FANDOM


Pirate king

Pirates move cards around the table keeping your opponents unbalanced. - AEG

You know what's better than roving the high seas? Roving anywhere you want. Pirates buckle their swashes in every port, and you'll walk the plank if you don't like it.

- Core Set rulebook

The Pirates are one of the eight factions from the Core Set.

Pirates focus on moving a player's minions from base to base and destroying low power opponent minions.

Other factions from the same set: Aliens, Dinosaurs, Ninjas, Robots, Tricksters, Wizards, Zombies.

Cards Edit

Pirates

The Pirates have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion. They are also one of the rare factions to have received a titan from the TITANS Event Kit.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 0 play-on-base actions,
  • 10 standard actions (all of them affect one or more minions): Broadside (2x), Cannon, Dinghy (2x), Full Sail, Powderkeg, Shanghai, Sea Dogs, Swashbuckling,
  • 1 action that directly increases a minion's power: Swashbuckling.

Minions Edit

1x Pirate King - power 5 - Special: Before a base scores, you may move this minion there. FAQ

2x Buccaneer - power 4 - Special: If this minion would be destroyed, move it to another base instead. FAQ

3x Saucy Wench - power 3 - You may destroy a minion of power 2 or less on this base. FAQ

4x First Mate - power 2 - Special: After this base is scored, you may move this minion to another base instead of the discard pile. FAQ

Actions Edit

2x Broadside - Destroy all of one player’s minions of power 2 or less on a base where you have a minion. FAQ

1x Cannon - Destroy up to two minions of power 2 or less. FAQ

2x Dinghy - Move up to two of your minions to other bases. FAQ

1x Full Sail - Move any number of your minions to other bases. Special: Before a base scores, you may play this card. FAQ

1x Powderkeg - Destroy one of your minions and all minions with equal or less power on the same base. FAQ

1x Sea Dogs - Name a faction. Move all other players’ minions of that faction from one base to another. FAQ

1x Shanghai - Move another player’s minion to another base. FAQ

1x Swashbuckling - Each of your minions gains +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

Titan Edit

(available in each "Smash Up TITANS" pack released with the TITANS Event Kit)

1x The Kraken - Special: After a base scores where you had a minion while this card is not in play, you may say “Release the Kraken!” to play this titan on the base that replaces it. Talent: Move this titan to another base. Other players’ minions there get -1 power until the end of the turn. Special: After this base scores, move one of your minions from here to another base instead of the discard pile. FAQ

Pirates

Bases Edit


Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Dinghy, Full Sail: You can move the minions to different bases.

First Mate: This ability triggers each time the base First Mate is on scores; this can happen more than once per turn. The First Mate cannot move to the base that replaces the scored base.

Powderkeg: If you choose a minion that is immune to destruction, the other minions are still destroyed (unless also immune).

Sea Dogs: All the minions must start at the same base and move to the same base.

Swashbuckling: Its effects only apply to minions currently in play, not to minions played later in the turn.

Mechanics Edit

Pirates' main mechanic is movement. This allows you to reallocate yourself flexibly as the game state shifts, which combines well with them also having the ability to stay on the board and avoiding the discard pile. The potential of this faction is very reliant on who you are paired against and who you pair with. Later expansions additions of ways to tremendously augment First Mate (Power counters and on-minion actions) can make him game breaking. Placing minions on other bases also can serve them with a couple specials that allow them to move to bases as they score.

They also have many ways to destroy weak minions, especially of power 2 or less, which gives them more substance over how much power is at a base.

Strategy Edit

Destroying Weak Minions Edit

Pirates are great at killing weak minions (i.e. power 2 or less), and especially at killing a whole group of them at the same time.

While stronger minions are usually preferable targets and weak minions rarely have useful Ongoing/Talent/Special abilities, weak minions are encountered more often and destroying two or three at the same time can usually remove as much power as destroying a single power-4-or-more minion.

Also, factions with many extra minion plays usually have weaker minions to compensate their advantage. If they don't have a way to protect their minions or recover them from the discard pile, destroying a bunch of them is an effective way to slow them down.

When picking a partner faction, you may consider picking a faction that can lower the power of other player's minions, especially those that can lower the power of several minions at the same time. This way, minions of power 3 become viable targets for your destructive power.

A uncommon strategy is "sacrificing" your Buccaneer with a Powderkeg, exploiting Buccaneer's invincibility. By choosing to destroy your Buccaneer, you will destroy all minions of power 3 or less on its base and because of Buccaneer's ability, it will be sure to survive the explosion. Note that failing to destroy Buccaneer doesn't prevent the other minions' destruction.

Moving your Minions Edit

Pirates can move minions around, especially your own minions. While this allows them to transfer power from one base to another, their lack of extra minion plays limits this.

While most of their minions integrate movement as part of their abilities, they can only be triggered on very specific timings. So you'll heavily rely on their actions if you want to freely move your minions, which they only have three.

Full Sail is their most powerful and versatile action, allowing you to freely rearrange the placement of your minions in play. Obviously, it becomes even more powerful the more minions you have in play. So, if you have enough minions in play, you can break a base with just enough power to be in a good position while getting started on another base with the rest of your minions, or keep one of your minions with a useful ability in play to continue exploiting it.

To make up for their lack of extra minion plays, First Mates are very useful as they can theoretically remain in play until the end of the game. They are however easy targets for any destructive ability or any offensive ability in general.

Über-First Mates Edit

Since First Mates can easily be targeted by other players, one strategy is having a partner faction that can protect, or better boost, your First Mates. They especially become frightening when the Pirates are paired with a faction with powerful play-on-minion actions or that can place +1 power counters. Boosting the First Mates usually makes them harder to target for destruction and may allow you break multiple bases on the same turn. Though beware, as abilities that can return minions to your hand can instantly waste all your efforts.

Moving Other Players' Minions Edit

Pirates have only two cards that can move other players' minions but they can target minions of any power. Moving other players' minions, while not as radical as destroying them, is great to either weaken a player's position on a base you're about to score, removing an enemy minion that's locking down a base (e.g. Leprechaun) or get rid of one their strong minions by using it to score a base.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Pirate King Edit

Q: The card says "Special" so I can play it outside of my turn, right?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Pirate King, the condition is "before a base scores", which means that you can only activate it during the Score Bases phase of any turn, and more specifically during the step where before-scoring abilities can be used. Furthermore, it mentions that when activated, you may "move" it. Moving involves a relocation from one base to another, so Pirate King must already be on a base. So Pirate King is actually a Special card that can only be used when it is in play.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: Moving lets you relocate a minion or titan from one base to another.

Q: If an opponent played Tooth and Claw... and Guns on my Pirate King, can I move him to a base during the "before a base scores" phase?

A: No. You can try, but that will activate Tooth and Claw... and Guns, and Pirate King will fail to move. Since each "before a base scores" ability can only be used once per base, he'll have to wait for another base to use his ability.

Rule: Definition of "affect".

Q: My Pirate King is on base A. Base B and C are ready to score. Base B is chosen to score, so I move my Pirate King to base B and get first place. My opponent plays a card and steals first place from me (e.g. Shinobi), can I decide to move my Pirate King to base C, which is also ready to score?

A: No. When you use Pirate King's ability, the only base you can move it to is the base that was chosen to score.

Rule 1: "Before a base scores" means during the before-scoring step of any turn, the base being the one chosen to score.

Rule 2: "There" means "the location just referred to on the card".


Questions on Buccaneer Edit

Q: One of my cards tells me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. Sacrifice), or an opponent's card forces me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. Bear Hug), or a base's ability allows me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. R'lyeh), can I target Buccaneer? If so, is it destroyed? If not, does it stop the rest of the ability if there were more to it?

A: Short answer: Yes, no and it depends. Firstly, you can indeed choose any of your minions as long as it fits the card's requirement (e.g. if Buccaneer is on R'lyeh, you can target it with R'lyeh's ability, but you can't if it was on another base, obviously), but you must choose one if you have any in play and if it's a mandatory ability (i.e. there's no "you may"). Secondly, because it is targeted for destruction, Buccaneer's ability kicks in and immediately converts the destruction into a movement, so Buccaneer will not be destroyed, whether it can actually move or not. Lastly, you must finish resolving the card that was originally invoked. If the card was the kind of card that says "Destroy a minion to do Y" or "Destroy a minion. If you do, do Y", then the effect stated as "Y" can't be done at all, simply because in the end Buccaneer isn't destroyed. If the card says something else, such as "Destroy a minion. Do Y", "Destroy a minion and do Y", etc., the destruction isn't a pre-requisite so you resolve the rest of the card's ability.

Rule 1: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Rule 2: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you need to completely do the effect stated as "X" before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: The card says "Special" so I can play it outside of my turn, right?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Buccaneer, the condition is "if this minion would be destroyed", which means that you can only activate it at any moment where it is about to be destroyed. Destroying can only be done to a card in play, so Buccaneer must already be on a base. So Buccaneer is actually a Special card that can only be used when it is in play.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: Destroying lets you remove a card that's in play and put it in the discard pile.

Q: If my Buccaneer is Entangled, what happens if something tries to destroy him?

A: You resolve each card in order. When you attempt to destroy the Buccaneer, its ability is triggered and it changes it into a move effect. Then, when Buccaneer tries to move, Entangled prevents it. So Buccaneer survives but can't move.[1]

Rule: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: Is a Buccaneer immune to cards that return minions to your hand?

A: No. Returning a minion to its owner's hand is not the same as destroying it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q. After a base scores, you're supposed to discard your minions there. Can I use Buccaneer's ability to move it to another base?

A: No. When you discard your minions after the scoring of a base, the minions are not "destroyed". They are "discarded".

Rule: After scoring, all cards still on that base go to their owners’ discard piles. This does not destroy them.


Questions on Saucy Wench Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on First Mate Edit

Q: The card says "Special" so I can play it outside of my turn, right?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of First Mate, the condition is "after this base is scored", this means that you can only activate it after its base is scored, "its base" being the base it is currently on. Obviously, if First Mate isn't in play, there's no "this base" that the condition can refer to. So First Mate is actually a Special card that can only be used when it is in play.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: Abilities that say "After this base scores" can only be activated if the card is on the scoring base, if the card is attached to a minion on the scoring base or if the card is the scoring base itself.

Q: When is my First Mate moved with its ability?

A: After its base scores, First Mate's ability is triggered during the step where the players can play/invoke after-scoring abilities. But, that's just when its controller can decide to activate it or not. If they choose to activate it, nothing happens for the moment. However, when the players move on to the step where the cards on the base are all discarded, that's when the First Mate is moved instead of being discarded.

Rule: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards are discarded simultaneously. That's when the cards with "instead of the discard pile" are resolved.

Q: Does Mindraker immobilize my First Mates?

A: Nope. The designers may have intended it to, but Mindraker says you can't play specials; First Mate would already be in play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What happens after a base scores where there is a First Mate, with Entangled in play?

A: While activated during the after-scoring step, a First Mate's ability is eventually resolved during the step where all the cards on the base are discarded. So if all the cards are discarded, Entangled stops working and First Mate can move.[1]

Rule: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards are discarded simultaneously. That's when the cards with "instead of the discard pile" are resolved.

Q: Regarding the previous question, after a base scores, does it also work for a First Mate there with My Only Weakness on it?

A: No. Remember, you can only decide if a First Mate will move during the step where all after-scoring cards are resolved, and a First Mate which is "programmed" to move will only do so during the step where all cards on the scored base are discarded. In the case of My Only Weakness, since the First Mate's ability is cancelled, you can't "program" it to move, so when the cards are discarded, the First Mate won't move and will be discarded. It can only have a chance to move if you had the opportunity to activate it when it was possible. Since you couldn't, it won't move. In the case of Entangled, Entangled doesn't prevent you from programming a First Mate to move.

Rule: You can only invoke/play "after scoring" abilities during the after scoring step.

Q: If one or more First Mates move to another base by its ability, and that base also reaches the breakpoint, does it score? If it does, can said First Mates use its ability again?

A: Yes, that base will also score. And yes, you can use those First Mates' abilities again.

Rule: After you are done with the scoring of a base, check if there's any eligible bases left to score.

Q: After a base scores, can I move my First Mate to the base that replaces it?

A: No, the First Mate is moved before the new base is drawn, so you can only move it to the other bases.

Rule: Check the steps for Phase 3.

Q: If another player takes control of my First Mate (e.g. Kitty Cat cards, Make Contact), who decides how to use its ability?

A: The First Mate's controller is the one who decides whether it's discarded or moved to another base. If they decide to move it, it's still them who chooses the base the First Mate is moved to. If they decide to discard it, it goes to your discard pile, not theirs.

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: After a base scores, I move my First Mate to another base. What happens to the actions attached to it?

A: They remain attached and follow First Mate to its new base.

Rule: When a minion moves, anything attached to the minion go with the minion and stay attached.


Questions on Broadside Edit

Q: Does Broadside destroy minions of power 2 or less all at once, or does it destroy them one at a time and check each time whether they meet the condition?

A: They are all destroyed at the same time. You first evaluate the power of each of that player's minions, and then destroy all the ones with power 2 or less at the same time. If that reduces the power of their other minions to 2 or less, they aren't destroyed.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: It applies to a base "where I have a minion". Can I apply it to a base where I just have a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is more than 2), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 2), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that if several minions are destroyed, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to destroy only one additional minion, not one per affected minion.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 2), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 2), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that if several minions are destroyed, Funky Town only triggers once and allows you to destroy only one additional minion, not one per affected minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Cannon Edit

Q: If there's a power-2 Jumper with a boosted power-3 Pinkie on the same base, can I use Cannon to first destroy Jumper, and then Pinkie because its power dropped to 2?

A: No, just like Broadside, the minions you choose must be destroyed at the same time. So, first, you choose up to two eligible minions (Pinkie being at power 3 isn't eligible). And then, you destroy the chosen minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is more than 2), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 2), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that if the destroyed minions are on the same base, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to destroy only one additional minion, not one per affected minion.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 2), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 2), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that if the destroyed minions are on the same base, Funky Town only triggers once and allows you to destroy only one additional minion, not one per affected minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Dinghy Edit

Q: It tells me to move "my minions". Can I choose a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Do the minions need to be on the same base?

A: No. And they don't have to move to the same base either.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: After a base scores, can I play Dinghy to move two of my minions there to another base instead of discarding them?

A: No. Dinghy isn't a Special action so it can only be played during your Play Cards phase. If you're resolving the scoring of a base, it means you're no longer in the Play Cards phase.

Rule: Check phases 2 and 3.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. If both minions were moved away from Diva's base, choose one of them to follow.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion, that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. If both minions were moved away from Dancing King's base, choose one of them to follow. Note that if the moved minions were from the same base, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to move only one additional minion, not one per affected minion. Also, note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. If both minions were moved away from the minion's base, choose one of them to follow. Also, note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it moves one of your minions away from Funky Town, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. If both minions were moved away from Funky Town, choose one of them to follow. Note that if the moved minions were from the same base, Funky Town only triggers once and allows you to move only one additional minion, not one per affected minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Full Sail Edit

Q: Do the minions need to be on the same base?

A: No. And they don't have to move to the same base either.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If minions move around during the "before a base scores" phase, can multiple bases break in one turn? For example, I use Full Sail.

A: Yes. After you are done resolving the scoring of the current base, you check to see if there's any base left that can score. That can happen if minions are moved during the scoring of a base. See Phase 3 for how multiple bases can break in one turn.

Rule: After you are done with the scoring of a base, check if there's any eligible bases left to score.

Q: When played as a Special, is it limited to the minions on the scoring base?

A: No, you can move any of your minions from any base to any other base, not just the scoring base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If another player has control of some of my minions (e.g. the Kitty Cats, the Elves, the Ignobles), can I still move those minions with Full Sail?

A: No. Full Sail only allows you to move the minions you are controlling.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Before a base scores, I play Full Sail to move my minions away from that base, bringing the total power below its breakpoint. Does the base stop scoring?

A: No. Once a base has been chosen to score, even if the total power there changes during the before-scoring step, the base keeps scoring.

Rule: The base is scored regardless of how much power is still left on it after the before-scoring step.

Q: I have two Pinkies in play. Each one alone on a different base. There's an enemy Cub Scout on a third base. I play a Full Sail and move my two Pinkies to Cub Scout's base. Are they destroyed?

A: No. Even if the Pinkie cards are physically moved separately, they are still considered as being moved at the same time, so they are both power 3.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Is this still a standard action if I play it through its Special ability for the Disco Dancers and Funky Town?

A: Yes. A standard action is an action that doesn't "Play on a minion/base" or any variation on it. Full Sail doesn't say that, whether it's played normally or as a Special, so it IS a standard action no matter what.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - There's no point for Diva to copy the movement because Diva can be moved directly by Full Sail anyway.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. If several minions were moved away from Dancing King's base, choose one of them to follow. Note that if several minions were moved from the same base, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to move only one additional minion, not one per affected minion. Also, note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. If several minions were moved away from the minion's base, choose one of them to follow. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- There's no point for Funky Town to copy the movement because all your minions can be moved directly by Full Sail anyway.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Powderkeg Edit

Q: If I choose a creature that "can't be destroyed" or has a similar ability, does Powderkeg still destroy minions?

A: Yes. If you have a minion that can't be destroyed, it is still an eligible target for Powderkeg. In that case, it is not destroyed, but all other minions there with equal or less power are still destroyed. The destruction of the minions are not conditioned to the destruction of your minion.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.

Q: It tells me to destroy "one of my minions". Can I destroy a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of Diva's power. Note that the part that destroys "all minions with equal or less power on the same base" only refers to minions with equal or less power than the minion directly destroyed in the previous part, so destroying Diva can't trigger more destruction of minions of equal or less power.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that the part that destroys "all minions with equal or less power on the same base" only refers to minions with equal or less power than the minion directly destroyed in the previous part, so destroying the extra minion can't trigger more destruction of minions of equal or less power. Also, note that if several minions are destroyed, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to destroy only one additional minion, not one per affected minion.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that the part that destroys "all minions with equal or less power on the same base" only refers to minions with equal or less power than the minion directly destroyed in the previous part, so destroying the extra minion can't trigger more destruction of minions of equal or less power.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if you destroy one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that the part that destroys "all minions with equal or less power on the same base" only refers to minions with equal or less power than the minion directly destroyed in the previous part, so destroying the extra minion can't trigger more destruction of minions of equal or less power. Also, note that if several minions are destroyed, Funky Town only triggers once and allows you to destroy only one additional minion, not one per affected minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Sea Dogs Edit

Q: Do the moved minions all go to the same base?

A: Yes. The card text says to move all the relevant minions from the chosen base to "another", i.e. to one other base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Does Sea Dogs affect all minions of a faction on any base or just a single base?

A: From the official FAQ[2]: "You choose a faction, then choose a base. Move all minions of that faction from that base to any one other base. This may target opposing players’ minions." This description is missing the stipulation that you can only move other players' minions with this ability.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I use Sea Dogs to move my own minions?

A: No, because Sea Dogs only works on other players' minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I name my own faction?

A: Yes. There's no restriction on which faction you can name, but keep in mind that your minions won't move. This might actually do something useful if Make Contact or a similar ability is in play or if someone else chose the same faction as you.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that it works even if Disco Dancers weren't the named faction. Also, note that you don't get to name a second faction just because you copied the move effect; when you're able to copy the movement, you've already named a faction so you don't go back.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that it works even if Disco Dancers weren't the named faction. Also, note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player's opponents, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion controlled by that player. And note that even though several minions are moved, Dancing King only triggers once and allows you to move only one additional minion, not one per affected minion. Finally, note that you don't get to name a second faction just because you copied the move effect; when you're able to copy the movement, you've already named a faction so you don't go back.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that it works even if Disco Dancers weren't the named faction. Also, note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player's opponents, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion controlled by that player. And note that you don't get to name a second faction just because you copied the move effect; when you're able to copy the movement, you've already named a faction so you don't go back.
- It is impossible for Funky Town to copy that action's effect because you can only directly affect opponents' minions, which won't trigger Funky Town.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Shanghai Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player's opponents, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion controlled by that player.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player's opponents, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion controlled by that player.
- It is impossible for Funky Town to copy that action's effect because you can only directly affect an opponent's minion, which won't trigger Funky Town.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Swashbuckling Edit

Q: It gives +1 power to "my minions". Does it also give +1 power to a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If I play Swashbuckling and then play another minion afterward, does the new minion get +1 power from Swashbuckling ?

A: The official answer is yes[3].

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box now rules that it only increases the power of minions currently in play at the time the card is played, and not the power of minions played afterwards.

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer card says.

Q: I play Swashbuckling and boost my minions. If an opponent manages to take control of one of my minions before Swashbuckling expires (e.g. The Base Is Not Enough, Can Has Cheeseburger?), does the minion keep its boost?

A: No. Swashbuckling only boosts your minions. If one of them is later controlled by another player, it's no longer your minion and Swashbuckling doesn't affect it anymore.

A: UPDATE. Because of how The Bigger Geekier Box now rules this card, Swashbuckling should be treated as giving the +1 power to all your minions as a definitive effect, so the restriction that only your minions are affected only matters when Swashbuckling is played. Afterwards, if the minion's controller changes the +1 power still remains applied to it until the end of the turn.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: An opponent's Magic Ward is on a base where I have minions, can I play Swashbuckling and boost them?

A: Sure. Magic Ward only prevents "play on a base" actions from being played there, but Swashbuckling isn't played on a base, so Magic Ward does nothing to it.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - Diva can't copy it because it would already be directly affected by it.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power.
- Funky Town can't copy it because you need to be the one who played the action and so all your minions are already directly affected by it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on The Kraken Edit

Main article: Titans

Q: The card says "Special" so I can use it at any time, even outside of my turn, right?

A: Be careful, "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of The Kraken's first Special, the condition is "After a base scores where you had a minion while this card is not in play", so you can play it after the scoring of a base on any player's turn and where you have a minion. So The Kraken can indeed be played on any turn, but only after a base scores where you have a minion and after doing your best Liam Neeson impersonation. In the case of The Kraken's second Special, the condition is "After this base scores", this means that you can only activate it after its base is scored, "its base" being the base it is currently on. Obviously, if The Kraken isn't in play, there's no "this base" that the condition can refer to. So that Special ability that can only be used when it is in play.

Rule: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Q: I need to "have a minion". Do minions that I own but don't control also count?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: Why do I have to say "Release the Kraken!"?

A: Because The Kraken deserves a dramatic entrance. If you're unable or unwilling to do it, then nothing will happen.

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you need to completely do the effect stated as "X" before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: I have a different titan on the scored base where I have a minion. Since the titan will be removed from play when the base is replaced, can I then play The Kraken on the new base?

A: Yes. The Kraken allows you to play it, but it will only happen when the new base comes into play, at which point your previous titan is no longer in play and therefore no longer preventing you from playing The Kraken (don't forget to shout "Release the Kraken!" as you do so).

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If They Say He’s Got to Go is used to move The Kraken, does other player's minion on the new base get -1 power?

A: No, the -1 power is given as part of the resolution of The Kraken's talent. If the talent wasn't used, then other players' minions don't get -1 power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I use The Kraken's talent to move it and give other players' minions on the arrival base -1 power. They Say He’s Got to Go is then used to move The Kraken. Do the other players' minions on the previous base lose the -1 power? Do the other players' minions on the new base get -1 power?

A: No and no. When the talent is used, it's already determined which minions get the -1 power. From then on and until the end of the turn, no matter what happens to The Kraken, whether it's removed from play or moved to another base, the -1 power remains applied to the same minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Its second Special ability allows me to move "one of my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have The Kraken there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. The Kraken is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if The Kraken had any +1 power counters on it or gave you any total power (e.g. on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: An opponent is playing with the Pirates. Their The Kraken isn't in play. A base scores and I have a minion there, I can then RELEASE THE KRAKEN!!! through its Special ability and play it on the new base, right?

A: No, it doesn't seem like it's the intention. Out of play, "you" on cards probably refers to the player who has them physically, i.e. in their discard pile, hand, next to their deck, etc. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: Using its talent, my Kraken is moved to a base where another player has a titan and more power than me. Do their minions (and my other opponents' minions there) get -1 power? Or is The Kraken immediately removed from play? If I can give their minions -1 power and end up with more power than that player, is my Kraken still removed or is their titan removed?

A: A clash will indeed happen, but before the clash happens, you must finish resolving The Kraken's talent ability, so the -1 power is applied before the clash is resolved. If your opponent's total power ends up lower than yours, your Kraken wins the clash.

Rule: After you play or move a titan to a base that already has a titan, one of them must be removed from play. The two controllers compare their total power at that base, after resolving their ongoing abilities though not their talents. The one with the lesser total removes their titan; the earlier titan wins ties.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Francisco Rico Torres, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • The artist for the titan (which was released after The Core Set) is also Francisco Rico Torres.
  • The Grey Opal is a parodic name for The Black Pearl of the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise.
  • Tortuga is the name of a real-life island in the Caribbean, a key island during the real-world age of piracy and featured in many fictional pirate stories.
  • The phrase "Release the Kraken!" is a reference to the film remake of Clash of the Titans where Zeus, portrayed by Liam Neeson, uttered that phrase.

In other languages Edit

Language Name
Chinese 海盗
French Pirates
German Piraten
Greek Πειρατές
Italian Pirati
Japanese 海賊
Polish Piraci
Portuguese Piratas
Russian Пираты
Spanish Piratas


Core Set

Factions: Aliens  •  Dinosaurs  •  Ninjas  •  Pirates  •  Robots  •  Tricksters  •  Wizards  •  Zombies
Mechanics: Titans (optional, since the TITANS Event Kit)

TITANS Event Kit

Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Madness  •  Titans

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/12235239#12235239
  2. http://www.alderac.com/smashup/files/2012/08/SU-FAQ.pdf
  3. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/16247336#16247336