FANDOM


16473803 1237765726309679 819945060552803839 n

How could something so cuddly … OH MY GOD GET IT OFF! GET IT OFF! - AEG

Who could possibly come between you and your bear when you were little? Nothing. Because those bears had more up their sleeves than you ever knew. Just try looking at their owners the wrong way and you're in trouble. In the sweetest way possible!

- What Were We Thinking? rulebook

The Teddy Bears are one of the 4 factions from the What Were We Thinking? set.

The Teddy Bears focus on getting power from other players' minions and messing with other players' minions.

Other factions from the same set: Explorers, Grannies, Rock Stars.

Name Edit

This faction is called "Teddy Bears" in the rulebook and on the divider included in this set. However, AEG's product page for this set calls this faction "Teddybears".

Cards Edit

Yc9aWy6

The Teddy Bears have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is unusually low at only 22 or an average of 2.2 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Minions Edit

1x Sir Squeezes - power 5 - Play up to three minions of power 3 or less, whose total power is 5 or less, as extra minions here.

2x Fun Bear - power 2 - Ongoing: After another player plays or moves a minion to here, place a +1 power counter on this minion.

3x Lovey Bear - power 3 - Ongoing: This minion’s starting power is increased to the highest starting power of an opponent’s minion here.

4x Snuggly Bear - power 1 - Special: After you play your first minion in a turn, you may immediately play this minion there as an extra minion.

Actions Edit

1x Bear Picnic - Play on a base. Ongoing: Other players cannot play minions they own of power 2 or less on other bases.

2x Care Package - Draw a card and play an extra minion.

2x Cuddle - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion's abilities are cancelled.

1x Group Hug - Give one of your minions +1 power for each other minion at the same base until the end of the turn.

1x Love Overload - Special: Before a base scores, destroy the minion there with the most power. If tied, destroy all tied minions.

1x Square Deal - Draw cards until at least one player has fewer cards in their hand than you.

1x Tea Party - Play on a base. Talent: If there are two or more minions here and at least one is yours, draw a card.

1x Too Cute - Play on a base. Ongoing: Your minions here cannot be destroyed by other player's cards.

Teddy Bears

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the What Were We Thinking? rulebook:

Bear Picnic: This does not affect monster play since no one owns a monster. It doesn’t stop play of other players’ minions (e.g. from Trade).

Cuddle: This does not cancel the abilities of actions on the minion, but it does cancel abilities granted by an action (e.g. Flighterizer). It does not cancel the treasure granted by monsters.

Group Hug: The power boost is calculated once and does not change when more minions are there, or the minion moves.

Lovey Bear: If the highest opposing starting power is less than Lovey Bear’s, no change happens.

Snuggly Bear: Multiple Snuggly Bears can be triggered by the same first minion and played.

Mechanics Edit

Teddy Bears have a wide array of abilities that can mess with most minion-focused factions. For example, some cards are deterrent or give you an advantage againt swarm-type factions (Fun Bear, Group Hug, Bear Picnic), some cards give you advantage over high-power minions (Lovey Bear, Love Overload), and some cards help you counter minions with strong abilities (Cuddle).

Additionally, Teddy Bears have extra minion plays, usually allowing you to play groups of minions on the same base.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Sir Squeezes Edit

Q: How does Sir Squeezes's ability work?

A: When you play Sir Squeezes, you get three extra minion plays with the following restrictions:
- Each minion must have a printed power of 3 or less.
- The sum of their printed powers cannot exceed 5.
Also, depending on when Sir Squeezes is played, the extra plays are either banked, or to be used immediately:
- If you played Sir Squeezes outside your Play Cards phase, then you must play the extra minions immediately or not at all.
- Otherwise, the extra minions are not played immediately, but are actually "banked" to be used later on your current Play Cards phase.

Rule 1: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.

Rule 2: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Rule 3: An extra card isn't played right away, unless it was gained by a Special ability or outside the Play Cards phase.

Q: Can I play a Howler as one of the extra minions even though it becomes power 4?

A: Sure, playing a Howler is treated as playing a minion of power 2 (its printed power), so it is eligible for Sir Squeezes's ability. As for the remaining two extra minions, their total power cannot exceed 3, because Howler used up 2 power out of 5 (and not 4 out of 5).

Rule: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.

Q: Can I play a Weed Eater as one of the extra minions? It's power 3 when it is played.

A: No, playing a Weed Eater is treated as playing a minion of power 5 (its printed power), so it is not eligible for Sir Squeezes's ability.

Rule: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.


Questions on Fun Bear Edit

Q: Is the restriction "to here" only for moving a minion or also for playing it?

A: It's for both, Fun Bear triggers either from minions being played on its base by the other players, or from minions on other bases being moved to its base by the other players.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If this minion and some other minions are moved at the same time by another player's ability (e.g. You're Pretty Much Borscht) to the same base, does Fun Bear ability trigger after and how many counters will it receive?

A: Fun Bear definitely triggers for itself, similar to how Imperial Dragon triggers if another player moves it. What's unclear is if Fun Bear triggers for the other minions too. This situation is the same as Felicia Day moving Cub Scout and a bunch of other minions and has yet to receive any official confirmation. TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Lovey Bear Edit

Q: How does Lovey Bear's ability work?

A: For as long Lovey is in play, you must constantly check the starting power of all the opponent's minions on the same base as Lovey Bear and determine what the highest value is. Their starting power is nearly always equal to their printed power, unless your opponent has a Lovey Bear too. (As of the What Were We Thinking? expansion, Lovey Bear is the only minion that can change its starting power) Once you've determined that, compare it with Lovey Bear's printed power (either 3 as printed on the card, or 5 if it was modified by Matrix of Bossiness)
- If Lovey Bear's printed power is higher or the same as that value, then Lovey Bear's starting power is its printed power (like any regular minion!).
- If Lovey Bear's printed power is lower, then Lovey Bear's starting power becomes that value.
When you need to determine Lovey Bear's total power, you calculate it by applying any power modifiers on its starting power.

Rule 1: A minion's starting power is the power of a minion before being modified by other abilities.

Rule 2: In play, a minion's power includes all modifiers.

Q: Once Lovey Bear's starting power has been increased, what happens if the opponent's minion with the highest starting power there is removed from the base?

A: Lovey Bear's starting power is readjusted accordingly. Check which opponent's minion has the highest starting power now. If it's higher than Lovey Bear's default starting power (either its printed power of 3, or 5 if it has Matrix of Bossiness), then Lovey Bear's starting power is now equal to that new highest starting power. If the highest starting power of all the opponents' minions is lower than that, then Lovey Bear's starting power is reverted back to its default one.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Lovey Bear is in play. An opponent plays a Howler on the same base. Howler always has a power of 4 when it comes into play, so Lovey Bear becomes power 4, right?

A: No. A starting power is a minion's power before any modifications are taken into account. Howler's "starting" power is 2. 4 is actually Howler's "modified" power (even though it was modified by its own ability). So Lovey Bear remains at a starting power of 3.

Rule: A minion's starting power is the power of a minion before being modified by other abilities.

Q: Lovey Bear is in play. An opponent plays a Weed Eater on the same base. Weed Eater always has a power of 3 when it comes into play, so Lovey Bear remains at power 3, right?

A: No. A starting power is a minion's power before any modifications are taken into account. Weed Eater's "starting" power is 5. 3 is actually Weed Eater's "modified" power (even though it was modified by its own ability). So Lovey Bear gets a starting power of 5.

Rule: A minion's starting power is the power of a minion before being modified by other abilities.


Questions on Snuggly Bear Edit

Q: I play my first minion of a turn. Can I play more than one Snuggly Bear with their special abilities?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says. Except when the rulebook clearly addresses the issue.


Questions on Bear Picnic Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so since they are another player from my point of view, they must also abide to Bear Picnic's ability, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "other players" means "their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: An opponent plays Bear Picnic. What does "minions they own" mean from my point of view?

A: It means any minions that come from the two factions you chose at the start of the game. If you play a card that allows you to play a monster, then you are not restricted by Bear Picnic because monsters are not owned by anyone. If you play a treasure minion, you are not restricted by Bear Picnic either, because, while you gain control of the treasure, you are not its owner (treasures have no owners after all). Finally, if you manage to play a minion owned by another player (e.g. you got it from Trade), you are also not restricted by Bear Picnic, because you are not playing a minion you own.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Care Package Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Cuddle Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Group Hug Edit

Q: I play Group Hug and boost one of my minions. What happens if the number of minions on that base changes?

A: The power boost remains the same, it's not adjusted to match the new number of minions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Do I also get power from other players' minions there?

A: Yes.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".


Questions on Love Overload Edit

Q: Are my Lovey Bears immune to Love Overload?

A: No. If your Lovey Bear's power (i.e. its modified power, not its starting power) is the highest, then you must destroy it.

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".


Questions on Square Deal Edit

Q: How do I resolve this card's ability?

A: First, you check how many cards each player has (don't count Square Deal, because it is no longer in your hand when you play it). If no other player has strictly fewer cards in their hand than you, draw a card from your deck. Then, check again. If it is still the case, keep drawing. As soon as at least one player has fewer cards than you, you must stop. For short, determine which one of your opponent has the fewest number of cards in their hand, then draw until you have the same number of cards in hand plus one more.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If another player already has fewer cards in hand than me, do I draw one card then stop?

A: No, you don't draw any card because the condition for stopping is already met.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Tea Party Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so on my turn I can also use its talent, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore only they can use its talent on their turns.

Rule: A talent can be activated on each of its controller's turns.

Q: Does it work if there is a minion there that I own but don't control (e.g. Sneaky Squire, Betrothed)?

A: No. You must have a minion there that you control, whether or not you own it.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".


Questions on Too Cute Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion there, it also cannot be destroyed by my opponents' cards, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions" and "other players" means "their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Alberto Tavira, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • Fun Bear is a reference to Care Bears.
  • Square Deal is a reference to Theodore Roosevelt.
  • A Snuggly Bear is cuddling The Count on the Cuddle card.
  • A Laseratops can be seen on the Bear Picnic card.
  • A Great White is being attacked on the Love Overload card.
  • A Betrothed, a Sneaky Squire and a Foot of the King are present on the Square Deal card.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.