FANDOM


Body shop

Working in the lab, late one night, my eyes beheld an eerie sight. For my monster from his slab, began to rise. And suddenly to my surprise, he did the Smash... Up. The Mad Scientists, intent on unlocking the mysteries of life, have instead released death in the form of powerful creations! Their toying with nature can empower various minions, but at what cost? (Apologies to Bobby Pickett)

- Monster Smash rulebook

The Mad Scientists are one of the 4 factions from the Monster Smash set.

The Mad Scientists focus on getting a great deal of +1 power counters, sometimes by getting rid of your own cards, and then spending the counters to trigger some abilities.

Other factions from the same set: Giant Ants, Vampires, Werewolves.

Cards Edit

Mad scientists

The Mad Scientists have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion. Additionally, the Mad Scientists have numerous abilities that boost the power of minions beyond its base value.

Minions Edit

1x Herr Doktor - power 5 - Talent: Place a +1 power counter on another one of your minions. FAQ

2x The Monster - power 4 - Talent: Remove a +1 power counter from this minion to play an extra minion. FAQ

3x Lab Assistant - power 3 - Place a +1 power counter on another one of your minions. FAQ

4x Igor - power 2 - Ongoing: After this minion is destroyed or discarded, place a +1 power counter on one of your minions. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Angry Mob - Choose one of your minions. Place any number of cards from your hand on the bottom of your deck. For each card you placed there, place a +1 power counter on that minion. FAQ

1x Blitzed - Remove any number of +1 power counters from your minions. Destroy a minion with power less than or equal to the number of counters you removed. FAQ

1x Body Shop - Destroy one of your minions. Place a number of +1 power counters equal to that minion’s power, split any way you choose, on your minions. FAQ

1x German Engineering - Play on a base. Ongoing: After you play a minion here, place a +1 power counter on it. FAQ

1x Grave Situation - Play on a base. Ongoing: After one of your minions is destroyed here, place it into your hand instead of the discard pile. FAQ

2x IT’S ALIVE! - Play an extra minion. Place a +1 power counter on it. FAQ

1x Jolt - Place a +1 power counter on each of your minions. FAQ

2x Überserum - Play on a minion. Ongoing: At the start of your turn, place a +1 power counter on this minion. This minion cannot be destroyed. FAQ

Mad Scientists

Bases Edit

Mechanics Edit

Mad scientisits have many ways to turn things into power counters, and then to turn the power counters into something else. Their minions play counters on minions that aren't themselves to mimic experimenting and augumenting. They also have ways to cut up their own minions for more power tokens. This can seem counter productive at first, except that they also have ways to sacrifice power counters to destroy other minions and play extra minions themselves. The Monster is the only minion to give advantages to being the recipient of all the counters, with a huge advantage on minion playing. Mad scientists favor accumulating lots of power counters on a few minions and using other (and extra!) minions as fodder for that.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Herr Doktor Edit

Q: If Herr Doktor is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, returned, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress is destroyed or has its ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Herr Doktor's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by Lab Assistant, Igor or Überserum)? That would be very cumbersome.
Rule: Cancelling an effect or removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.


Questions on The Monster Edit

Q: There are +1 power counters on one The Monster. If I use its talent, do I have to remove a +1 power counter on it? (e.g. if it's on Changing Room)

A: No. While it doesn't say "you may", "Do X to do Y" abilities imply that doing X is optional.[1]

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Q: If there are several +1 power counters on the same The Monster, using its talent, can I remove more than one and play as many extra minions on the same turn?

A: No. A minion's talent can only be activated once on each of your turns, and with The Monster, you can only remove one +1 power counter on it each time you use its talent.

Rule: Each talent can be activated once on each of your turns.

Q: If I play Augmentation and give +4 power to The Monster, can I play 4 extra minions when I use its talent? aggromotive could i play 4 or 5 extra minions?

A: No. When you use The Monster's talent, you remove a +1 power counter on it. Augmentation increases the Monster's power but it doesn't place any +1 power counters on it, so there's no +1 power counters to remove.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: If I play Aggromotive and give +5 power to The Monster, can I play 5 extra minions when I use its talent?
A: No. Aggromotive doesn't place any +1 power counters on The Monster (it doesn't even increase any minion's power), so there's no +1 power counters to remove.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Lab Assistant Edit

Q: If Lab Assistant is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, returned, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress is destroyed or has its ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by that one Lab Assistant's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by another Lab Assistant, Igor or Überserum)? That would be very cumbersome.
Rule: Cancelling an effect or removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.


Questions on Igor Edit

Q: An ability makes me discard an Igor from my hand. Can I use Igor's ability?

A: No. Igor's ability is an Ongoing, so it only becomes active when Igor is in play.

Rule: An Ongoing ability only becomes active when the card is in play.

Q: So when exactly is an Igor discarded from play?

A: For example, after its base scores, all the cards on the base are discarded, which triggers Igor's ability.

Rule: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards are discarded simultaneously.

Q: Before No-Moon™ scores, it targets a base with an Igor on it. Wording-wise, since Igor is "placed in the discard pile" rather than "discarded", does it trigger Igor's ability or not?

A: In this game, wording is very important. For example, when a card in play is "placed in its owner's hand", it's not the same as "returning it". It's possible that "placed in the discard pile" and "discarded" are also not the same. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Angry Mob Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Blitzed Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Body Shop Edit

Q: The number power counters it gives is equal to the minion's power. Do you count power counter on the minion to determine its power?

A: Yes.

Rule: In play, a minion's power includes all modifiers.

Q: If I choose a minion that "can't be destroyed" or has a similar ability (e.g. Warbot or Buccaneer), does Body Shop still give me power counters?

A: Yes. Getting power counters and destroying your minion are independent. So even if the minion is not destroyed, you still get an number of +1 power counters equal to its power.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.


Questions on German Engineering Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I play a minion there, it gets a +1 power counter, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent) and "(you) place" means "they place".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.
Q: If German Engineering is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, returned, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?
A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress is destroyed or has its ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by German Engineering's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by Lab Assistant, Igor or Überserum)? That would be very cumbersome.
Rule: Cancelling an effect or removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.


Questions on Grave Situation Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if one of my minions there is destroyed, it's placed into my hand, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions" and "your hand" means "their hand".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: If Grave Situation is on Tar Pits, what happens to my minions that are destroyed there? Are they put on the bottom of my deck or in my hand?

A: Both abilities happen at the same time after the minion is effectively destroyed, so the current player decides the order. If Tar Pits is triggered first, the minion is placed on the bottom of its owner's deck, then Grave Situation must be activated but the minion already left play. If Grave Situation is triggered first, Grave Situation will replace "placing it in the discard pile" with "placing it in your hand" (though only if it does go to the discard pile), then Tar Pits is triggered and the minion is placed on the bottom of its owner's deck. So whatever the order, the minion is placed on the bottom of the deck.

Rule: The current player decides the order of events that are supposed to happen simultaneously.

Q: I have Grave Situation and a minion on the same base. Another player takes control of my minion there. What happens when it's destroyed?

A: Grave Situation only reacts to "your minions" being destroyed, i.e. minions that you control. You no longer control that minion, so it's no longer "your" minion and Grave Situation isn't activated. The minion will go to the discard pile.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".


Questions on IT’S ALIVE! Edit

Q: Do I have to play the extra minion immediately or can I delay it until later and finish doing the rest of the card when I do it?

A: Normally, extra minions are banked for later, but in this case, you can't do the rest of the ability without playing the minion, so you may have to play it immediately. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: When is the power counter placed? Before resolving the minion's ability or after?

A: After. You resolve the card in order, so you first play the minion, then resolve its ability, and finally you place the +1 power counter on it.[2]

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Using IT'S ALIVE!, I play a power-4 minion as the extra minion on a base with a Leprechaun. When does Leprechaun's ability trigger? Before placing the +1 power counter or after?

A: Before activating Leprechaun's ability, you must finish resolving the played minion's ability and any other abilities in the middle of their resolution (e.g. IT'S ALIVE!). So Leprechaun's ability is triggered after placing the +1 power counter.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.


Questions on Jolt Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Überserum Edit

Q: If the minion remains in play for several rounds of turn, do I keep adding power counter to it?

A: Yes. At the start of each of your turns, Überserum's ability is triggered, so a new +1 power counter is placed on it.

Rule: "At the start of your turn" means "during the Start Turn (phase 1) of one of your turns".
Q: One of my cards tells me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. Sacrifice), or an opponent's card forces me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. Bear Hug), or a base's ability allows me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. R'lyeh), can I target my minion with Überserum played on it? If so, is it destroyed? If not, does it stop the rest of the ability if there were more to it?

A: Short answer: Yes, no and it depends. Firstly, you can indeed choose any of your minions as long as it fits the card's requirement (e.g. if your minion is on R'lyeh, you can target it with R'lyeh's ability, but you can't if it was on another base, obviously), but you must choose one if you have any in play and if it's a mandatory ability (i.e. there's no "you may"). Secondly, because it is targetted for destruction, Überserum's ability protects it, so your minion will not be destroyed. Lastly, you must finish resolving the card that was originally invoked. If the card was the kind of card that says "Destroy a minion to do Y" or "Destroy a minion. If you do, do Y", then the effect stated as "Y" can't be done at all, simply because in the end your minion isn't destroyed. If the card says something else, such as "Destroy a minion. Do Y", "Destroy a minion and do Y", etc., the destruction isn't a pre-requisite so you resolve the rest of the card's ability.

Rule 1: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Rule 2: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you need to completely do the effect stated as "X" before you do the effect stated as "Y".
Q: If Servitor of Cthulhu has any ability such as Überserum or General Ivan in play, can it still use its talent to place an action card without having itself getting destroyed?

A: Yes. Destroying it and retrieving the action are independent, so you can retrieve an action even if Servitor of Cthulhu cannot be destroyed.

Rule 1: Cards are resolved entirely.

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".
Q: If Überserum is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, returned, etc.) or has its ability cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?
A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress is destroyed or has its ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play or has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by that one Überserum's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by Lab Assistant, Igor or the other Überserum)? That would be very cumbersome.
Rule: Cancelling an effect or removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Prosper Tipaldi.
  • The flavor text quotes the song Monster Mash by Bobby Pickett substituting the word "Mash" for "Smash... Up".

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/17014769#17014769
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/20694183#20694183

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.