FANDOM


Sheep

The Sheep are a promotional faction given away freely from joining the Smash Club. Their set is named "Sheep!" on the online insert, but the divider in The Bigger Geekier Box names the set "Smash Up Sheep Promo".

This faction has no official flavor text, because the set has no rulebook and the online insert has no flavor text for the faction. However, the following flavor text can be found in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Decades of ewe-genics has transformed these harmless, dumb, grazing animals into harmful, dumb, grazing animals. They obediently and harmlessly follow other minions around from base to base… then they mercilessly crush their opponents with a wave of minions no one can stop. They are baaaaad news!

- The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook

Sheep focus on moving themselves and other players' minions around and playing extra cards from your own and other players' decks.

Other factions from the same set: (none).

Cards Edit

F3763E7B-DFF4-4E6E-B494-B7CBB2D3F317

The Sheep have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is unusually high at 33 or an average of 3.3 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 2 play-on-minion actions: In Sheep’s Clothing, Shearing,
  • 1 play-on-base action: Counting Sheep,
  • 6 standard actions (3 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Ewe Shall Pass (2x), On the Lamb, To Follow, or Not? (2x), Wood for Sheep,
  • 0 actions that directly increase a minion's power.

(Hello, Dolly! can copy any type of action)

Minions Edit

1x Little Bo Peep - power 5 - Ongoing: Other players can not move minions to or from here. Talent: Move one of your minions to here. FAQ

2x Ram - power 4 - Talent: Move this minion to another base, then you may return a minion of power 2 or less at that base to its owner’s hand. FAQ

3x Black Sheep - power 4 - Ongoing: After a minion is played here, move this minion to another base. FAQ

4x Flock - power 2 - Ongoing: After another minion moves from here to another base, move this minion to there as well. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Counting Sheep - Play on a base. Ongoing: Once per turn, after the power of another player’s minion increases, your minions here gain +1 power until the end of the turn. (errata'd by The Bigger Geekier Box) FAQ

2x Ewe Shall Pass - Move one of your minions to another base. Draw a card. You may play an extra action. FAQ

1x Hello, Dolly! - Special: Play after another player plays an action. Copy the ability of that action. FAQ

1x In Sheep’s Clothing - Play on a minion. Ongoing: After another minion moves from here to another base, you may move this minion to there as well and destroy this action. FAQ

1x On the Lamb - Choose a base where you have a minion, and another player. Move that minion and all of that player’s minions there to a single other base. FAQ

1x Shearing - Play on your minion. Draw a card. Ongoing: This minion has -2 power. Return this action to your hand at the start of your turn. FAQ

2x To Follow, or Not? - Choose another player. Choose a random action in their discard pile. Play it as an extra action or return it. Draw a card. FAQ

1x Wood for Sheep - Choose another player. Reveal a random card from their hand. You may place a card from your hand into their hand to play the revealed card as an extra card, otherwise return it. FAQ

Sheep Icon

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in Smash Up Sheep Promo insert:

Black Sheep: Black Sheep’s ability has it moved by its controller, so Little Bo Peep does not block the ability unless they have different controllers. It is also not blocked by cards like Incorporeal.

Counting Sheep: The other player’s minion does not have to be at Counting Sheep’s base to trigger it. This card does not affect minions played after this card. (updated by The Bigger Geekier Box)

Hello, Dolly!: This acts as if the ability of the action being copied were printed on it. If it copies an action that is played on a minion or a base, it is also played on a minion or base, and not necessarily the same one. Hello, Dolly! can copy actions that have conditions for being played (e.g. Make Contact, Cosplay) without having to fulfill those conditions; it has its own conditions for being played, so the other card’s conditions are moot.

On the Lamb: You may choose a player with no minions there and move “all” those minions, even if someone else does have minions there. All the minions go to the same base.

Shearing: If Shearing leaves play before the start of your next turn, you do not return it to your hand.

To Follow or Not...?, Wood for Sheep: If you play another player’s card, you control it and its ability is carried out from your point of view; when it leaves play it goes back to the owner’s hand, deck, or discard pile.

Flock: This cannot follow minions that move after a base scores. (added by The Bigger Geekier Box)

Mechanics Edit

Sheep are focused primarily on movement, particularly in response to other minions being played or moved. They have many cards that move under the same criteria allowing them to all come running to the same base at the same time, giving this deck the ability to abruptly burst a base with a lot of power. The drawback is that sheep respond to opponents minions as well, which is why Little Bo Peep is important.

Sheep also have a couple cards that deal with mimicking their opponents (another form of "following the crowd") and taking random cards from them to supplement the limits of being so heavily focused on movement.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Little Bo Peep Edit

Q: So while Little Bo Peep is in play, none of my opponents can move any minion in play, right?

A: No, Little Bo Peep only blocks movement from and to its base, so if another player wants to move a minion away from Little Bo Peep's base, or if another player wants to move a minion to Little Bo Peep's base, it will be blocked. Otherwise, if they want to move a minion from any base that's not Little Bo Peep's base to any other base that's still not Little Bo Peep's base, then it's permitted.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: An opponent has Little Bo Peep in play and it blocks me in my strategy. I can still play a card to move Little Bo Peep itself, right?

A: No, Little Bo Peep's ability applies to moving any minion to or from its base, including Little Bo Peep itself.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: It tells me to move "one of my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: What happens after a base scores where there is a First Mate and Little Bo Peep?

A: While activated during the after-scoring step, a First Mate's ability is eventually resolved during the step where all the cards on the base are discarded. So if all the cards are discarded, Little Bo Peep is discarded and First Mate can move.

Rule: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards are discarded simultaneously. That's when the cards with "instead of the discard pile" are resolved.

Q: On a base, there is one of my minions and another player's minion with In Sheep's Clothing. I use Little Bo Peep's talent to move my minion to Little Bo Peep's base. Can the other player's minion follow it? Or because it's another player's minion, it can't be moved to Little Bo Peep's base?

A: It depends. If you're the one who played In Sheep's Clothing, then you're the only player who can decide if that minion follows your minion or not, and if you choose to do so, you're the player who will move it, which is not prevented by Little Bo Peep. If you're not the one who played In Sheep's Clothing, then the player who did (regardless of whoever controls the minion) is the one who can decide to move the minion or not. If they choose to move it, Little Bo Peep prevents it and In Sheep's Clothing is still destroyed.

Rule 1: If you play an action on another player's minion, you're still the action's controller.

Rule 2: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.


Questions on Ram Edit

Q: Which minion can I return with Ram?

A: You can target any minion of power 2 or less on the same base as the Ram after it moves, even that Ram itself if an ability reduced its power to 2:
- If it's a minion you own, it's returned to your hand.
- If it's a minion owned by another player, it's returned to that player's hand.
- If it's a minion that no one owns (e.g. a treasure, a monster), it remains in play.

Rule 1: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Rule 2: Cards that refer to a minion’s owner do not apply to monsters or treasures.

Q: If Ram can't be moved (e.g. Entangled), what happens?

A: Ram doesn't move, but you may still choose to return a minion of power 2 or less at its current base to its owner's hand.

Rule 1: When you use a talent, resolve it entirely.

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: What if the minion is returned to the hand of a player (myself included) who already has ten cards? Is it discarded instead? Or is it returned but the player has to discard a card?

A: It is returned and that player doesn't discard any card until their next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, they will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if they have more than 10. That's the only moment where they must discard down to 10. At any other time, they keep their hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on Black Sheep Edit

Q: I play a Black Sheep. Does its ability trigger from being played itself?

A: Not sure. Probably not, because its ability isn't active yet when it enters play. To be determined. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: What's the point of its ability? It's not optional, so other players can force me to move Black Sheep, therefore making me lose 4 power. That sucks.

A: True, you have to move Black Sheep if any player (including you) plays a minion on its base. BUT you have a choice of where it is moved, so you gain 4 power on another base. Also, since you lost 4 power on the former base, it makes that base harder to score since 4 power was removed from the total power there. And if the base still doesn't score before it's your turn, you can then play a minion on Black Sheep's base to move Black Sheep there again.

Rule: N/A

Q: I have Little Bo Peep in play, so if another player plays a minion on Black Sheep's base, I can use Little Bo Peep's ability to prevent it from moving, right?

A: No. Little Bo Peep prevents other players from moving minions to or from its base. When the Black Sheep moves because of its own ability, it's you who moves it, even if it's because another player played a minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Black Sheep's base, does Black Sheep still move?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: So if Black Sheep moves, Brojak will chase after it and then Black Sheep will move again, and Brojak will come after it again, etc. endlessly :)

A: Hmmm no, Black Sheep just says "After a minion is played here". Brojak is simply moved to its base, not played there, so Black Sheep won't move again.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Flock Edit

Q: What's the point of its ability? It's not optional, so other players can force me to move Flock by moving another minion.

A: True, you have to move Flock if any player (including you) moves a minion away from its base. BUT if there strategy is to surprise score a base on their own by suddenly moving their minions to a base (which is a common strategy with move effects), then you can effectively position yourself on that base as well and score points too.

Rule: N/A

Q: I'm playing Sheep against a player with Bear Cavalry. My Flock are very easily moved and destroyed by Cub Scouts and High Ground. So Flocks suck.

A: Sorry, but Sheep are quite weak against Bears, which works thematically. Hopefully you chose a good partner faction for the Sheep.

Rule: N/A

Q: After a base scores where there is a First Mate, if the First Mate moves, the Flock can follow it, right?

A: No. While activated during the after-scoring step, a First Mate's ability is eventually resolved during the step where all the cards on the base are discarded. So if all the cards are discarded, a Flock is discarded at the same time the First Mate moves, and so it can't follow it. Note that it is different if you use You Call This Archaeology? to move a minion because the movement is immediate, while the First Mate's movement only happens instead of being discarded and therefore only happens during the step where all the cards are discarded.[1]

Rule: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards are discarded simultaneously. That's when the cards with "instead of the discard pile" are resolved.


Questions on Counting Sheep Edit

Q: It gives +1 power to "my minions". Does it also give +1 power to minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so now my minions there gain +1 power whenever one of my opponents' minions gets a power boost, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "another player" means "one of their opponents", and "your minions" means "their minions".

Rule: A talent can be activated on each of its controller's turns.

Q: If two different players have a Counting Sheep in play (i.e. because two players are playing with the Sheep, or because a player played Counting Sheep and the other copied it with Hello, Dolly!), what happens if a minion of either player has its power increased?

A: If one of those players' minions has its power increased, it will activate the other player's Counting Sheep, which will therefore increase the power of their minions on Counting Sheep's base. Then, that increase will activate the former player's Counting Sheep, which will increase the power of that player's minion on the base of that same player's Counting Sheep. Then, because Counting Sheep and its copy were activated this turn, they no longer activate because they only activate "once per turn" as of The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook's erratum.

Rule: Check Counting Sheep's erratum.

Q: An opponent's minion got -2 power because of a card's ability (e.g. because of Mr. Grumpers, Grumpiness, or the minion is Weed Eater). If the -2 power stops either because it expired in the cases of temporary power changes, or because the card that affected it is removed from play. Does that count as a power increase for Counting Sheep?

A: Yes, its power did increase after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Counting Sheep says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Ewe Shall Pass Edit

Q: It tells me to move "one of my minions". Can I move a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected. Note that you don't draw an additional card, nor get an additional extra action for affecting a second minion, because Diva only copies the part that moves a minion and the card draw and extra action parts aren't changed by the number of affected minions.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected. Note that you don't draw an additional card, nor get an additional extra action for affecting a second minion, because Dancing King only copies the part that moves a minion and the card draw and extra action parts aren't changed by the number of affected minions. Also, note that while the action is limited to a minion controlled by the action player, Dancing King can copy it onto any minion.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected. Note that you don't draw an additional card, nor get an additional extra action for affecting a second minion, because We are Family only copies the part that moves a minion and the card draw and extra action parts aren't changed by the number of affected minions. Also, note that while the action is limited to a minion controlled by the action player, We are Family can copy it even if the minion it is on isn't one controlled by the action player.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it moves one of your minions away from Funky Town, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minion that was directly affected. Note that you don't draw an additional card, nor get an additional extra action for affecting a second minion, because Funky Town only copies the part that moves a minion and the card draw and extra action parts aren't changed by the number of affected minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Hello, Dolly! Edit

Q: It doesn't say "play on a base/minion", so I suppose it cannot copy attachable actions, right?

A: No, it can copy any kind of action. Even actions played on minions or bases. It is then considered to have the exact same text as the copied action, including the "play on a minion/base" part.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can it copy the ability of an action that can't be affected? E.g. because of Steam Queen

A: Copying another action's ability doesn't count as affecting that action, so yes.

Rule: Definition of "affect".

Q: A player is able to play Make Contact because it is the last card in their hand. Can I play Hello, Dolly! and copy Make Contact even if Hello, Dolly! isn't the last card in my hand?

A: Yes. Make Contact's restriction is only for playing the card. When Hello, Dolly! is used to copy Make Contact, you're already playing Hello, Dolly!, so the restriction can be ignored.

Rule: N/A

Q: I played Make Contact onto a minion. Then, another player plays Hello, Dolly!, copies my Make Contact and plays it onto the same minion. Who controls the minion?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: What happens when the original action is discarded or transferred? Does Hello, Dolly! remember its abilities independently?

A: Nothing happens, Hello, Dolly! keeps being a copy of the same ability. Hello, Dolly!'s ability isn't dependent on the targeted action remaining in play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What happens when Hello, Dolly! copies the ability of an action that lets the player play an extra action (e.g. Magic Acorns)? Must they play it immediately (out of turn)? Or is it banked for their next turn?

A: They must play it immediately or not all, since the extra action is gained outside their Play Cards phase.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: Hello, Dolly! doesn't say "Play on a minion/base", so it's a standard action, right? So if it's used to copy a non-standard action, I can have the Disco Dancers copy its effects, correct?

A: Actually, Hello, Dolly! copies the entire ability of the action, so if the action is a non-standard one, Hello, Dolly! becomes non-standard.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on In Sheep’s Clothing Edit

Q: If I were to play this card on someone else’s minion who would have the choice of moving the minion? The person who played the card or the person who controls the minion you played the card on?

A: The person who played the card. By default, an action's controller is the player who played it. Even if they play it on another player's minion, they are still the action's controller and only they can use its talent.

Rule: If you play an action on another player's minion, you're still the action's controller.

Q: On a base, there is one of my minions and another player's minion with In Sheep's Clothing. I use Little Bo Peep's talent to move my minion to Little Bo Peep's base. Can the other player's minion follow it? Or because it's another player's minion, it can't be moved to Little Bo Peep's base?

A: It depends. If you're the one who played In Sheep's Clothing, then you're the only player who can decide if that minion follows your minion or not, and if you choose to do so, you're the player who will move it, which is not prevented by Little Bo Peep. If you're not the one who played In Sheep's Clothing, then the player who did (regardless of whoever controls the minion) is the one who can decide to move the minion or not. If they choose to move it, Little Bo Peep prevents it and In Sheep's Clothing is still destroyed.

Rule 1: If you play an action on another player's minion, you're still the action's controller.

Rule 2: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: An opponent plays this card on one of their minions. If I transfer it to one of my minions, e.g. with Tinx or Rules Lawyer, I have control of it, so after another minion moves from that base, I can decide if I want my minion to follow it or not, right?

A: No, transferring an action doesn't make you its controller and transferring it to a different player's minion doesn't grant that player control of the action. The action's controller simply doesn't change. So, the player who played it still controls it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they". In summary, after another minion moves from your minion's base, the player who played In Sheep's Clothing is the only player who can decide if your minion follows it or not.

Rule: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because In Sheep’s Clothing says "Play on a minion", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on On the Lamb Edit

Q: It tells me to choose a base "where I have a minion". Is it enough if there is a minion there that I own but don't control?

A: No. "Where you have a minion" means "where you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: It tells me to choose another player and move their minions. So I have to choose a player with minions on the base, right? Otherwise I can't do the rest of the card.

A: No, it only tells you to choose another player, whether or not they have minions there. If they don't have any minions, you still have to move "all of their minions" there, that is zero since they have none. You still have to move your minion though.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I use this card to move my minion to my Little Bo Peep's base. The other player's minions can't follow it, right? Because Little Bo Peep prevents it.

A: No, On the Lamb makes you move those minions, not the other player, so Little Bo Peep doesn't prevent it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minions that were directly affected. Note that merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting so Diva can't copy that part to choose a second player. Diva can only copy the movement part of the ability if it isn't already moved itself.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minions that were directly affected. Note that merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting so Dancing King can't copy that part to choose a second player. Dancing King can only copy the movement part of the ability. Also, note that while the action is limited to a minion controlled by the action player and the minions controlled by the chosen opponent, Dancing King can copy it onto any minion.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minions that were directly affected. Note that merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting so We are Family can't copy that part to choose a second player. We are Family can only copy the movement part of the ability. Also, note that while the action is limited to a minion controlled by the action player and the minions controlled by the chosen opponent, We are Family can copy it even if its minion isn't one controlled by any of those players.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it moves one of your minions away from Funky Town, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is moved to the same base as the minions that were directly affected. Note that merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting so Funky Town can't copy that part to choose a second player. Funky Town can only copy the movement part of the ability.

Rule: Definition of "affect".


Questions on Shearing Edit

Q: It tells me to play it on "my minion". Can I play it on a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: It says "Return this action to your hand at the start of your turn." If Shearing ends in my discard pile before the start of my turn (e.g. the base scored, the minion is destroyed, etc.), at the start of my next turn, will I be able to get Shearing back in my hand from the discard pile?

A: No. Its ability is an Ongoing, i.e. an ability that's only active for as long as the card is in play. Once it leaves play, its ability is no longer around for you to use it at the start of your turn.

Rule: An Ongoing ability lasts for as long as the card is in play.

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: An opponent plays this card on one of their minions. If I transfer it to one of my minions, e.g. with Tinx or Rules Lawyer, I have control of it, so I draw a card and the action will be returned to my hand at the start of my next turn, right? Or does the "Play on your minion" prevent me from transferring it to my minions?

A: No, transferring an action doesn't make you its controller and transferring it to a different player's minion doesn't grant that player control of the action. The action's controller simply doesn't change. Also, you can transfer it to your minions; "Play on your minion" is simply a restriction for when the action is played, and is no longer relevant once the action is in play and doesn't further restricts how the action can be transferred (because transferring is different than playing!). That also applies to the draw ability. Since it's an on-play ability, it's only resolved when the card is played, not transferred. Anyway, the player who played it still controls it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your hand" means "their hand" (or the card's owner's hand if the player who played it doesn't own it). In summary, what you just did by transferring the action to your minion is give it -2 power (you can't draw a card) and the action will be returned to its owner's hand at the start of the action's controller's next turn anyway.

Rule 1: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Rule 2: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Shearing says "Play on your minion", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on To Follow, or Not? Edit

Q: This is so annoying to use. The player I choose must first separate their actions from their discard pile, then shuffle them, then I pick one at random.

A: They don't have to separate their discard pile into two. They can just shuffle their entire discard pile and reveal cards until they reveal an action. That action will be the "random action".

Rule: N/A

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because To Follow, or Not? doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Wood for Sheep Edit

Q: I play Wood for Sheep. Can I place Wood for Sheep itself into the other player's hand? That's how Trade works.

A: No, when you play Wood for Sheep, it's no longer in your hand, so it's not "a card from your hand" anymore.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play Wood for Sheep and reveal a card from another player's hand. It turns out it's a card they don't own (e.g. because of Trade). What happens if I decide not to play it and therefore to return it?

A: It is returned to the hand of the player from which it was revealed from. That's because it was merely revealed and then returned to where it came from.

Rule: Cards you don’t own that are merely revealed in your hand or deck stay there.

Q: What happens if I play another player's minion? Whether it's because I play Wood for Sheep and play the minion, or because another player played Wood for Sheep and placed a minion into my hand.

A: You play it on a base, resolve its abilities from your point of view and keep control of it.

Rule: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Q: What happens when the card played with Wood for Sheep leaves play?

A: It goes to its owner's hand/deck/discard pile (whatever is appropriate).

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: Another player played Wood for Sheep and I obtained one of their card as a result. If an effect tells me to shuffle my hand into my deck (Mulligan, Winds of Change) or place cards from hand on the bottom of my deck (Field Trip), what do I do with the card I got but don't own?

A: The other players can't see which cards go into your deck, so it goes into your deck, not its owner's deck.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Wood for Sheep doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Studio 2Minds (also credited as 2Minds Studio), who also designed the art of many other factions, including all the factions of the Pretty Pretty Smash Up set.
  • Wood for Sheep is a reference to Settlers of Catan.
  • Hello, Dolly! is a reference to the first cloned sheep named Dolly in 1996.
  • Ewe Shall Pass is a reference to Gandalf from Lord of the Rings.
  • A Loup-Garou is disguised as a Sheep in the In Sheep's Clothing card.
  • An Archmage is present on Ewe Shall Pass.
  • A Wyvern and the Dragons from Bring Down the Walls and Flank Attack are pursuing a Sheep in the On the Lamb card.

In other languages Edit

Language Name
German Schafe


Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. https://www.reddit.com/r/smashup/comments/7m1bow/smash_up_wiki_says_flock_first_mate_dont_work/drsd322/