FANDOM


Zapbot

Robots churn themselves off the factory line with frightening efficiency. - AEG

Captains of industry built the robots, and then the robots took over and made the process even more efficient! Now they can churn out more little, highly specialized bots than their enemies can handle. Oh, and a few massive ones as well....

- Core Set rulebook

The Robots are one of the eight factions from the Core Set.

Robots specialize in playing multiple low powered minions in one turn.

Other factions from the same set: Aliens, Dinosaurs, Ninjas, Pirates, Tricksters, Wizards, Zombies.

Cards Edit

Robots

The Robots have 18 minions and only 2 actions compared to the usual 10 and 10. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is 38 or an average of 2.11 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3. A few minions (Microbot Fixer and Microbot Alpha) can boost the power of minions beyond its base value.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 0 play-on-base actions,
  • 2 standard actions (none of them affect minions): Tech Center (2x),
  • 0 actions that directly increase a minion's power.

Minions Edit

1x Nukebot - power 5 - Ongoing: After this minion is destroyed, destroy each other player’s minions on this base. FAQ

2x Warbot - power 4 - Ongoing: This minion cannot be destroyed. FAQ

3x Hoverbot - power 3 - Reveal the top card of your deck. If it is a minion, you may play it as an extra minion. Otherwise, return it to the top of your deck. FAQ

4x Zapbot - power 2 - You may play an extra minion of power 2 or less. FAQ

1x Microbot Alpha - power 1 - Ongoing: Gains +1 power for each of your other Microbots. All of your minions are considered Microbots. FAQ

1x Microbot Archive - power 1 - Ongoing: After one of your Microbots (including this one) is destroyed, draw a card. FAQ

2x Microbot Fixer - power 1 - If this is the first minion you played this turn, you may play an extra minion. Ongoing: Each of your Microbots gains +1 power. FAQ

2x Microbot Guard - power 1 - Destroy a minion on this base with power less than the number of minions you have here. FAQ

2x Microbot Reclaimer - power 1 - If this is the first minion you played this turn, you may play an extra minion. Shuffle any number of Microbots from your discard pile into your deck. FAQ

Actions Edit

2x Tech Center - Choose a base. Draw one card for each of your minions there. FAQ

Robots

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Hoverbot: You must play or return the minion immediately.

Microbot Alpha: All of your non-Microbot minions are also considered Microbots, while still being considered their original selves. This only applies to minions in play, not those in the hand or discard pile. But since this ability is ongoing, the amount of power gain changes as other Microbots come and go.

Microbot Fixer: If both Fixers are in play, each Microbot has +2 power, including both Fixers.

Mechanics Edit

Robots specialize in overwhelming bases with a large quantity of very weak minions. This makes up almost all of their strategy as they have 18 minions and only two actions (Microbots making up the deficit from the standard deck). Most of their minions either allow playing extra minions or buff based on other minions you've played.

Robots have a subclass of power 1 minions called Microbots which augment one another into a much more potent threat. The Microbot Alpha minion can expand this qualification to all their minions in play, and thus expand all the buffs and benefits.

To counter mass destruction Robots have a couple minions who are invincible, punish opponents for destroying them, or reward themselves for being destroyed, as well as ways to get Microbots back into their deck.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQEdit

Questions on Nukebot Edit

Q: A player has two Polar Commandos on the same base as a Nukebot. If Nukebot is destroyed, are the two Polar Commando destroyed or one survives because it becomes indestructible when it's alone?

A: They are both destroyed. After Nukebot is destroyed, the resulting destructions happen at the same time, not one after another.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Warbot Edit

Q: Can Warbot still be targeted for effects that say "Destroy a minion..." such as Powderkeg? If so, does the rest of the effect still occur?

A: Yes, Warbot can be targeted and won't be destroyed. In the case of Powderkeg, the rest of the ability still occur.

Rule 1: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Rule 2: Cards are resolved entirely.


Questions on Hoverbot Edit

Q: With Hoverbot, I reveal a minion from the top of my deck. Do I have to play it immediately? Or because it's an extra, can I play it later on my turn?

A: You must either play it immediately as an extra minion (if possible) or put it on top of your deck. You cannot just hold the card and wait until you're ready.

Rule: You must play an extra card immediately if the extra card play effect refers to a specific card.

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's a minion and you choose to play it, then you control it like any card you play.
- If it's an action, or a minion that you don't want to play, it goes to the top of your deck, that's because, while the other players can see who owns the card, the card is merely revealed and doesn't change location.

Rule 1: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Rule 2: Cards you don’t own that are merely revealed in your hand or deck stay there.


Questions on Zapbot Edit

Q: After I play a Zapbot, can I play a War Raptor as the extra minion? A Pinkie on the same base as one of my minions? Microbot Alpha while I have several minions in play already?

A: Yes to all. Before it is played, a minion's power is equal to its printed power, so a War Raptor, a Pinkie and Microbot Alpha are all power 2 or less while they're in your hand.

Rule: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.

Q: Is Zapbot a Microbot?

A: Unless you have Microbot Alpha in play, a Zapbot isn't considered as a Microbot because it doesn't have "Microbot" in its name.

Rule: N/A


Questions on Microbot Alpha Edit

Q: What does "All of your minions are considered Microbots" mean?

A: Usually, that is if Microbot Alpha isn't in play, only minions with the word "Microbot" in their names are considered as Microbots. So, Microbot Fixer is a Microbot, but Zapbot isn't. With Microbot Alpha in play, any of your minions in play are considered as Microbots, even if they don't have "Microbot" in their names.

Rule: N/A

Q: Is it only restricted to the Robot minions or does it work with my other faction or even an opponent's minion that I take control of?

A: It works with any minions you have control of, not just the Robot faction.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Does it also work with Microbot minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Since all my minions become Microbots and since Microbots are the Robot minions with a printed power of 1, does it mean that all my minions change their faction to that of the Robots and change their printed power to 1 because of Microbot Alpha?

A: No. It just means that they are treated as Microbots for the abilities of Microbot Alpha (Microbot Alpha gains +1 power for them), Microbot Fixer (they gain +1 power from Microbot Fixer) and Microbot Archive (you draw a card if one of them is destroyed). They still belong to their original faction, they don't become Robot minions if they weren't in the first place, and their printed powers aren't changed.

Rule: N/A

Q: If my Microbot Alpha is in play, can my Microbot Reclaimer shuffle any minions from my discard pile into my deck?

A: No. Microbot Alpha's ability refers to "all of your minions", which only applies to your minions in play.

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control". (and a minion is only controlled if it's in play)

Q: Does it only get +1 power from all my Microbots on all the bases or just its base?

A: Any Microbot on any base, not just its own base.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: One of my non-Microbot minions has an enemy Tooth and Claw... and Guns attached to it. I play Microbot Alpha, so Tooth and Claw... and Guns is destroyed and the minion isn't considered a Microbot, right?

A: Wrong. Tooth and Claw... and Guns only prevents the minion it's attached to from being affected. Being considered a Microbot isn't considered as being affected, so Tooth and Claw... and Guns doesn't trigger.

Rule: Definition of "affect".

Q: I have a War Raptor and a Microbot Alpha. Does Microbot Alpha's ability cancel War Raptor's?

A: No. Both abilities keep working just fine. War Raptor is still named "War Raptor", it's just also considered as a Microbot.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Microbot Archive Edit

Q: If a Microbot minion I own but don't control is destroyed, do I draw a card?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How can I draw a card when Microbot Archive is destroyed? Its ability is Ongoing so it stops as soon as it leaves play, right?

A: Actually, the moments when its ability is triggered and when it's resolved are two different moments. If it "witnesses" a Microbot being destroyed, it's triggered and will be resolved even if Microbot Archive itself leaves play, but the moment when it's resolved is actually during the step where cards in play that are triggered by an event are resolved.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: Does its ability apply to all my Microbots on all the bases or just its base?

A: Any Microbot on any base, not just its own base.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: I already have ten cards in my hand. An opponent (or I) destroys one of more of my Microbots, therefore making me draw cards until I have more than ten. Do I immediately discard down to 10 cards? Or do I stop drawing once I have exactly ten cards?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on Microbot Fixer Edit

Q: What is a Microbot?

A: By default, any minion with the word "Microbot" in its name. If Microbot Alpha is in play, any of your minions in play is considered as a Microbot.

Rule: N/A

Q: If a card allows me to do something to cards with the same name, can I choose the name "Microbot" and get Microbot Alpha, Microbot Fixer, Microbot Guard,...?

A: No. "Microbot" itself is not a card name.

Rule: N/A

Q: Does Microbot Fixer gain +1 power from its own ability?

A: Yes. Microbot Fixer is included in "each of your Microbots".

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I have two Microbot Fixers in play, do their abilities stack and give +2 power to my Microbots?

A: Yes. Their abilities stack. Each one gives +1 power to all your Microbots, including the other Microbot Fixer.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Does it also give +1 power to Microbot minions I own but that are controlled by other players?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If Microbot Alpha is in play, do all my minions get +1 power from Microbot Fixer? Even the ones without "Microbot" in their name?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I manage to play a Microbot Fixer on an opponent's turn (e.g. Hidden Ninja), is it considered as the first minion I played this turn and so I get an extra minion to play?

A: Yes. If you haven't played any other minion before it on that player's turn (e.g. Shinobi, Wil Wheaton), then it is indeed the first minion you played this turn and so you do get an extra minion to play. Please note that if you obtain an extra minion that way, you must play it immediately or not at all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Microbot Guard Edit

Q: If I play Microbot Guard on a base where I'm the only one to have minions there, do I have to destroy one of my minions?

A: Yes. If there's at least one minion with power less than the number of your minions there, even if it's yours, you must destroy one of them.

Rule 1: If the ability doesn't say "you may", you must do it immediately.

Rule 2: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: Is a Microbot Guard immune to its own destructive ability?

A: No.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: If I play a Microbot Guard on a base where I have no minion, does it destroy itself?

A: No. If you have no other minion there, that means the number of your minions there is 1. So, you have to destroy a minion with power (strictly) less than 1, which is 0. Unless another card reduces Microbot Guard's power to 0 (e.g. Sleep Spores, Hissy Fit), Microbot Guard cannot be targeted for destruction.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I choose to destroy a minion that cannot be destroyed? (e.g. Warbot)

A: Yes. In that case, the destruction fails.

Rule: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Q: I have to count the number of minions "I have there". Do minions there that I own but don't control also count?

A: No. "A minion you have" means "a minion you control (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.


Questions on Microbot Reclaimer Edit

Q: If my Microbot Alpha is in play, can my Microbot Reclaimer shuffle any minions from my discard pile into my deck?

A: No. Microbot Alpha's ability refers to "all of your minions", which only applies to your minions in play.

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control". (and a minion is only controlled if it's in play)

Q: I play a Zapbot, then a Microbot Reclaimer. Since Microbot Reclaimer isn't my first minion, I don't get an extra minion, but can I still shuffle Microbots from my discard pile into my deck.

A: Yes. Microbot Reclaimer being the first minion you played is only a condition for getting an extra minion. Shuffling your discarded Microbots into your deck happens whether Microbot Reclaimer is the first one or not. Otherwise, it would have been worded "If this is the first minion you played this turn, you may play an extra minion and shuffle any number of Microbots from your discard pile into your deck.". Also, even if the first effect isn't applicable, you still do the rest of its ability.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.

Q: I play a Microbot Reclaimer as my first minion of the turn. Do I have to immediately play the extra minion before shuffling discarded Microbots into my deck? This can be important if the extra minion is Hoverbot, playing it after the shuffle increases my chances of its ability revealing a minion.

A: Good question. The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook clarifies that an extra card play must be played immediately or not at all if "another part of the ability follows the extra play" and in the case of Microbot Reclaimer, there is another part of its ability that follows the extra minion play. If we take the new rule literally, it would mean that you must indeed play Hoverbot before shuffling your deck if you want to play it; the extra minion play cannot be saved for later. If the new rule is actually limited to cards where the rest of the ability does something with the extra card (e.g. Commission, Crack of Dusk), then the extra minion play could be saved for later and so you could play Hoverbot after putting more minions in your deck, but the rulebook doesn't explicitly limit it to those cards. To be determined. TBD

Rule: TBD.

Q: If I manage to play a Microbot Reclaimer on an opponent's turn (e.g. Hidden Ninja), is it considered as the first minion I played this turn and so I get an extra minion to play?

A: Yes. If you haven't played any other minion before it on that player's turn (e.g. Shinobi, Wil Wheaton), then it is indeed the first minion you played this turn and so you do get an extra minion to play. Please note that if you obtain an extra minion that way, you must play it immediately or not at all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Tech Center Edit

Q: Do I also draw a card for minions there that I own but don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: After playing Tech Center, I have more than 10 cards in my hand, do I have to discard down to 10 now?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two more cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Tech Center doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Bruno Balixa.
  • Zapbot resembles WALL-E.
  • Microbot Alpha resembles Johnny 5 from the Short Circuit movie.
  • For the base Factory 436-1337, 436-1337 is leetspeak for "AEG-LEET".

In other languages Edit

Language Name
Chinese 机械
French Robots
German Roboter
Greek Ρομπότ
Italian Robot
Japanese ロボット
Polish Roboty
Portuguese Robôs
Russian Роботы
Spanish Robots


Core Set

Factions: Aliens  •  Dinosaurs  •  Ninjas  •  Pirates  •  Robots  •  Tricksters  •  Wizards  •  Zombies
Mechanics: Titans (optional, since the TITANS Event Kit)

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again  •  World Tour: International Incident
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit