FANDOM


Mass summoning

What's better than zapping your enemies with lightning from your fingertips? Summoning something else to do it for you! Munchkin Mages are great at distracting their foes by dropping monsters on their heads. Surprise!

- Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook

The Mages are one of the 8 factions from the Smash Up: Munchkin set.

The Mages focus on discarding cards for good effects.

Other factions from the same set: Clerics, Dwarves, Elves, Halflings, Orcs, Thieves, Warriors.

Cards Edit

Mages

The Mages have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is unusually low at only 28 or an average of 2.8 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 1 play-on-base action: Portal to Beyond,
  • 9 standard actions (4 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Charm, Embiggen, Mass Summoning, Recover Arcane Wisdom (2x), Some Enchanted Evening, Speed Reading, Zzzzzap! (2x),
  • 1 action that directly increases a minion's power: Embiggen.

Minions Edit

1x Blaster Master - power 5 - Talent: Discard a card to destroy a minion of power 2 or less. FAQ

2x Happy Zapper - power 3 - Talent: Discard a card to give this minion +2 power until the end of the turn. Special: Before this base scores, you may use this minion’s talent. FAQ

3x Wand Whiz - power 3 - You may discard a card to play an extra minion or action. FAQ

4x Scroll Shuffler - power 2 - Discard a card. Draw a card. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Charm - Take control of a monster and treat it as one of your minions until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Embiggen - Choose a minion. Discard any number of cards. The minion gets +1 power until the end of the turn for each card you discarded. FAQ

1x Mass Summoning - Play a monster on each base. FAQ

1x Portal to Beyond - Play on a base. Talent: Discard a card to play a monster here. FAQ

2x Recover Arcane Wisdom - Draw until you have five cards in your hand. FAQ

1x Some Enchanted Evening - Discard any number of cards. Play an extra minion of power 3 or less for each card you discard. FAQ

1x Speed Reading - Discard a card. Draw three cards. FAQ

2x Zzzzzap! - Discard a card to destroy a minion of power 3 or less. FAQ

Mages

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook:

Charm: If a monster is controlled when a base breaks, its treasures still go into the general pot.

Happy Zapper: Its ability triggers when its base scores even if it was used earlier that turn. If this minion gains additional talents, you can only use one of them before the base scores. (updated by The Bigger Geekier Box)

Mechanics Edit

Mages specialize in discarding cards to do things, especially gaining power, playing extra cards or destroying minions.

They also have some interaction with the monsters, being able to summon them into play and temporarily take control of them.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Blaster Master Edit

Q: If I use its talent, do I have to discard a card?

A: No. It's a "Do X to do Y" type of ability, so while it doesn't say "you may", doing X is actually optional![1] However, if you don't do it, you won't be able to destroy a minion, obviously.

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.


Questions on Happy Zapper Edit

Q: If I use its talent, do I have to discard a card?

A: No. It's a "Do X to do Y" type of ability, so while it doesn't say "you may", doing X is actually optional![1]

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Q: If I give this minion an extra talent (e.g. Potion of Redundancy Potion, Flighterizer), which talent can I use before the base scores?

A: Any talent, but you can only use one of them before the scoring of the base, not each one.

Rule: Check Happy Zapper's clarification.


Questions on Wand Whiz Edit

Q: If I play a Wand Whiz and discard a card with its ability, do I have to immediately play an extra minion or action?

A: If Wand Whiz is played during your Play Cards phase (phase 2), then no, you choose whether you want to play the extra card immediately or save it for later during the same phase. Otherwise, you indeed have to play it immediately or not at all.

Rule: Extra cards gained by a Special ability or outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: If I play a Wand Whiz and discard a card with its ability, do I have to immediately decide if I'll play a minion or an action, or can I decide later?

A: You must immediately decide which type of card you want to play, even if you play it later.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Scroll Shuffler Edit

Q: What if Scroll Shuffler is my only card in hand and I play it? Is Scroll Shuffler itself discarded? Or do I discard the card that I draw? Or do I not draw any card because I don't have a card to discard?

A: Actually, you simply draw a card. Indeed, when you play it, you have to resolve it entirely in order, so you discard a card (you have none to discard) and then draw a card. Drawing a card is independent from discarding one (it says "Discard a card. Draw a card", not "Discard a card to draw a card), so you have to draw one even though you didn't discard one, and you don't go back and discard it because that part has already been resolved.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.


Questions on Charm Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is taken by the action player, even though Diva is not a monster.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is taken by the action player, even if the minion is not a monster.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is taken by the action player, even if the minion is not a monster.
- Funky Town doesn't interact with it because you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if you directly target a monster you already control, but then Charm wouldn't do anything.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Embiggen Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of +1 power. Note that you won't discard additional cards from your hand for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and so the amount of power is already set.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of +1 power. Note that you won't discard additional cards from your hand for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and so the amount of power is already set.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of +1 power. Note that you won't discard additional cards from your hand for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and so the amount of power is already set.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it directly affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of +1 power. Note that you won't discard additional cards from your hand for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and so the amount of power is already set.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Mass Summoning Edit

Q: If I play a Web Troll, does its ability trigger?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What if a monster is played on a base where it cannot be played? (e.g. Tsar's Palace)

A: The monster is discarded without resolving its effect.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.

Q: Is the monster played with this card affected by Flame Trap, Leprechaun, Pay the Piper, and other cards like Leprechaun because logically, that's what the card should be saying?

A: Yes. You're considered to have played the monster, so you're treated by those cards as another player playing a minion.

Rule: Monsters are considered as minions.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Mass Summoning doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied. Note that playing a minion doesn't count as affecting it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Portal to Beyond Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so on my turn, I can use its talent, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore only they can use the talent on their turns.

Rule: A talent can be activated on each of its controller's turns.

Q: If I play a Web Troll, does its ability trigger?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What if a monster is played on a base where it cannot be played? (e.g. Tsar's Palace)

A: The monster is discarded without resolving its effect.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.

Q: Is the monster played with this card affected by Flame Trap, Leprechaun, Pay the Piper, and other cards like Leprechaun because logically, that's what the card should be saying?

A: Yes. You're considered to have played the monster, so you're treated by those cards as another player playing a minion.

Rule: Monsters are considered as minions.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Portal to Beyond says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Recover Arcane Wisdom Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Recover Arcane Wisdom doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Some Enchanted Evening Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Some Enchanted Evening doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied. Note that merely playing a minion doesn't count as affecting it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Speed Reading Edit

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand. Do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Speed Reading doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Zzzzzap! Edit

Q: If I play this card, do I have to discard a card?

A: No. It's a "Do X to do Y" type of ability, so while it doesn't say "you may", doing X is actually optional![1]

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is more than 3), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't discard an additional card from your hand for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and is what led you to destroy a minion in the first place.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 3), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't discard an additional card from your hand for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and is what led you to destroy a minion in the first place.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 3), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't discard an additional card from your hand for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and is what led you to destroy a minion in the first place.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 3), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't discard an additional card from your hand for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and is what led you to destroy a minion in the first place.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artists are John Kovalic, who is well-known for drawing the art of many boardgames including Munchkin and several of its expansions, and Gong Studios, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • The font used for the Mage cards is Quasimodo.
  • An Orc is present on Embiggen.
  • Warriors are present on Wand Whiz, Recover Arcane Wisdom and Blaster Master
  • A Halfling is on Zzzzzap!
  • A Web Troll is present on Charm, Mass Summoning and Portal to Beyond.

In other languages Edit

Language Name Translation (if different) Note
French Magiciens Magicians
German Zauberer Wizards Same name as the Wizards from the Core Set
Russian Маги
Spanish Magos Same name as the Wizards from the Core Set


Smash Up: Munchkin

Factions: Clerics  •  Dwarves  •  Elves  •  Halflings  •  Mages  •  Orcs  •  Thieves  •  Warriors
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Monsters  •  Treasures

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Sheep!  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/17014769#17014769