FANDOM


Spy

The shadow war between International Secret Intelligence and the evil HAVOC (Henchman and Villains of Chaos) continues. HAVOC’s schemes threaten the world, from weather-changing satellites to lasers mounted on secret moon bases, they can only be opposed by the daring agents of the ISI. Using the latest in espionage technology, the ISI will be able to foil your opponents plans.

- Science Fiction Double Feature rulebook

The Super Spies are one of the 4 factions from the Science Fiction Double Feature set.

The Super Spies specialize in checking the upcoming cards of the players' decks to better prepare your plans, and disrupting other players' plans by forcing them to discard and by changing the game before a base scores.

Other factions from the same set: Cyborg Apes, Shapeshifters, Time Travelers.

Cards Edit

Super spies

The Super Spies have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion.

Minions Edit

1x Secret Agent - power 5 - Ongoing: After another player plays an action, he or she must discard a card. FAQ

2x Mole - power 4 - Ongoing: Before this base scores, you may play an action as a Special action. FAQ

3x Operative - power 3 - Reveal the top card of each player's deck. Place any of those cards on the bottom of their owner's deck. Return the other cards to the top of their decks. FAQ

4x Spy - power 2 - Look at the top 3 cards of your deck. Place them on the top and/or bottom of your deck in any order. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Discards Are Forever - All players reveal cards from their decks until they reveal a minion. Discard all revealed cards. FAQ

2x For My Eyes Only - Look at the top 5 cards of your deck. Place them on the top and/or bottom of your deck in any order. FAQ

1x From Q With Love - Draw three cards. Discard two cards. FAQ

1x Live and Let Chum - Special: Play before a base scores. Destroy a minion of power 3 or less there. FAQ

1x Mindraker - Play on a base. Ongoing: Other players cannot play Specials while this base is scoring. FAQ

1x Permit to Kill - Each other player reveals the top two cards of his or her deck and discards any minions revealed. Return the other cards on the top of the deck in any order. FAQ

1x The Base Is Not Enough - Special: Play before a base scores. Choose a minion there of power 4 or less. You control that minion until the end of the turn. FAQ

2x The Spy Who Ditched Me - All other players must discard a minion or reveal their hand to show they have no minions. FAQ

Super Spies

Bases Edit

Mechanics Edit

Super Spies specialized in sabotaging players by disrupting the opponent deck and hands while improving your deck and hand at the same time. Super Spies also give you more choice and control on your special ability as well. Spy and For My Eyes Only allow you to look at your cards and put them in your own order so you can have higher chance to get better cards next turn while Operative, Discards Are Forever, The Spy Who Ditched Me and Secret Agent allow you to sabotage other player by forcing them to discard cards from either their hands or their deck. Super Spies's Mole is possibly the most unique of all. Mole has an ability that allows the player to play an action as a special action when a base is captured. This allows the player to either sabotage opponents or improve a minion at the last minute. However, Spies have a lack of offensive tactics so they will suffer without any offensive actions or minions.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Secret Agent Edit

Q: Does Secret Agent trigger from any action play? Not just from playing an action on its base?

A: Any action play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If a player plays an action, but is interrupted by Wil Wheaton or Force of Wil, does Secret Agent still make that player discard a card?

A: Yes. Wil Wheaton and Force of Wil make that player discard the action without resolving its effect, but it still counts as having played an action for Secret Agent.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If a player plays an action to destroy or return Secret Agent, do they discard a card because of Secret Agent?

A: There's not definite answer. There are cases where cards have an effect even after they are destroyed (e.g. Nukebot), so maybe Secret Agent as well. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: if a player plays an Argonaut (either as an action or as a minion), does it trigger Secret Agent?

A: Yes.[1]

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Steam Queen, and an opponent has Secret Agent. Can I play an action and have Steam Queen protect me from discarding a card? Secret Agent is adding an effect to my action after all.

A: No. Secret Agent doesn't do anything to your action. It doesn't add an effect, it just triggers from you playing an action. Forcing you to discard a card isn't something it does to your action, and it certainly isn't included in the definition of "affect".

Rule: Definition of "affect".


Questions on Mole Edit

Q: Using the Mole's ability, I play a "normal" action that gives me an extra minion or action to play. Can I play it now or is it saved for my next turn?

A: You can play it now. And actually, you must either play it immediately or not all. It cannot be saved for later.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: It doesn't say "extra", so it doesn't count as an extra card for Eliza's ability, right?

A: Wrong. It counts both as an extra and as a special action.

Rule: Cards played outside the Play Cards phase of a turn are counted as extra cards.

Q: When is the action played? Immediately or is it saved for step where special cards in hand are played?

A: You must play the action immediately or not at all.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: Before a base scores and during the step where cards in play are resolved, I chose not to use Mole's ability. But then, another player plays a card that changes the scoring. Can I go back and activate the Mole now?

A: No. When you were given the chance to activate the Mole's ability, you declined it, which is possible since its ability says "you may". But since it was activated and you chose not to use it, it still counts as having been activated and you can't use it again.

Rule: When a "you may" ability is triggered and you choose not to do it, it still counts as having been resolved.

Q: Before a base scores, I use a Mole to play an action. When it's my turn to play again, can I use the same Mole to play another action?

A: No. Before a base scores, all the relevant cards in play are activated once in an order determined by the current player, so it's not possible for your Mole to be activated twice for the same base scoring.

Rule: Check the steps for phase 3.

Q: What happens when I use a Mole to play Stasis Field onto the scoring base?

A: The scoring stops for that base, but you must continue the Score Bases if another base is ready to score.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What happens when I use a Mole to play an action that replaces the scoring base? (e.g. Terraforming, Burn It Down)

A: The scoring stops for that base (because it's not the same base anymore), but you must continue the Score Bases back to step 1 if a base (including the new base) is ready to score.[2]

Rule: Check the steps for phase 3.

Q: Before a base score, can I use a Mole to play an Argonaut?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: On my turn, before a base scores, I use a Mole to play Enshrouding Mist. Can I immediately play the extra minion?

A: No. Enshrouding Mist only works "on your turn", i.e. during the Play Cards phase of your turn. If you're using the Mole's ability, you're no longer in your Play Cards phase.

Rule: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of your turn".

Q: If I manage to play Augmentation or Howl on another player's turn (e.g. with a Mole) and target a minion that's not on the scored base, how long does the power bonus last?

A: Good question. Presumably it is a mistake and the intention is that it lasts until the end of the turn it is played.

Rule: TBD

Q: Before a base scores, an opponent moves a Mole away from the scoring base before its controller gets a chance to use it. (e.g. Some Day My Prince Will Come). Can the Mole still be activated because it was on the base when scoring began?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Operative Edit

Q: Her ability makes no sense! How many cards do you look at from each player? It says "any of those cards" and "the other cardS".

A: Only 1 card from each player. What happens is, you play the Operative and all the players (including you) reveal the top card of their deck. Then, for each card revealed, you decide whether to put it on the bottom of that player's deck or leave it on the top.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Spy Edit

Q: What happens if there's fewer than three cards in my deck?

A: You take what's left of your deck, then shuffle your discard pile to form a new deck and resume taking cards until you have three cards.

Rule: If you need to draw, reveal, search for or look at a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile and put it on the table face down—that’s your new deck.

Q: What happens if there's exactly three cards in my deck?

A: You look at those three cards, rearrange them and set them down. That's your deck. You don't shuffle your discard pile to make a new deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Discards Are Forever Edit

Q: Do I also discard cards?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If an Igor is discarded this way, does it trigger its ability?

A: No. Igor's ability is an ongoing ability, which means it's only active if Igor is in play, not when it's discarded from the hand or deck.

Rule: An Ongoing ability only becomes active when the card is in play.


Questions on For My Eyes Only Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on From Q With Love Edit

Q: Do I discard two cards among the three cards I drew?

A: You draw three cards and add them to your hand, then discard two cards among all the cards in your hand.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Live and Let Chum Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Mindraker Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base. Since they're another player from my point of view, they can't play Specials either, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "other players" means "their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: Can I prevent other players from using special abilities that are in play?

A: No, Mindraker only prevents other players from playing special cards.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Does Mindraker prevent special actions from being played after its base scores?

A: Yes. It prevents special actions from being played from the moment the base is chosen to score until Mindraker is discarded at the end of the scoring.[3]

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: An opponent managed to take control of my Mole on a base with my Mindraker. That base scores on their turn. Can they use Mole to play a non-special ability without Mindraker preventing it?

A: No. Mindraker prevents special actions from being played. The action played via the Mole is treated as being a special action, so Mindraker prevents it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Permit to Kill Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on The Base Is Not Enough Edit

Q: I use this to take control of another player's minion. When the scoring the finished, where does the minion go when it's discarded?

A: It goes into its owner's discard pile.

Rule: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.

Q: I use this to take control of a minion with an ability that activates before a base scores (e.g. Cthulhu's Chosen). Can I use it?

A: No. Cards in play are resolved before you can play cards, so Cthulhu's Chosen has already been activated by its former controller (even if they haven't used its "you may" ability, it still counts as having been used). So you can't use it again unless something triggers its ability again.

Rule: When an ability is triggered, it's resolved once per trigger.


Questions on The Spy Who Ditched Me Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Wen Juinn.
  • This faction is themed after James Bond.
  • Secret Agent is modeled after Sean Connery's James Bond.
  • The actions are all named after a James Bond movie
    • Discards Are Forever - Diamonds Are Forever
    • For My Eyes Only - For Your Eyes Only
    • From Q With Love - From Russia with Love
    • Live and Let Chum - Live and Let Die
    • Mindraker - Moonraker
    • Permit to Kill - Licence to Kill
    • The Base Is Not Enough - The World Is Not Enough
    • The Spy Who Ditched Me - The Spy Who Loved Me

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/25182634#25182634
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22359274#22359274
  3. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/16209147#16209147

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.