FANDOM


Screen-shot-2017-06-14-at-10.21.40-am

Martial arts, colorful uniforms, and when the time is right they morph combine into a giant robot! - AEG

Go go play on bases! Go go destroy minions! Go go Mega Troopers, You crazy Smash Up Mega Troopers! The Mega Troopers are the ultimate fighting team, snatching victory from the jaws of defeat. And should things get out of control, they can always call a giant frickin’ robot and auto-win. Which they should probably just do earlier in the fight, but whatever.

- Big in Japan rulebook

The Mega Troopers are one of the 4 factions from the Big in Japan set.

The Mega Troopers focus on Special abilities that trigger during a base scoring.

Other factions from the same set: Itty Critters, Kaiju, Magical Girls.

Cards Edit

Mega Troopers

The Mega Troopers have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. They are also one of the rare factions to have a titan. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion. Additionally, the Mega Troopers have numerous abilities that boost the power of minions beyond its base value.

Minions Edit

1x Red Trooper - power 5 - Talent: Play or move Megabot to here. FAQ

1x Blue Trooper - power 4 - Special: Before this base scores, this minion gains +2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Yellow Trooper - power 4 - Special: Before this base scores, you may move another one of your minions to here. FAQ

1x Black Trooper - power 3 - Ongoing: After a special ability is used, this minion gains +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Green Trooper - power 3 - Special: Before a base scores, you may play this minion there as an extra minion. FAQ

1x Pink Trooper - power 3 - Special: After this base scores, return one of your minions here of power 3 or less to your hand instead of the discard pile. FAQ

4x Beta 6 - power 2 - Special: Before this base scores, this minion gains +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Blitzing Sword Attack - Special: Before a base scores where you have a titan, if you are not winning there, destroy a minion there of power 4 or less. FAQ

2x Form Megabot! - Play or move Megabot to a base where you have at least two minions. FAQ

2x It’s Blitzin’ Time! - One of your minions gains +3 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Lightning Crystal - Destroy an action on a base or on a minion. FAQ

1x Lightning Rescue! - Special: Before a base scores, play an action as a special action. FAQ

1x Mega Attack - Destroy a minion with power less than the total power of your minions here. FAQ

1x Plan For More! - Reveal the top three cards of your deck. Draw any minions revealed; you may play one of them as an extra minion. Return the rest in any order. FAQ

1x Power Pose - Special: After a base scores where you were the winner, draw two cards. FAQ

Titan Edit

1x Megabot - Special: Instead of your regular minion play, you may play this card on a base where you have at least three minions. Ongoing: You have +1 power here for each of your minions here. Special: Before another base scores, you may move this titan to there. FAQ

Mega Troopers

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Big in Japan rulebook:

Black Trooper: This can trigger from any player’s special ability, and multiple times in a turn.

Megabot: You may play these instead of a regular minion play whether or not you have any minions in hand. No restrictions on minion play apply to titan play.

Mechanics Edit

The Mega Troopers have several Special abilities that activate before a base scores, allowing you to change the scoring to your advantage. Most of these abilities require their cards to be in play to use them, lessening the element of surprise, but a few, such as Green Trooper and Lightning Rescue! are much more unpredictable.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Red Trooper Edit

Q: My opponent has Megabot in play. I play Copycat to copy their Red Trooper's ability. Do I take control of their Megabot?

A: No. If you choose the "play Megabot" option, nothing happens because Megabot is already in play. So you will neither play, nor take control of it. That is, of course, if there's only one Megabot in the game, if there are two players using Mega Troopers and the second Megabot isn't in play, you can play that one and you will therefore control it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: My opponent has Megabot out of play, next to their deck. I play Copycat to copy their Red Trooper's ability. Am I then able to play their Megabot ? Do I have control of it then?
A: Yes and yes. That is if you don't already have control of a titan, in which case, you can't play a second one. Supposing you don't control any titan, you can indeed choose the "play Megabot" option and actually play it on Copycat's base (that's where "here" will refer to). SInce you've played it, you'll then have control of Megabot until that titan leaves play.

Rule: If you play a titan you don't own, you get control of it.
Q: An opponent is playing with the Mega Troopers. I manage to get their Red Trooper card (e.g. Trade, Critter Cube (that's absolutely feasible if you lower Red Trooper's power!)) What happens if I choose the "play Megabot" option?
A: It depends. First, if you already control a titan, you won't be able to play another titan anyway. Second, if there's no Megabot out of play, you can't play it because it's already in play and you won't gain control of one that's already in play either as that's not what Red Trooper does. Other than that, if you are able to play a titan and if there's a Megabot that's currently out of play, you can play it on Red Trooper's base and you have control of it, even if you're not that Megabot's owner.
Rule: If you play a titan you don't own, you get control of it.
Q: Is the restriction "to here" only for moving Megabot or also for playing it?

A: It's for both, whether you use Red Trooper's ability to move or play Megabot, it must be played on or moved to Red Trooper's base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Blue Trooper Edit

Q: The card says "Special" so I can play it outside of my turn, right?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Blue Trooper, the condition is "before this base scores", this means that you can only activate it before its base is scored, "its base" being the base it is currently on. Obviously, if Blue Trooper isn't in play, there's no "this base" that the condition can refer to. So Blue Trooper is actually a Special card that can only be used when it is in play.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: Abilities that say "Before this base scores" can only be activated if the card is on the scoring base, if the card is attached to a minion on the scoring base or if the card is the scoring base itself.


Questions on Yellow Trooper Edit

Q: The card says "Special" so I can play it outside of my turn, right?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Yellow Trooper, the condition is "before this base scores", this means that you can only activate it before its base is scored, "its base" being the base it is currently on. Obviously, if Yellow Trooper isn't in play, there's no "this base" that the condition can refer to. So Yellow Trooper is actually a Special card that can only be used when it is in play.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: Abilities that say "Before this base scores" can only be activated if the card is on the scoring base, if the card is attached to a minion on the scoring base or if the card is the scoring base itself.


Questions on Black Trooper Edit

Q: Before a base scores, I play Lightning Rescue! and an action, how many times does it get +1 power?

A: Twice. Once for Lightning Rescue, because you used its Special ability, and a second time for the other action, because it is played "as a special action".

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Before a base scores, I have a Mole there and use its ability to play an action, how many times does it get +1 power?

A: Once, for the action because it is played "as a special action". Mole's own ability is an Ongoing, not a Special ability.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Before a base scores, I play Hidden Ninja and a minion, how many times does it get +1 power?

A: Once, for Hidden Ninja, because you used its Special ability. The minion itself is not played as a Special.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Before a base scores, I play It's a Trap! and the revealed action, how many times does it get +1 power?

A: Once, for It's a Trap!, because you used its Special ability. The revealed action itself is not played as a Special.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Does it trigger when you use a Special ability that can't happen just to give it +1 power? For example, playing Live and Let Chum while there are no minions of power 3 or less on the base.

A: Yes. Even if the ability doesn't happen, it still counts as having been used. You've played it after all.
Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Does it trigger when you have to resolve a Special ability that says "you may" and choose not to do it? For example, Pirate King is in play before another base scores and Pirate King's controller chooses not to move it to there.

A: Yes, it still counts as having been resolved after all, so it was used by choosing the option not to do it.

Rule: When a "you may" ability is triggered and you choose not to do it, it still counts as having been resolved.


Questions on Green Trooper Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Pink Trooper Edit

Q: The card says "Special" so I can play it outside of my turn, right?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Pink Trooper, the condition is "after this base scores", this means that you can only activate it after its base is scored, "its base" being the base it is currently on. Obviously, if Pink Trooper isn't in play, there's no "this base" that the condition can refer to. So Pink Trooper is actually a Special card that can only be used when it is in play.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: Abilities that say "After this base scores" can only be activated if the card is on the scoring base, if the card is attached to a minion on the scoring base or if the card is the scoring base itself.

Q: Can I use Pink Trooper's ability on itself?

A: Yes, there's no such restrictions so it's a legal move.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Beta 6 Edit

Q: The card says "Special" so I can play it outside of my turn, right?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Beta 6, the condition is "before this base scores", this means that you can only activate it before its base is scored, "its base" being the base it is currently on. Obviously, if Beta 6 isn't in play, there's no "this base" that the condition can refer to. So Beta 6 is actually a Special card that can only be used when it is in play.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: Abilities that say "Before this base scores" can only be activated if the card is on the scoring base, if the card is attached to a minion on the scoring base or if the card is the scoring base itself.


Questions on Blitzing Sword Attack Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Form Megabot! Edit

Q: Is the restriction "to a base where you have at least two minions" only for moving Megabot or also for playing it?

A: It's for both, whether you use Form Megabot! to move or play Megabot, it must be played on or moved to a base where you control at least two minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: An opponent is playing with the Mega Troopers. I manage to get their Form Megabot! card (e.g. Trade, Mass Enchantment, Min-Maxing, Word of Recall) What happens if I choose the "play Megabot" option?
A: It depends. First, if you already control a titan, you won't be able to play another titan anyway. Second, if there's no Megabot out of play, you can't play it because it's already in play and you won't gain control of one that's already in play either as that's not what Form Megabot! does. Other than that, if you are able to play a titan and if there's a Megabot that's currently out of play, you can play it on a base where you have at least two minions and you have control of it, even if you're not that Megabot's owner.
Rule: If you play a titan you don't own, you get control of it.


Questions on It’s Blitzin’ Time! Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Lightning Crystal Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Lightning Rescue! Edit

Q: Before a base scores, I play Lightning Rescue! and an action, how many times does it get +1 power?

A: Twice. Once for Lightning Rescue, because you used its Special ability, and a second time for the other action, because it is played "as a special action".

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Mega Attack Edit

Q: Do I count my titan's power (e.g. Gorgodzolla, Rainboroc) or my power actions's power (e.g. Tail Smash, Aggromotive) on that base?

A: No, only your minions' power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Plan For More! Edit

Q: Does "any" here mean "any number of" or do I have to draw all minions revealed?

A: It means "all".

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Power Pose Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Megabot Edit

Q: The card says "Special" so I can use it outside of my turn, but why does the card also say "instead of your regular minion play"?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Megabot, the condition is "instead of your regular minion play", this means that you can only activate it when you have a regular minion play available, which is only on your turn and more specifically on your Play Cards phase. It cannot be played out of turn, because, outside of your own Play Cards phase, you don't have any regular minion plays to give up.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: “Instead of your regular minion play” means instead of the normal minion play allowed during your Play Cards phase.

Q: If there's a restriction on where I can play a minion (e.g. Ice Castle, Overrun), does it also apply to Megabot if I play it instead of my regular minion play?

A: No, such a restriction only applies when you play a minion. If you convert your regular minion play into a titan play, you're playing a titan, not a minion, so the restriction doesn't apply.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says, especially when clarified in the rulebook.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have Megabot there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. Megabot is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if Megabot had any +1 power counters on it or gave you any total power (e.g. on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.
Q: An opponent is playing with the Mega Troopers. Their Megabot isn't in play. I have three minions on the same base and I haven't played my regular minion yet, I can then invoke Megabot through its Special ability and play it there, right?
A: No, it doesn't seem like it's the intention. Out of play, "you" on cards probably refers to the player who has them physically, i.e. in their discard pile, hand, next to their deck, etc. To be confirmed. TBD
Rule: TBD

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Hinkle / Silva Art.
  • This faction is based on Super Sentai/Power Rangers.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.