FANDOM


Dork orc

Birds travel in flocks. Deer travel in herds. Munchkin Orcs travel in hordes! It's hard to beat the overwhelming power of the horde, or the smell. No, really. Don't even try.

- Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook

The Orcs are one of the 8 factions from the Smash Up: Munchkin set.

Orcs are just big bullies. They team up on their opponents.

Other factions from the same set: Clerics, Dwarves, Elves, Halflings, Mages, Thieves, Warriors.

Cards Edit

Orcs

The Orcs have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is unusually high at 32 or an average of 3.2 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Minions Edit

1x Sword Lord - power 5 - Ongoing: Each of your other minions has +1 power. FAQ

2x Topper Chopper - power 5 - Talent: Do nothing. FAQ

3x Hammer Slammer - power 3 - Destroy a minion of power 2 or less. FAQ

4x Dork Orc - power 2 - Ongoing: This minion is not affected by other players’ actions. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x And Stay Down! - Special: Play before a base scores. If you have the highest total power here, other players cannot play or use Special abilities. FAQ

2x Angry Pillagers - Special: Play when a base scores. If you have at least 3 more power there than the runner-up, gain 1 VP. FAQ

1x Crush - Choose a base and a player who has fewer minions there than you. Destroy one of that player’s minions there. FAQ

1x Death Breath - Place a minion of power 4 or less on the bottom of its owner’s deck. FAQ

2x Dogpile - Move one of your minions to a base where you have at least two minions. Special: You may play this before a base scores. FAQ

1x Gimme! - Choose an action on a minion. Destroy that minion and transfer the action to one of your minions. FAQ

1x Stalling - Play on a base. Ongoing: Each time another player plays a card, you may choose for your minions here not to be affected by it. FAQ

1x Too Tough - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion is not affected by other players’ actions. FAQ

Orcs-0

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook:

And Stay Down!: This does not cancel the resolved effects of Specials played before it. Ties for the highest power count.

Gimme!: Gimme! can only get you one card, even if the minion has two or more. Gimme! can transfer the card even if the destruction fails.

Too Tough: If played on another player’s minion, Too Tough protects it from that player’s actions.

Topper Chopper: Most factions have two 4-power minions. Topper Choppers have extra power instead of a useful ability.

Mechanics Edit

Orcs are themed to be powerful bullies. They are very physically powerful and have many cards that give them advantages for being more powerful on a base than the opposition. They domino their own advantages, such as with ways to get extra victory points for already winning, get extra minions for having multiple minions. This expands further, with Orcs having lots of ways to be unaffected by other players cards attempting to knock them back. They even can prevent players from using last minute specials in a few ways. While Orc minions are protected from opponents fighting back, they have many ways to make weak opponents weaker through removing their minions.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Sword Lord Edit

Q: Do Sword Lord get +1 power from its own ability?

A: No, only your other minions get the +1 power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: Does it only work on my other minions on the same base as Sword Lord?
A: No, it works on any of your minions (other than Sword Lord, of course) on any base.

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control".
Q: Does it also work on my other minions in my hand?
A: No, it works on any of your minions (other than Sword Lord, of course) in play.

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control". (and a minion is only controlled if it's in play)


Questions on Topper Chopper Edit

Q: What is that ability?

A: A talent... that does nothing. If you compare the Orcs with any regular faction distribution, Topper Chopper actually takes the position of the power-4 minion of a faction. The creators of the game gave it more power than the regular minions of that position, but gave it a useless power in exchange.

Rule: N/A

Q: If I use it, am I forbidden from doing anything else for the rest of the turn?

A: No, the talent just does nothing, but if there are other cards you want to play, abilities (like talents) you want to use, go ahead.

Rule: N/A

Q: If Topper Chopper is on Changing Room, does it gain +1 power if I use its talent?

A: Sure!

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".


Questions on Hammer Slammer Edit

Q: When I play Hammer Slammer, do I have to destroy a minion? Even my own minion?

A: Short answer: yes. If there are one or more minions of power 2 or less in play, you must target one of them for destruction, even if it's your own minion.

Rule 1: If the ability doesn't say "you may", you must do it immediately.

Rule 2: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: Can I only destroy a minion on Hammer Slammer's base or on any base?

A: On any base.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".


Questions on Dork Orc Edit

Q: A player plays a Dork Orc. Can you play Control Minion as a Special to take control of it?

A: Based on the community's interpretation, you can play Control Minion before its ability is resolved, so it's not immune yet. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: An opponent has Dork Orc in play. Can I use my Blaster Master's talent on the Dork Orc since it's the ability of a minion but not an action?

A: Sure. As you say, Dork Orc can't be affected by other player's actions. Blaster Master is a minion, not an action.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug (or Unfathomable Goals, Griefer, Out of Sight), forcing me to affect one of my minions. Can I choose Dork Orc? If so, does Dork Orc protect itself?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, since the cause of the affect is "another player's action", then yes, Dork Orc protects itself.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.


Questions on And Stay Down! Edit

Q: A player plays And Stay Down!. Can I play Wil Wheaton as a Special or Force of Wil to discard And Stay Down! without effect?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: How long does And Stay Down!'s ability last? For example, if I play it before a first base is scored, are the other players also prohibited from playing or using Special abilities if a second base is scored on the same turn?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Angry Pillagers Edit

Q: Do I gain 1 VP instead of the reward for winner position or do I gain 1 more VP?

A: You gain the reward for the winner position and 1 extra VP.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Crush Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Death Breath Edit

Q: Can I use Death Breath on a minion that cannot be returned to the deck?

A: Yes. The card says "place", not "return". So Death Breath can be used on a card that cannot be "returned". Also, there currently has no abilities that "return" a card in play to the deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Is the ability of Death Breath the same as moving/returning the minion?

A: Unless the card explicitly tells you to move or return the minion, it is not moving or returning the minion, so no.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I use Death Breath to place a minion of power 4 or less from my discard pile under my deck?

A: No. The minion must be a minion in play.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".


Questions on Dogpile Edit

Q: Suppose I have a single minion on one base and two minions on another base. If I play Dogpile, do I have to move my single minion?

A: No, you can target any of your minions in play, but if you move it, it must be to a base where you have at least two minions. If you choose your minion and there's no eligible base you can move it to, then your minion doesn't move and the action is discarded like normal.

Rule: You can play a card even if its ability can’t or doesn’t happen.

Q: If I use this before a base scores, does the move must be done to the scoring base? from the scoring base?

A: When used as a Special, the scoring base doesn't matter. You can move your minion to or from the scoring base, or you can even move your minion between two bases that are not the scoring base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Gimme! Edit

Q: Wait! If I play Gimme! and destroy a minion, its attachments must be discarded according to the rule "when a card leaves play, discard attachments." How am I supposed to transfer the action then?

A: Obviously, for Gimme! to work, it must trump that rule just to allow you to transfer an action. The remaining attachments are still discarded though.

Rule: Often, card text and rules text will conflict. When there's a fight, card text wins.

Q: If I use Gimme! to destroy a minion with Jetpack of Anachronism, is the minion placed to its owner's hand or not?

A: Yes. You destroy the minion before transferring the action, so the action still applies and the minion is placed in its owner's hand.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: If I use Gimme! to destroy a minion with Small But Tough, is the minion placed on top of its owner's deck or not?

A: Yes. You destroy the minion before transferring the action, so the action still applies and the minion is placed on its owner's deck.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: If I use Gimme! to destroy a minion with an action that makes it indestructible (Shell Game, Überserum, Unstoppable), is the minion destroyed or not?

A: No. You destroy the minion before transferring the action, so the action still applies and the minion is saved from destruction.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: If I use Gimme! to destroy a minion with Hang in There, is the minion destroyed or not? How about the action?

A: When you play Gimme! and destroy the minion, Hang in There interrupts it. So, you need to fully resolve Hang in There before finishing resolving Gimme!'s ability. So, you resolve Hang in There by moving the minion to another and destroying Hang in There. Once you resume resolving Gimme!, Hang in There isn't in play anymore and can't be transferred.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: If I use Gimme! to destroy a minion with Eternal Hero, is the minion placed to its owner's hand or not? How about Eternal Hero?

A: When you play Gimme! and destroy the minion, Eternal Hero interrupts it. So, you need to fully resolve Eternal Hero before finishing resolving Gimme!'s ability. So, you resolve Eternal Hero by placing it and the minion in their owners' hands. Once you resume resolving Gimme!, Eternal Hero isn't in play anymore and can't be transferred.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.


Questions on Stalling Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion there, I can protect it against my opponent's cards, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent) "your minions" means "their minions" and "another players" means "one of their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.
Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug (or Unfathomable Goals, Griefer, Out of Sight), forcing me to affect one of my minions. Can I choose one of my minions on the same base as Stalling and choose for the card not to affect my minion?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, yes, if you choose for Stalling to protect your minion, it will be protected from the card that was played.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.


Questions on Too Tough Edit

Q: An opponent plays Bear Hug (or Unfathomable Goals, Griefer, Out of Sight), forcing me to affect one of my minions. Can I choose my minion with Too Tough played on it? If so, does Too Tough protect it?

A: First of all, you can indeed choose any of your minions, but you must choose one if you have any in play. Secondly, since the cause of the affect is "another player's action", then yes, Too Tough protects your minion.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Trivia Edit

  • The artists are John Kovalic, who is well-known for drawing the art of many boardgames including Munchkin and several of its expansions, and Francisco Rico Torres, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • A Hoverbot is being crushed in the Crush card.
  • A Werewolf is being attacked in the Dogpile card.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.