FANDOM


This page is about the faction. For the base of the same name, see Miskatonic University (base).
SU3-Librarian

Go ‘Pods! Go ‘Pods! Welcome to your first days at Miskatonic University! We will shape you into a student of the sciences both natural and... otherwise. Certainly our courses seem intense, but there always has to be a small sacrifice for knowledge. “Ex Ignorantia Ad Sapientiam; E Luce Ad Tenebras.”

- The Obligatory Cthulhu Set rulebook

The Miskatonic University is one of the 4 factions from The Obligatory Cthulhu Set.

This faction plays around with madness. You gain advantage from drawing Madness cards and discarding them (into your discard pile). Fortunately, they can also get rid of their Madness by returning them to the Madness deck.

Other factions from the same set: Elder Things, Innsmouth, Minions of Cthulhu.

Cards Edit

Miskatonic university

The Miskatonic University has the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 1 play-on-base action: Gate to Beyond,
  • 9 standard actions (4 that affect one or more minions, in bold): “Old Man Jenkins!?”, ... It Just Might Work, Field Trip (2x), Jinkies! (2x), That’s So Crazy..., Things Best Not Known, Those Meddling Kids,
  • 3 actions that directly increase a minion's power: ... It Just Might Work, That’s So Crazy..., Things Best Not Known.

Minions Edit

1x Professor - power 5 - Talent: Discard a Madness card. If you do, you may play an extra action and/or an extra minion. FAQ

2x Librarian - power 4 - Talent: Discard a Madness card. If you do, draw a card. FAQ

3x Psychologist - power 3 - You may return a Madness card from your hand or discard pile to the Madness deck. FAQ

4x Researcher - power 2 - You may draw a Madness card. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x “Old Man Jenkins!?” - Special: Before a base scores, destroy a minion with the highest power there. FAQ

1x ... It Just Might Work - Discard a Madness card to give each of your minions +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

2x Field Trip - Place any number of cards from your hand on the bottom of your deck and draw a card for each card you place there. FAQ

1x Gate to Beyond - Play on a base. Talent: Draw a Madness card. You may play an extra minion here. FAQ

2x Jinkies! - Return up to 2 Madness cards from your hand or discard pile to the Madness deck. FAQ

1x That’s So Crazy... - Draw a Madness card. Each of your minions has +1 power until the end of the turn. You may play an extra action this turn. FAQ

1x Things Best Not Known - Special: Before a base scores, choose a minion there. Draw up to 3 Madness cards. That minion gets +2 power for each Madness card you draw. FAQ

1x Those Meddling Kids - Destroy any number of actions played on one base. FAQ

Miskatonic University-0

Bases Edit


Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Gate to Beyond: If you use its talent, you must draw a Madness card, whether or not you play an extra minion.

Jinkies!: The “or” is inclusive: the Madness cards don’t have to come from the same source.

... It Just Might Work, Librarian, Professor: Discarding a Madness card means placing it in your discard pile, not in the Madness deck.

That’s So Crazy..., ... It Just Might Work: The +1 power only affects minions currently in play, not those played later in the turn.

Things Best Not Known: The power boost lasts until the end of the turn.

Mechanics Edit

Miskatonic University revolves around drawing and discarding Madness cards to do some effects, namely power boosts, card draws and extra card plays. Remember that when you discard a Madness card, it goes into your discard pile, not the Madness deck!

Madness cards and Field Trip are also good to draw more cards and cycle through your deck to get your strong cards out. In fact, they also have very strong cards: Things Best Not Known can give +6 power to a minion, "Old Man Jenkins!?" can destroy the strongest minion on a base before it scores, Professor virtually allows you to take an extra turn,...

To avoid getting too overwhelmed with Madness cards, they also have some cards that allow you to return Madness cards from your hand and/or discard pile into the Madness deck.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Professor Edit

Q: Before a base scores, if I manage to play Professor (e.g. Hidden Ninja), can I use its talent?

A: No. Talents can only be used during the Play Cards phase. Here, you're clearly in the Score Bases phase.

Rule: A talent can only be used during your Play Cards phase.

Q: When I use its talent (e.g. if it's on Changing Room), if I don't have any Madness card in my hand, how do I prove it?

A: Good question. Officially, with "Do X to do Y" abilities, doing X is always optional, but this ability is not worded that way. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Librarian Edit

Q: If I play this minion on the Mountains of Madness, can I discard the Madness card gained from the base with the minion or is the minion's ability resolved first?

A: This minion's only ability is a talent. When you play a minion, you indeed resolve its abilities, but a talent is never resolved from playing a minion. So, when you play a Librarian, you resolve its ability (i.e. you do nothing). Then; you trigger card reactions, so Mountains of Madness make you draw a Madness card. If you want to, you can now activate the Librarian's talent and discard the Madness card.

Rule: When you play a card, an ability that starts with "Talent:" is never resolved immediately.

Q: When I use its talent, does the Madness card go to my discard pile or the Madness deck?

A: It says to discard it, so it goes to your discard pile.

Rule: If you discard a Madness card, it goes into your discard pile.

Q: When I use its talent (e.g. if it's on Changing Room), if I don't have any Madness card in my hand, how do I prove it?

A: Good question. Officially, with "Do X to do Y" abilities, doing X is always optional, but this ability is not worded that way. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Psychologist Edit

Q: If I play this minion on the Mountains of Madness, can I return the Madness card gained from the base with the minion or is the minion's ability resolved first?

A: When you play a minion, you must resolve its ability immediately before resolving any abilities triggered from playing the minion. So the Psychologist's ability is resolved before you draw the Madness card from the Mountains of Madness.

Rule: Resolve the played card's ability completely, then resolve any card reactions.


Questions on Researcher Edit

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on “Old Man Jenkins!?” Edit

Q: If two or more minions are tied for the highest power, are they all destroyed?

A: No. You choose one and that one is destroyed.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If one of my minions is the only minion with the highest power there, is it immune to “Old Man Jenkins!?”?

A: No. Your minions aren't immune to it, and you must even destroy it if you play this card.

Rule 1: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Rule 2: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Do we only consider the printed value or the modified value?

A: The modified value of the power.

Rule: In play, a minion's power includes all modifiers.

Q: If I play this and it brings the total power on the base below its breakpoint. Does the base stop scoring?

A: No. Once a base has been chosen to score, even if the total power there changes during the before-scoring step, the base keeps scoring.

Rule: The base is scored regardless of how much power is still left on it after the before-scoring step.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, even if Diva wasn't the minion with the highest power there.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, even if it wasn't the minion with the highest power there.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, even if it wasn't the minion with the highest power there.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, even if it wasn't the minion with the highest power there.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on ... It Just Might Work Edit

Q: When I play this card, if I don't have any Madness card in my hand, how do I prove it?

A: You don't have to prove anything. It's a "Do X to do Y" type of ability, so while it doesn't say "you may", doing X is actually optional![1] So play it and say that you don't discard a Madness card. No need to justify yourself.

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Q: When I play this, does the Madness card go to my discard pile or the Madness deck?

A: It says to discard it, so it goes to your discard pile.

Rule: If you discard a Madness card, it goes into your discard pile.

Q: If I play "... It Just Might Work" and then play another minion afterward, does the new minion get +1 power from "... It Just Might Work"?

A: The official answer is yes[2].

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box now rules that it only increases the power of minions currently in play at the time the card is played, and not the power of minions played afterwards.

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer card says.

Q: I play "... It Just Might Work" and boost my minions. If an opponent manages to take control of one of my minions before "... It Just Might Work" expires (e.g. The Base Is Not Enough, Can Has Cheeseburger?), does the minion keep its boost?

A: Yes. "... It Just Might Work" boosts your minions and is not reevaluated. If one of them is later controlled by another player, it keeps its +1 power.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: It gives +1 power to "each of my minions". Does it also give +1 power to minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - Diva can't copy it because it would already be directly affected by it.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power. Note that while the effect is limited to minions controlled by the action player, the effect can be copied on any minion. Also, note that a second Madness card isn't discarded for that copy effect; the first Madness card is what allowed the effect to take place and therefore to be copied after all.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power. Note that while the effect is limited to minions controlled by the action player, the effect can be copied on any minion. Also, note that a second Madness card isn't discarded for that copy effect; the first Madness card is what allowed the effect to take place and therefore to be copied after all.
- Funky Town can't copy it because you need to be the one who played the action and so all your minions are already directly affected by it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Field Trip Edit

Q: If I have cards in my hand that I don't own (e.g. treasure cards, a card obtained by Trade), what happens if I use Field Trip to put these cards under my deck?

A: The other players can't know which cards you're placing under your deck so do exactly what Field Trip says. So, if there are treasures, they won't go in the treasure discard pile, and if there are cards owned by other players, they won't go under their deck.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Field Trip doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Gate to Beyond Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so on my turn I can use its talent, right? It's a base action, so every player can use it, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore only they can use its talent.

Rule: A talent can be activated on each of its controller's turns.

Q: Is the extra minion part of the talent? I mean, do I have to use the talent to gain the extra minion? Or does the talent only allow you to draw a Madness card and the extra minion is only gained when you play the action?

A: The extra minion play is part of the talent, so you have to use the talent to gain one.

Rule: If a timing label (Ongoing, Special, Talent) appears in an ability description, that label applies to all text that follows the label up to the end of the description, or to another label (if there is one).

Q: I already have ten cards in hand. What happens if I decide to use this talent? Is the Madness card discarded? Or do I draw it and immediately choose a card to discard?

A: You draw the Madness card and don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Gate to Beyond says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Jinkies! Edit

Q: If I have a Madness card in my hand and a Madness card in my discard pile, can I return both? Or is the "or" exclusive?

A: Yes, you can return a Madness card from your discard pile and another one from your hand.

Rule: Check Jinkies!'s clarification.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Jinkies! doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on That’s So Crazy... Edit

Q: If I play "That's So Crazy..." and then play another minion afterward, does the new minion get +1 power from "That's So Crazy..."?

A: The official answer is yes[2].

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box now rules that it only increases the power of minions currently in play at the time the card is played, and not the power of minions played afterwards.

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer card says.

Q: I play "That's So Crazy..." and boost my minions. If an opponent manages to take control of one of my minions before "That's So Crazy..." expires (e.g. The Base Is Not Enough, Can Has Cheeseburger?), does the minion keep its boost?

A: No. "That's So Crazy..." only boosts your minions. If one of them is later controlled by another player, it's no longer your minion and "That's So Crazy..." doesn't affect it anymore.

A: UPDATE. Because of how The Bigger Geekier Box now rules this card, "That's So Crazy..." should be treated as giving the +1 power to all your minions as a definitive effect, that is the restriction that only your minions are affected only matters when "That's So Crazy..." is played. Afterwards, if the minion's controller changes the +1 power still remains applied to it until the end of the turn.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: It gives +1 power to "each of my minions". Does it also give +1 power to minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - Diva can't copy it because it would already be directly affected by it.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power. Note that while the effect is limited to minions controlled by the action player, the effect can be copied on any minion. Also, note that a second Madness card isn't drawn for that copy effect; drawing a Madness card happens before the copy can take place and so has already been done. And note that only one extra action play is granted no matter how many times the effect is copied (either 0, 1, 2, etc.) because it's not dependent on the number of affected minions.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power. Note that while the effect is limited to minions controlled by the action player, the effect can be copied on any minion. Also, note that a second Madness card isn't drawn for that copy effect; drawing a Madness card happens before the copy can take place and so has already been done. And note that only one extra action play is granted no matter how many times the effect is copied (either 0, 1, 2, etc.) because it's not dependent on the number of affected minions.
- Funky Town can't copy it because you need to be the one who played the action and so all your minions are already directly affected by it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Things Best Not Known Edit

Q: It doesn't say that the power boost expires at the end of the turn, so does it remain forever? For example, if you target a First Mate, will it carry the power boost as long as it's in play?

A: The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook clarifies that the power boost lasts until the end of the turn.

Rule: Check Things Best Not Known's clarification.

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So, if the base scored during another player's turn, you keep all your cards and can therefore play your next turn with more than ten cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power boost as the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that Madness cards aren't drawn again; that part happened before the effect can be copied and so it's not done again and the amount of power is therefore set.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power boost as the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that Madness cards aren't drawn again; that part happened before the effect can be copied and so it's not done again and the amount of power is therefore set.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power boost as the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that Madness cards aren't drawn again; that part happened before the effect can be copied and so it's not done again and the amount of power is therefore set.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power boost as the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that Madness cards aren't drawn again; that part happened before the effect can be copied and so it's not done again and the amount of power is therefore set.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Those Meddling Kids Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Those Meddling Kids doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Andy Wright.
  • The phrase "Go 'Pods!" in the flavor text is a reference to the Miskatonic University's mascot the Fighting Cephalopods. The motto "Ex Ignorantia Ad Sapientiam; Ex Luce Ad Tenebras." is Latin for "Out Of Ignorance Into Wisdom; Out Of Light Into Darkness.".
  • This faction contains references to Scooby Doo:
    • The Librarian is a reference to Velma Dinkley.
    • Jinkies! is also one of Velma's catchphrases.
    • Those Meddling Kids is an expression often used by villains when they are caught by the gang.
    • "Old Man Jenkins" is a coined term to designate the Scooby Doo villain.

In other languages Edit

Language Name
French Université Miskatonic
German Miskatonic University
Italian Miskatonic University
Russian Мискатоникский университет
Spanish Universidad Miskatonic


The Obligatory Cthulhu Set

Factions: Elder Things  •  Innsmouth  •  Minions of Cthulhu  •  Miskatonic University
Mechanics: Madness  •  Titans (optional, since the TITANS Event Kit)

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again  •  World Tour: International Incident
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/17014769#17014769
  2. 2.0 2.1 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/16247336#16247336