FANDOM


Hammerhead

The most perfect killing machines. Predators that have evolved to the apex of their realm. And now they want our realm! Sharks are coming on land to show that they have what it takes to be at the top of the food chain in and out of the water. Just when you thought it was safe to go back to the convenience store...

- It's Your Fault! rulebook

The Sharks are one of the 5 factions from the It's Your Fault! set.

The Sharks focus on destroying minions and gaining advantages after each kill.

Cards Edit

Sharks

The Sharks have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion. Additionally, there are several abilities that can boost the power of minions beyond its base value.

Minions Edit

1x Megalodon - power 5 - You may destroy a minion of power 4 or less here. Special: Before this base scores, you may destroy a minion here of power 3 or less.

2x Great White - power 4 - Talent: Move this minion to another base and destroy a minion there of power 2 or less.

3x Hammerhead - power 3 - Ongoing: After a minion here is destroyed, place a +1 power counter on this minion.

4x Mako - power 2 - Special: After you destroy a minion on any base, you may play this minion there as an extra minion.

Actions Edit

1x Air Jaws - Move one of your minions to another base, then destroy a minion there of power 3 or less.

2x Blood in the Water - Play on a base. Ongoing: After a minion is destroyed here, you may play a minion here of power 3 or less as an extra minion.

1x Chum - Play on a minion. Ongoing: After a minion is destroyed, place a +1 power counter on this minion.

1x Dangerous Waters - Play on a base. Talent: Choose a minion here. It gets -2 power until the end of the turn.

1x Feeding Frenzy - Choose a base. Destroy any number of minions there of power 2 or less.

1x Freakin' Laser Beam - Choose one of your minions. Destroy a minion with equal or lower power at your minion's base.

1x Torn Apart - Destroy a minion of power 3 or less and draw a card.

2x Week of Sharks - Play on a base. Ongoing: If you have a minion here, draw an extra card at the end of your turn. Only use one Week of Sharks ability each turn.

Sharks

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the It's Your Fault! rulebook:

Chum: The minion destroyed can be at any base.

Hammerhead: If several minions at its base are destroyed at once, it gets a power counter for each one.

Mechanics Edit

Sharks specialized in destruction and buffing. Sharks are not only capable of destroying low level target but they have the ability to get stronger the more minions destroy. Mako and Hammerhead give you some advantages as Mako allow player to play them as extra minion if player destroy a minion while Hammerhead get a 1 power counter for each minion destroy as well. Great White and Megalodon give you an ability to destroy minion as well. Action such as Blood in the Water, Chum, Week of Sharks and Feeding Frenzy give you some advantages for each minion you kill. However, their downside is that their only role is destruction so they have lack of support and control cards.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Megalodon Edit

Q: Before Megalodon's base scores, I have the opportunity to activate its ability, but I choose not to. If another player then plays a minion (e.g. Shinobi, Hidden Ninja), can I then activate Megalodon and destroy it? I haven't used it after all.

A: Unfortunately no, Megalodon was in play, which means that when the before scoring step starts, its ability is triggered and must be resolved in the order decided by the current player. If the current player chooses to resolve Megalodon's ability, you have to decide if you want to use it or not (because it says "you may"). If you choose not to do it, it still counts as having been resolved.

Rule: When a "you may" ability is triggered and you choose not to do it, it still counts as having been resolved.


Questions on Great White Edit

Q: If there's no minion of power 2 or less on the base I want to move to, does it mean that I can't move Great White at all?

A: No, you can still move it, it's just that no minion is destroyed on the base.

Rule: When you use a talent, resolve it entirely.

Q: If there's a minion or power 2 or less, do I have to destroy it? Even my own?

A: Yes and yes. It doesn't say "you may" so you must destroy a minion there.

Rule: If the ability doesn't say "you may", you must do it immediately.

Q: If Great White can't be moved (e.g. Entangled), what happens?

A: Great White doesn't move and you must destroy a minion of power 2 or less on its base.

Rule 1: When you use a talent, resolve it entirely.

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".
Q: Great White is on the same base as an enemy Flock. If I use Great White's talent and move it to another base, when does the Flock move? Before or after I need to destroy a power-2 minion?
A: It's not clear. According to the Card Resolution Order, you should wait until the card's ability is entirely resolved to trigger card reactions, but that may only concern "After a card is played" type of abilities. So if you must fully resolve Great White's ability before moving the Flock, then it's safe. If the Flock must move immediately after Great White moves, then the Flock becomes eligible for destruction. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Hammerhead Edit

Q: If its ability is lost or cancelled (e.g. Mind Lady), does it also lose its +1 power counters?

A: No. It just means that you don't activate its ability anymore, but the +1 power counters remain.

Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.
Q: A minion is destroyed on a base where I have a Blood in the Water, if I play a Hammerhead as the power-3 minion, does it gain a +1 power counter from the destruction?
A: It depends. If the destruction happens on your Play Cards phase, the power-3 minion is only "banked" as a reaction to the destruction. So, once you're finally able to play your Hammerhead, you're no longer in the middle of resolving reactions to the destruction and so Hammerhead doesn't get a +1 power counter. If the destruction occurs at any other time, you must immediately play your power-3 minion or not at all. If you decide to play a Hammerhead and since you're still in the middle of resolving reactions to the destruction, Hammerhead does get a +1 power counter.
Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.
Q: I have a Sprout in play. At the start of my turn, I destroy it and play a Hammerhead in its stead. Does Hammerhead's ability trigger from Sprout's destruction?
A: It's not clear. According to the Card Order Resolution, you must resolve a card's ability entirely before resolving reactions, but that may only concern "After a card is played" type of abilities. If you do need to wait until Sprout's ability is entirely resolved to resolve reactions to its destruction, then yes Hammerhead gets a +1 power counter because Hammerhead is present when during the resolution. If you must resolve the reactions to Sprout's destruction immediately after Sprout is resolved, then no because Hammerhead is played after that. To be confirmed TBD
Rule: TBD


Questions on Mako Edit

Q: After I destroy a minion, can I play more than one Mako?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play a card that forces other players to destroy their own minion (e.g. Unfathomable Goals, Bear Hug, Griefer). Can I activate Mako's ability and play it?

A: No. Mako's ability can only be triggered after you destroy a minion. When you play these cards, you make other players destroy their minions, so they are the ones who destroyed them, not you. On the other hand, if your opponent played a similar card and made you destroy one of your minions, then you can activate Mako's ability.

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[1]


Questions on Air Jaws Edit

Q: If there's no minion of power 3 or less on the base I want to move to, does it mean that I can't move any minion there at all?

A: No, you can still move it, it's just that no minion is destroyed on the base.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.

Q: If there's a minion or power 3 or less, do I have to destroy it? Even my own?

A: Yes and yes. It doesn't say "you may" so you must destroy a minion there.

Rule: If the ability doesn't say "you may", you must do it immediately.

Q: If the chosen minion can't be moved (e.g. Entangled), what happens?

A: The minion doesn't move and you must destroy a minion of power 3 or less on its base.

Rule 1: Cards are resolved entirely.

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".
Q: The minion I move was on the same base as an enemy Flock. When does the Flock move? Before or after I need to destroy a power-3 minion?
A: It's not clear. According to the Card Resolution Order, you should wait until the card's ability is entirely resolved to trigger card reactions, but that may only concern "After a card is played" type of abilities. So if you must fully resolve Air Jaws before moving the Flock, then it's safe. If the Flock must move immediately after your minion moves, then the Flock becomes eligible for destruction. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD
Q: Using Air Jaws, I move a minion to a base with an enemy Imperial Dragon. Can I destroy the Imperial Dragon before my opponent can draw a card? Or do they draw a card before I can destroy it?
A: It's not clear. According to the Card Resolution Order, you should wait until the card's ability is entirely resolved to trigger card reactions, but that may only concern "After a card is played" type of abilities. So if you must fully resolve Air Jaws before Imperial Dragon can be triggered, then your opponent doesn't draw a card because Imperial Dragon is no longer in play. Otherwise, they must draw a card as soon as you move your minion there and before you can decide if you want to destroy the Imperial Dragon or not. To be confirmed. TBD
Rule: TBD


Questions on Blood in the Water Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if a minion is destroyed there, each player is allowed to play an extra minion, right? It gives the base another ability after all, and base abilities apply to all players.

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent). Also, the card is just attached to the base, it doesn't give the base another ability.
Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.
Q: Can this trigger on other players' turns?

A: Yes, it doesn't say "on your turn", so it's also active during other players' turns and can be triggered then.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: A minion is destroyed on a base where I have a Blood in the Water, if I play a Hammerhead as the power-3 minion, does it gain a +1 power counter from the destruction?
A: It depends. If the destruction happens on your Play Cards phase, the power-3 minion is only "banked" as a reaction to the destruction. So, once you're finally able to play your Hammerhead, you're no longer in the middle of resolving reactions to the destruction and so Hammerhead doesn't get a +1 power counter. If the destruction occurs at any other time, you must immediately play your power-3 minion or not at all. If you decide to play a Hammerhead and since you're still in the middle of resolving reactions to the destruction, Hammerhead does get a +1 power counter.
Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.


Questions on Chum Edit

Q: If Chum is removed from play, does the minion also lose its +1 power counters?

A: No. Unless a specific ability tells you to remove them, the +1 power counters remain.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Dangerous Waters Edit

Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So a minion's power can go negative with this card, right?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.
Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so on my turn I can use its talent, right?
A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore only they can use its talent.
Rule: A talent can be activated on each of its controller's turns.
Q: If Dangerous Waters is removed from play before its ability expires, does the minion lose the -2 power?

A: No.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.
Q: I use Dangerous Waters's talent. If Dangerous Waters is transferred to another base, can I activate it again?
A: No. A talent can only be activated once on each of your turns, even if you transfer it to another base, it's still the same card that was activated and therefore, you can't activate it again for now.

Rule: Each talent can be activated once per turn.


Questions on Feeding Frenzy Edit

Q: Can I destroy the minions one at a time? There may be situations where destroying a minion of power 2 or less reduces the power of another minion (e.g. Microbot Fixer, Microbot Alpha), so a minion of power 3 can then become power 2 and be destructible.

A: No, the minions are all destroyed at the same time. You first evaluate the power of each minion there, then select any number of minions whose current power is 2 or less. All the minions you chose are then destroyed at the same time. If that reduces the power of other minions there to 2 or less, they aren't destroyed.
Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Freakin' Laser Beam Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Torn Apart Edit

Q: If the card I draw is a Mako, can I play it immediately because I destroyed a minion before that?

A: There's not clear. If cards that trigger from destroying a minion are resolved immediately, then no because Mako wasn't in your hand when it happened. If such cards have to wait until the complete resolution of the card that destroys the minion, then yes. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Week of Sharks Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion there, I draw a card at the end of my turn, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent), "your turn" means "their turn" and "(you) draw" means "they draw".
Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.
Q: I play Great White on a base with my Week of Sharks. So, I have a minion there. Using Great White's talent, I move it somewhere else. Do I still draw a card at the end of my turn?
A: No. You had a minion there, but not anymore. Currently having a minion is a condition for drawing the card, so you must have a minion there at the end of your turn to draw a card.
Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22554680#22554680

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.