FANDOM


13901478 1066172366802350 3771973380472893390 n

The Star Roamers move about space, teleporting your minions from one quadrant to another. They are on a multi-year mission to seek out new fun, explore strange new combos and put ridiculous numbers of redshirts in mortal danger. - AEG

These are the travels of the spaceship Undertaking. It's several-year mission: to find new worlds, seek out new life and new attractive green ladies, to bravely go where no person has gone before! The Star Roamers travel about the board, using their incredible teleporting technology to send countless ensigns to their deaths, all in the name of base smashing!

- Cease and Desist rulebook

The Star Roamers are one of the 4 factions from the Cease and Desist set.

The Star Roamers focus on returning minions to their owner's hand, mobility, and protection.

Other factions from the same set: Astroknights, Changerbots, Ignobles.

Cards Edit

IMG 0552

The Star Roamers have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30, or an average of 3 per minion.

Minions Edit

1x Ship's Captain - power 5 - Search your deck for a minion, reveal it, add it to your hand and shuffle your deck. If it has power 3 or less, play it here as an extra minion.

1x Medical Officer - power 4 - Ongoing: If another one of your minions would be destroyed, you may return it to its owner's hand instead.

1x Science Officer - power 4 - Talent: Return one of your minions of power 4 or less to its owner's hand. Play an extra minion with a different name.

3x Ship's Engineer - power 3 - Ongoing: If another one of your minions would be returned to your hand, you may move it to another base instead.

4x Ensign - power 2 - Ongoing: When an opponent plays a card that directly affects one of your other minions here, you may have it affect this minion instead.

Actions Edit

1x Hyperspeed 10 - Choose a base. Move all minions from there to a single other base.

2x Mass Teleport - Each player returns one of their minions to its owner's hand.

2x Port Me Up - Return one of your minions to its owner's hand. Special: You may play this after a base scores; the minion must be on the scoring base.

1x Protector Fields - Play on a base where you have a minion. Ongoing: Your minions here are not affected by other players' cards.

1x Teleport Error - Choose a minion. Move it to another random base.

1x Teleport Overflow - Return one of your minions to its owner's hand. Reveal any number of minions with the same name from your hand, and play them as extra minions.

1x Weird New Worlds - Play the top base from the base deck. Play this card and an extra minion on it. Ongoing: When the next base scores, do not replace it; destroy this card.

1x Whiplash Maneuver - Play on a base. Ongoing: If any of your minions on other bases would be returned to your hand, you may move them here instead.

Star Roamers

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Cease and Desist rulebook:

Ensign: It can take on ongoing or special effects, but not from cards already in play. It can take on multiple effects if it makes sense (e.g. multiple -1 power, but not multiple destroys unless it’s immune). It can have an action played on a different minion played on itself instead. It can substitute for a different minion being taken control of. It cannot take an effect already taken by a different Ensign from a third minion. It can take an effect even if it does not fit the original target’s prerequisites (e.g. “power 3 or higher”).

Science Officer, Teleport Overflow: You can return a minion you control but don’t own, and still do the rest of the ability.

Ship’s Engineer, Whiplash Maneuver: These don’t trigger if you return a minion you don’t own, since it doesn’t go to your hand.

Teleport Overflow: The minions don’t have to have the same name as the returned minion, but have the same name as each other. A single minion counts as a group with the same name.

Weird New Worlds: If this card leaves play before the next base scores, the number of bases is increased for the rest of the game.

Mechanics Edit

The Star Roamers have many ways to manipulate and trigger how your minions are affected. All of their minions work together to create chain reactions the more are in play. Some minions gain benefits for returning to hand such as Science Officer (return to hand to play extra) and Medical Officer(turn destruction into returning to hand). Many of the actions work in similar ways, triggering return to hands. These can be chained with Ships Engineer to move the minion instead(while still gaining the benefits). Ships Captain supports this by searching your deck for a minion, playing Ships Engineer directly and expanding your options tremendously. You can also move minions directly with many of your actions.

As your higher minions need to remain in play to work together, Star Roamers also allow you to redirect opponent affecting you to their weak Ensign minions for protection, as well as having a couple bases actions to protect their minions.

A unique card to the deck is Weird New World which is one of only two cards in the game capable of expanding the number of bases in play beyond "number of players+1".

FAQ Edit

Questions on Ship's Captain Edit

Q: Am I only limited to searching a minion of power 3 or less?

A: No, you can search for any minion. Only if it's a power 3 or less, you can play it as an extra minion. Otherwise, it stays in your hand and you have to spend one of your minion plays to play it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Medical Officer Edit

Q: What happens if the minion cannot or won't be returned? (e.g. Entangled, Ship's Engineer) Is it still destroyed?

A: The minion is neither returned, nor destroyed. So, it remains in play (on the same base with Entangled, or moved to another base with Ship's Engineer). That is because you changed "destroying it" into "returning it", but the fact that it can't be returned doesn't make you rollback and cancel the change.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Science Officer Edit

Q: Can I use its talent on a minion that cannot or won't be returned? (e.g. Entangled, Ship's Engineer) If so, can I still play an extra minion?

A: You can always target a minion, even if it's immune to it, so yes. Also, successfully returning the minion is independent from the extra minion play, so even if no minion is returned, you still get the extra minion play, and the extra minion must have a different name than the minion you targeted, whether or not it was actually returned.

Rule 1: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Rule 2: When you use a talent, resolve it entirely.

Q: What does "with a different name" mean? A different name than the returned minion's or than "Science Officer"?

A: It means a different name than the name of the minion you targeted in the first part of the ability, whether or not it was actually returned.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Ship's Engineer Edit

Q: What happens if the minion cannot be moved? (e.g. Entangled) Is it still returned?

A: The minion is neither returned, nor moved. So, it remains in play, on the same base. That is because you changed "returning it" into "moving it", but the fact that it can't be moved doesn't make you rollback and cancel the change.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I take control of another player's minion, it's now treated as one of my minions. So if an ability returns the minion, I can move it instead with Ship's Engineer, right?

A: No. Ship's Engineer only allows you to move your minions instead of being returned to your hand, but minions you control but don't own are not returned to your hand, so Ship's Engineer has no effect on that. Even cards that use the wording "return one of your minions to your hand" (e.g. Doctor When, Do Over!) won't work because the rules has priority on this issue and would make the card return to its owner's hand, not yours, so again a Ship's Engineer can't affect that.

Rule: Base breakpoint is never reduced below zero.

Q: Does Ship's Engineer work with Scout or Return to the Sea?

A: No. These cards "put" or "place" cards in play into their owner's hand. Ship's Engineer only works with cards that "return" cards in play into their owner's hand.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Ensign Edit

Q: Another player plays a card with a talent (e.g. Snow White, Monkey on Your Back). If they use the talent to directly affect one of my minions, can an Ensign intercept it?

A: No. A talent is not activated when you play a card and Ensign only activates from the card being played.

Rule: When you play a card, an ability that starts with "Talent:" is never resolved immediately.

A: UPDATE. From the What Were We Thinking? rulebook, it seems that playing a card with a talent and using the talent on the same turn does trigger cards that react to a card being played. Indeed, the rulebook clarifies that if you play a card with a talent, and use the talent on the same turn to move one of your minions to Forgotten Horrors' base, it does trigger Forgotten Horrors (Reminder: "Forgotten Horrors - "Ongoing: After you play a minion here or play a card that moves your minions to here,..." So you could generalise this by saying that if Ensign triggers from another player playing a card that directly affect one of your minions, then Ensign also triggers from another player playing a card with a talent and using this talent on the same turn to directly affect one of your minions. So, the answer would be yes, Ensign can intercept a talent, but only if the talent is used on the same turn as the card with talent is played.

Rule: The ability of a Talent counts as an effect of card being played only in the turn it is played, and only if used.

Q: Another player plays a Nightstalker and targets one of my minions for destruction. If an Ensign intercepts the destruction, does that player still get the benefit?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: If another player plays an action on one of my minions that directly affects it (e.g. Dunwich Horror, Leaf Armor), can an Ensign intercept the effect of the action while the action still remains attached to the original target?

A: No. Since attaching an action to a minion already counts as affecting it, if an Ensign intercepts it, it gets all of it. So the action is actually attached to the Ensign. That's what happens.

Rule: Definition of "affect".

Q: Another player plays an action on a base that affects several of my minion (e.g. Sleep Spores), so my Ensign can intercept it. What happens if Ensign is returned/destroyed/moved/etc.?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: Another player plays a card that destroys/moves/returns several of my minions (e.g. Broadside, Crop Circles), including an Ensign. Can that Ensign intercept all of it, or even protect just one of my other minions?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Hyperspeed 10 Edit

Q: Do the moved minions all go to the same base?

A: Yes. The card text says to move all minions from the chosen base to a single other base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Mass Teleport Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Port Me Up Edit

Q: I don't get this card, how does it work?

A: When you play it, you choose one of your minions, that is one of the minions that you control. That minion is then returned into its owner's hand. Usually, it will be returned to your hand, but certain cards could have given you control of a minion you don't own. In that case, the minion is returned into its rightful owner's hand. You can also play Port Me Up as a Special card after a base scores. In that case, the chosen minion must be on the scoring base and the minion is immediately returned to its owner's hand.

Rule: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.


Questions on Protector Fields Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion there, it's no longer affected by my opponents' cards, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions" and "other players" means "their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.


Questions on Teleport Error Edit

Q: That's so annoying to use. We have to pick up all the bases, memorize where each base was, shuffle them without looking, choose a random one, then set all the bases in their right place.

A: You do know that you can just assign a number to each base and roll a die, right?

Rule: N/A


Questions on Teleport Overflow Edit

Q: What does "with the same name" mean? The same name as what? The returned minion?

A: It means you can reveal any number of minions from your hand, but they must all have the same name as each other. Their name doesn't depend on the returned minion, though you can choose to reveal any number of copies of the returned minion, but you don't have to.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says. Except when the rulebook clearly addresses the issue.


Questions on Weird New Worlds Edit

Q: So, if this action is removed/destroyed before the next base scores, then you permanently have an extra base in play for the remainder of the game. Right? If you're able to repeatedly play this card from your hand, then you can continually increase the number of bases in play. Am I missing something? Because this seems like an oversight.

A: That's exactly what would happen. Though honestly, it's not that easy to perform and there's no strategic advantage to do that.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Whiplash Maneuver Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if one of my minions is about to be returned to my hand, I can move it to there, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your" means "their" (i.e. your opponent's) and "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent).

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: What happens if the minion cannot be moved? (e.g. Entangled) Is it still returned?

A: The minion is neither returned, nor moved. So, it remains in play, on the same base. That is because you changed "returning it" into "moving it", but the fact that it can't be moved doesn't make you rollback and cancel the change.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.