FANDOM


Body shop

Working in the lab, late one night, my eyes beheld an eerie sight. For my monster from his slab, began to rise. And suddenly to my surprise, he did the Smash... Up. The Mad Scientists, intent on unlocking the mysteries of life, have instead released death in the form of powerful creations! Their toying with nature can empower various minions, but at what cost? (Apologies to Bobby Pickett)

- Monster Smash rulebook

The Mad Scientists are one of the 4 factions from the Monster Smash set.

The Mad Scientists focus on getting a great deal of +1 power counters, sometimes by getting rid of your own cards, and then spending the counters to trigger some abilities.

Other factions from the same set: Giant Ants, Vampires, Werewolves.

Cards Edit

Mad scientists

The Mad Scientists have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion. Additionally, the Mad Scientists have numerous abilities that boost the power of minions beyond its base value.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 2 play-on-minion actions: Überserum (2x),
  • 2 play-on-base actions: German Engineering, Grave Situation,
  • 6 standard actions (all of them affect one or more minions): Angry Mob, Blitzed, Body Shop, IT’S ALIVE! (2x), Jolt,
  • 5 actions that directly increase a minion's power: Angry Mob, Body Shop, IT’S ALIVE! (2x), Jolt.

Minions Edit

1x Herr Doktor - power 5 - Talent: Place a +1 power counter on another one of your minions. FAQ

2x The Monster - power 4 - Talent: Remove a +1 power counter from this minion to play an extra minion. FAQ

3x Lab Assistant - power 3 - Place a +1 power counter on another one of your minions. FAQ

4x Igor - power 2 - Ongoing: After this minion is destroyed or discarded, place a +1 power counter on one of your minions. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Angry Mob - Choose one of your minions. Place any number of cards from your hand on the bottom of your deck. For each card you placed there, place a +1 power counter on that minion. FAQ

1x Blitzed - Remove any number of +1 power counters from your minions. Destroy a minion with power less than or equal to the number of counters you removed. FAQ

1x Body Shop - Destroy one of your minions. Place a number of +1 power counters equal to that minion’s power, split any way you choose, on your minions. FAQ

1x German Engineering - Play on a base. Ongoing: After you play a minion here, place a +1 power counter on it. FAQ

1x Grave Situation - Play on a base. Ongoing: After one of your minions is destroyed here, place it into your hand instead of the discard pile. FAQ

2x IT’S ALIVE! - Play an extra minion. Place a +1 power counter on it. FAQ

1x Jolt - Place a +1 power counter on each of your minions. FAQ

2x Überserum - Play on a minion. Ongoing: At the start of your turn, place a +1 power counter on this minion. This minion cannot be destroyed. FAQ

Mad Scientists

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Grave Situation: Minions placed into your hand do not count as being destroyed (c.f. Field of Honor).

Igor: You get the +1 power counter if this minion goes to the discard pile after scoring, but not after being discarded from the hand, since Ongoing abilities only work while in play.

Mechanics Edit

Mad Scientists have many ways to turn things into power counters, and then to turn the power counters into something else. Their minions play counters on minions that aren't themselves to mimic experimenting and augmenting. They also have ways to cut up their own minions for more power tokens. This can seem counterproductive at first, except that they also have ways to sacrifice power counters to destroy other minions and play extra minions themselves. The Monster is the only minion to give advantages to being the recipient of all the counters, with a huge advantage on minion playing. Mad scientists favor accumulating lots of power counters on a few minions and using other (and extra!) minions as fodder for that.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Herr Doktor Edit

Q: It allows me to place a +1 power counter on "one of my minions". Can I place one on a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If Herr Doktor is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, returned, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress is destroyed or has its ability cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Herr Doktor's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by Lab Assistant, Igor or Überserum)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling an effect or removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.


Questions on The Monster Edit

Q: There are +1 power counters on one The Monster. If I use its talent, do I have to remove a +1 power counter on it? (e.g. if it's on Changing Room)

A: No. While it doesn't say "you may", "Do X to do Y" abilities imply that doing X is optional.[1]

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Q: If there are several +1 power counters on the same The Monster, using its talent, can I remove more than one and play as many extra minions on the same turn?

A: No. A minion's talent can only be activated once on each of your turns, and with The Monster, you can only remove one +1 power counter on it each time you use its talent.

Rule: Each talent can be activated once on each of your turns.

Q: If I play Augmentation and give +4 power to The Monster, can I play 4 extra minions when I use its talent?

A: No. When you use The Monster's talent, you remove a +1 power counter on it. Augmentation increases the Monster's power but it doesn't place any +1 power counters on it, so there's no +1 power counters to remove.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play Aggromotive and give +5 power to The Monster, can I play 5 extra minions when I use its talent?

A: No. Aggromotive doesn't place any +1 power counters on The Monster (it doesn't even increase any minion's power), so there's no +1 power counters to remove.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Lab Assistant Edit

Q: It allows me to place a +1 power counter on "one of my minions". Can I place one on a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If Lab Assistant is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, returned, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress is destroyed or has its ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by that one Lab Assistant's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by another Lab Assistant, Igor or Überserum)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling an effect or removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.


Questions on Igor Edit

Q: An ability makes me discard an Igor from my hand. Can I use Igor's ability?

A: No. Igor's ability is an Ongoing, so it only becomes active when Igor is in play.

Rule: An Ongoing ability only becomes active when the card is in play.

Q: So when exactly is an Igor discarded from play?

A: For example, after its base scores, all the cards on the base are discarded, which triggers Igor's ability.

Rule: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards are discarded simultaneously.

Q: It allows me to place a +1 power counter on "one of my minions". Can I place one on a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Before No-Moon™ scores, it targets a base with an Igor on it. Wording-wise, since Igor is "placed in the discard pile" rather than "discarded", does it trigger Igor's ability or not?

A: Igor's ability triggers from Igor going to the discard pile from play, so yes, you do get a +1 power counter from it.

Rule: Check Igor's clarification.


Questions on Angry Mob Edit

Q: It tells me to choose "one of my minions". Can I choose a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of +1 power counters placed on it from the pool. Note that you won't place additional cards under your deck for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and so the number of +1 power counters is already set.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of +1 power counters placed on it from the pool. Note that you won't place additional cards under your deck for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and so the number of +1 power counters is already set.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of +1 power counters placed on it from the pool. Note that you won't place additional cards under your deck for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and so the number of +1 power counters is already set.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of +1 power counters placed on it from the pool. Note that you won't place additional cards under your deck for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and so the number of +1 power counters is already set.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Blitzed Edit

Q: May I remove 0 +1 power counters? If so, may I destroy a minion of power 0?

A: Yes and yes. Blitzed requires you to remove "any number" of +1 power counters, so zero is a legal choice. From there, the rest of the ability is resolved normally, so "Destroy a minion with power less than or equal to the number of counters you removed" becomes "Destroy a minion with power less than or equal to 0". A minion of power 0 has a power less than or equal to 0, and so is a legal target.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: It allows me to remove +1 power counters from "my minions". Can I remove them from a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: Blitzed affects minions at two different moments. First when you remove +1 power counters from your minions, and then when you destroy a minion. When you use any of the effect-copying cards, each one may only copy one of the two effects, either the removal of counters or the destruction, not both. Of course, if you have several effect-copying cards that are triggered, you may have each one copy a different effect.
If you choose to copy the removal of counters:
- There's no point for Diva to copy the removal of counters because Diva can have its +1 power counters removed directly by Blitzed anyway.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has the same amount of +1 power counters removed from it (if there aren't enough on it, remove all of them). If several minions had their +1 power counters removed on Dancing King's base, choose one of them to imitate. Note that if several minions had their +1 power counters removed on that base, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to remove the +1 power counters from only one additional minion, not one per affected minion. Also, note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player. Next, regardless of whoever controls the minion that got its +1 power counters indirectly removed by Blitzed, you still resolve the rest of the ability as written, and so destroy a minion with power less than or equal to the number of counters removed, and yes, even the counters that were indirectly removed from that other minion!
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has the same amount of +1 power counters removed from it (if there aren't enough on it, remove all of them). If several minions had their +1 power counters removed on We are Family's base, choose one of them to imitate. Note that if several minions had their +1 power counters removed on that base, We are Family only triggers once and allows you to remove the +1 power counters from only one additional minion, not one per affected minion. Also, note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player. Next, regardless of whoever controls the minion that got its +1 power counters indirectly removed by Blitzed, you still resolve the rest of the ability as written, and so destroy a minion with power less than or equal to the number of counters removed, and yes, even the counters that were indirectly removed from that other minion!
- There's no point for Funky Town to copy the removal of counters because the minion can have its +1 power counters removed directly by Who Wants to Live Forever? anyway.
If you choose to copy the destruction:
- If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of Diva's power. Note that you don't remove additional +1 power counters from your minions for that additional minion; that part happened before the destruction and so you don't do it again.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that you don't remove additional +1 power counters from your minions for that additional minion; that part happened before the destruction and so you don't do it again.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that you don't remove additional +1 power counters from your minions for that additional minion; that part happened before the destruction and so you don't do it again.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that you don't remove additional +1 power counters from your minions for that additional minion; that part happened before the destruction and so you don't do it again.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Body Shop Edit

Q: The number of power counters it gives is equal to the minion's power. Do you count power counters on the minion to determine its power?

A: Yes.

Rule: In play, a minion's power includes all modifiers.

Q: It tells me to destroy "one of my minions". Can I destroy a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If I choose a minion that "can't be destroyed" or has a similar ability (e.g. Warbot or Buccaneer), does Body Shop still give me power counters?

A: Yes. Getting power counters and destroying your minion are independent. So even if the minion is not destroyed, you still get an number of +1 power counters equal to its power.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: Body Shop affects minions at two different moments. First when you destroy one of your minions, and then when you place +1 power counters on your minions. When you use any of the effect-copying cards, each one may only copy one of the two effects, either the destruction or the counters, not both. Of course, if you have several effect-copying cards that are triggered, you may have each one copy a different effect.
If you choose to copy the destruction:
- If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that destroying an additional minion doesn't impact the way you'll resolve the rest of the ability, so "Place a number of +1 power counters equal to that minion’s power, split any way you choose, on your minions." should be understood as "Place a number of +1 power counters equal to the power of the minion that was directly affected, split any way you choose, on your minions."
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that destroying an additional minion doesn't impact the way you'll resolve the rest of the ability, so "Place a number of +1 power counters equal to that minion’s power, split any way you choose, on your minions." should be understood as "Place a number of +1 power counters equal to the power of the minion that was directly affected, split any way you choose, on your minions."
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that destroying an additional minion doesn't impact the way you'll resolve the rest of the ability, so "Place a number of +1 power counters equal to that minion’s power, split any way you choose, on your minions." should be understood as "Place a number of +1 power counters equal to the power of the minion that was directly affected, split any way you choose, on your minions."
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that destroying an additional minion doesn't impact the way you'll resolve the rest of the ability, so "Place a number of +1 power counters equal to that minion’s power, split any way you choose, on your minions." should be understood as "Place a number of +1 power counters equal to the power of the minion that was directly affected, split any way you choose, on your minions."
If you choose to copy the placing of +1 power counters (note that you can't copy it onto a minion that directly received +1 power counters from Body Shop):
- If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has the same amount of +1 power counters placed on it as one of the minions on its base that was directly affected by Body Shop. If several minions on its base directly received counters from Body Shop, choose only one of them and get the same amount of +1 power counters as it. Note that those additional +1 power counters don't count toward the "number of +1 power counters equal to the minion's power".
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has the same amount of +1 power counters placed on it as one of the minions on its base that was directly affected by Body Shop. If several minions on its base directly received counters from Body Shop, choose only one of them and get the same amount of +1 power counters as it. Note that those additional +1 power counters don't count toward the "number of +1 power counters equal to the minion's power".
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has the same amount of +1 power counters placed on it as one of the minions on its base that was directly affected by Body Shop. If several minions on its base directly received counters from Body Shop, choose only one of them and get the same amount of +1 power counters as it. Note that those additional +1 power counters don't count toward the "number of +1 power counters equal to the minion's power".
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has the same amount of +1 power counters placed on it as one of the minions on its base that was directly affected by Body Shop. If several minions on its base directly received counters from Body Shop, choose only one of them and get the same amount of +1 power counters as it. Note that those additional +1 power counters don't count toward the "number of +1 power counters equal to the minion's power".

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on German Engineering Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I play a minion there, it gets a +1 power counter, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent) and "(you) place" means "they place".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: If German Engineering is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, returned, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress is destroyed or has its ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by German Engineering's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by Lab Assistant, Igor or Überserum)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling an effect or removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on German Engineering's base, do I still place a +1 power counter on it?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because German Engineering says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Grave Situation Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if one of my minions there is destroyed, it's placed into my hand, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions" and "your hand" means "their hand".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: If Grave Situation is on Tar Pits, what happens to my minions that are destroyed there? Are they put on the bottom of my deck or in my hand?

A: Both abilities happen at the same time after the minion is effectively destroyed, so the current player decides the order. If Tar Pits is triggered first, the minion is placed on the bottom of its owner's deck, then Grave Situation must be activated but the minion already left play. If Grave Situation is triggered first, Grave Situation will replace "placing it in the discard pile" with "placing it in your hand" (though only if it does go to the discard pile), then Tar Pits is triggered and the minion is placed on the bottom of its owner's deck. So whatever the order, the minion is placed on the bottom of the deck.

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box clarifies how Grave Situation works. Despite its wording, the minion is actually not destroyed when Grave Situation's ability occurs. So Grave Situation saves it from destruction by placing it into your hand and Tar Pits is not triggered because the minion was not actually destroyed.

Rule: Check Grave Situation's clarification.

Q: Grave Situation is on The Homeworld and there's also an enemy Leprechaun on it. If I play an Igor there, Leprechaun destroys it, therefore allowing me to place +1 power counter on one of my other minions, but then I'd get the Igor back in my hand with Grave Situation and thanks to The Homeworld, I can replay it, therefore starting that loop over and over again, each time adding a +1 power counter on one of my minions. Is that correct?

A: Actually, The Bigger Geekier Box clarifies how Grave Situation is supposed to work. While it's true that you'll be able to get Igor back in your hand again and again, each time saving it from Leprechaun, Grave Situation prevents you from treating Igor as having been destroyed. In fact, Grave Situation saves your Igor right when Leprechaun tries to destroy it. This goes against Grave Situation's actual wording, but it prevents your loop from generating an infinite amount of +1 power counters.

Rule: Check Grave Situation's clarification.

Q: I have Grave Situation and a minion on the same base. Another player takes control of my minion there. What happens when it's destroyed?

A: Grave Situation only reacts to "your minions" being destroyed, i.e. minions that you control. You no longer control that minion, so it's no longer "your" minion and Grave Situation isn't activated. The minion will go to the discard pile.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Grave Situation says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on IT’S ALIVE! Edit

Q: Do I have to play the extra minion immediately or can I delay it until later and finish doing the rest of the card when I do it?

A: You have to play it immediately or not at all because the card does something else after the extra minion is played. It cannot be saved for later.

Rule: You must play an extra card immediately if another part of the ability follows the extra play.

Q: When is the power counter placed? Before resolving the minion's ability or after?

A: After. You resolve the card in order, so you first play the minion, then resolve its ability, and finally you place the +1 power counter on it.[2]

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: Using IT'S ALIVE!, I play a power-4 minion as the extra minion on a base with a Leprechaun. When does Leprechaun's ability trigger? Before placing the +1 power counter or after?

A: Before activating Leprechaun's ability, you must finish resolving the played minion's ability and any other abilities in the middle of their resolution (e.g. IT'S ALIVE!). So Leprechaun's ability is triggered after placing the +1 power counter.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has a +1 power counter placed on it.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has a +1 power counter placed on it.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has a +1 power counter placed on it.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has a +1 power counter placed on it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Jolt Edit

Q: If you play Jolt and there is a minion in play that you own but do not control, does it get a +1 power counter?

A: No. Jolt makes you place a +1 power counter on each of "your" minions, that is to say on minions that you control, whether or not you own them. A minion that you own but don't control is not your minion anymore, but its current controller's minion.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - Diva can't copy it because it would already be directly affected by it.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has a +1 power counter placed on it.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has a +1 power counter placed on it.
- Funky Town can't copy it because you need to be the one who played the action and so all your minions are already directly affected by it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Überserum Edit

Q: If the minion remains in play for several rounds of turn, do I keep adding power counter to it?

A: Yes. At the start of each of your turns, Überserum's ability is triggered, so a new +1 power counter is placed on it.

Rule: "At the start of your turn" means "during the Start Turn (phase 1) of one of your turns".

Q: One of my cards tells me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. Sacrifice), or an opponent's card forces me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. Bear Hug), or a base's ability allows me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. R'lyeh), can I target my minion with Überserum played on it? If so, is it destroyed? If not, does it stop the rest of the ability if there were more to it?

A: Short answer: Yes, no and it depends. Firstly, you can indeed choose any of your minions as long as it fits the card's requirement (e.g. if your minion is on R'lyeh, you can target it with R'lyeh's ability, but you can't if it was on another base, obviously), but you must choose one if you have any in play and if it's a mandatory ability (i.e. there's no "you may"). Secondly, because it is targeted for destruction, Überserum's ability protects it, so your minion will not be destroyed. Lastly, you must finish resolving the card that was originally invoked. If the card was the kind of card that says "Destroy a minion to do Y" or "Destroy a minion. If you do, do Y", then the effect stated as "Y" can't be done at all, simply because in the end your minion isn't destroyed. If the card says something else, such as "Destroy a minion. Do Y", "Destroy a minion and do Y", etc., the destruction isn't a pre-requisite so you resolve the rest of the card's ability.

Rule 1: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Rule 2: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you need to completely do the effect stated as "X" before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: If Servitor of Cthulhu has any ability such as Überserum or General Ivan in play, can it still use its talent to place an action card without having itself getting destroyed?

A: Yes. Destroying it and retrieving the action are independent, so you can retrieve an action even if Servitor of Cthulhu cannot be destroyed.

Rule 1: Cards are resolved entirely.

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: If Überserum is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, returned, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress is destroyed or has its ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by that one Überserum's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by Lab Assistant, Igor or the other Überserum)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling an effect or removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: It says "Play on a minion", so I suppose I can play it on another player's minion, right? So it will get +1 power counters at the start of each of their turns, right?

A: Yes, you can play it on any minion, but since you played the action, you will be the action's controller and so "At the start of your turn" really means "at the start of your turn", regardless of whoever controls the minion, so the minion will get a +1 power counter at the start of each of your turns, not that player's turns.

Rule 1: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Rule 2: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: An opponent played this card on one of their minions. If I transfer it to one of my minions, e.g. with Tinx or Rules Lawyer, do I also transfer the +1 power counters gained from Überserum to my minion? Also, I suppose from now on, I will place a +1 power counter on my minion at the start of each of my turns.

A: No and no. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain on that minion even if the card that placed them is transferred to another. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by that one Überserum's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by Lab Assistant, Igor or the other Überserum)? That would be very cumbersome. Also, transferring an action doesn't make you its controller and transferring it to a different player's minion doesn't grant that player control of the action. The action's controller simply doesn't change. So, the player who played it still controls it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your turn" means "their turn" and "Place..." means "they place". In summary, at the start of each of that opponent's turns, they will place a +1 power counter on your minion.

Rule: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If you're asking about when Überserum is played, it doesn't interact with them at all, because Überserum says "Play on a minion", which means that it is not a standard action.
- If you're asking about when you copy a destroy effect onto an opponent's minion with Überserum protecting it, then the minion isn't destroyed.
- If you're asking about when an opponent's minion with Überserum protecting it is directly destroyed by a standard action and you want to copy that, then it's not possible because the minion can't be destroyed and because no minion was affected, you can't copy the effect.

Rule 1: Definition of "standard".

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Prosper Tipaldi.
  • The flavor text quotes the song Monster Mash by Bobby Pickett substituting the word "Mash" for "Smash... Up".

In other languages Edit

Language Name
French Scientifiques fous
German Verrückte Wissenschaftler
Italian Scienziati Pazzi
Spanish Científicos locos


Monster Smash

Factions: Giant Ants  •  Mad Scientists  •  Vampires  •  Werewolves
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Titans (optional, since the TITANS Event Kit)

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Sheep!  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/17014769#17014769
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/20694183#20694183