FANDOM


Clever distraction

Keep your eyes on Munchkin Thieves at all times. The moment you look away, you'll find a dagger in your back and your precious treasures in someone else's back ... pocket!

- Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook

The Thieves are one of the 8 factions from the Smash Up: Munchkin set.

Thieves love to steal things. And they sell their treasures for VPs.

Other factions from the same set: Clerics, Dwarves, Elves, Halflings, Mages, Orcs, Warriors.

Cards Edit

Thieves

The Thieves have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is unusually low at only 28 or an average of 2.8 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 1 play-on-base action: Secret Stash,
  • 9 standard actions (4 that affect one or more minions, in bold): Backstab, Clever Distraction, Mugging, Potion Bandolier (2x), Smuggling, Strip Bare, Swipe (2x),
  • 2 actions that directly increase a minion's power: Potion Bandolier (2x).

Minions Edit

1x Master Thief - power 5 - Talent: Draw a treasure card. FAQ

2x Fence - power 3 - You may discard two treasure cards to gain 1 VP. FAQ

3x Cat Burglar - power 3 - Reveal any number of treasure cards from your hand. Place a +1 power counter on this minion for each one you revealed. FAQ

4x Pickpocket - power 2 - If there is another Pickpocket here, draw a treasure card. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Backstab - Discard a treasure card to destroy a minion of power 3 or less. FAQ

1x Clever Distraction - Special: Play after a base scores, if you have a minion there. The winner loses 1 VP and you gain 1 VP. FAQ

1x Mugging - Transfer an action played on a minion to one of your minions. FAQ

2x Potion Bandolier - Choose a minion. Discard a treasure card to give that minion +3 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Secret Stash - Play on a base. Ongoing: When this base scores, add two treasure cards to the reward. FAQ

1x Smuggling - Discard two treasure cards to gain 1 VP. Shuffle your discard pile into your deck. Place this card on the bottom of your deck. FAQ

1x Strip Bare - Choose a treasure card in play. Place it into your hand. FAQ

2x Swipe - Draw a treasure card. FAQ

Thieves

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook:

Mugging, Strip Bare: Removing actions does not count as an effect affecting a card, so cards like Dork Orc don’t stop this. (updated by The Bigger Geekier Box)

Mechanics Edit

Thieves specialize in drawing treasure cards and trading them for effects, such as power boosts and VPs.

While players could think Thieves depend on Munchkin bases, they actually have several cards to draw treasures without having to destroy monsters.

While the treasures are useable as treasures, Thieves can use them to greater effects to get VPs, or to boost their minions. Cat Burglar is especially potent if you manage to keep many treasures in your hand.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Master Thief Edit

Q: I already have ten cards in hand. What happens if I decide to use this talent? Do I draw a treasure card and immediately discard a card?

A: You draw the treasure card and don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on Fence Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Cat Burglar Edit

Q: If Cat Burglar's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Cat Burglar's ability and which ones were not (e.g. if you're playing Thieves Giant Ants or Thieves Mad Scientists)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.


Questions on Pickpocket Edit

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand. Do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on Backstab Edit

Q: What if I play this card and don't have any treasure cards in hand? How do I prove that I don't have any treasure cards in hand?

A: You don't have to prove anything. It's a "Do X to do Y" type of ability, so while it doesn't say "you may", doing X is actually optional![1] So play Backstab and say that you don't discard a treasure card. No need to justify yourself.

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is more than 3), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't discard an additional treasure card from your hand for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and is what led you to destroy a minion in the first place.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 3), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't discard an additional treasure card from your hand for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and is what led you to destroy a minion in the first place.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 3), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't discard an additional treasure card from your hand for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and is what led you to destroy a minion in the first place.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 3), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't discard an additional treasure card from your hand for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and is what led you to destroy a minion in the first place.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Clever Distraction Edit

Q: It says "if I have a minion" there. Is it enough if there is a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "If you have a minion" means "if you control at least one minion (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.

Q: What happens if several players are tied for first place? Do you take a VP from each winner?

A: Clever Distraction doesn't make you take a VP from a player! It makes the winner lose 1 VP and you gain VP. That's the difference. If there are several winners, each of them loses 1 VP and you gain only 1 VP.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If the winner won no VP from the base scoring (e.g. Great Wyrm, Ruins), do they still lose 1 VP? Do I gain 1 VP?

A: Yes to both. They are the winner, so they lose 1 VP no matter how many VPs they got from the base, while you gain 1 VP.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If the winner won no VP from the base scoring (e.g. Great Wyrm, Ruins) and they also have 0 VP, what happens?

A: They don't have any VP to lose, so they don't lose any. But you still gain 1 VP.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Clever Distraction doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Mugging Edit

Q: It tells me to transfer the action to "one of my minions". Can I transfer it to a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Do I take control of the action I stole? E.g. If I steal Missing Uplink, do I now draw an extra card at the end of my turn? If I steal Daisy Chain, does my minion get +2 power because, well, I control it?

A: No, you're not "stealing" it; you're "relocating" it. The controller doesn't change! So even if Missing Uplink is on one of your minions, it's the player who played Missing Uplink who controls it, and therefore they're the one who will draw an additional card at the end of their turns. Same thing with Daisy Chain, you don't control it, so the "you" on the card refers to Daisy Chain's controller, and therefore your minion will get -2 power, not +2 power, because their controllers differ.

Rule 1: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Rule 2: "Other players" on a minion or action means everyone except the controller of the minion or action.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Mugging doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied. Yes, transferring an action between two cards (minions or bases) affects that action, but not the cards (minion or base), either the one it was transferred from, or the one it was transferred to.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Potion Bandolier Edit

Q: What if I play this card and don't have any treasure cards in hand? How do I prove that I don't have any treasure cards in hand?

A: You don't have to prove anything. It's a "Do X to do Y" type of ability, so while it doesn't say "you may", doing X is actually optional![1] So play Potion Bandolier, choose a minion and say that you don't discard a treasure card. No need to justify yourself.

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power. Note that you won't discard an additional treasure card from your hand for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and is what led you to destroy a minion in the first place. Also, note that merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it, so you can't copy that.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion, that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power. Note that you won't discard an additional treasure card from your hand for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and is what led you to destroy a minion in the first place. Also, note that merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it, so you can't copy that.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power. Note that you won't discard an additional treasure card from your hand for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and is what led you to destroy a minion in the first place. Also, note that merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it, so you can't copy that.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +3 power. Note that you won't discard an additional treasure card from your hand for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that can be copied and is what led you to destroy a minion in the first place. Also, note that merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it, so you can't copy that.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Secret Stash Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Secret Stash says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Smuggling Edit

Q: What if I play this card and don't have any treasure cards in hand? How do I prove that I don't have any treasure cards in hand?

A: You don't have to prove anything. It's a "Do X to do Y" type of ability, so while it doesn't say "you may", doing X is actually optional![1] So play Smuggling and say that you don't discard a treasure card. No need to justify yourself. However, you still have to shuffle your discard pile into your deck and place Smuggling under it, because those effects are independent from you gaining the VP.

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Smuggling doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Strip Bare Edit

Q: What is a "treasure card in play"?

A: A treasure card in the play area, so either a treasure card played on a base (either a treasure minion or a "play on a base" treasure action), or a treasure card played on a minion.

Rule: A card is "in play" when it's on another card (minion or base).

Q: But, there's this rule, "When a monster or treasure card leaves play, it always goes to the corresponding discard pile, regardless of card text to the contrary.", so with Strip Bare the treasure can't go into your hand since this rule explicitly tells us to ignore the card abilities.

A: This is obviously a very inaccurate rule because that would make Strip Bare useless. A more accurate rule would be that it only applies if the card text refers more generally to "a minion", "an action" or "a card". If the card text specifically refers to the treasure/monster nature of the card, then follow the card text instead.

Rule: N/A

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand. Do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: First of all, if the treasure you chose is an action treasure, then it doesn't interact with them at all, because Strip Bare doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied. Yes, removing an action affects that action, but not the card (minion or base) it is on. So here's what happens when you choose a minion treasure:
- If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is probably placed into the action player's hand, no matter who owns the minion. That's because Strip Bare allows you to put a card you don't own into your hand, therefore ignoring the general rules about ownership. Probably. To be confirmed. TBD
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is probably placed into the action player's hand, no matter who owns the minion. That's because Strip Bare allows you to put a card you don't own into your hand, therefore ignoring the general rules about ownership. Probably. To be confirmed. TBD
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is probably placed into the action player's hand, no matter who owns the minion. That's because Strip Bare allows you to put a card you don't own into your hand, therefore ignoring the general rules about ownership. Probably. To be confirmed. TBD
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is probably placed into the action player's hand, no matter who owns the minion. That's because Strip Bare allows you to put a card you don't own into your hand, therefore ignoring the general rules about ownership. Probably. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Swipe Edit

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand. Do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Swipe doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artists are John Kovalic, who is well-known for drawing the art of many boardgames including Munchkin and several of its expansions, and Francisco Rico Torres, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • The font used for the Thief cards is Quasimodo.
  • Warriors are present on Backstab, Mugging and Smuggling.
  • A Dwarf is present on Swipe.
  • A Cleric is present on Pickpocket.

In other languages Edit

Language Name
French Voleurs
German Diebe
Russian Воры
Spanish Ladrones


Smash Up: Munchkin

Factions: Clerics  •  Dwarves  •  Elves  •  Halflings  •  Mages  •  Orcs  •  Thieves  •  Warriors
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Monsters  •  Treasures

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Sheep!  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/17014769#17014769