in fact, according to the new rules, because the card does something else after the extra card, you must play the extra card immediately or not at all; it cannot be saved for later!

Rule 1: Extra cards can always be played immediately.

Rule 2: You must play an extra card immediately if another part of the ability follows the extra play.


Questions on Muffin Edit

Q: I play Muffin and take control of a minion and then Muffin is destroyed. Do I have to immediately give back control of the minion because of Muffin's destruction? If not, do I still have to give back control of it at the end of the turn?

A: No, even if Muffin is removed from play, its effect still persists until the end of the turn. And yes, at the end of the turn, the effect expires so you have to give back the control of the minion.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: I take control of another player's minion on which they played a Shielding or Expanded Power. I suppose I also take control of the action and so Shielding or Expanded wouldn't protect this minion against Cat Fight or Nine Lives, right?

A: Wrong. Even if you take control of another player's minion, you don't take control of the actions played on it, so Shielding and Expanded Power still "see" you as another player and still protects the minion from your actions (for Shielding) and from your destruction attempts (for Expanded Power).

Rule: When you take control of a minion, you don't take control of the actions played on it.

Q: An opponent takes control of my Gremlin. If it is destroyed while they still have control of it, do I draw a card?

A: No. Under the control of another player, the card treats its new controller as if they had played it. So "you" on the minion would designate its current controller, and another player would be any player that is not the controller. So, if Gremlin is destroyed, its new controller draws a card and all other players (you included) discard a random card.

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: If I take control of a minion with a talent, can I use its talent for myself?

A: Yes. It's now your minion, so you can use it's talent (though only if it's your Play Cards phase).

Rule: A talent can only be used during your Play Cards phase.

Q: I take control of another player's minion on Cave of Shinies. If it's destroyed while still under my control, who gets the VP?

A: The minion's owner gets the VP, no matter who controls it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I use this card to take control of a monster?

A: Yes. It just says "a minion", so it applies to any monsters as well.

Rule: Monsters are considered as minions.

Q: I take control of another player's Scout. On the same turn, the base scores. Who can use Scout's ability? If used, where does Scout go?

A: Scout's controller decides if they want to use Scout's ability or not. But if they use it, Scout will be placed in its owner's hand, not its current controller's hand.

Rule 1: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Rule 2: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.


Questions on Mr. Grumpers Edit

Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So a minion's power can go negative with this card, right?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.

Q: I play Mr. Grumpers and lower another minion's power and then Mr. Grumpers is destroyed. Does the targeted minion regain its power?

A: No, even if Mr. Grumpers is removed from play, its effect still persists until the end of the turn.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: A base is 2 power away from breaking. I play Mr. Grumpers there (adding 2 power) and target a minion on the same base (removing 2 power). I know that if a base breaks, it will score on phase 3. So does reaching the breakpoint cause it to score on phase 3 even if the power dropped?

A: No. Before phase 3, you don't check if a base breaks or not. The power can exceed the breakpoint and then be lowered below it, it doesn't matter at all. What really matters is whether the total power reached the base's breakpoint on phase 3, and only on phase 3.

Rule: Before phase 3, it doesn't matter how much power each player has on each base, they will only score if they meet the requirement during phase 3, and phase 3 only.

Q: I use Mr. Grumpers to reduce a power-4 minion's power by 2. There's also a Plutonium Dragon there. At the end of the turn, Mr. Grumpers's ability expires and Plutonium Dragon's ability is activated. Is the power-4 minion destroyed or not?

A: Yes, when an effect expires "at the end of the turn", it expires right at the end of the End Turn phase, so after all abilities that are activated by the end of the turn are resolved. About your question, Mr. Grumpers's ability expires after Plutonium Dragon's ability has been resolved, so the power-4-now-power-2 minion is destroyed.

Rule: Abilities that expire at the end of the turn expire simultaneously after all end-of-turn abilities are resolved.


Questions on Can Has Cheeseburger? Edit

Q: I take control of another player's Scout. On the same turn, the base scores. Who can use Scout's ability? If used, where does Scout go?

A: Scout's controller decides if they want to use Scout's ability or not. But if they use it, Scout will be placed in its owner's hand, not its current controller's hand.

Rule 1: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Rule 2: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: Can I use this card to take control of a monster?

A: Yes. It just says "a minion", so it applies to any monsters as well.

Rule: Monsters are considered as minions.

Q: A player played an on-play action that boosts all its minions with +1 power (e.g. Howl, Swashbuckling). I take control of their power-3 minion (actually a power-2 minion boosted with +1 power). Does the minion keep its boost?

A: No. These actions only boost their minions. If you take control of it, it is no longer their minion and these actions don't affect them anymore.

A: UPDATE. Because of how The Bigger Geekier Box now rules this card, Howl and such should be treated as giving the +1 power to all your minions as a definitive effect, that is the restriction that only your minions are affected only matters when the card is played. Afterwards, if the minion's controller changes the +1 power still remains applied to it until the end of the turn.

Rule 1: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Rule 2: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Another player plays a minion that breaks a base. Before it scores, I play Can Has Cheeseburger? to take control of it. Because that player didn't play their action this turn, can they play Daisy Chain to boost that minion so I can't take control of it with my card?

A: Actually, something's not right with your scenario. During their turn, the current player plays their cards during the Play Cards phase (phase 2). Once they're done playing their cards, we move on to the Score Bases phase (phase 3). Can Has Cheeseburger is a Special action that can only be played during phase 3. Daisy Chain (assuming they're playing it using their free action) can only be played during phase 2. If that player played their minion and then declared they finished their Play Cards phase, then you have the right to play Can Has Cheeseburger? and they can't play Daisy Chain because it's no longer phase 2. If they played their minion but didn't declare that they finished their Play Cards phase, then you didn't have the right to play Can Has Cheeseburger?

Rule: Check phase 2 and phase 3.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is more than 3), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the action player.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 3), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the action player.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 3), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the action player.
- It is impossible for Funky Town to copy that action's effect because for Funky Town to copy it, you must be the one playing the action and it must directly affect a minion you already control, and since you already control it, its controller won't change and the action would have done nothing that counts as affecting, therefore not triggering Funky Town.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Cat Fight Edit

Q: Does Cat Fight work with a minion in my hand and on the table? Or only on the table?

A: The minion you choose must be in play.

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control". (and a minion is only controlled if it's in play)

Q: It tells me to choose "one of my minions". Can I choose a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If I choose a minion that "can't be destroyed" or has a similar ability (e.g. Warbot or Buccaneer), does Cat Fight still let me draw cards?

A: Yes. Drawing the cards and destroying your minion are independent. So even if the minion is not destroyed, you still draw your cards.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: No. You only discard down to 10 during the Draw Cards phase (phase 4) of your turn.

Rule: You only discard down to 10 cards during the Draw Cards phase (phase 4) of your turns; after drawing your two cards.

Q: If I take control of an opponent's minion, can I use Cat Fight on it?

A: Yes. If you have control of it, then it's one of "your minions" and is therefore an eligible minion for Cat Fight.

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't be able to draw additional cards for the destroyed Diva, because you've already drawn the cards before you're able to copy the destroy effect. Also, note that merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it, so you can't copy that part.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't be able to draw additional cards for the destroyed minion, because you've already drawn the cards before you're able to copy the destroy effect. Also, note that merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it, so you can't copy that part.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't be able to draw additional cards for the destroyed minion, because you've already drawn the cards before you're able to copy the destroy effect. Also, note that merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it, so you can't copy that part.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't be able to draw additional cards for the destroyed minion, because you've already drawn the cards before you're able to copy the destroy effect. Also, note that merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it, so you can't copy that part.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Cat’s Paw Edit

Q: Can I use this card to take control of a monster?

A: Yes. It just says "a minion", so it applies to any monsters as well.

Rule: Monsters are considered as minions.

Q: I take control of another player's Scout. On the same turn, the base scores. Who can use Scout's ability? If used, where does Scout go?

A: Scout's controller decides if they want to use Scout's ability or not. But if they use it, Scout will be placed in its owner's hand, not its current controller's hand.

Rule 1: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Rule 2: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: If I take control of a minion with a talent, can I use its talent for myself?

A: Yes. It's now your minion, so you can use it's talent (though only if it's your Play Cards phase).

Rule: A talent can only be used during your Play Cards phase.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is more than 5), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the action player.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 5), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the action player.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 5), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the action player.
- It is impossible for Funky Town to copy that action's effect because for Funky Town to copy it, you must be the one playing the action and it must directly affect a minion you already control, and since you already control it, its controller won't change and the action would have done nothing that counts as affecting, therefore not triggering Funky Town.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Grumpiness Edit

Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So a minion's power can go negative with this card, right?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Grumpiness says "Play on a minion", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Hang in There Edit

Q: It says to play it on "one of my minions". Can I play it on a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: One of my cards tells me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. Sacrifice), or an opponent's card forces me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. Bear Hug), or a base's ability allows me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. R'lyeh), can I target my minion with Hang in There played on it? If so, is it destroyed? If not, does it stop the rest of the ability if there were more to it?

A: Short answer: Yes, no and it depends. Firstly, you can indeed choose any of your minions as long as it fits the card's requirement (e.g. if your minion is on R'lyeh, you can target it with R'lyeh's ability, but you can't if it was on another base, obviously), but you must choose one if you have any in play and if it's a mandatory ability (i.e. there's no "you may"). Secondly, because it is targeted for destruction, Hang in There's ability is triggered and changes the destruction into a movement, so your minion will be moved, but not destroyed. Lastly, you must finish resolving the card that was originally invoked. If the card was the kind of card that says "Destroy a minion to do Y" or "Destroy a minion. If you do, do Y", then the effect stated as "Y" can't be done at all, simply because in the end your minion isn't destroyed. If the card says something else, such as "Destroy a minion. Do Y", "Destroy a minion and do Y", etc., the destruction isn't a pre-requisite so you resolve the rest of the card's ability.

Rule 1: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Rule 2: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you need to completely do the effect stated as "X" before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: If I play this on a minion that could not be destroyed in the first place (e.g. Warbot) and if it is targeted for destruction, can I move it to another base with Hang in There?

A: No. Since the minion is immune to destruction, it would not have been destroyed so Hang in There doesn't trigger.

Rule: In the case of "If X would happen, do Y instead.", you check if X is about to happen, and if so, you do Y instead of X.

Q: An opponent plays this card on one of their minions. If I transfer it to one of my minions, e.g. with Tinx or Rules Lawyer, so if my minion is about to be destroyed, I can move it to another base, right?

A: Well, not exactly, transferring an action doesn't make you its controller and transferring it to a different player's minion doesn't grant that player control of the action. The action's controller simply doesn't change. So, the player who played it still controls it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "move" means "they move" and "destroy" means "they destroy". In summary, you transferred the action to one of your minions, but it's the player who originally played Hang in There who will be able to decide where your minion will move to, not you, though in the end your minion will be moved.

Rule: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If you're asking about when Hang in There is played, it doesn't interact with them at all, because Shell Game says "Play on one of your minions", which means that it is not a standard action.
- If you're asking about when you copy a destroy effect onto an opponent's minion with Hang in There protecting it, then the minion isn't destroyed, instead it's moved by Hang in There's controller and Hang in There is destroyed.
- If you're asking about when an opponent's minion with Hang in There protecting it is directly destroyed by a standard action and you want to copy that, then it's not possible because the minion can't be destroyed and because no minion was affected by the standard action, you can't copy the effect. Note that you can't copy the move effect either because it comes from Hang in There, which is a non-standard action. The only effect that came from the standard action is the destruction, which in that case didn't happen.

Rule 1: Definition of "standard".

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".


Questions on Hissy Fit Edit

Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So a minion's power can go negative with this card, right?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Hissy Fit says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Invisible Bicycle Edit

Q: Do the minions have to be moved to the same base or can I choose a different base for each minion to move to?

A: You must move the minions you chose to the same other base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is more than 2), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 2), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that if more than one minion were moved, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to move only one additional minion, not one per moved minion.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 2), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it moves one of your minions away from Funky Town, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 2), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that if more than one minion were moved, Funky Town only triggers once and allows you to move only one additional minion, not one per moved minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Nine Lives Edit

Q: It tells me to destroy "one of my minions". Can I destroy a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If I choose a minion that "can't be destroyed" or has a similar ability (e.g. Warbot or Buccaneer), do I still get an extra minion to play?

A: Yes. The extra minion play and destroying your minion are independent. So even if the minion is not destroyed, you still gained an extra minion.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't be able to play an additional extra minion for the destroyed Diva, because the rest of the ability should be resolved as written and it shows no dependency on the number of destroyed minions.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't be able to play an additional extra minion for the destroyed minion, because the rest of the ability should be resolved as written and it shows no dependency on the number of destroyed minions.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't be able to play an additional extra minion for the destroyed minion, because the rest of the ability should be resolved as written and it shows no dependency on the number of destroyed minions.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't be able to play an additional extra minion for the destroyed minion, because the rest of the ability should be resolved as written and it shows no dependency on the number of destroyed minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is 2Minds Studio, who also designed the art of many other factions, including all the factions of the Pretty Pretty Smash Up set.
  • The font used for the Kitty Cat cards is Hercules.
  • The Kitty Cats are themed after lolcats.
  • Hang in There is a reference to the "Hang in there, Baby" poster by Victor Baldwin in 1971.
  • Mr. Grumpers is a reference to Grumpy Cat.
  • Invisible Bicycle is a reference to the Invisible Bike meme.

In other languages Edit

Language Name
French Chatons
German Schmusekätzchen
Italian Micetti
Russian Котики
Spanish Gatitos


Pretty Pretty Smash Up

Factions: Fairies  •  Kitty Cats  •  Mythic Horses  •  Princesses
Mechanics: Titans (optional, since the TITANS Event Kit)

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit