FANDOM


SU3-WhispersInDarkness

Ph’nglui mglw’nafh Cthulhu R’lyeh wgah’nagl fhtagn! Ph’nglui mglw’nafh Cthulhu R’lyeh wgah’nagl fhtagn! Ph’nglui mglw’nafh Cthulhu R’lyeh wgah’nagl fhtagn!

- The Obligatory Cthulhu Set rulebook

The Minions of Cthulhu is one of the 4 factions from The Obligatory Cthulhu Set.

This faction embraces the madness. To use them effectively, you'll have to lose your sanity, symbolized by the act of drawing madness cards.

Other factions from the same set: Elder Things, Innsmouth, Miskatonic University.

Name Edit

Minions of cthulhu

AEG's website named this faction the Cthulhu Cultists.[1] However, The Obligatory Cthulhu Set rulebook and The Big Geeky Box named this faction the Minions of Cthulhu.

Cards Edit

The Minions of Cthulhu have only 8 minions and 12 actions compared to the usual 10 and 10. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is 22 or an average of 2.75 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3. They are also one of the rare factions to have received a titan from the TITANS Event Kit.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 3 play-on-base actions: Altar to Cthulhu, Complete the Ritual, Furthering the Cause,
  • 9 standard actions (2 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Corruption (2x), Cthulhu Fhtagn, It Begins Again, Madness Unleashed, Recruit by Force, The Seal is Broken, Whispers in Darkness (2x),
  • 0 actions that directly increase a minion's power.

Minions Edit

1x Star-Spawn of Cthulhu - power 5 - Talent: Place a Madness card from your hand into another player’s hand. FAQ

3x Cthulhu’s Chosen - power 3 - Special: Before a base scores, you may draw a Madness card. This minion gets +2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

4x Servitor of Cthulhu - power 2 - Talent: Destroy this minion and place an action card from your discard pile on top of your deck. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Altar to Cthulhu - Play on a base. Ongoing: Whenever you play a minion here, you may play an extra action that turn. (errata'd by The Bigger Geekier Box) FAQ

1x Complete the Ritual - Play on a base where you have at least one minion. Ongoing: At the start of your turn, place all minions and actions on it on the bottom of their owners’ decks and swap this base with the top card of the base deck. (errata'd by The Bigger Geekier Box) FAQ

2x Corruption - Draw a Madness card. Destroy a minion. FAQ

1x Cthulhu Fhtagn - Reveal cards from the top of your deck until you have revealed two actions. Place them into your hand and put the rest of the cards on the bottom of your deck. FAQ

1x Furthering the Cause - Play on a base. Ongoing: At the end of every turn, if another player’s minion here was destroyed, gain 1 VP. FAQ

1x It Begins Again - Shuffle any number of actions from your discard pile into your deck. FAQ

1x Madness Unleashed - Discard any number of Madness cards. For each one discarded, you may draw a card and play an extra action this turn. FAQ

1x Recruit by Force - Place any number of minions of power 3 or less from your discard pile on top of your deck. FAQ

1x The Seal is Broken - Draw a Madness card. Gain 1 VP. FAQ

2x Whispers in Darkness - Draw a Madness card. You may play two extra actions this turn. FAQ

Titan Edit

(available in each "Smash Up TITANS" pack released with the TITANS Event Kit)

1x Cthulhu - Special: Instead of your regular action play, draw two Madness cards to play this titan on a base with one of your minions. Ongoing: After you play or draw a Madness card place a +1 power counter on this titan. Talent: Draw a Madness card, OR place a Madness card from your hand into another player's hand. FAQ

Minions of Cthulhu

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Cthulhu: You do not place power counters on Cthulhu when you first play it.

Complete the Ritual: Actions played on minions also go to the bottom of their decks. You also place your own minions and actions on the bottom of their deck. Cards immune to the effects are discarded instead.

Cthulhu’s Chosen: This ability triggers no matter which base is being scored. It triggers each time a base scores. Draw a separate Madness card for each Cthulhu’s Chosen you want to receive the +2 power. You can draw no more than one Madness card per Cthulhu’s Chosen per trigger.

Furthering the Cause: You get 1 VP if at least one minion was destroyed during the turn, not 1 VP per minion destroyed.

Madness Unleashed: You must do all discarding before drawing anything. You may not continue discarding Madness cards after starting to draw cards.

Servitor of Cthulhu: If your attempt to destroy this card fails because it is protected from destruction, you still place the action card. Destroying a Servitor on R’lyeh counts either for the Servitor’s ability (during the Play Cards phase, to place an action card) or for R’lyeh’s ability (at the start of the turn, to earn 1VP), but not both.

Mechanics Edit

The Minions of Cthulhu have several very strong actions, but that require a form of "sacrifice", usually the drawing of a Madness card: Corruption can destroy a minion of any power, The Seal is Broken gives you 1 VP, Complete the Ritual can remove all the cards on a base,...

Similarly, their low-power minions are designed to give you an advantage at a cost. Interestingly, if you can make a Servitor of Cthulhu indestructible, you can use its talent and retrieve an action from your discard pile without having to destroy the Servitor.

While Madness cards are worth negative points at the end of the game, they have two cards that get advantage from your Madness cards. Their boss minion can give Madness cards to other players, though only one per turn, and Madness Unleashed "converts" all your Madness cards in your hand into a card draw and an extra action.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Star-Spawn of Cthulhu Edit

Q: Another player already has ten cards in their hand. I place a Madness card in their hand. Because they already have 10 cards, do I take it back? Is it discarded in their discarded pile instead? returned to the Madness deck? Do they keep it and choose which card to discard during my draw 2 cards phase?

A: It is placed in their hand and they don't discard any card until their next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, they will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if they have more than 10. That's the only moment where they must discard down to 10. At any other time, they keep their hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on Cthulhu’s Chosen Edit

Q: The card says "Special" so I can play it outside of my turn, right?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Cthulhu's Chosen, it's not inherently clear, but you can compare it to minions that are "really intended" to be played as Specials, e.g. Shinobi, Spectre, Tenacious Z, Green Trooper. Those all specifically use the keyword "play" to signify that they can be played as Specials. Cthulhu's Chosen doesn't have that keyword, therefore it must be already in play for you to use its Special ability.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Q: Drawing a Madness card and getting +2 power are independent, so before a base scores this minion gets +2 power without me having to draw a Madness card, right?

A: It's indeed worded that way, but the intention of the designer is for you to draw a Madness card to get the +2 power. This card should have been phrased "Special: Before a base scores, you may draw a Madness card to give this minion +2 power until the end of the turn."[2]

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: The card doesn't specify that its ability activated before its base score but before a base. Can I activate its ability before any base scores?

A: Sure. Before any base scores, you can draw a Madness card to give it +2 power. Then, on the same Score Bases phase, if another base scores, you can draw a second Madness card to give it an additional +2 power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Before one base scores, can I activate the ability of one Cthulhu's Chosen multiple times?

A: No, just once per scoring base.[3]

Rule: When an ability is triggered, it's resolved once per trigger.

Q: A base is scoring and I have a Cthulhu's Chosen in play. I already have ten cards in hand. Can I activate Cthulhu's Chosen's ability? What happens if I draw a Madness card? Do I immediately discard it? Or do I draw it and immediately choose a card to discard?

A: You draw it and don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So, if the base scored on another player's turn, you don't discard any card and will then be able to play your next turn with more than ten cards in hand.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: Before its base scores, during the step where before-scoring abilities in play are resolved, I have the opportunity to use Cthulhu's Chosen but chose not to draw a Madness card, e.g. because I'm already winning. However, an opponent then plays a card to change the scoring and I'm no longer winning. Can I now activate Cthulhu's Chosen's ability? I haven't activated it yet after all.

A: No. When you're resolving an ability that says "you may" and you choose not to do it, it still counts as having resolved the ability. In the case of Cthulhu's Chosen, you choosing not to draw a Madness card counts towards its once-per-base activation.

Rule 1: When an ability is triggered, it's resolved once per trigger.

Rule 2: When a "you may" ability is triggered and you choose not to do it, it still counts as having been resolved.


Questions on Servitor of Cthulhu Edit

Q: If Servitor of Cthulhu has any ability such as Überserum or General Ivan in play, can it still use its talent to place an action card without having itself getting destroyed?

A: Yes. Destroying it and retrieving the action are independent, so you can retrieve an action even if Servitor of Cthulhu cannot be destroyed.

Rule 1: Cards are resolved entirely.

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".


Questions on Altar to Cthulhu Edit

Q: It's not Ongoing. So, is it really there for just one turn, or is it a misprinted ongoing action? It seems a bit weird that it isn't Ongoing.

A: The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook gave it an erratum. It now says "Ongoing".

Rule: Check Altar to Cthulhu's erratum.

Q: If I manage to play several minions on a base with Altar of Cthulhu, do I get that many extra actions?

A: There's no "once per turn" or "first minion played" restrictions, so yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I play a minion there, I get an extra action, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent).

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Altar of Cthulhu, do I still get the extra action play?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Altar to Cthulhu says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Complete the Ritual Edit

Q: Isn't this supposed to be Ongoing? Otherwise, its effect can't happen at all.

A: The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook gave it an erratum. It now says "Ongoing".

Rule: Check Complete the Ritual's erratum.

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base. My turn is next, so at the start of my turn, Complete the Ritual is activated, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your turn" means "their turn".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: If I'm the one who plays Complete the Ritual, are my minions immune to it?

A: No. The card tells you to remove all minions on the base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have to play this on a base "where I have at least one minion". Can I play it on a base where there are only minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Where you have at least one minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: An opponent plays Complete the Ritual on a base where they have only one minion. If I get rid of their minions there, is Complete the Ritual discarded?

A: No. "Play on a base where you have at least one minion" is only a requirement for playing the card. Once it's in play, it remains there until something explicitly removes it.

Rule: Actions played on a card (minion or base) remain in play as long as the card remains in play.

Q: My minions can't be destroyed, so are they immune to Complete the Ritual?

A: No. Complete the Ritual "places" minions, it doesn't "destroy" them.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: My minions can't be affected by Complete the Ritual, what happens to them?

A: Since the current base leaves play, the remaining cards on it that weren't placed on the bottom of a deck must be discarded, so your minions will be discarded and that's not Complete the Ritual affecting them, but a general rule when a base is removed from play.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard attachments.

Q: What happens to actions played on the minions?

A: Despite its wording, The Bigger Geekier Box clarifies that they go to the bottom of their owner's deck as well.

Rule: Check Complete the Ritual's clarification.

Q: What does Complete the Ritual do to monsters?

A: Since Complete the Ritual places the cards under their owners' deck, the monsters are not affected by it. However, because the current base leaves play, the remaining cards on it that weren't placed on the bottom of a deck must be discarded.

Rule 1: Cards that refer to a minion’s owner do not apply to monsters.

Rule 2: When a card leaves play, discard attachments.

Q: Where do I put the targeted base?

A: It's swapped with the top base of the base deck, so it ends on top of the base deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Complete the Ritual says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Corruption Edit

Q: Does this mean destroy any of your minions, any minion in play, or a minion in your hand?

A: Any minion in play.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you don't draw a second Madness card for Diva, because that part was already resolved before the part that you can copy.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you don't draw a second Madness card for that minion, because that part was already resolved before the part that you can copy.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you don't draw a second Madness card for that minion, because that part was already resolved before the part that you can copy.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you don't draw a second Madness card for that minion, because that part was already resolved before the part that you can copy.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Cthulhu Fhtagn Edit

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's an action, it goes to its owner's hand, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.
- If it's a minion, it goes to the bottom of its owner's deck, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Cthulhu Fhtagn doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Furthering the Cause Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if a minion there is destroyed, does every player gain 1 VP? It's a base action after all, so everyone benefits from it.

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So only they gain 1 VP if one of their opponents' minions is destroyed.

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: A minion was destroyed on Furthering the Cause's base, so from now on I gain 1 VP at the end of every turn because of that one destruction, right? It doesn't say when the destruction must have occurred.

A: No. You gain 1 VP at the end of a turn if a successful destruction occurred during that turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I destroy a minion on a base, then play Furthering the Cause on it. At the end of the turn, do I get 1 VP even though Furthering the Cause was played after the destruction?

A: Yes. Furthering the Cause isn't triggered by the destruction, rather it asks a question at the end of a turn whether a minion was destroyed here or not during that turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: A minion is destroyed while Furthering the Cause was on the base. Before the end of the turn, Furthering the Cause is removed from play or moved to another base where no destruction occurred. Do I still get 1 VP because Furthering the Cause was triggered by the destruction?

A: No. Furthering the Cause isn't triggered by the destruction, rather it asks a question at the end of a turn whether a minion was destroyed here or not during that turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If several minions are destroyed during a turn, either because of the same card, or because of separate abilities, how many VPs would I get from Furthering the Cause?

A: Only one. No matter how many minions are destroyed, as long as there's at least one, you gain just 1 VP.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: During one turn, one destruction attempt was made, but it was foiled, e.g. because the minion is immune. Does it still trigger Furthering the Cause and I get 1 VP at the end of my turn?

A: No, Furthering the Cause checks at the end of every turn if another player's minion here was actually destroyed. If not, then no VP;

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Furthering the Cause says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on It Begins Again Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because It Begins Again doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Madness Unleashed Edit

Q: When I play this, do the Madness cards go to my discard pile or the Madness deck?

A: It says to discard them, so they go to your discard pile.

Rule: If you discard a Madness card, it goes into your discard pile.

Q: For a Madness card I discard, can I just play the extra action without drawing a card? It says "you may" after all.

A: No. It doesn't say "you may draw a card and you may play an extra action this turn." So, if you choose to do the "you may", you then have to do all of it. Playing the extra action is actually optional though, but the card drawing is definitely mandatory if you choose to do the "you may".

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.

Q: If I discard more than one Madness card, how many cards do I draw and how many extra actions can I play?

A: Short answer: The number of cards you can draw is from 0 up to the number of discarded Madness cards, and the number of extra actions you can play is from 0 up to the number of cards you've drawn. Long answer: For each Madness card you discarded, you get the option to draw a card and play an extra action. Each time you decide to take that option, you must both draw a card and you get an extra action play that you can either bank or immediately play while Madness Unleashed is still resolving. So, the number of times you've decided to take the option matches the number of cards you've drawn, because it is mandatory each time you take it. That number also matches the number of extra action plays you've gained, but since playing them is optional, you don't have to play them all and so the maximum number of extra actions you can play matches the number of drawn cards. For example, if you discard 5 Madness cards and you decide to use the option four times, you will draw exactly 4 cards and can play at most four extra actions. If you've decided to use the option three times, you will draw 3 cards and can play at most three extra actions. Etc.

Rule 1: Extra cards are always optional.

Rule 2: Extra cards can always be played immediately.

Q: I play Madness Unleashed. I discard one Madness card in total, so I draw a card and get one extra action play. If I've drawn a Madness card, can I discard it to draw another card and get another extra action play?

A: No. You first have to discard all the Madness card you want to discard, before you can move on to deciding how many cards you want to draw.

Rule: Check Madness Unleashed' clarification.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Madness Unleashed doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Recruit by Force Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Recruit by Force doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on The Seal is Broken Edit

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because The Seal is Broken doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Whispers in Darkness Edit

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Whispers in Darkness doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Cthulhu Edit

Main article: Titans

Q: The card says "Special" so I can use it outside of my turn, but why does the card also say "instead of your regular action play"?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Cthulhu, the condition is "instead of your regular action play", this means that you can only activate it when you have a regular action play available, which is only on your turn and more specifically on your Play Cards phase. It cannot be played out of turn, because, outside of your own Play Cards phase, you don't have any regular action plays to give up.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: “Instead of your regular action play” means instead of the normal action play allowed during your Play Cards phase.

Q: Cthulhu can only be played on a base with "one of my minions". Can I choose a base with a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Since I need to draw Madness cards to play it, does Cthulhu get +1 power counters from those two drawn Madness cards?

A: No, you draw the Madness cards before Cthulhu comes into play, so it didn't "witness" you drawing the madness cards.

Rule: Check Cthulhu's clarification.

Q: If there's a restriction on where I can play an action (e.g. The Dread Gazebo, Magic Ward), does it also apply to Cthulhu if I play it instead of my regular action play?

A: No, such a restriction only applies when you play an action. If you convert your regular action play into a titan play, you're playing a titan, not an action, so the restriction doesn't apply.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says, especially when clarified in the rulebook.

Q: What happens to Cthulhu when the base that it's on scores?

A: It remains on that base until the step where you discard all the cards on the base. At which point it leaves play and is set aside. Any +1 power counter on it is removed.

Rule 1: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards on the scored base are discarded simultaneously.

Rule 2: If, for whatever reasons, a titan must leave play, it's actually set aside near its owner's deck and any +1 power counters on it are removed.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have Cthulhu there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. Cthulhu is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if Cthulhu had any +1 power counters on it or gave you any total power (e.g. on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: An opponent is playing the Minions of Cthulhu with their titan. Their Cthulhu isn't in play. I have a minion on a base and I haven't played my regular action yet, I can then invoke Cthulhu through its Special ability and play it there, right?

A: No, it doesn't seem like it's the intention. Out of play, "you" on cards probably refers to the player who has them physically, i.e. in their discard pile, hand, next to their deck, etc. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: Its Ongoing ability is annoying. I have to draw a Madness card or play it to draw two cards to give it a +1 power counter.

A: Actually, when you play a Madness card, you have the option to either draw two cards or return the Madness card to the Madness deck. So if you play a Madness card to return it to the Madness deck, it also counts as you playing a Madness card and will therefore give a +1 power counter to Cthulhu.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: After playing this card or using its talent to draw a Madness card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: If I place a Madness card into another player's hand, either because of Cthulhu or Star-Spawn of Cthulhu, does it also allow me to place a +1 power counter on Cthulhu?

A: No. Cthulhu only gets a +1 power counter after you either draw or play a Madness card. Placing a Madness into another player's hand doesn't count as either.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I return a Madness card to the Madness deck, either because of a Psychologist or because of the Madness card itself, does it also allow me to place a +1 power counter on Cthulhu?

A: Because of the Madness card itself, yes, because you played it to return it. Because another card tells you to return it, no, because you neither drew, nor played a Madness card.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If Cthulhu's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed on it by its own ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled).

Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: Does Mark of Sleep prevent Cthulhu from being played?

A: Yes, since Mark of Sleep makes the player unable to play actions, they don't have any regular action to give away to play Cthulhu.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Brian Hagan, while the art for Cthulhu Fhtagn was designed by Alex Konstad.
  • The artist for the titan (which was released after The Obligatory Cthulhu Set) is Alberto Tavira, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • The chant "Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn." means "In his house at R'lyeh, dead Cthulhu waits dreaming.".[4] The shortened version "Cthulhu fhtagn" means "Cthulhu sleeps".

In other languages Edit

Language Name
French Serviteurs de Cthulhu
German Schergen Cthulhus
Italian Seguaci di Cthulhu
Russian Ктулхупоклонники
Spanish Sectarios de Cthulhu


The Obligatory Cthulhu Set

Factions: Elder Things  •  Innsmouth  •  Minions of Cthulhu  •  Miskatonic University
Mechanics: Madness  •  Titans (optional, since the TITANS Event Kit)

TITANS Event Kit

Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Madness  •  Titans

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Sheep!  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. http://www.alderac.com/smashup/products/the-obligatory-cthulhu-set/
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/13485033#13485033
  3. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/19207251#19207251
  4. https://en.wikisource.org/wiki/The_Call_of_Cthulhu/Chapter_II