FANDOM


Mind lady

Faster than a speeding bullet. More powerful than an aggromotive. Able to leap tall Nukebots in a single bound... The mighty power of the comic page comes to life! Defeat your arch-nemesis with super strength, speed, and toughness. Then find out who wins the base in the next exciting issue!

- It's Your Fault! rulebook

The Superheroes are one of the 5 factions from the It's Your Fault! set.

They focus on changing your weak minions into much stronger minions.

Other factions from the same set: Dragons, Mythic Greeks, Sharks, Tornados.

Name Edit

This faction is called "Super Heroes" on the divider included in this set. However, the rulebook and AEG's product page for this set call this faction "Superheroes".

Cards Edit

Superheroes

The Superheroes have only 9 minions and 11 actions compared to the usual 10 and 10. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is 30 or an average of 3.33 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3. Additionally, there are several abilities that can boost the power of minions beyond its base value. The Superheroes have 3 actions of which they have 2 copies.

Minions Edit

1x Awesome Guy - power 5 - Ongoing: Your minions here cannot be destroyed by other players.

1x Captain Amazing - power 5 - Talent: Give each of your minions here +1 power until the end of the turn.

1x Mind Lady - power 5 - Talent: Choose another player's minion. That minion's abilities are cancelled until the start of your next turn.

1x The Burst - power 5 - Ongoing: After a minion is played on a base, you may move this minion to there.

5x Mild Mannered Citizen - power 2 - Ongoing: At the start of your turn you may destroy this minion to search your deck for a minion of power 5 or more, play it here as an extra minion, and shuffle your deck.

Actions Edit

1x Expanded Power - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion has +1 power and can't be destroyed by other players.

2x Golden Age - Place up to three minions from your discard pile on the bottom of your deck.

2x Justice Friends - Each of your minions of power 5 or more gains +2 power until the end of the turn.

1x My Only Weakness - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion's abilities are cancelled.

2x Not Really Dead - Place up to two minions of power 2 or less from your discard pile into your hand.

1x Radioactive Exposure - Destroy one of your minions to search your deck for a minion with more power, play it there as an extra minion, and shuffle your deck.

1x Secret Base - Play on a base. Ongoing: Your minions here of power 3 or less cannot be destroyed by other players.

1x Sidekick - Choose a base where you have a minion of power 5 or more. Play a minion there of power 2 or less as an extra minion.

Superheroes

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the It's Your Fault! rulebook:

Mind Lady: The cancelation lasts even if Mind Lady is no longer in play.

Mechanics Edit

Superheroes' main mechanic is changing your low-power minions into power-5 minions. They even have an ensemble cast of four power-5 minions you can choose from, not including the boss minion from their partner faction.

Their main drawback is their low-power minion, being a power-2, can easily be targeted by other players before you're able to transform it into a power-5 minion. To make up for it, the Superheroes have a few cards allowing you to protect them until you're able to use them.

Additionally, the Superheroes are able to put back minions from your discard pile into your deck, allowing you to recur your power-5 minions.

Synergy Edit

Killer Plants - The Mild mannered Citizen can bring Alpha plant who can bring the Mild Mannered Citizen.

Zombies - The MMC from the can be brought out of the graveyard

Princesses - The Mild Mannered Citizen can bring the powerful Power 5 princesses and the princesses actions make it easier to move superheroes and princesses around.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Awesome Guy Edit

Q: I play Bear Hug/Unfathomable Goals/Griefer to force an opponent to destroy their own minion. They choose to destroy their Awesome Guy, claiming that it can't be destroyed by my card and therefore survives. Is that correct?

A: No. There's a subtle nuance. When you play these cards to make another player destroy a minion, the minion is considered both "destroyed by your card's ability" and "destroyed by that player". So the cause of the destruction is your card's ability, but the person who carried out the destruction is that player. A card that can't be destroyed by "other players' abilities" is only immune to destruction if the cause is another player's ability. However, a card that can't be destroyed by "other players" is only immune to destruction if the person who does the destruction is another player. So Awesome Guy is not immune to destruction if it's destroyed by its own controller, even if the destruction was caused by another player's card.

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[1]


Questions on Captain Amazing Edit

Q: I use Captain Amazing's talent. Captain Amazing is then removed from play or has its ability cancelled. Do my minions lose their boost?

A: No. Even if Captain Amazing is no longer in play or loses its ability, the +1 power persists until the end of the turn.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: After using Captain Amazing's talent, I move it to another base. Do my minions on the former base lose their boost and do my minions on the new base get it instead?

A: No. The power boost was given to the minions when you used the talent and it sticks with them.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: After using Captain Amazing's talent, I move one of my other minions there to another base. Does the minion lose its power boost?

A: No, it keeps it even if it's moved to another base. The power boost was given to that minion when you used the talent and it sticks with it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: After using Captain Amazing's talent, I play or move one of my minions to Captain Amazing's base. Does the minion get a power boost?

A: No. The power boost was given to the minions present on Captain Amazing's base at the time you used its talent. Any other minion won't be able to get it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Mind Lady Edit

Q: An opponent uses Mind Lady's talent to cancel one of my minion's ability. On my turn, I manage to destroy Mind Lady, so my minion gets its ability back, right?

A: No. Even if Mind Lady is no longer in play or loses its ability, the cancellation persists until the start of that player's turn.

Rule: "Until the start of your next turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: I play a Mind Lady on a base with an enemy Imperial Dragon. Can Mind Lady cancel Imperial Dragon's ability before its controller has a chance to draw a card?

A: No. When you play Mind Lady, you do resolve its abilities, but talents are never resolved immediately. So your opponent will draw a card before you can use Mind Lady's talent.

Rule: When you play a card, an ability that starts with "Talent:" is never resolved immediately.

Q: If I cancel the ability of a Spartan or a Hammerhead, does it also lose its +1 power counters?

A: No. It just means that they don't activate their abilities anymore, but the +1 power counters remain.

Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: I'm given control of a Betrothed. Can I use my Mind Lady to cancel Betrothed's ability? Just in case...

A: No. Mind Lady can only target another player's minion, that is a minion controlled by another player. You now control the Betrothed, so it's considered as "your minion" and Mind Lady can't target it.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Can I use Mind Lady to cancel a minion's ability that's not in play? For example, a Tenacious Z in another player's discard pile.

A: No. Mind Lady can only target a minion in play.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".


Questions on The Burst Edit

Q: If I play a Bear Cavalry on The Burst's base and move The Burst to another, can The Burst's controller use its ability to move back to its previous base?

A: Yes. The Burst's ability is triggered after a minion is played on any base, so the player can use it to move The Burst to Bear Cavalry's base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Mild Mannered Citizen Edit

Q: If Mild Mannered can't be destroyed due to an effect, like General Ivan's ability, and the start of my turn comes around, can I search for a minion through Mild Mannered Citizen's ability?

A: No. Unlike Sprout, the extra minion is dependent on Mild Mannered Citizen's destruction. So, if Mild Mannered Citizen is not destroyed, you cannot search for a minion, nor shuffle your deck.

Rule 1: "Can't" trumps "can".

Rule 2: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you need to completely do the effect stated as "X" you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: It's the start of my turn and I have one Mild Mannered Citizen in play. I activate its ability and destroy it, but decide to save it with House of Nine Lives. Can I activate Mild Mannered Citizen again and, this time, actually destroy it and play a power-5 minion on House of Nine Lives?

A: No. Mild Mannered Citizen has already been triggered by the start of your turn and you've already resolved it, so you can't trigger it a second time.

Rule: When an ability is triggered, it's resolved once per trigger.

Q: When I use the ability of Mild Mannered Citizen, do I have to play the extra minion immediately, or can it be saved like an extra minion play?

A: You must play it immediately because the extra minion was gained outside of your Play Cards phase.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: If I have a Mild Mannered Citizen in play and an opponent plays Overrun on its base, does it cancel Mild Mannered Citizen's ability? Or since Mild Mannered Citizen's ability replaces it with another minion, I can still replace it, right? That's not playing a minion.

A: At the start of your turn, if you choose to activate Mild Mannered Citizen's ability, do as much as you can, while resolving it completely, even if some part of it can't be done. Firstly, you destroy it (no problem here). Secondly, you search your deck for a minion of power 5 or less (no problem here). Thirdly, you play it on Mild Mannered Citizen's former base (problem: Overrun forbids it, so you can't play it. What happens to that minion is to be confirmed TBD). Fourthly, you shuffle your deck (no problem here).

Rule 1: Cards are resolved entirely.

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: When playing Mild Mannered Citizen on the R'lyeh base, both cards say to destroy a minion at the start of your turn. If I destroy Mild Mannered Citizen, do I get the benefit from both cards?

A: No. Either you destroy Mild Mannered Citizen using its own ability and you only get its benefit, or you destroy Mild Mannered Citizen using R'lyeh's ability and you only get R'lyeh's benefit, not both. The reason is Mild Mannered Citizen and R'lyeh are two cards that trigger at the start of your turn. In such a situation, it's the current player who decides the order of activation. So either you destroy Mild Mannered Citizen with its own ability and it's not around anymore for you to destroy it with R'lyeh, or you destroy it with R'lyeh's ability and Mild Mannered Citizen's not around anymore for you to use its ability. That said, you can use Mild Mannered Citizen's ability to play a new minion and destroy that minion with R'lyeh's ability.

Rule: The current player decides the order of events that are supposed to happen simultaneously.

Q: If I have a Mild Mannered Citizen on Field of Honor or Cave of Shinies. At the start of my turn, it destroys itself. Do I gain 1 VP?

A: Yes. When Mild Mannered Citizen's ability is activated, it tells you to destroy it, so you're the one who did the destruction, you would then get 1 VP from Field of Honor. For Cave of Shinies, Mild Mannered Citizen's owner gains 1 VP.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I have a Mild Mannered Citizen and a Heavy Drinker in play. At the start of my turn, the Mild Mannered Citizen destroys itself. Does it trigger my Heavy Drinker's ability to get a +1 power counter?

A: No. Heavy Drinker's ability is an on-play ability, which means that it's only resolved the moment the minion is played and is no longer active after that.

Rule: On-play abilities are resolved only once and have no further effect.


Questions on Expanded Power Edit

Q: I take control of another player's minion on which they played an Expanded Power. I suppose I also take control of the action and so Expanded Power wouldn't protect this minion against Cat Fight or Nine Lives, right?

A: Wrong. Even if you take control of another player's minion, you don't take control of the actions played on it, so Expanded Power still "sees" you as another player and still protects the minion from your destruction attempts.

Rule: When you take control of a minion, you don't take control of the actions played on it.

Q: I play Bear Hug/Unfathomable Goals/Griefer to force an opponent to destroy their own minion. They choose to destroy their minion protected by Expanded Power claiming that it can't be destroyed by my card and therefore survives. Is that correct?

A: No. There's a subtle nuance. When you play these cards to make another player destroy a minion, the minion is considered both "destroyed by your card's ability" and "destroyed by that player". So the cause of the destruction is your card's ability, but the person who carried out the destruction is that player. A card that can't be destroyed by "other players' abilities" is only immune to destruction if the cause is another player's ability. However, a card that can't be destroyed by "other players" is only immune to destruction if the person who does the destruction is another player. So your minion is not immune to destruction if it's destroyed by its own controller, even if the destruction was caused by another player's card.

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[1]


Questions on Golden Age Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Justice Friends Edit

Q: If I play Justice Friends and then play another minion of power 5 or more afterward, does the new minion get +2 power from the Justice Friends?

A: The official answer is yes[2].

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.


Questions on My Only Weakness Edit

Q: If I cancel the ability of a Spartan or a Hammerhead, does it also lose its +1 power counters?

A: No. It just means that they don't activate their abilities anymore, but the +1 power counters remain.

Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.


Questions on Not Really Dead Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Radioactive Exposure Edit

Q: Can I play this and choose not to destroy one of my minions? (e.g. because I'm playing with the Mythic Greeks or know that I don't have a minion with more power in my deck)

A: Yes, this action is a "Do X to do Y" ability, which means that even if it doesn't say "you may", doing X, i.e. destroying one of your minions, is actually optionnal.[3]

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Q: If I destroy my own Gremlin using Radioactive Exposure, do I draw a card and all the other players discards a card?

A: Yes. A Gremlin's ability is triggered after its destruction no matter who destroys it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Secret Base Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so my minions of power 3 or less there can't be destroyed by other players, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions" and "other players" means "their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: I play Bear Hug/Unfathomable Goals/Griefer to force an opponent to destroy their own minion. They choose to destroy their minion protected by Secret Base claiming that it can't be destroyed by my card and therefore survives. Is that correct?

A: No. There's a subtle nuance. When you play these cards to make another player destroy a minion, the minion is considered both "destroyed by your card's ability" and "destroyed by that player". So the cause of the destruction is your card's ability, but the person who carried out the destruction is that player. A card that can't be destroyed by "other players' abilities" is only immune to destruction if the cause is another player's ability. However, a card that can't be destroyed by "other players" is only immune to destruction if the person who does the destruction is another player. So your minion is not immune to destruction if it's destroyed by its own controller, even if the destruction was caused by another player's card.

Rule: If a card specifies another player to carry out an effect, that player gets the credit for the effect, not the card player.[1]


Questions on Sidekick Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Dudu Torres.

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22554680#22554680
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/16247336#16247336
  3. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/17014769#17014769

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.