FANDOM


Screen-shot-2017-06-14-at-10.24.53-am

Using spells and teamwork and weaponized cuteness they Smash Bases! - AEG

Moonlight, dreams, love, and starshine! OMG, it’s so kawaii!!!! The Magical Girls are undoubtedly cute, but they will surprise you with what they can do with their spells. And they work together as a team. Evil will have no chance against these girls.

- Big in Japan rulebook

The Magical Girls are one of the 4 factions from the Big in Japan set.

The Magical Girls have abilities that get better the more minions you have on the same base and also focus on getting back minions from the discard pile.

Other factions from the same set: Itty Critters, Kaiju, Mega Troopers.

Cards Edit

Magic Girls-0

The Magical Girls have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. They are also one of the rare factions to have a titan. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is slightly lower than usual at only 28 or an average of 2.8 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 1 play-on-minion action: Magical Staff,
  • 0 play-on-base actions,
  • 9 standard actions (4 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Celestial Teleport (2x), Coordination (2x), Coronet Attack, Kiss the Sky Spell, Lunar Healing Love Spell, Purge the Demon, Silver Shard,
  • 1 action that directly increases a minion's power: Magical Staff.

Minions Edit

1x Lunar Captain - power 5 - Talent: Choose a minion in your discard pile with power less than or equal to the number of your minions here, and place it into your hand. FAQ

1x Sakura Warrior - power 4 - Talent: Reduce a minion’s power here by the number of your minions here until the start of your next turn. FAQ

1x Technomagical Lass - power 4 - Talent: Destroy a minion you don’t control here with power less than or equal to the number of your minions here. FAQ

1x Bewitching Gal - power 3 - Talent: Reduce the breakpoint of this base by the number of your minions here until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Fancy Suit Lad - power 3 - Ongoing: Your other minions here are not affected by other players’ cards. FAQ

1x Power Maid - power 3 - Talent: Choose a minion with power less than or equal to the number of your minions here, and move it to or from here. FAQ

2x Rainbow Girl - power 2 - Your other minions here gain +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Black Magicat - power 1 - Search your deck and/or discard pile for Lunar Captain and place it into your hand. FAQ

1x White Magicat - power 1 - Search your deck and/or discard pile for Power Maid and place it into your hand. FAQ

Actions Edit

2x Celestial Teleport - Move one of your minions to another base. FAQ

2x Coordination - Play either an extra minion or Walking Castle. FAQ

1x Coronet Attack - Destroy a minion you don’t control with power less than or equal to the number of your minions at the same base. FAQ

1x Kiss the Sky Spell - Place a minion from your discard pile into your hand. You may play an extra action this turn. FAQ

1x Lunar Healing Love Spell - Choose a minion in each player’s discard pile and place it into its owner’s hand. FAQ

1x Magical Staff - Play on your minion. Ongoing: This minion gains +1 power. When this minion goes to the discard pile, place it on top of your deck instead. FAQ

1x Purge the Demon - Choose a card. Destroy an action on it, OR remove all counters on it. FAQ

1x Silver Shard - All players shuffle all minions in their discard piles into their decks. FAQ

Titan Edit

1x Walking Castle - Special: Instead of your regular minion play, you may play this card on a base where you have at least two minions. Ongoing: Your minions here cannot be destroyed by other players’ abilities. Talent: Move this titan and up to three of your minions here to another base. FAQ

Magical Girls

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Big in Japan rulebook:

Bewitching Gal, Sakura Warrior: The amount of reduction is calculated once, and does not change even if the number of minions there changes.

Black Magicat, White Magicat: It is now part of the rules that cards that tell you to search your deck also require that you reveal the card searched for, and shuffle your deck afterwards.

Walking Castle: You may play these instead of a regular minion play whether or not you have any minions in hand. No restrictions on minion play apply to titan play.

Purge the Demon: You may choose any card, including a base or a titan.

Rainbow Girl: This does not affect minions played after this card. (added by The Bigger Geekier Box)

Mechanics Edit

The Magical Girls have several abilities that are proportional to the number of your minions on the same base. For example, some of their abilities can target a minion with a power less or equal to the number of your minions on the same base. So, the more minions you have on the same base, the better their abilities get.

Since you need to have at least two minions on the same base to start targeting the more common power-2 minions, this faction requires a few turns to set up, unless you manage to either get extra minion plays to improve their abilities faster, or get their titans in play to protect your minions in play.

Additionally, the Magical Girls have several abilities that can help you get back minions from your discard pile to keep your flow of minions going.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Lunar Captain Edit

Q: Do I count the number of minions in my discard pile or on Lunar Captain's base?

A: Lunar Captain's base.

Rule: "Here" means "on this base".

Q: I must consider the number of "my minions" on the base. Do minions I own that I don't control also count?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I already have ten cards in hand. What happens if I decide to use this talent? Do I place the chosen minion in my hand and immediately discard a card?

A: It is placed in your hand and you don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on Sakura Warrior Edit

Q: I must consider the number of "my minions" on the base. Do minions I own that I don't control also count?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If I reduce a minion's power here and if the minion or Sakura Warrior is later moved to another base on the same turn, does its power remain reduced?

A: Yes. When you use Sakura Warrior's talent, the minion's power is reduced by a set amount and that amount remains the same until the end of the turn, no matter what happens next.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Technomagical Lass Edit

Q: Does this mean I can destroy a minion with power N or less on any base, not exactly on the base where I have N minions?

A: No, her ability destroys a minion that you don't control on her base.

Rule: "Here" means "on this base".

Q: I must consider the number of "my minions" on the base. Do minions I own that I don't control also count?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Why does it say "a minion you don't control"? Wouldn't it have be simpler to say "another player's minion"?

A: If it wasn't worded that way, you wouldn't be able to destroy an uncontrolled monster.

Rules: N/A


Questions on Bewitching Gal Edit

Q: If I reduce Bewitching Gal's base's breakpoint and later move Bewitching Gal to another base, what happens to its former base's breakpoint and its new base's breakpoint?

A: Nothing. When you use Bewitching Gal's talent, its current base's breakpoint is reduced by a set amount and that amount remains the same and is applied to the same base until the end of the turn, no matter what happens next.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I must consider the number of "my minions" on the base. Do minions I own that I don't control also count?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".


Questions on Fancy Suit Lad Edit

Q: It protects "my other minions". Does it also protect minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug (or Unfathomable Goals, Griefer, Out of Sight), forcing me to affect one of my minions. Can I choose one of my minions on the same base as Fancy Suit Lad (other than Fancy Suit Lad, of course)? If so, does Fancy Suit Lad protect it?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, since the cause of the affect is "another player's card", then yes, Fancy Suit Lad protects your minion.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.


Questions on Power Maid Edit

Q: Can I only target a minion on Power Maid's base?

A: You can target a minion on any base. If you choose a minion on a different base than Power Maid's, it can only be moved to Power Maid's base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Rainbow Girl Edit

Q: If I play Rainbow Girl and then play another minion there afterward, does the new minion get +1 power from the Rainbow Girl?

A: The official answer is yes[1].

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box now rules that it only increases the power of minions currently in play at the time the card is played, and not the power of minions played afterwards.

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer card says.

Q: I play Rainbow Girl and boost my minions. If an opponent manages to take control of one of my minions before Rainbow Girl expires (e.g. The Base Is Not Enough, Can Has Cheeseburger?), does the minion keep its boost?

A: No. Rainbow Girl only boosts your minions. If one of them is later controlled by another player, it's no longer your minion and Rainbow Girl doesn't affect it anymore.

A: UPDATE. Because of how The Bigger Geekier Box now rules this card, Rainbow Girl should be treated as giving the +1 power to all your minions as a definitive effect, which means that the restriction that only your minions are affected only matters when Rainbow Girl is played. Afterwards, if the minion's controller changes the +1 power still remains applied to it until the end of the turn.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: If I play Rainbow Girl and then move a minion to the targeted base. Does the minion get +1 power from Rainbow Girl?

A: Yes. Its effect still persists until the end of the turn, so any minion on the targeted base gets the boost.

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box now rules that the power boost is granted as a definitive effect. The restriction to the base is only for when the card is played, so minions that didn't get the boost won't get it by later moving on the base.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: If I play Rainbow Girl and then move another minion from the targeted base to another base. Does the minion lose the +1 power from Rainbow Girl?

A: Yes. Its effect still persists until the end of the turn, so any minion on the targeted base gets the boost and any minion moved away from it loses it.

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box now rules that the power boost is granted as a definitive effect. The restriction to the base is only for when the card is played, so minions that got the boost still keep it if they are moved to a different base.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: If I play Rainbow Girl and then move it to another base. Do my minions on the previous base lose the +1 power from Rainbow Girl and my minions on Rainbow Girl's new base get +1 power?

A: No and no. The targeted base is determined when and only when Rainbow Girl is played (it is an on-play ability after all). Even if Rainbow Girl is later moved to another base or even removed from play, the minions that got the +1 power keep it, and the minions that didn't get it don't gain it.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: It gives +1 power to "my other minions". Does it also give +1 power to minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".


Questions on Black Magicat Edit

Q: It doesn't say to shuffle my deck, so I don't have to shuffle it at all, right?

A: No, you have to shuffle your deck because you searched through it. That's now an integral part of the rules.

Rule: After searching a deck it must be shuffled.

Q: It doesn't say to reveal the Lunar Captain, so how do I prove that I did take it?

A: Actually, you have to reveal it. It is now part of the rules that if you search your deck for a card, you must reveal it, even if the card doesn't specifically tell you to.

Rule: If you “search” a deck or discard pile for a card you must reveal the card chosen.

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on White Magicat Edit

Q: It doesn't say to shuffle my deck, so I don't have to shuffle it at all, right?

A: No, you have to shuffle your deck because you searched through it. That's now an integral part of the rules.

Rule: After searching a deck it must be shuffled.

Q: It doesn't say to reveal the Power Maid, so how do I prove that I did take it?

A: Actually, you have to reveal it. It is now part of the rules that if you search your deck for a card, you must reveal it, even if the card doesn't specifically tell you to.

Rule: If you “search” a deck or discard pile for a card you must reveal the card chosen.

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on Celestial Teleport Edit

Q: It tells me to move "one of my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it moves one of your minions away from Funky Town, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Coordination Edit

Q: An opponent is playing with the Magical Girls. I manage to get their Coordination card (e.g. Trade, Mass Enchantment, Min-Maxing, Word of Recall) What happens if I choose the "play Walking Castle" option?

A: It depends. First, if you already control a titan, you won't be able to play another titan anyway. Second, if there's no Walking Castle out of play, you can't play it because it's already in play and you won't gain control of one that's already in play either as that's not what Coordination does. Other than that, if you are able to play a titan and if there's a Walking Castle that's currently out of play, you can play it and you have control of it, even if you're not that Walking Castle's owner.

Rule: If you play a titan you don't own, you get control of it.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Coordination doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Coronet Attack Edit

Q: Does this mean I can destroy a minion with power N or less on any base, not exactly on the base where I have N minions?

A: No, its ability destroys a minion you don't control on the same base as your N minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I must consider the number of "my minions" on the base. Do minions I own that I don't control also count?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Why does it say "a minion you don't control"? Wouldn't it have be simpler to say "another player's minion"?

A: If it wasn't worded that way, you wouldn't be able to destroy an uncontrolled monster.

Rules: N/A

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of Diva's power.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if you destroy one of your minions there, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Kiss the Sky Spell Edit

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Kiss the Sky Spell doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Lunar Healing Love Spell Edit

Q: This card seems to essentially give its benefits to the opponents. What is the point in using it???

A: Remember that you're the one who chooses which minion each player will get, so you better play this card when your opponents (or most of them) have a weak minion in their discard pile while you have a strong one in yours. This way you'll get a better benefit than your opponents. It's also interesting to use against the Zombies, especially by placing a Tenacious Z back in its player's hand, therefore forcing them to use a minion play if they want to play it. It can also be interesting against the Ghosts: If the Ghost player manages to end their turn with only two cards in hand, you can put a third card in their hand to weaken their cards in play, such as Haunting or Door to the Beyond.

Rule: N/A

Q: What if playing this card makes it so a player (myself included) have more than ten cards in hand? Do those players have to immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Lunar Healing Love Spell doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Magical Staff Edit

Q: It tells me to play it on "my minion". Can I play it on a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I play this on a minion that I control but don't own. When it goes to the discard pile, it goes on the top of my deck, right? That's what's written.

A: No, since you don't own it, it goes on the top of the card's owner's deck.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: An opponent plays this card on one of their minions. If I transfer it to one of my minions, e.g. with Tinx or Rules Lawyer, I have control of it, so if my minion goes to the discard pile, it goes on top of my deck, right? Or does the "Play on your minions" prevent me from transferring it to my minions?

A: No, transferring an action doesn't make you its controller and transferring it to a different player's minion doesn't grant that player control of the action. The action's controller simply doesn't change. Also, you can transfer it to your minions; "Play on your minions" is simply a restriction for when the action is played, and is no longer relevant once the action is in play and doesn't further restricts how the action can be transferred (because transferring is different than playing!) So, the player who played it still controls it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "place" means "they place" and "your deck" means "their deck", but because of the general rule that cards go back to their owners, it should actually be understood as "the card's owner's deck". In summary, what you just did by transferring the action to your minion is make it so when your minion goes to the discard pile, that player places on the top of the minion's owner's deck.

Rule 1: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Rule 2: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Magical Staff says "Play on your minion", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Purge the Demon Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: If the effect is "Destroy an action on it", it doesn't interact with them at all, because Purge the Demon doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied. Yes, destroying an action affects that action, but not the card (minion or base) it is on.
If the effect is "remove all counters on it" and the chosen card is a minion:
- If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has all its +1 power counters on it removed, regardless of how many +1 power counters were directly removed (though it must be at least one, of course).
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has all its +1 power counters on it removed, regardless of how many +1 power counters were directly removed (though it must be at least one, of course).
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has all its +1 power counters on it removed, regardless of how many +1 power counters were directly removed (though it must be at least one, of course).
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and has all its +1 power counters on it removed, regardless of how many +1 power counters were directly removed (though it must be at least one, of course).

Rule: Definition of "affect".


Questions on Silver Shard Edit

Q: This card seems to essentially give its benefits to the opponents. What is the point in using it???

A: It does give some benefit to your opponents, so you better use this card when you think you need it despite giving your opponents that advantage. For example, when most of your minions are in your discard pile and you won't be likely to draw one, it could be better to play this card rather than take the risk of running behind because you didn't manage to play a minion for a few turns. Alternatively, this card can be useful if an opponent relies on a well-organized deck (e.g. Grannies), thereby messing with their deck order, or if an opponent relies on having minions in the discard pile (e.g. Zombies).

Rule: N/A

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Silver Shard doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Walking Castle Edit

Main article: Titans

Q: When I move Walking Castle using its talent, do the moved minions all go to the same base?

A: Yes. The card text says to move the minions and Walking Castle to "another base", i.e. one other base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: The card says "Special" so I can use it outside of my turn, but why does the card also say "instead of your regular minion play"?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Walking Castle, the condition is "instead of your regular minion play", this means that you can only activate it when you have a regular minion play available, which is only on your turn and more specifically on your Play Cards phase. It cannot be played out of turn, because, outside of your own Play Cards phase, you don't have any regular minion plays to give up.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: “Instead of your regular minion play” means instead of the normal minion play allowed during your Play Cards phase.

Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug (or Unfathomable Goals, Griefer), forcing me to destroy one of my minions. Can I choose one of my minions on the same base as Walking Castle? If so, does Walking Castle protect it?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, since the cause of the affect is "another player's ability", then yes, Walking Castle protects your minion from destruction.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Q: If there's a restriction on where I can play a minion (e.g. Ice Castle, Overrun), does it also apply to Walking Castle if I play it instead of my regular minion play?

A: No, such a restriction only applies when you play a minion. If you convert your regular minion play into a titan play, you're playing a titan, not a minion, so the restriction doesn't apply.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says, especially when clarified in the rulebook.

Q: Can I use its talent to move it and 0 of my minions to another base? Or do I have to move at least one of my minions if I have any there?

A: You can move Walking Castle alone whether or not you have minions on its base. You can move from 0 to 3 of your minions along with it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have Walking Castle there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. Walking Castle is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if Walking Castle had any +1 power counters on it or gave you any total power (e.g. on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: I need to "have at least two minions". Do minions that I own but don't control also count?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: An opponent is playing with the Magical Girls. Their Walking Castle isn't in play. I have two minions on the same base and I haven't played my regular minion yet, I can then invoke Walking Castle through its Special ability and play it there, right?

A: No, it doesn't seem like it's the intention. Out of play, "you" on cards probably refers to the player who has them physically, i.e. in their discard pile, hand, next to their deck, etc. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Francisco Rico Torres, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • The font used for the Magical Girls cards is WishMF.
  • This faction is based on the mahou shoujo subgenre of anime, most notably Sailor Moon.
  • Walking Castle is based on Howl's Moving Castle.

In other languages Edit

Language Name Translation (if different)
French Petites Magiciennes Little Girl Magicians
German Magische Mädchen


Big in Japan

Factions: Itty Critters  •  Kaiju  •  Magical Girls  •  Mega Troopers
Mechanics: Titans+1 Power Counters  •  Titans

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Sheep!  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/16247336#16247336