FANDOM


Friendship power

The power of togetherness shows through in Horses, whose mighty herds race across the land, trampling any who stand in their way. Not only normal horses, but pegasi, sea-horses seahorses and more will join the fight for the base! Remember that friendship is smashingsmashable just smashing!

- Pretty Pretty Smash Up rulebook (updated in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook)

The Mythic Horses are one of the 4 factions from the Pretty Pretty Smash Up set.

The Mythic Horses become stronger when several minions are grouped on the same base.

Other factions from the same set: Fairies, Kitty Cats, Princesses.

Cards Edit

Mythic horses

The Mythic Horses have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion. Additionally, there are several abilities that boost the power of minions beyond its base value.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 2 play-on-minion actions: Encouragement Power (2x),
  • 1 play-on-base action: Sharing Power,
  • 7 standard actions (3 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Adventure Power, Freedom Power, Friendship Power, Super Future Space Armor Power, Teaching Power, Togetherness Power (2x),
  • 3 actions that directly increase a minion's power: Encouragement Power (2x), Super Future Space Armor Power.

Minions Edit

1x Starlyte - power 5 - Ongoing: This minion has +1 power for each of your other minions here. FAQ

2x Rainbow - power 4 - Talent: If you have played another minion here this turn, draw a card. (errata'd by The Bigger Geekier Box) FAQ

3x Seastar - power 3 - If you play this minion on a base where you have another minion, you can play an extra minion this turn. Only use one Seastar’s ability each turn. FAQ

4x Pinkie - power 2 - Ongoing: While another of your minions is here, this minion has +1 power. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Adventure Power - Choose a base. Move any number of your minions to it. FAQ

2x Encouragement Power - Play on one of your minions. Ongoing: This minion has +1 power for each of your other minions here. FAQ

1x Freedom Power - Destroy an action played on a minion or base. FAQ

1x Friendship Power - Move one of your minions to a base where you have a minion. You may place this action into your hand instead of the discard pile. FAQ

1x Sharing Power - Play on a base. Ongoing: At the start of your turn, if you have 2 or more minions here, draw a card. FAQ

1x Super Future Space Armor Power - Each of your minions that is on a base with another of your minions gains +2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Teaching Power - Special: Before a base scores, reveal one card from your deck for each of your minions there. Play one minion you reveal as an extra minion there. Return the rest of the cards to the top of the deck in any order. FAQ

2x Togetherness Power - Play an extra minion at a base where you have a minion. FAQ

Mythic Horses-0

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Rainbow: The other minion must have been played during that same turn the talent is used.

Super Future Space Armor Power: This does not affect minions played after this card.

Mechanics Edit

Horses give you advantages for having multiple minions on a single base, in the form of buffs and card draws. In pursuit of this they have many ways to move minions to the same base, and to grant extra minion plays on bases you already have established a minion. Most of the advantages are fulfilled with even two minions at a single bases, which allows Horses to easily diversify their bases while still accruing advantages and extra draws/plays/buffs. The only stipulation here is that Horses reward you for swarming a single bases with a couple cards that gain +1 power per minion on the same base.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Starlyte Edit

Q: It gets +1 power for "each of my other minions". Do minions I own that I don't control there also count?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Does Starlyte get +1 power from itself like War Raptors?

A: No. Its ability refers to "your other minions", so excluding Starlyte itself.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Rainbow Edit

Q: How does Rainbow's ability work?

A: This card contains a typo (corrected in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook). The correct text is: "Talent: If you have played another minion here this turn, draw a card."[1] This means that on each of your turns, keep track of which bases you have played minions on during that turn. Simply having a minion on a base doesn't count; you have to play the minion during that turn. Even if the minion is moved or destroyed, the base you originally played the minion on is eligible for Rainbow's ability for the rest of the turn. Since Rainbow's ability is a talent, she can activate her ability at any time during your turn; you do not need to draw a card immediately after playing a minion on a base. Once Rainbow activates her Talent, you draw a card if the base she is on is a base where you have played a minion sometime earlier during this turn. Even if Rainbow is not in play when you played the other minion, the base where you played the other minion still gives Rainbow the ability to benefit from her Talent there for the rest of that turn. Even other players need to remember where they play minions on each of their turns if they have the ability to take control of Rainbow and use her Talent on their turn.

Rule: Check Rainbow's erratum.

Q: If I play a minion on Rainbow's base, but that minion is destroyed. (e.g. Leprechaun) When I use Rainbow's talent, do I still get to draw a card?

A: Yes. When you activate this talent, it asks whether you have played a minion here this turn or not. It doesn't matter if it's still in play. If you did, draw a card.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play a minion on Rainbow's base, but that minion is moved to another base. When I use Rainbow's talent, do I still get to draw a card?

A: Yes. When you activate this talent, it asks whether you have played a minion here this turn or not. It doesn't matter if it's still on the base. If you did, draw a card

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play a minion on Rainbow's base, but Rainbow is moved to another base where I haven't played any minion on this turn. When I use Rainbow's talent, do I still get to draw a card?

A: No. When you activate this talent, it asks whether or not you have played a minion on Rainbow's current base this turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have ten cards in hand. I meet the condition for using Rainbow's talent. What happens if I use it? Do I immediately discard the card I draw? Do I draw it and immediately choose a card to discard?

A: You draw it and don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: I managed to play two minions on Rainbow's base on the same turn. When I use Rainbow's talent, do I get to draw two cards?

A: No. When you use Rainbow's talent, it asks whether you have played at least one minion here this turn or not. You did, so draw one card.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Rainbow is on Standing Stones. I only managed to play one minion there on this turn. Can I use Rainbow's talent twice and draw two cards?

A: Yes. Each time you use Rainbow's talent, it asks whether you have played a minion here this turn or not. You did (even if it's the same one), so draw one card each time you activate Rainbow's talent.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play a minion on a base, and then Rainbow on that base. Can I draw a card using Rainbow's talent?

A: Yes. When you use Rainbow 's talent, it asks whether you have played a minion here this turn or not. Whether the minion was played before or after Rainbow, it doesn't matter.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Seastar Edit

Q: It applies to a base "where I have another minion". Does it also apply to a base where there are only minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: I play Seastar on a base where I have a minion, so I gain an extra minion. If I play Doctor When or Do Over! to return and replay the same Seastar, it still counts as the same Seastar's ability, right? So I get another extra minion, right?

A: No. The limit is on the number of times a Seastar's ability is used. Even if it's the same Seastar, you've already used a Seastar's ability so you can't use it anymore.

Rule: When a card leaves play there is no memory of its previous status, so that even if it is replayed in the same turn it is treated as a new card, not the same card.

Q: I managed to play Seastar before a base scores (e.g. Hidden Ninja), do I gain an extra minion even though it's not my Play Cards phase?

A: Yes, and you must play the extra minion immediately or not at all. It's not saved until your next turn.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.


Questions on Pinkie Edit

Q: It has +1 power if there is "another of my minions" on its base. Do minions I own that I don't control also count?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If there's a power-2 Jumper with a boosted power-3 Pinkie on the same base, can I use Cannon to first destroy Jumper, and then Pinkie because its power dropped to 2?

A: No, the minions you choose must be destroyed at the same time. So, first, you choose up to two eligible minions (Pinkie being at power 3 isn't eligible). And then, you destroy the chosen minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Another player has a Pinkie alone on its base. I move it to another base where I have a Cub Scout and that player has another minion. Does Pinkie get +1 power immediately or is it destroyed by Cub Scout before it happens?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Adventure Power Edit

Q: It tells me to move "my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - There's no point for Diva to copy the movement because Diva can be moved directly by Adventure Power anyway.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that if several minions were moved from its base, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to move only one additional minion, not one per affected minion. Also, note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- There's no point for Funky Town to copy the movement because all your minions can be moved directly by Adventure Power anyway.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Encouragement Power Edit

Q: The minion gets +1 power for "each of my other minions". Do minions I own that I don't control there also count?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Does a minion with Encouragement Power get +1 power from itself like War Raptors?

A: No. Its ability refers to "your other minions", so excluding the minion itself.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: An opponent plays this card on one of their minions. If I transfer it to one of my minions, e.g. with Tinx or Rules Lawyer, I have control of it, so my minion gets +1 power for each of my other minions on its base, right? Or does the "Play on one of your minions" prevent me from transferring it to my minions?

A: No, transferring an action doesn't make you its controller and transferring it to a different player's minion doesn't grant that player control of the action. The action's controller simply doesn't change. Also, you can transfer it to your minions; "Play on one of your minions" is simply a restriction for when the action is played, and is no longer relevant once the action is in play and doesn't further restricts how the action can be transferred (because transferring is different than playing!) So, the player who played it still controls it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your other minions" means "their other minions". So, in a very bizarre twist, your minion will actually get +1 power for each of the minions controlled by the player who originally played Encouragement Power!

Rule: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Encouragement Power says "Play on one of your minions", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Freedom Power Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Freedom Power doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied. Yes, destroying an action affects that action, but not the card (minion or base) it is on.

Rule: Definition of "affect".


Questions on Friendship Power Edit

Q: It tells me to move "one of my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I need to move the minion to a base "where I have a minion". Does it also work if there is just a minion there that I own but don't control?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: If I use Mass Enchantment on Friendship Power, can I put the Friendship Power in my hand after I use it?

A: No. However, you can put the card into its owner's hand.[2]

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it moves one of your minions away from Funky Town, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected by the action.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Sharing Power Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have at least two minions there, I draw a card at the start of my turn, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your turn" means "their turn", "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent) and "(you) draw" means "they draw".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: It applies to a base "where I have two or more minions". Does it also apply to a base where there are only minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: At the start of my turn, I already have ten cards in hand. Do I still draw a card for Sharing Power if I have two or more minions there? If so, do I have to immediately discard a card?

A: Yes, you draw the card and no, you don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Sharing Power says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Super Future Space Armor Power Edit

Q: Does it work only on one base or on each base where I have at least two minions.

A: It affects all your minions in play that is on the same base as one of your other minions. So, it works on every base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: It gives power to "each of my minions". Does it also give power to minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If I play Super Future Space Armor Power and then play another minion afterward on a base where I only had one minion, does the new minion get +2 power from the Super Future Space Armor Power? Can the minion that was already there now get +2 power?

A: The official answer is yes[3].

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box now rules that it only increases the power of minions currently in play at the time the card is played, and not the power of minions played afterwards. Similarly, this can be applied to minion already in play that later fall within range of the action.

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - Diva can't copy it because it would already be directly affected by it if it was on a base with another of your minions.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +2 power.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +2 power.
- Funky Town can't copy it because you need to be the one who played the action and so all your minions on the same base as each other are already directly affected by it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Teaching Power Edit

Q: It tells me to reveal a card for "each of my minions". Do I also reveal one for minions there that I own but don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Where is the extra minion played?

A: As written ("Play one minion you reveal as an extra minion there."), if you decide to play it, it must be played on the base that you are currently scoring.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's a minion and you choose to play it, then you control it like any card you play.
- Otherwise, it goes to the top of your deck, that's because, while the other players can see who owns the card, the card is merely revealed and doesn't change location.

Rule 1: Cards you don’t own that are merely revealed in your hand or deck stay there.

Rule 2: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Teaching Power doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Togetherness Power Edit

Q: I must play the extra minion on a bases "where I have a minion". Is it enough if there is just a minion there that I own but don't control?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Togetherness Power doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is 2Minds Studio, who also designed the art of many other factions, including all the factions of the Pretty Pretty Smash Up set.
  • This faction is a reference to My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic.
  • Pinkie is a reference to Pinkie Pie.
  • Rainbow is a reference to Rainbow Dash.
  • A Gnome is kicked in the Freedom Power card.
  • A Werewolf is being trampled in the Friendship Power card.
  • An Alien is being stepped on in the Teaching Power card.
  • Pirate ships have been sunk in the Sharing Power card.
  • Super Future Space Armor Power is a reference to the endless runner game Robot Unicorn Attack.

In other languages Edit

Language Name Translation (if different)
French Poneys Magiques Magic Ponies
German Mystische Pferde Mystic Horses
Italian Magipony Magic Ponies
Russian Волшебные пони Magic Ponies
Spanish Caballos míticos


Pretty Pretty Smash Up

Factions: Fairies  •  Kitty Cats  •  Mythic Horses  •  Princesses
Mechanics: Titans (optional, since the TITANS Event Kit)

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/19050107#19050107
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1462519/mass-enchantment-vs-friendship-power
  3. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/16247336#16247336