FANDOM


Shinobi art

If you can see a ninja, chances are you're already dead (and if you can see them while dead, skip ahead to the zombie section). I don't want to give away the secrets or anything, but most of what this faction does is sneaky, happens fast, and at the last second. So look out for that.

- Core Set rulebook

The Ninjas are one of the eight factions from the Core Set.

Ninjas focus on destroying opponent minions, and surprise moves.

Name Edit

Ninjas

The original Core Set rule book named this faction the "Ninja". However, The Big Geeky Box named this faction the "Ninjas". Both words are considered correct plurals in the English language.

Cards Edit

The Ninjas have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion.

Minions Edit

1x Ninja Master - power 5 - You may destroy a minion on this base.

2x Tiger Assassin - power 4 - You may destroy a minion of power 3 or less on this base.

3x Shinobi - power 3 - Special: Before a base scores, you may play this minion there. You can only use one Shinobi's ability per base.

4x Ninja Acolyte - power 2 - Special: On your turn, if you have not yet played a minion, you may return this minion to your hand and play an extra minion on this base.

Actions Edit

1x Assassination - Play on a minion. Ongoing: Destroy this minion at the end of the turn.

1x Disguise - Choose one or two of your minions on one base. Play an equal number of extra minions there, and return the chosen minions to your hand.

1x Hidden Ninja - Special: Before a base scores, play a minion there.

2x Infiltrate - Play on a base. Destroy an action that has been played here. Ongoing: You may ignore this base's ability until the start of your next turn.

1x Poison - Play on a minion. Destroy any number of actions on it. Ongoing: This minion has -4 power. (Minions have minimum power of 0.)

2x Seeing Stars - Destroy a minion of power 3 or less.

1x Smoke Bomb - Play on one of your minions. Ongoing: This minion is not affected by other players' actions. Destroy this card at the start of your turn.

1x Way of Deception - Move one of your minions to another base.

Ninjas

Bases Edit

Mechanics Edit

Ninjas main mechanic is being sneaky, drop power on bases by surprise at the last second straight from players hands. This usually guarantees them at least second or third place on a base, and gives them a greater advantage with fewer players. When combined with a powerhouse faction they can win bases as they break even without minions originally there.

To assist with this, Ninjas also have versatile ways to weaken and destroy opponent minions, ideally to make the base break with everyone at roughly the same contribution, so they can lay down surprise additions to win the base. Ninjas have to be very opportunistic and patient with playing cards to use them to their full advantage, which can often be limiting but also offers them a diverse platter of subterfuge.

Synergy Edit

Ninjas are great teammates for just about any faction. They are versatile, fairly powerful, and capable of a wide variety of different things. This does mean that they aren't usually the greatest partner for most factions, but their ability to sneak onto bases for an effortless second place affords them utility with any other faction.

Dinosaurs - The two factions have a good amount of power and destruction that opponents will likely have a difficult time having any sort of unified front. Hidden Ninja + King Rex can be a surprisingly devestating force however.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Ninja Master Edit

Q: I play a Ninja Master on a base, which brings the total power there above the breakpoint, but I use its ability to destroy a minion there, bringing the total power below the breakpoint. Does the base still score?

A: No. You only check if a base scores during phase 3 of a player's turn.

Rule: Before phase 3, it doesn't matter how much power each player has on each base, they will only score if they meet the requirement during phase 3, and phase 3 only.

Q: There a Leprechaun that's somehow at power 6. I play a Ninja Master there and destroy the Leprechaun. Is my Ninja Master still destroyed?

A: No. The Leprechaun is no longer there so it cannot react to the Ninja Master being played.

Rule: An Ongoing ability lasts for as long as the card is in play.


Questions on Tiger Assassin Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Shinobi Edit

Q: Does the Shinobi's ability play itself as an extra minion or a normal minion? Can we use the abilities during our turn even if we already played a minion?

A: The text should say "as an extra minion", but that would only clarify, not change the meaning. "Before a base scores" is after the time for playing normal minions. The ability to play a minion before a base scores necessarily makes it an extra minion. Whether or not you played a normal minion that turn does not matter.

Rule: Cards played outside the Play Cards phase of a turn are counted as extra cards.

Q: I have a Shinobi on a base. Another base scores, can I use Shinobi's Special ability to move it to that base?

A: No. You can only play a card from your hand (unless otherwise stated). A Shinobi's Special ability only works if it's in your hand.

Rule: "Play a minion" refers to minions in the hand.

Q: Before a base scores, I manage to play a Shinobi there through another card's ability. (e.g. Hidden Ninja) Can I play another Shinobi there with its Special ability?

A: Yes. The first Shinobi was played without invoking its own Special ability, so it doesn't count into your one-Shinobi-per-base limit.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Before The Homeworld scores, I play a Shinobi as a Special there. Do I get an extra minion to play?

A: Yes. And because it's outside of your Play Cards phase, you have to play it immediately or not at all.

Rule : Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Ninja Acolyte Edit

Q: How does Ninja Acolyte's ability work?

A: Supposing you're Ninja Acolyte's controller, on your turn, i.e. during your Play Cards phase (phase 2), you can activate Ninja Acolyte's ability at any moment of that phase. When you activate it, check if you have already played a minion or not:
- If you have, then nothing happens.
- If you haven't, then you can decide if you want to use its ability or not. If you do, then you must return Ninja Acolyte into its owner's hand. After doing that, whether Ninja Acolyte was effective returned or not, you get an extra minion play that you must play immediately or not at all.

Rule 1: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Rule 2: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of each of your turns".

Rule 3: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.

Rule 4: Cards are resolved entirely.
Rule 5: Extra cards gained by a Special ability must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: If I have two Ninja Acolytes in play, can I return both and play two extra minions?

A: No. Firstly, you can only activate one Ninja Acolyte at a time. Secondly, when you return the first Ninja Acolyte, you must play the extra minion you gained immediately or not at all. If you do, the second Ninja Acolyte can no longer be activated because you have already played a minion.

Rule: Extra cards gained by a Special ability must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: Since Ninja Acolyte is essentially replaced by another minion, do I transfer actions played on Ninja Acolyte onto the new minion?

A: No, as soon as Ninja Acolyte is returned, the actions played on it are discarded.

Rule: When a card returns from a base, discard attachments.

Q: Ninja Acolyte is a Special, so I can use its ability during the Scoring phase, right?

A: No, its ability specifies when it can be used: "On your turn", which means during phase 2 (Play Cards) of your turn.

Rule: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of your turn".

Q: At the start of my turn, a Sprout made me play an extra minion. Since it wasn't played during phase 2 of my turn, I haven't played a minion "on my turn" yet, so can I use Ninja Acolyte's ability?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Assassination Edit

Q: When does Assassination destroy the minion it's attached to?

A: At the end of each turn (phase 5), starting with the turn the card is played, it tries to destroy the minion.

Rule: "At the end of the turn" means "during the End Turn (phase 5) of the current turn".

Q: What happens if the minion cannot be destroyed?

A: Assassination remains attached to it and the destruction fails at the end of the turn. But, at the end of each following turn, Assassination tries to destroy the minion again. Who knows? Maybe the minion won't be immune anymore.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: It says "Ongoing", so after it destroys the minion, I can reattach it on another minion, right?

A: No. If the minion it's attached to is destroyed, Assassination is immediately discarded.

Rule: When a minion leaves play, discard attachments.

Q: Why can't it destroy the minion immediately?

A: The minion could still contribute power toward breaking a base if you still want to score a base, then Assassination would ensure that the minion is destroyed at the end of the turn in case it was supposed to survive. (e.g. First Mate) Or it can be played on a lone Polar Commando to dissuade its controller from playing another minion there.

Rule : N/A


Questions on Disguise Edit

Q: How does Disguise work?

A: When you play Disguise, you must choose either one or two of the minions in play that you control. If you choose two, they must be on the same base. After choosing your minion(s), you get that many extra minion plays:
- If you played Disguise outside your Play Cards phase, then you must play the extra minion(s) immediately or not at all before doing the rest of Disguise's ability.
- Otherwise, the extra minion(s) is(are) not played immediately, but is(are) actually "banked" to be used later on your current Play Cards phase.
After doing that, whatever happened with your extra minion plays, you must do the following to the minion(s) that you chose at the beginning:
- If it's a minion you own, it's returned to your hand.
- If it's a minion owned by another player, it's returned to that player's hand.
- If it's a minion that noone owns (e.g. a treasure, a monster), it's discarded into the appropriate discard pile.

Rule 1: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Rule 2: An extra card isn't played right away, unless it was gained by a Special ability or outside the Play Cards phase.

Rule 3: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.

Rule 4: Monsters and treasures go to their own discard pile when they leave play.

Q: Can you choose two minions, then choose to play one or no extra minions, and still take both of the chosen minions back to hand?

A: Based on the wording the extra minions aren't played before the chosen minions are returned, but the intent of the designer may be different.

Rule: TBD


Questions on Hidden Ninja Edit

Q: When can I play Hidden Ninja?

A: On any player's turn, when a base has been chosen to score and before its victory points are awarded. To be more precise, it can only be played during phase 3 and only during the "before scoring" step.

Rule: "Before a base scores" means during the before-scoring step of any turn.

Q: Does Hidden Ninja's ability play the minion as an extra minion or a normal minion? Can we use the abilities during our turn even if we already played a minion?

A: The text should say "as an extra minion", but that would only clarify, not change the meaning. "Before a base scores" is after the time for playing normal minions. The ability to play a minion before a base scores necessarily makes it an extra minion. Whether or not you played a normal minion that turn does not matter.

Rule: Cards played outside the Play Cards phase of a turn are counted as extra cards.

Q: Can I use Hidden Ninja to play a minion that gives me an extra card to play? (e.g. Zapbot, Chronomage)

A: Absolutely. And you do gain an extra card to play, but you must play it immediately or not all.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase (phase 2) must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: I used Hidden Ninja to play a minion that destroys another one there, bringing the total power below the breakpoint. Does the base stop scoring?

A: No. Once a base has been chosen to score, even if the total power there changes during the before-scoring step, the base keeps scoring.

Rule: The base is scored regardless of how much power is still left on it after the before-scoring step.

Q: I play a minion with Hidden Ninja but the minion also has an ability that works during the before-scoring step when it's in play (e.g. Pack Alpha). Can I activate its ability or is it too late?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD
Q: I play a Repeater Perfect with Hidden Ninja. Can I use Repeater Perfect's ability to put Hidden Ninja on the top of my deck?
A: No. Since Hidden Ninja is obviously played outside your Play Cards phase, the minion must be played immediately, that is before you discard Hidden Ninja. So, Repeater Perfect's ability is resolved before Hidden Ninja is discarded.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.


Questions on Infiltrate Edit

Q: Can Infiltrate destroy an action played on a minion, or just an action played on a base?

A: It can only destroy an action played on the base.

Rule: "Here" means "on this base".

Q: If there's no other action played on the base, do I have to destroy Infiltrate?

A: You do have to destroy an action on the base if there's one, but it says "an action that has been played here", so it's an action that was already on the base before Infiltrate was played. A better wording would be "Destroy another action here." or "Destroy another action played on this base."

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does Infiltrate's "Ongoing" ability work?

A: The official ruling seems to be that the card should be reworded as "Play on a base. Destroy another action played on this base. Ongoing: You may ignore this base's ability. Destroy this action at the start of your turn."

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: Who ignores the base's ability, all the players or just the one who played Infiltrate?

A: The player who plays Infiltrate is the only one who can ignore the base's ability.

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.


Questions on Poison Edit

Q: Can I use Poison to destroy Incorporeal?

A: No. Attaching an action to a minion counts as Affecting the minion, so you cannot play Poison on an Incorporeal minion in the first place.

Rule: Definition of "affect".

Q: Can I destroy Poison among the destroyed actions?

A: Yes, Poison can be among the actions you choose to destroy.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Seeing Stars Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Smoke Bomb Edit

Q: Why is it Ongoing if it eventually destroys itself?

A: It's an Ongoing, so its protection lasts for as long as the card is in play. But the protection only lasts until your next turn, so it needs to destroy itself to make itself stop.

Rule: N/A

Q: Does Shielding or Steam Queen protect Smoke Bomb or Infiltrate from their own destruction?

A: No. Steam Queen and Shielding protect against other players' abilities or actions, not your own. Neither can prevent a self destructing action. (See also the question above about whether or not Infiltrate self destructs at all.)

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Way of Deception Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:

References Edit

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.