FANDOM


Jason

This is the story of a time long ago—a time of myth and legend. When the ancient gods were petty and cruel, and they plagued mankind with suffering... The ancient gods and heroes of Greek myth have returned, bringing their favors and curses, heroics and bravery to your base battles!

- It’s Your Fault! rulebook

The Mythic Greeks are one of the 5 factions from the It’s Your Fault! set.

The Mythic Greek minions gain more power the more actions you play.

Other factions from the same set: Dragons, Sharks, Superheroes, Tornados.

Name Edit

During the It’s Your Fault! contest, this faction was named "Greek Myth" before getting its final name.

Cards Edit

Mythic greeks

The Mythic Greeks have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion. Additionally, there are several abilities that can boost the power of minions beyond its base value. The Mythic Greeks have 10 unique actions that represent the favors of the Greek gods. As each of the gods is unique, so are the actions.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 0 play-on-base actions,
  • 10 standard actions (3 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Favor of Aphrodite, Favor of Apollo, Favor of Ares, Favor of Athena, Favor of Dionysus, Favor of Hades, Favor of Hera, Favor of Hermes, Favor of Poseidon, Favor of Zeus,
  • 3 actions that directly increase a minion's power: Favor of Ares, Favor of Dionysus, Favor of Hera.

Minions Edit

1x Odysseus - power 5 - Ongoing: After you play an action, place a +1 power counter on one of your minions. FAQ

1x Heracles - power 4 - Ongoing: After any player plays an action, this minion gains +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Jason - power 4 - Ongoing: After the first time you play an action each turn, choose a base. All of your minions there gain +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

3x Spartan - power 3 - Ongoing: Place a +1 power counter on this minion after the first time you play an action on your turn. FAQ

4x Argonaut - power 2 - Trigger all abilities that would trigger from you playing an action. Special: Any time you can play an action, you can play this card instead. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Favor of Aphrodite - Play an extra minion. FAQ

1x Favor of Apollo - Draw a card and play an extra action. FAQ

1x Favor of Ares - One of your minions gains +3 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Favor of Athena - Reveal the top 5 cards of your deck. You may place one of the revealed actions into your hand, and return the rest to the top of your deck in any order. FAQ

1x Favor of Dionysus - One of your minions gains +1 power until the end of the turn. Play an extra action. You may place this card on top of your deck instead of the discard pile. FAQ

1x Favor of Hades - Place an action card from your discard pile into your hand. FAQ

1x Favor of Hera - Place a +1 power counter on up to two of your minions. FAQ

1x Favor of Hermes - Play two extra actions. FAQ

1x Favor of Poseidon - Shuffle up to three cards from your discard pile into your deck. FAQ

1x Favor of Zeus - Reduce the breakpoint of a base by 5 until the end of the turn. FAQ

Mythic Greeks-0

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the It’s Your Fault! rulebook:

Argonaut: This may be played in place of an extra action, unless the ability refers to specific cards to be played (e.g. Mass Enchantment, Mechanic) or an action played on a minion (e.g. Baboom). If this is played as an action, it doesn’t count towards the 1 minion quota, but it is still a minion in other ways. Whether played as an action or minion, it triggers Spartan, Jason, etc. (updated by The Bigger Geekier Box)

Heracles, Odysseus: These trigger after every action, not just the first in a turn. “Any player” includes the controller.

Jason: Minions played after Jason in the same turn get his benefit. Minions moved off the chosen base lose the benefit. This does not affect minions played after the first action of the turn. (errata'd by The Bigger Geekier Box)

Spartan, Jason: If you play an action before this card in the same turn, there is no benefit from this card this turn.

Mechanics Edit

Mythic Greeks specialize in getting stronger by using powerful actions, known as the "favors of the Gods" which grant them many diverse abilities.  The minions Spartan, Jason, Heracles and Odysseus get buffed as more actions are played.  Argonaut is counted as both an action and a minion so if a minion or action is played, the Argonaut can be played as the other.  The Mythic Greeks minions are fairly weak and don't have any diversity so they have to depend on their actions instead.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Odysseus Edit

Q: It tells me to place a +1 power counter on "one of my minions". Can I place it on a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I play an Argonaut as my free minion, then another Argonaut instead of my free action. How does Odysseus react?

A: Odysseus is triggered twice, once for each Argonaut, so you can place two +1 power counters on any of your minions, either on different minions, or both on the same minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play an action, but am interrupted by Wil Wheaton or Force of Wil, would this card still trigger?

A: Yes. Wil Wheaton and Force of Wil make you discard the action without resolving its effect, but it still counts as having played an action for this minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play Control Minion and take control of Odysseus, does it trigger its ability?

A: No, in order for Odysseus to trigger, it must "witness" its current controller playing an action. When you play Control Minion, during that split-second after Control Minion is played and before its ability is resolved, Odysseus isn't under your control and so didn't see its soon-to-be controller play the action.

Rule: Resolve the played card's ability completely, then resolve any card reactions.

Q: If Odysseus's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Odysseus's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by Spartan or Favor of Hera)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: If Odysseus is removed from play (e.g. destroyed, returned, etc.), are the +1 power counters placed by its ability on my other minions removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them is removed from play (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress is destroyed). On the other hand, if a card is removed while it had +1 power counters, only the +1 power counters on it are removed, but that's because a card that leaves play loses all its attachments. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Odysseus's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by Spartan or Favor of Hera)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Removing a card from play does not necessarily undo what it did.


Questions on Heracles Edit

Q: I play an Argonaut as my free minion, then another Argonaut instead of my free action. How does Heracles react?

A: Heracles is triggered twice, once for each Argonaut, so it gains +2 power until the end of the turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play an action, but am interrupted by Wil Wheaton or Force of Wil, would this card still trigger?

A: Yes. Wil Wheaton and Force of Wil make you discard the action without resolving its effect, but it still counts as having played an action for this minion. In the case of Force of Wil, Heracles would also react to it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Jason Edit

Q: Jason's ability has been activated. If Jason is removed from play, does the effect stop working?

A: No, the minions keep their +1 power until the end of the turn.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: Jason's ability has been activated. What happens if I later play a minion on the targeted base? If I move a minion there? If I move a minion from there to another base?

A: Once Jason's ability has been activated and until the end of the turn, all your minions get +1 power on the base that you chose. They don't get it on the other bases. So, if you play or move a minion there, it gets +1 power. If you move it away from that base, it loses the +1 power.

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box now rules that it only increases the power of minions currently in play at the time the card is played, and not the power of minions played afterwards. It also doesn't increase the power of minions moved to that base and the minions that move away don't lose the +1 power either.

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer card says.

Q: I play an Argonaut as my free minion, then another Argonaut instead of my free action. How does Jason react?

A: Supposing you haven't played any action before that, Jason is triggered only once, for the first Argonaut played.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: It gives +1 power to "all of my minions" on the base. Does it also give +1 power to minions there that I own but don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If I play an action, but am interrupted by Wil Wheaton or Force of Wil, would this card still trigger?

A: Yes. Wil Wheaton and Force of Wil make you discard the action without resolving its effect, but it still counts as having played an action for this minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play Control Minion and take control of Jason, does it trigger its ability?

A: No, in order for Jason to trigger, it must "witness" its current controller playing their first action of the turn. When you play Control Minion, during that split-second after Control Minion is played and before its ability is resolved, Jason isn't under your control and so didn't see its soon-to-be controller play the action.

Rule: Resolve the played card's ability completely, then resolve any card reactions.


Questions on Spartan Edit

Q: Does a Spartan only get one +1 power counter for the rest of the game or one each turn? It says "the first time you play an action on your turn".

A: Its ability actually means "the first time you play an action on each of your turns".

Rule: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of each of your turns".

Q: If Spartan's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Spartan's ability and which ones were not (e.g. placed by Odysseus or Favor of Hera)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: I play an Argonaut as my free minion, then another Argonaut instead of my free action. How does a Spartan react?

A: Supposing you haven't played any action before that, a Spartan is triggered only once, for the first Argonaut played.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play an action, but am interrupted by Wil Wheaton or Force of Wil, would this card still trigger?

A: Yes. Wil Wheaton and Force of Wil make you discard the action without resolving its effect, but it still counts as having played an action for this minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play an action at the Start Turn phase of my turn, does it activate Spartan?

A: No, the Start Turn phase is phase 1 of your turn, while Spartan only reacts to the first action you play on your Play Cards phase.

Rule: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of each of your turns".

Q: I manage to play an action at the Start Turn phase of my turn. On my Play Cards phase, I play a second action, does it activate Spartan?

A: Yes, Spartan only reacts to the first action you play on your Play Cards phase, so the action played on your Start Turn phase doesn't count.

Rule: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of each of your turns".

Q: I haven't played any action during my Play Cards phase. During my Score Bases phase, I manage to play an action, does it activate Spartan?

A: No, the Score Bases phase is phase 3 of your turn, while Spartan only reacts to the first action you play on your Play Cards phase.

Rule: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of each of your turns".

Q: If I play Control Minion and take control of a Spartan, does it trigger its ability?

A: No, in order for Spartan to trigger, it must "witness" its current controller playing their first action of the turn. When you play Control Minion, during that split-second after Control Minion is played and before its ability is resolved, Spartan isn't under your control and so didn't see its soon-to-be controller play the action.

Rule: Resolve the played card's ability completely, then resolve any card reactions.


Questions on Argonaut Edit

Q: If I play this instead of an action, does it still count as me playing a minion or not?

A: Yes. You spend an action play to play this minion, so you really ARE playing a minion. Then, because you played it, whether as a minion or instead of an action, you resolve its ability that makes it act as if you played an action in addition to you playing a minion. So you are considered as playing one card that's a minion and an action at the same time.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I play this before a base scores? It's a Special and it says "any time you can play an action" and before a base scores is a time when players are allowed to play special actions, so I can do it right?

A: Your reasoning is wrong. "Any time you can play an action" means either instead of your free action or instead of an extra action that you have "banked".[1]

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: If a player plays an Argonaut, can another player play Wil Wheaton or Force of Wil? If so, is the Argonaut discarded?

A: A player can probably play Wil Wheaton or Force of Wil because playing an Argonaut activates cards that react to playing action, but Argonaut itself will not be discarded because it's not an action. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: if a player plays an Argonaut (either as an action or as a minion), does it trigger Secret Agent?

A: Yes.[2]

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Before a base score, can I use a Mole to play an Argonaut?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Does Mark of Sleep prevent Argonaut from being played?

A: It depends. If Argonaut is played as a minion, Mark of Sleep does nothing to it. However, since Mark of Sleep makes the player unable to play actions, they don't have any opportunity to play an Argonaut instead of an action.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can you use Baboom's talent and play an Argonaut instead of the extra action?

A: No, Argonaut can never be played on a minion and so it can't meet Baboom's restriction.

Rule: Check Argonaut's clarification.

Q: I play Argonaut (either as a minion, or instead of an action) on Workshop, does it trigger Workshop's ability?

A: Yes. When you play an Argonaut, whether it's normally or instead of an action play, it counts as if you played an action as well, but the Argonaut is also played on the base, so you also treat it as if you played on action on its base. In the case of Workshop, it means Workshop considers it as an action played on it and so it grants you an extra action play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Favor of Aphrodite Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Favor of Aphrodite doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Favor of Apollo Edit

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Favor of Apollo doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Favor of Ares Edit

Q: It gives +3 power to "one of my minions". Can I choose to give the +3 power to a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Favor of Athena Edit

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's an action and you choose to place it into your hand, it goes to its owner's hand, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.
- Otherwise, it goes to the top of your deck, that's because, while the other players can see who owns the card, the card is merely revealed and doesn't change location.

Rule 1: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Rule 2: Cards you don’t own that are merely revealed in your hand or deck stay there.

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Favor of Athena doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Favor of Dionysus Edit

Q: It gives +1 power to "one of my minions". Can I choose to give the +1 power to a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: With Mass Enchantment, I play an opponent's Favor of Dionysus. Can I place the card on top of my deck?

A: If you choose to place the action on your deck, it actually goes on top of its owner's deck instead of yours.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power. Note that you don't get a second extra action for affecting a second minion, because Diva only copies the part that boosts a minion and the extra action part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power. Note that you don't get a second extra action for affecting a second minion, because Dancing King only copies the part that boosts a minion and the extra action part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power. Note that you don't get a second extra action for affecting a second minion, because We are Family only copies the part that boosts a minion and the extra action part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power. Note that you don't get a second extra action for affecting a second minion, because Funky Town only copies the part that boosts a minion and the extra action part isn't changed by the number of affected minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Favor of Hades Edit

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Favor of Hades doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Favor of Hera Edit

Q: It places +1 power counters on up to "two of my minions". Can I place one on a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets a +1 power counter, even if there were already two minions that were directly affected by Favor of Hera.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets a +1 power counter, even if there were already two minions that were directly affected by Favor of Hera. Note that if the two minions that were directly affected are on the same base, Dancing King only triggers once, not once per affected minions.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets a +1 power counter, even if there were already two minions that were directly affected by Favor of Hera.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets a +1 power counter, even if there were already two minions that were directly affected by Favor of Hera. Note that if the two minions that were directly affected are on the same base, Funky Town only triggers once, not once per affected minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Favor of Hermes Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Favor of Hermes doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Favor of Poseidon Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Favor of Poseidon doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Favor of Zeus Edit

Q: It doesn't say that the minimum breakpoint of a base is 0, so can it go negative?

A: No. The minimum is stated in the rules and it is zero.

Rule: Base breakpoint is never reduced below zero.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Favor of Zeus doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is 2Minds Studio, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • The font used for the Mythic Greek cards is Diogenes.
  • The bare-chested appearance of the Spartan is a reference to the movie 300 (2006) and the comics of the same name.
  • Hades is based on Disney's rendition of Hades from Hercules (1997).
  • The text on the Hades's scroll reads:

Της συμβάσεως ταύτης ισχυουσης, ή του Γύρου γνώση ημετέρα εστί, της ψυχής σου οφειλομένης

This translates to "Of this covenant, or of the knowledge of yours, your soul is owed"

In other languages Edit

Language Name Translation (if different)
French Mythologie Grecque Greek Mythology
German Mythische Griechen
Italian Miti Greci
Spanish Griegos míticos


It’s Your Fault!

Factions: Dragons  •  Mythic Greeks  •  Sharks  •  Superheroes  •  Tornados
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Sheep!  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22554941#22554941
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/25182634#25182634