FANDOM


Spy

The shadow war between International Secret Intelligence and the evil HAVOC (Henchman and Villains of Chaos) continues. HAVOC’s schemes threaten the world, from weather-changing satellites to lasers mounted on secret moon bases, they can only be opposed by the daring agents of the ISI. Using the latest in espionage technology, the ISI will be able to foil your their opponents’ plans.

- Science Fiction Double Feature rulebook (updated in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook)

The Super Spies are one of the 4 factions from the Science Fiction Double Feature set.

The Super Spies specialize in checking the upcoming cards of the players' decks to better prepare your plans, and disrupting other players' plans by forcing them to discard and by changing the game before a base scores.

Other factions from the same set: Cyborg Apes, Shapeshifters, Time Travelers.

Cards Edit

Super spies

The Super Spies have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion. They are also one of the rare factions to have received a titan from the TITANS Event Kit.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 1 play-on-base action: Mindraker,
  • 9 standard actions (2 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Discards Are Forever, For My Eyes Only (2x), From Q With Love, Live and Let Chum, Permit to Kill, The Base Is Not Enough, The Spy Who Ditched Me (2x),
  • 0 actions that directly increase a minion's power.

Minions Edit

1x Secret Agent - power 5 - Ongoing: After another player plays an action, he or she must discard a card. FAQ

2x Mole - power 4 - Ongoing: Before this base scores, you may play an action as a Special action. FAQ

3x Operative - power 3 - Reveal the top card of each player’s deck. Place any of those cards on the bottom of their owner’s deck. Return the other cards to the top of their decks. FAQ

4x Spy - power 2 - Look at the top 3 cards of your deck. Place them on the top and/or bottom of your deck in any order. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Discards Are Forever - All players reveal cards from their decks until they reveal a minion. Discard all revealed cards. FAQ

2x For My Eyes Only - Look at the top 5 cards of your deck. Place them on the top and/or bottom of your deck in any order. FAQ

1x From Q With Love - Draw three cards. Discard two cards. FAQ

1x Live and Let Chum - Special: Play before a base scores. Destroy a minion of power 3 or less there. FAQ

1x Mindraker - Play on a base. Ongoing: Other players cannot play Specials while this base is scoring. FAQ

1x Permit to Kill - Each other player reveals the top two cards of his or her deck and discards any minions revealed. Return the other cards on the top of the deck in any order. FAQ

1x The Base Is Not Enough - Special: Play before a base scores. Choose a minion there of power 4 or less. You control that minion until the end of the turn. FAQ

2x The Spy Who Ditched Me - All other players must discard a minion or reveal their hand to show they have no minions. FAQ

Titan Edit

(available in each "Smash Up TITANS" pack released with the TITANS Event Kit)

1x Moon Zero Three - Special: Instead of your regular minion play, you may play this titan on a base with no other players’ minions. Ongoing: After the first time each turn an ability is used to reveal, look at, or search for one or more cards from a player’s deck, place a +1 power counter on this titan. Talent: Look at the top card of any deck. Place it on the top or bottom of that deck. FAQ

Super Spies

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Mindraker: “While this base is scoring” means from the moment the base is chosen to score until its replacement base is played. While this card stops Specials from being played, it does not prevent Specials already in play from resolving.

Secret Agent: If the other player’s action destroys Secret Agent, they still have to discard a card.

Mechanics Edit

Super Spies specialized in sabotaging players by disrupting the opponent deck and hands while improving your deck and hand at the same time. Super Spies also give you more choice and control on your special ability as well. Spy and For My Eyes Only allow you to look at your cards and put them in your own order so you can have higher chance to get better cards next turn while Operative, Discards Are Forever, The Spy Who Ditched Me and Secret Agent allow you to sabotage other player by forcing them to discard cards from either their hands or their deck. Super Spies's Mole is possibly the most unique of all. Mole has an ability that allows the player to play an action as a special action when a base is captured. This allows the player to either sabotage opponents or improve a minion at the last minute. However, Spies have a lack of offensive tactics so they will suffer without any offensive actions or minions.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Secret Agent Edit

Q: Does Secret Agent trigger from any action play? Not just from playing an action on its base?

A: Any action play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If a player plays an action, but is interrupted by Wil Wheaton or Force of Wil, does Secret Agent still make that player discard a card?

A: Yes. Wil Wheaton and Force of Wil make that player discard the action without resolving its effect, but it still counts as having played an action for Secret Agent.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If another player plays an action to destroy or return Secret Agent, do they discard a card because of Secret Agent?

A: Yes. Secret Agent was present when you started playing the action, which is enough to trigger it, so even if it's out of play, you still have to resolve its ability.

Rule: Check Secret Agent's clarification.

Q: If another player plays an action to take control of Secret Agent, do they discard a card because of Secret Agent?

A: Yes. Secret Agent was present when you started playing the action, which is enough to trigger it, so even if its controller changes, you still have to resolve its ability.

Rule: TBD

Q: If a player plays an Argonaut (either as an action or as a minion), does it trigger Secret Agent?

A: Yes.[1]

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have Steam Queen, and an opponent has Secret Agent. Can I play an action and have Steam Queen protect me from discarding a card? Secret Agent is adding an effect to my action after all.

A: No. Secret Agent doesn't do anything to your action. It doesn't add an effect, it just triggers from you playing an action. Forcing you to discard a card isn't something it does to your action, and it certainly isn't included in the definition of "affect".

Rule: Definition of "affect".


Questions on Mole Edit

Q: Using the Mole's ability, I play a "normal" action that gives me an extra minion or action to play. Can I play it now or is it saved for my next turn?

A: You can play it now. And actually, you must either play it immediately or not all. It cannot be saved for later.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: It doesn't say "extra", so it doesn't count as an extra card for Eliza's ability, right?

A: Wrong. It counts both as an extra and as a special action.

Rule: Cards played outside the Play Cards phase of a turn are counted as extra cards.

Q: When is the action played? Immediately or is it saved for step where special cards in hand are played?

A: You must play the action immediately or not at all.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: Before a base scores and during the step where cards in play are resolved, I chose not to use Mole's ability. But then, another player plays a card that changes the scoring. Can I go back and activate the Mole now?

A: No. When you were given the chance to activate the Mole's ability, you declined it, which is possible since its ability says "you may". But since it was activated and you chose not to use it, it still counts as having been activated and you can't use it again.

Rule: When a "you may" ability is triggered and you choose not to do it, it still counts as having been resolved.

Q: Before a base scores, I use a Mole to play an action. When it's my turn to play again, can I use the same Mole to play another action?

A: No. Before a base scores, all the relevant cards in play are activated once in an order determined by the current player, so it's not possible for your Mole to be activated twice for the same base scoring.

Rule: Check the steps for phase 3.

Q: What happens when I use a Mole to play Stasis Field onto the scoring base?

A: The scoring stops for that base, but you must continue the Score Bases if another base is ready to score.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What happens when I use a Mole to play an action that replaces the scoring base? (e.g. Terraforming, Burn It Down)

A: The scoring stops for that base (because it's not the same base anymore), but you must continue the Score Bases back to step 1 if a base (including the new base) is ready to score.[2]

Rule: Check the steps for phase 3.

Q: Before a base score, can I use a Mole to play an Argonaut?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: On my turn, before a base scores, I use a Mole to play Enshrouding Mist. Can I immediately play the extra minion?

A: No. Enshrouding Mist only works "on your turn", i.e. during the Play Cards phase of your turn. If you're using the Mole's ability, you're no longer in your Play Cards phase.

Rule: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of your turn".

Q: If I manage to play Augmentation or Howl on another player's turn (e.g. with a Mole) and target a minion that's not on the scored base, how long does the power bonus last?

A: They last until the end of your next turn!

Rule: Check Augmentation and Howl's clarifications.

Q: Before a base scores, an opponent moves a Mole away from the scoring base before its controller gets a chance to use it. (e.g. Some Day My Prince Will Come). Can the Mole still be activated because it was on the base when scoring began?

A: Be careful, Some Day My Prince Will Come is a Special that can be played from the hand. During the before-scoring step, cards in play, like Mole, must all be resolved before any player can play Special cards from their hand. So in your example, it's not possible. However, if such a situation comes where Mole is moved before its ability is allowed to be used, then the answer is no. Mole's ability can only be used before "this" base scores, i.e. the base it is currently on, and the base is it on when you're supposedly able to use it isn't the one that's scoring.

Rule: TBD


Questions on Operative Edit

Q: Her ability makes no sense! How many cards do you look at from each player? It says "any of those cards" and "the other cardS".

A: Only 1 card from each player. What happens is, you play the Operative and all the players (including you) reveal the top card of their deck. Then, for each card revealed, you decide whether to put it on the bottom of that player's deck or leave it on the top.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I reveal a card owned by a different player than the deck it is revealed from, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If you choose to place it on the bottom of a deck, it goes to the bottom of its owner's deck, exactly as written.
- Otherwise, it goes to the top of the deck it was revealed from, that's because, while the other players can see who owns the card, the card is merely revealed and doesn't change location, and "their deck" here means "the card's deck", not "the owner's deck".

Rule 1: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Rule 2: Cards you don’t own that are merely revealed in your hand or deck stay there.


Questions on Spy Edit

Q: What happens if there's fewer than three cards in my deck?

A: You take what's left of your deck, then shuffle your discard pile to form a new deck and resume taking cards until you have three cards.

Rule: If you need to draw, reveal, search for or look at a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile and put it on the table face down—that’s your new deck.

Q: What happens if there's exactly three cards in my deck?

A: You look at those three cards, rearrange them and set them down. That's your deck. You don't shuffle your discard pile to make a new deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Discards Are Forever Edit

Q: Do I also discard cards?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If an Igor is discarded this way, does it trigger its ability?

A: No. Igor's ability is an ongoing ability, which means it's only active if Igor is in play, not when it's discarded from the hand or deck.

Rule: An Ongoing ability only becomes active when the card is in play.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Discards Are Forever doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on For My Eyes Only Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because For My Eyes Only doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on From Q With Love Edit

Q: Do I discard two cards among the three cards I drew?

A: You draw three cards and add them to your hand, then discard two cards among all the cards in your hand.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: After drawing the three cards, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10 before discarding two? Or do I discard the two, and then if I still have more than ten cards, I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You strictly follow the card's instructions (draw three cards and discard two cards) and you don't discard any other card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because From Q With Love doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Live and Let Chum Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is more than 3), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 3), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 3), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 3), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Mindraker Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base. Since they're another player from my point of view, they can't play Specials either, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "other players" means "their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: Can I prevent other players from using special abilities that are in play?

A: No, Mindraker only prevents other players from playing special cards.

Rule: Check Mindraker's clarification.

Q: Does Mindraker prevent special actions from being played after its base scores?

A: Yes. It prevents special actions from being played from the moment the base is chosen to score until Mindraker is discarded at the end of the scoring.[3]

Rule: Check Mindraker's clarification.

Q: An opponent managed to take control of my Mole on a base with my Mindraker. That base scores on their turn. Can they use Mole to play a non-special ability without Mindraker preventing it?

A: No. Mindraker prevents special actions from being played. The action played via the Mole is treated as being a special action, so Mindraker prevents it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If you're asking about when Mindraker is played, it doesn't interact with them at all, because Mindraker says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.
- If you're asking about when an opponent wants to copy the effect of your Special standard action while your Mindraker's base scores, then they are perfectly allowed to copy the effect of your Special action; they aren't playing a Special after all, you are.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Permit to Kill Edit

Q: If I reveal a card owned by a different player than the deck it is revealed from, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's a minion, it goes to its owner's discard pile, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.
- If it's an action, it goes to the top of the deck it was revealed from, that's because, while the other players can see who owns the card, the card is merely revealed and doesn't change location.

Rule 1: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Rule 2: Cards you don’t own that are merely revealed in your hand or deck stay there.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Permit to Kill doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on The Base Is Not Enough Edit

Q: I use this to take control of another player's minion. When the scoring the finished, where does the minion go when it's discarded?

A: It goes into its owner's discard pile.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: I use this to take control of a minion with an ability that activates before a base scores (e.g. Cthulhu's Chosen). Can I use it?

A: No. Cards in play are resolved before you can play cards, so Cthulhu's Chosen has already been activated by its former controller (even if they haven't used its "you may" ability, it still counts as having been used). So you can't use it again unless something triggers its ability again.

Rule: When an ability is triggered, it's resolved once per trigger.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is more than 4), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 4), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 4), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and its control is given to the same player.
- Funky Town can't copy it because you need to be the one who played the action and use it on one of your minions, but it would already be under your control.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on The Spy Who Ditched Me Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because The Spy Who Ditched Me doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Moon Zero Three Edit

Main article: Titans

Q: The card says "Special" so I can use it outside of my turn, but why does the card also say "instead of your regular minion play"?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Moon Zero Three, the condition is "instead of your regular minion play", this means that you can only activate it when you have a regular minion play available, which is only on your turn and more specifically on your Play Cards phase. It cannot be played out of turn, because, outside of your own Play Cards phase, you don't have any regular minion plays to give up.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: “Instead of your regular minion play” means instead of the normal minion play allowed during your Play Cards phase.

Q: If there's a restriction on where I can play a minion (e.g. Ice Castle, Overrun), does it also apply to Moon Zero Three if I play it instead of my regular minion play?

A: No, such a restriction only applies when you play a minion. If you convert your regular minion play into a titan play, you're playing a titan, not a minion, so the restriction doesn't apply.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says, especially when clarified in the rulebook.

Q: If an ability is used to reveal or look at a player's hand, does Moon Zero Three still get a +1 power counter?

A: No, it only gets a +1 power counter when it happens to a player's deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Regarding its talent, is there a typo or am I really allowed to look at any deck?

A: It's not a typo, you can indeed look at the top card of any deck. Those include so far any player's deck, the base deck, the treasure deck, the monster deck and the Madness deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Oh wow, so each time I use its talent, it gets a +1 power counter, isn't that OP?

A: Be careful of the wording. First of all, it only gets a +1 power counter after the first time it happens in a turn. Secondly, it only gets it after it happens to a player's deck, so while the talent does allow you to check any deck, you won't place a +1 power counter on the titan if you choose the base, treasure, monster or Madness deck, because none of those are any player's deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I suppose it also gets a +1 power counter after another player draws a card because of an ability, right? Because when they draw it, they're looking at it.

A: No, Moon Zero Three will only get a +1 power counter if an ability explicitly tells a player to look at, reveal or search for one card or more in a player's deck. If the ability tells you to reveal it before drawing it (e.g. Nana, Granny’s Purse, It’s a Trap!), then it counts. Merely drawing a card isn't enough.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What happens to Moon Zero Three when the base that it's on scores?

A: It remains on that base until the step where you discard all the cards on the base. At which point it leaves play and is set aside. Any +1 power counter on it is removed.

Rule 1: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards on the scored base are discarded simultaneously.

Rule 2: If, for whatever reasons, a titan must leave play, it's actually set aside near its owner's deck and any +1 power counters on it are removed.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have Moon Zero Three there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. Moon Zero Three is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if Moon Zero Three had any +1 power counters on it or gave you any total power (e.g. on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: An opponent is playing the Super Spies with their titan. Their Moon Zero Three isn't in play. There is a base where no other player has a minion and I haven't played my regular minion yet, I can then invoke Moon Zero Three through its Special ability and play it there, right?

A: No, it doesn't seem like it's the intention. Out of play, "you" on cards probably refers to the player who has them physically, i.e. in their discard pile, hand, next to their deck, etc. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: If Moon Zero Three's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed on it by its own ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled).

Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: Can Moon Zero Three be played on a base with only monsters?

A: It depends. If all the monsters there are uncontrolled, then yes, there are no other player's minions there, i.e. no minions there controlled by any of your opponents. If at least one monster is controlled there by one of your opponents, then no.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Wen Juinn.
  • The artist for the titan (which was released after Science Fiction Double Feature) is Gong Studios, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • This faction is themed after James Bond.
  • Secret Agent is modeled after Sean Connery's James Bond.
  • The actions are all named after a James Bond movie
    • Discards Are Forever - Diamonds Are Forever
    • For My Eyes Only - For Your Eyes Only
    • From Q With Love - From Russia with Love
    • Live and Let Chum - Live and Let Die
    • Mindraker - Moonraker
    • Permit to Kill - Licence to Kill
    • The Base Is Not Enough - The World Is Not Enough
    • The Spy Who Ditched Me - The Spy Who Loved Me

In other languages Edit

Language Name
French Super Espions
German Superspione
Italian Super Spie
Portuguese Superespiões
Spanish Súper espías


Science Fiction Double Feature

Factions: Cyborg Apes  •  Shapeshifters  •  Super Spies  •  Time Travelers
Mechanics: Titans (optional, since the TITANS Event Kit)

TITANS Event Kit

Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Madness  •  Titans

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Sheep!  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/25182634#25182634
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22359274#22359274
  3. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/16209147#16209147