FANDOM


Cthulhus chosen

Ph’nglui mglw’nafh Cthulhu R’lyeh wgah’nagl fhtagn! Ph’nglui mglw’nafh Cthulhu R’lyeh wgah’nagl fhtagn! Ph’nglui mglw’nafh Cthulhu R’lyeh wgah’nagl fhtagn!

- The Obligatory Cthulhu Set rulebook

The Minions of Cthulhu is one of the 4 factions from The Obligatory Cthulhu Set.

This faction embraces the madness. To use them effectively, you'll have to lose your sanity, symbolized by the act of drawing madness cards.

Name Edit

Minions of cthulhu

AEG's website named this faction the Cthulhu Cultists.[1] However, The Obligatory Cthulhu Set rulebook and The Big Geeky Box named this faction the Minions of Cthulhu.

Cards Edit

The Minions of Cthulhu have only 8 minions and 12 actions compared to the usual 10 and 10. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is 22 or an average of 2.75 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Minions Edit

1x Star-Spawn of Cthulhu - power 5 - Talent: Place a Madness card from your hand into another player's hand.

3x Cthulhu's Chosen - power 3 - Special: Before a base scores, you may draw a Madness card. This minion gets +2 power until the end of the turn.

4x Servitor of Cthulhu - power 2 - Talent: Destroy this minion and place an action card from your discard pile on top of your deck.

Actions Edit

1x Altar to Cthulhu - Play on a base. Whenever you play a minion here, you may play an extra action that turn.

1x Complete the Ritual - Play on a base where you have at least one minion. At the start of your turn, place all minions and actions on it on the bottom of their owners' decks and swap this base with the top card of the base deck.

2x Corruption - Draw a Madness card. Destroy a minion.

1x Cthulhu Fhtagn - Reveal cards from the top of your deck until you have revealed two actions. Place them into your hand and put the rest of the cards on the bottom of your deck.

1x Furthering the Cause - Play on a base. Ongoing: At the end of every turn, if another player's minion here was destroyed, gain 1 VP.

1x It Begins Again - Shuffle any number of actions from your discard pile into your deck.

1x Madness Unleashed - Discard any number of Madness cards. For each one discarded, you may draw a card and play an extra action this turn.

1x Recruit by Force - Place any number of minions of power 3 or less from your discard pile on top of your deck.

1x The Seal is Broken - Draw a Madness card. Gain 1 VP.

2x Whispers in Darkness - Draw a Madness card. You may play two extra actions this turn.

Minions of Cthulhu

BasesEdit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Star-Spawn of Cthulhu Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Cthulhu's Chosen Edit

Q: Drawing a Madness card and getting +2 power are independent, so before a base scores this minion gets +2 power without me having to draw a Madness card, right?

A: It's indeed worded that way, but the intention of the designer is for you to draw a Madness card to get the +2 power. This card should have been phrased "Special: Before a base scores, you may draw a Madness card to give this minion +2 power until the end of the turn."[2]

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: The card doesn't specify that its ability activated before its base score but before a base. Can I activate its ability before any base scores?

A: Sure. Before any base scores, you can draw a Madness card to give it +2 power. Then, on the same Score Bases phase, if another base scores, you can draw a second Madness card to give it an additional +2 power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Before one base scores, can I activate the ability of one Cthulhu's Chosen multiple times?

A: No, just once per scoring base.[3]

Rule: When an ability is triggered, it's resolved once per trigger.

Q: Before its base scores, during the step where before-scoring abilities in play are resolved, I have the opportunity to use Cthulhu's Chosen but chose not to draw a Madness card, e.g. because I'm already winning. However, an opponent then plays a card to change the scoring and I'm no longer winning. Can I now activate Cthulhu's Chosen's ability? I haven't activated it yet after all.

A: No. When you're resolving an ability that says "you may" and you choose not to do it, it still counts as having resolved the ability. In the case of Cthulhu's Chosen, you choosing not to draw a Madness card counts towards its once-per-base activation.

Rule 1: When an ability is triggered, it's resolved once per trigger.

Rule 2: When a "you may" ability is triggered and you choose not to do it, it still counts as having been resolved.


Questions on Servitor of Cthulhu Edit

Q: If Servitor of Cthulhu has any ability such as Überserum or General Ivan in play, can it still use its talent to place an action card without having itself getting destroyed?

A: Yes. Destroying it and retrieving the action are independent, so you can retrieve an action even if Servitor of Cthulhu cannot be destroyed.

Rule 1: Cards are resolved entirely.

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".


Questions on Altar to Cthulhu Edit

Q: It's not Ongoing. So, is it really there for just one turn, or is it a misprinted ongoing action? It seems a bit weird that it isn't Ongoing.

A: This clearly seems like an oversight. The intention is probably that it can be triggered at any time, and therefore it should have been phrased "Play on a base. Ongoing: Whenever you play a minion here, you may play an extra action that turn."

Rule: TBD

Q: If I manage to play several minions on a base with Altar of Cthulhu, do I get that many extra actions?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I play a minion there, I get an extra action, right?
A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent).
Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.


Questions on Complete the Ritual Edit

Q: Isn't this supposed to be Ongoing? Otherwise, its effect can't happen at all.

A: You're right. This seems like an oversight and the card should have been phrased "Play on a base where you have at least one minion. Ongoing: At the start of your turn, place all minions and actions on it on the bottom of their owners' decks and swap this base with the top card of the base deck."

Rule: TBD
Q: An opponent plays this card on a base. My turn is next, so at the start of my turn, Complete the Ritual is activated, right?
A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your turn" means "their turn".
Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.
Q: If I'm the one who plays Complete the Ritual, are my minions immune to it?

A: No. The card tells you to remove all minions on the base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: An opponent plays Complete the Ritual on a base where they have only one minion. If I get rid of their minions there, is Complete the Ritual discarded?

A: No. "Play on a base where you have at least one minion" is only a requirement for playing the card. Once it's in play, it remains there until something explicitly removes it.

Rule: Actions played on a card (minion or base) remain in play as long as the card remains in play.

Q: My minions can't be destroyed, so are they immune to Complete the Ritual?

A: No. Complete the Ritual "places" minions, it doesn't "destroy" them.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What happens to actions played on the minions?

A: They are discarded. Only actions played on the base go to the bottom of their owners' deck, not actions played on minions on the base.

Rule 1: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Rule 2: When a card leaves play, discard attachments.

Q: What does Complete the Ritual do to monsters?

A: Nothing. The monsters remain and go on the base that replaces the other one.

Rule: Cards that refer to a minion’s owner do not apply to monsters.

Q: Where do I put the targeted base?

A: It's swapped with the top base of the base deck, so it ends on top of the base deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Corruption Edit

Q: Does this mean destroy any of your minions, any minion in play, or a minion in your hand?

A: Any minion in play.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".


Questions on Cthulhu Fhtagn Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Furthering the Cause Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if a minion there is destroyed, does every player gain 1 VP? It's a base action after all, so everyone benefits from it.

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So only they gain 1 VP if one of their opponents' minions is destroyed.
Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.
Q: A minion was destroyed on Furthering the Cause's base, so from now on I gain 1 VP at the end of every turn because of that one destruction, right? It doesn't say when the destruction must have occured.

A: No. You gain 1 VP at the end of a turn if a successful destruction occured during that turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I destroy a minion on a base, then play Furthering the Cause on it. At the end of the turn, do I get 1 VP even though Furthering the Cause was played after the destruction?

A: Yes. Furthering the Cause isn't triggered by the destruction, rather it asks a question at the end of a turn whether a minion was destroyed here or not during that turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: A minion is destroyed while Furthering the Cause was on the base. Before the end of the turn, Furthering the Cause is removed from play or moved to another base where no destruction occurred. Do I still get 1 VP because Furthering the Cause was triggered by the destruction?

A: No. Furthering the Cause isn't triggered by the destruction, rather it asks a question at the end of a turn whether a minion was destroyed here or not during that turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If several minions are destroyed during a turn, either because of the same card, or because of separate abilities, how many VP would I get from Furthering the Cause?

A: Only one. No matter how many minions are destroyed, as long as there's at least one, you gain just 1 VP.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: During one turn, one destruction attempt was made, but it was foiled, e.g. because the minion is immune. Does it still trigger Furthering the Cause and I get 1 VP at the end of my turn?

A: No, Furthering the Cause checks at the end of every turn if another player's minion here was actually destroyed. If not, then no VP;

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on It Begins Again Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Madness Unleashed Edit

Q: When I play this, do the Madness cards go to my discard pile or the Madness deck?

A: It says to discard them, so they go to your discard pile.

Rule: If you discard a Madness card, it goes into your discard pile.


Questions on Recruit by Force Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on The Seal is Broken Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Whispers in Darkness Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:

Trivia Edit

  • The chant "Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn." means "In his house at R'lyeh, dead Cthulhu waits dreaming.".[4] The shortened version "Cthulhu fhtagn" means "Cthulhu sleeps".

References Edit

  1. http://www.alderac.com/smashup/products/the-obligatory-cthulhu-set/
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/13485033#13485033
  3. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/19207251#19207251
  4. https://en.wikisource.org/wiki/The_Call_of_Cthulhu/Chapter_II

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.