FANDOM


Screen-shot-2017-06-14-at-10.24.53-am

Using spells and teamwork and weaponized cuteness they Smash Bases! - AEG

Moonlight, dreams, love, and starshine! OMG, it’s so kawaii!!!! The Magical Girls are undoubtedly cute, but they will surprise you with what they can do with their spells. And they work together as a team. Evil will have no chance against these girls.

- Big in Japan rulebook

The Magical Girls are one of the 4 factions from the Big in Japan set.

The Magical Girls have abilities that get better the more minions you have on the same base and also focus on getting back minions from the discard pile.

Other factions from the same set: Itty Critters, Kaiju, Mega Troopers.

Cards Edit

Magic Girls-0

The Magical Girls have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. They are also one of the rare factions to have a titan. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is slightly lower than usual at only 28 or an average of 2.8 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Minions Edit

1x Lunar Captain - power 5 - Talent: Choose a minion in your discard pile with power less than or equal to the number of your minions here, and place it into your hand. FAQ

1x Sakura Warrior - power 4 - Talent: Reduce a minion’s power here by the number of your minions here until the start of your next turn. FAQ

1x Technomagical Lass - power 4 - Talent: Destroy a minion you don’t control here with power less than or equal to the number of your minions here. FAQ

1x Bewitching Gal - power 3 - Talent: Reduce the breakpoint of this base by the number of your minions here until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Fancy Suit Lad - power 3 - Ongoing: Your other minions here are not affected by other players’ cards. FAQ

1x Power Maid - power 3 - Talent: Choose a minion with power less than or equal to the number of your minions here, and move it to or from here. FAQ

2x Rainbow Girl - power 2 - Your other minions here gain +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Black Magicat - power 1 - Search your deck and/or discard pile for Lunar Captain and place it into your hand. FAQ

1x White Magicat - power 1 - Search your deck and/or discard pile for Power Maid and place it into your hand. FAQ

Actions Edit

2x Celestial Teleport - Move one of your minions to another base. FAQ

2x Coordination - Play either an extra minion or Walking Castle. FAQ

1x Coronet Attack - Destroy a minion you don’t control with power less than or equal to the number of your minions at the same base. FAQ

1x Kiss the Sky Spell - Place a minion from your discard pile into your hand. You may play an extra action this turn. FAQ

1x Lunar Healing Love Spell - Choose a minion in each player’s discard pile and place it into its owner’s hand. FAQ

1x Magical Staff - Play on your minion. Ongoing: This minion gains +1 power. When this minion goes to the discard pile, place it on top of your deck instead. FAQ

1x Purge the Demon - Choose a card. Destroy an action on it, OR remove all counters on it. FAQ

1x Silver Shard - All players shuffle all minions in their discard piles into their decks. FAQ

Titan Edit

1x Walking Castle - Special: Instead of your regular minion play, you may play this card on a base where you have at least two minions. Ongoing: Your minions here cannot be destroyed by other players’ abilities. Talent: Move this titan and up to three of your minions here to another base. FAQ

Magical Girls

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Big in Japan rulebook:

Bewitching Gal, Sakura Warrior: The amount of reduction is calculated once, and does not change even if the number of minions there changes.

Black Magicat, White Magicat: It is now part of the rules that cards that tell you to search your deck also require that you reveal the card searched for, and shuffle your deck afterwards.

Walking Castle: You may play these instead of a regular minion play whether or not you have any minions in hand. No restrictions on minion play apply to titan play.

Purge the Demon: You may choose any card, including a base or a titan.

Mechanics Edit

The Magical Girls have several abilities that are proportional to the number of your minions on the same base. For example, some of their abilities can target a minion with a power less or equal to the number of your minions on the same base. So, the more minions you have on the same base, the better their abilities get.

Since you need to have at least two minions on the same base to start targetting the more common power-2 minions, this faction requires a few turns to set up, unless you manage to either get extra minion plays to improve their abilities faster, or get their titans in play to protect your minions in play.

Additionally, the Magical Girls have several abilities that can help you get back minions from your discard pile to keep your flow of minions going.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Lunar Captain Edit

Q: Do I count the number of minions in my discard pile or on Lunar Captain's base?

A: Lunar Captain's base.

Rule: "Here" means "on this base".


Questions on Sakura Warrior Edit

Q: If I reduce a minion's power here and if the minion or Sakura Warrior is later moved to another base on the same turn, does its power remain reduced?

A: Yes. When you use Sakura Warrior's talent, the minion's power is reduced by a set amount and that amount remains the same until the end of the turn, no matter what happens next.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Technomagical Lass Edit

Q: Does this mean I can destroy a minion with power N or less on any base, not exactly on the base where I have N minions?

A: No, her ability destroys a minion that you don't control on her base.

Rule: "Here" means "on this base".

Q: Why does it say "a minion you don't control"? Wouldn't it have be simpler to say "another player's minion"?

A: If it wasn't worded that way, you wouldn't be able to destroy an uncontrolled monster.

Rules: N/A


Questions on Bewitching Gal Edit

Q: If I reduce Bewitching Gal's base's breakpoint and later move Bewtiching Gal to another base, what happens to its former base's breakpoint and its new base's breakpoint?

A: Nothing. When you use Bewitching Gal's talent, its current base's breakpoint is reduced by a set amount and that amount remains the same and is applied to the same base until the end of the turn, no matter what happens next.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Fancy Suit Lad Edit

Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug (or Unfathomable Goals, Griefer, Out of Sight), forcing me to affect one of my minions. Can I choose one of my minions on the same base as Fancy Suit Lad (other than Fancy Suit Lad, of course)? If so, does Fancy Suit Lad protect it?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, since the cause of the affect is "another player's card", then yes, Fancy Suit Lad protects your minion.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.


Questions on Power Maid Edit

Q: Can I only target a minion on Power Maid's base?

A: You can target a minion on any base. If you choose a minion on a different base thatn Power Maid's, it can only be moved to Power Maid's base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Rainbow Girl Edit

Q: If I play Rainbow Girl and then play another minion there afterward, does the new minion get +1 power from the Rainbow Girl?

A: The official answer is yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: I play Rainbow Girl and boost my minions. If an opponent manages to take control of one of my minions before Rainbow Girl expires (e.g. The Base Is Not Enough, Can Has Cheeseburger?), does the minion keep its boost?

A: No. Rainbow Girl only boosts your minions. If one of them is later controlled by another player, it's no longer your minion and Rainbow Girl doesn't affect it anymore.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: If I play Rainbow Girl and then move a minion to the targeted base. Does the minion get +1 power from Rainbow Girl?

A: Yes. Its effect still persists until the end of the turn, so any minion on the targeted base gets the boost.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: If I play Rainbow Girl and then move another minion from the targeted base to another base. Does the minion lose the +1 power from Rainbow Girl?

A: Yes. Its effect still persists until the end of the turn, so any minion on the targeted base gets the boost and any minion moved away from it loses it.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: If I play Rainbow Girl and then move it to another base. Do my minions on the previous base lose the +1 power from Rainbow Girl and my minions on Rainbow Girl's new base get +1 power?

A: No and no. The targeted base is determined when and only when Rainbow Girl is played (it is an on-play ability after all). Even if Rainbow Girl is later moved to another base, the effect is still "tied" to Rainbow Girl's original base. Your minions on that base keep their +1 power; your minions on the other base do not get +1 power (including Rainbow Girl if it is moved to another base!)

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.


Questions on Black Magicat Edit

Q: It doesn't say to shuffle my deck, so I don't have to shuffle it at all, right?

A: No, you have to shuffle your deck because you searched through it. That's now an integral part of the rules.

Rule: After searching a deck it must be shuffled.

Q: It doesn't say to reveal the Lunar Captain, so how do I prove that I did take it?

A: Actually, you have to reveal it. It is now part of the rules that if you search your deck for a card, you must reveal it, even if the card doesn't specifically tell you to.

Rule: If you “search” a deck or discard pile for a card you must reveal the card chosen.


Questions on White Magicat Edit

Q: It doesn't say to shuffle my deck, so I don't have to shuffle it at all, right?

A: No, you have to shuffle your deck because you searched through it. That's now an integral part of the rules.

Rule: After searching a deck it must be shuffled.

Q: It doesn't say to reveal the Power Maid, so how do I prove that I did take it?

A: Actually, you have to reveal it. It is now part of the rules that if you search your deck for a card, you must reveal it, even if the card doesn't specifically tell you to.

Rule: If you “search” a deck or discard pile for a card you must reveal the card chosen.


Questions on Celestial Teleport Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Coordination Edit

Q: An opponent is playing with the Magical Girls. I manage to get their Coordination card (e.g. Trade, Mass Enchantment, Min-Maxing, Word of Recall) What happens if I choose the "play Walking Castle" option?

A: It depends. First, if you already control a titan, you won't be able to play another titan anyway. Second, if there's no Walking Castle out of play, you can't play it because it's already in play and you won't gain control of one that's already in play either as that's not what Coordination does. Other than that, if you are able to play a titan and if there's a Walking Castle that's currently out of play, you can play it and you have control of it, even if you're not that Walking Castle's owner.
Rule: If you play a titan you don't own, you get control of it.


Questions on Coronet Attack Edit

Q: Does this mean I can destroy a minion with power N or less on any base, not exactly on the base where I have N minions?

A: No, its ability destroys a minion you don't control on the same base as your N minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Why does it say "a minion you don't control"? Wouldn't it have be simpler to say "another player's minion"?

A: If it wasn't worded that way, you wouldn't be able to destroy an uncontrolled monster.

Rules: N/A


Questions on Kiss the Sky Spell Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Lunar Healing Love Spell Edit

Q: This card seems to essentially give its benefits to the opponents. What is the point in using it???

A: Remember that you're the one who chooses which minion each player will get, so you better play this card when your opponents (or most of them) have a weak minion in their discard pile while you have a strong one in yours. This way you'll get a better benefit than your opponents. It's also interesting to use against the Zombies, especially by placing a Tenacious Z back in its player's hand, therefore forcing them to use a minion play if they want to play it. It can also be interesting against the Ghosts: If the Ghost player manages to end their turn with only two cards in hand, you can put a third card in their hand to weaken their cards in play, such as Haunting or Door to the Beyond.s

Rule: N/A


Questions on Magical Staff Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Purge the Demon Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Silver Shard Edit

Q: This card seems to essentially give its benefits to the opponents. What is the point in using it???

A: It does give some benefit to your opponents, so you better use this card when you think you need it despite giving your opponents that advantage. For example, when most of your minions are in your discard pile and you won't be likely to draw one, it could be better to play this card rather than take the risk of running behind because you didn't manage to play a minion for a few turns. Alternatively, this card can be useful if an opponent relies on a well-organised deck (e.g. Grannies), thereby messing with their deck order, or if an opponent relies on having minions in the discard pile (e.g. Zombies).

Rule: N/A


Questions on Walking Castle Edit

Q: When I move Walking Castle using its talent, do the moved minions all go to the same base?

A: Yes. The card text says to move the minions and Walking Castle to "another base", i.e. one other base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: The card says "Special" so I can use it outside of my turn, but why does the card also say "instead of your regular minion play"?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Walking Castle, the condition is "instead of your regular minion play", this means that you can only activate it when you have a regular minion play available, which is only on your turn and more specifically on your Play Cards phase. It cannot be played out of turn, because, outside of your own Play Cards phase, you don't have any regular minion plays to give up.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: “Instead of your regular minion play” means instead of the normal minion play allowed during your Play Cards phase.
Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug (or Unfathomable Goals, Griefer), forcing me to destroy one of my minions. Can I choose one of my minions on the same base as Walking Castle? If so, does Walking Castle protect it?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, since the cause of the affect is "another player's ability", then yes, Walking Castle protects your minion from destruction.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.
Q: If there's a restriction on where I can play a minion (e.g. Ice Castle, Overrun), does it also apply to Walking Castle if I play it instead of my regular minion play?

A: No, such a restriction only applies when you play a minion. If you convert your regular minion play into a titan play, you're playing a titan, not a minion, so the restriction doesn't apply.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says, especially when clarified in the rulebook.

Q: Can I use its talent to move it and 0 of my minions to another base? Or do I have to move at least one of my minions if I have any there?

A: You can move Walking Castle alone whether or not you have minions on its base. You can move from 0 to 3 of your minions along with it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have Walking Castle there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. Walking Castle is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if Walking Castle had any +1 power counters on it or gave you any total power (e.g. on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.
Q: An opponent is playing with the Magical Girls. Their Walking Castle isn't in play. I have two minions on the same base and I haven't played my regular minion yet, I can then invoke Walking Castle through its Special ability and play it there, right?
A: No, it doesn't seem like it's the intention. Out of play, "you" on cards probably refers to the player who has them physically, i.e. in their discard pile, hand, next to their deck, etc. To be confirmed. TBD
Rule: TBD

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Francisco Rico Torres, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • This faction is based on the mahou shoujo subgenre of anime, most notably Sailor Moon.
  • Walking Castle is based on Howl's Moving Castle.

References Edit

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.