FANDOM


17425059 1277698722316379 3888998232567186756 n

Fire up your lighter and wave your hands in the air like you just don’t care! When the Rock Stars come to town they always bring huge crowds with them. - AEG

Hello Cleveland! Let's ROCK!!! Rock Stars want to put on the best show for their fans, and sell out the biggest venues. The biggest venues of course being those with the highest breakpoint. Put on a massive concert and focus on those bases for the win.

- What Were We Thinking? rulebook

The Rock Stars are one of the 4 factions from the What Were We Thinking? set.

The Rock Stars gain advantage from bases with a high breakpoint (typically 21 or higher) and also focus on searching and playing Groupies, their power-2 minions.

Other factions from the same set: Explorers, Grannies, Teddy Bears.

Cards Edit

LOGshPu

The Rock Stars have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is slightly lower than usual at only 29 or an average of 2.9 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 2 play-on-base actions: Hot Venue, Turn Up to 11,
  • 8 standard actions (2 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Guest Star (2x), Power Ballad, Reunion Tour, Rock of Luuv, Total Sellout (2x), Tour Bus,
  • 2 actions that directly increase a minion's power: Hot Venue, Power Ballad.

Minions Edit

1x The Monarch - power 5 - Talent: Search your deck and/or discard pile for a Groupie, reveal it and place it into your hand. Shuffle your deck if you searched it. FAQ

2x Classic Rocker - power 4 - Talent: If this base has a breakpoint of 21 or higher, draw a card. Use only one Classic Rocker ability per turn. FAQ

2x Rick Roll - power 3 - Move up to three of your minions from bases with lower breakpoints to here. FAQ

5x Groupie - power 2 - Play another Groupie here as an extra minion. FAQ

Actions Edit

2x Guest Star - Search your deck and/or discard pile for a Groupie and reveal it. Place it in your hand or play it as an extra minion. Shuffle your deck if you searched it. FAQ

1x Hot Venue - Play on a base. Ongoing: Your minions here have +1 power. If this base has a breakpoint of 21 or higher, draw a card at the end of any turn that you play a minion here. FAQ

1x Power Ballad - Choose a base. Your minions there gain +1 power until the end of the turn. Special: If the base has a breakpoint of 21 or higher, you may play this card before the base scores. FAQ

1x Reunion Tour - Shuffle any number of your minions from your discard pile into your deck. FAQ

1x Rock of Luuv - Search your deck for up to three minions with power 2 or less and the same name. Reveal them, place them into your hand and shuffle your deck. FAQ

2x Total Sellout - Special: Play after a base scores where you have a minion. Draw two cards. Draw another card if the breakpoint was 21 or higher. FAQ

1x Tour Bus - Choose a base. Move up to three of your minions from bases with lower breakpoint to there. FAQ

1x Turn Up to 11 - Play on a base. Ongoing: If this base’s starting breakpoint is less than 21, it is increased to 21. FAQ

Rock Stars

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the What Were We Thinking? rulebook:

Turn Up to 11: Monsters etc. still affect the breakpoint after the change to the starting breakpoint. If there is a conflict between multiple abilities that set the starting breakpoint (e.g. Overgrowth, Marking Territory, Turn Up To 11), the current player chooses which one prevails. Monsters, and abilities that adjust the breakpoint (e.g. Rampage, Wyvern, Favor of Zeus), adjust it from that new starting value. (updated by The Bigger Geekier Box)

Mechanics Edit

The Rock Stars get advantages from high-breakpoint bases. Some of their cards have a secondary ability that only applies when the targeted base's breakpoint is 21 or higher, usually card draws

Their secondary mechanic is searching for and drawing their power-2 minions, which can be played all at once. If you manage to get all of five of them, that is a drop of 10 power.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on The Monarch Edit

Q: Can I get one Groupie from my deck and one Groupie from my discard pile, or only one in total?

A: Only one Groupie, not two.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I already have ten cards in hand. What happens if I decide to use this talent? Do I place a Groupie in my hand and immediately discard a card?

A: It is placed in your hand and you don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on Classic Rocker Edit

Q: I already have ten cards in hand. What happens if I decide to use this talent? Do I draw a card and immediately discard a card?

A: You draw a card and don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with monsters?

A: Uncontrolled monsters increase the breakpoint of their base. If that brings the base's breakpoint to 21 or more, then you can get the Classic Rocker's benefit.

Rule: Uncontrolled monsters add their power to the base's breakpoint instead of contributing power toward breaking it.


Questions on Rick Roll Edit

Q: It tells me to move "up to three of my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with monsters?

A: When determining the bases' breakpoints, you have to include all modifiers, including the power added by uncontrolled monsters.

Rule: Uncontrolled monsters add their power to the base's breakpoint instead of contributing power toward breaking it.


Questions on Groupie Edit

Q: When I play a Groupie, do I have to play all the Groupies in my hand at once? It doesn't say "you may".

A: No, playing a card is always optional even if it doesn't say "you may". In the case of Groupies, when you play one, you bank an extra minion play that must be a Groupie. You can then use that extra minion play to play a Groupie later on or choose not to play any, in which case, the extra minion play is lost as soon as you move on to the next phase of the turn.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.


Questions on Guest Star Edit

Q: Can I get one Groupie from my deck and one Groupie from my discard pile, or only one in total?

A: Only one Groupie, not two.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Guest Star doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Hot Venue Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion there, it also gets +1 power, right? And if this base's breakpoint is of 21 or higher, I also draw a card at the end of each turn that I play a minion there, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your" means "their" and "you" means "they".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: When is the card drawn?

A: The card says "at the end of your turn", which means during the End Turn phase of each of your turns.

Rule: "At the end of your turn" means "during the End Turn (phase 5) of one of your turns".

Q: It gives +1 power to "my minions". Does it also give +1 power to minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If I already have 10 cards in hand when I draw the extra card, do I discard down to 10?

A: No. You only discard down to 10 during the Draw Cards phase (phase 4) of your turn. With Hot Venue, the card is drawn after this phase is passed, so you don't discard down to 10.

Rule 1: You only discard down to 10 cards during the Draw Cards phase (phase 4) of your turns; after drawing your two cards.

Rule 2: "At the end of your turn" means "during the End Turn (phase 5) of one of your turns".

Q: I play a minion on a base with my Hot Venue while the base's breakpoint is 21 or more. If the minion is moved/returned/destroyed between that moment and the end of the turn, do I draw a card at the end of my turn?

A: Yes. Hot Venue only checks if you have played a minion there on that turn, not if the minion is still on that base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play a minion on a base other than one with my Hot Venue. I later move it to the base with Hot Venue while its breakpoint is 21 or more. Do I draw a card at the end of my turn?

A: No. Hot Venue only checks if you have played a minion there on that turn, not if the minion is on that base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play a minion on a base with my Hot Venue while the base's breakpoint is 21 or more. If the base's breakpoint drops below 21 between that moment and the end of the turn (e.g. I destroy an uncontrolled monster there), do I draw a card at the end of my turn?

A: Presumably, the base's breakpoint must be 21 or more at the end of the turn for you to draw a card. So probably not. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: I play a minion on a base with my Hot Venue while the base's breakpoint is lower than 21. If the base's breakpoint is increased to 21 or more between that moment and the end of the turn (e.g. I play Turn Up to 11 or a monster there), do I draw a card at the end of my turn?

A: Presumably, the base's breakpoint just needs to be of 21 or more at the end of the turn for you to draw a card. The minion doesn't have to be played while the base's breakpoint is 21 or higher. So probably yes. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Hot Venue says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Power Ballad Edit

Q: It gives +1 power to "my minions". Does it also give +1 power to minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with monsters?

A: Uncontrolled monsters increase the breakpoint of their base. If that brings the base's breakpoint to 21 or more, then Power Ballad can be used as a Special on that base when it scores.

Rule: Uncontrolled monsters add their power to the base's breakpoint instead of contributing power toward breaking it.

Q: If I play Power Ballad and then play another minion there afterward, does the new minion get +1 power from Power Ballad?

A: The official answer is yes[1].

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box now rules that it only increases the power of minions currently in play at the time the card is played, and not the power of minions played afterwards.

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer card says.

Q: If I play Power Ballad and then move one of my minions to the targeted base. Does the minion get +1 power from Power Ballad?

A: Yes. Even though Power Ballad is discarded, its effect still persists until the end of the turn, so your minion gets the boost.

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box now rules that the power boost is granted as a definitive effect. The restriction to the base is only for when the card is played, so minions that didn't get the boost won't get it by later moving on the base.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: If I play Power Ballad and then move one of my minions from the targeted base to another base. Does the minion lose the +1 power from Power Ballad?

A: Yes. Even though Power Ballad is discarded, its effect still persists until the end of the turn, so your minions on the targeted base gets the boost and any of your minions moved away from it loses it.

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box now rules that the power boost is granted as a definitive effect. The restriction to the base is only for when the card is played, so minions that got the boost still keep it if they are moved to a different base.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: Is this still a standard action if I play it through its Special ability for the Disco Dancers and Funky Town?

A: Yes. A standard action is an action that doesn't "Play on a minion/base" or any variation on it. Power Ballad doesn't say that, whether it's played normally or as a Special, so it IS a standard action no matter what.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - Diva can't copy it because it would already be directly affected by it.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power.
- Funky Town can't copy it because you need to be the one who played the action and so all your minions are already directly affected by it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Reunion Tour Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Reunion Tour doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Rock of Luuv Edit

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: It goes to its owner's hand. That's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: After playing this card, I end up with more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Rock of Luuv doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Total Sellout Edit

Q: It applies to a base "where I have a minion". Is it enough if there is a minion there that I own but don't control?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: After playing this card, I end up with more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So if this is played on another player's turn, you keep your cards and can play your next turn with more than ten cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with monsters?

A: Uncontrolled monsters increase the breakpoint of their base. If that brings the base's breakpoint to 21 or more, then Total Sellout allows you to draw three cards after that base scores.

Rule: Uncontrolled monsters add their power to the base's breakpoint instead of contributing power toward breaking it.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Total Sellout doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Tour Bus Edit

Q: It tells me to move "up to three of my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with monsters?

A: When determining the bases' breakpoints, you have to include all modifiers, including the power added by uncontrolled monsters.

Rule: Uncontrolled monsters add their power to the base's breakpoint instead of contributing power toward breaking it.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base, even if there were already three minions that were directly moved by Tour Bus.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base, even if there were already three minions that were directly moved by Tour Bus. Note that if several minions were directly moved from the same base, Dancing King only triggers once, not once per moved minions.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is placed on the top or the bottom of its owner's deck, regardless of whoever owns the minions that were directly affected by the action and even if there were already three minions that were directly moved by Tour Bus. Also, note that if the minion is a monster or a treasure, it is discarded instead. This is a different answer compared to cards that refer to a minion's owner; this card never refers to the card's owner ("you" means "the controller", who may not be the owner) and so the rule is that the treasure/monster is discarded.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it moves one of your minions away from Funky Town, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base, even if there were already three minions that were directly moved by Tour Bus. Note that if several minions were directly moved from Funky Town, it only triggers once, not once per moved minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Turn Up to 11 Edit

Q: How does this interact with monsters?

A: When determining the base's starting power, you must ignore all modifiers, including uncontrolled monsters there. If that starting power is lower than 21, then it becomes equal to 21. Uncontrolled monsters (and possibly other modifiers) then add their power to that starting power to make the base's actual breakpoint.

Rule: Uncontrolled monsters add their power to the base's breakpoint instead of contributing power toward breaking it.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Turn Up to 11 says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Francisco Rico Torres, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • The font used in the Rock Star cards is Squealer-Regular.
  • The Monarch is a reference to the King, aka Elvis Presley.
  • Classic Rocker is a reference to Lynyrd Skynyrd.
  • Rick Roll is a reference to Rick Astley and the rickrolling.
  • Turn Up to 11 is a reference to the movie "This is Spinal Tap".
  • Lake Minnetonka (an actual lake in Minnesota) is a reference to the Prince movie "Purple Rain."
  • Total Sellout involves a fictional band called Smooch, which is a reference to the band Kiss.

In other languages Edit

Language Name
French Rockstars
German Rockstars


What Were We Thinking?

Factions: Explorers  •  Grannies  •  Rock Stars  •  Teddy Bears
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Titans (optional, since the TITANS Event Kit)

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Sheep!  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/16247336#16247336