FANDOM


Stasis field

The time stream has been compromised. Robots from the future mingle with pirates, extinct dinosaurs move with magical wizards... everything is all smashed up! That’s where the Time Patrol steps in. Organized in 1976 and led by the enigmatic Doctor When, the Time Patrol works to keep time flowing... in the manner they deem best.

- Science Fiction Double Feature rulebook

The Time Travelers are one of the 4 factions from the Science Fiction Double Feature set.

The Time Travelers specialize in getting back and replaying cards from your discard pile, especially actions. They also allow you to "repeat" the on-play effects of some of your minions.

Cards Edit

Time travelers

The Time Travelers have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion.

Minions Edit

1x Doctor When - power 5 - You may return another of your minions in play to your hand. You may play it again as an extra minion.

2x Repeater Perfect - power 4 - Place an action from your discard pile on top of your deck.

3x Time Raider - power 3 - Talent: Place a card from your discard pile on the bottom of your deck.

4x Jumper - power 2 - Ongoing: When this minion goes to the discard pile (from play), you may place it back into your hand.

Actions Edit

1x 1.21 Gigawatts - Shuffle all actions or all minions from your discard pile into your deck.

2x Do Over! - Return your minion from a base to your hand. You may play it again as an extra minion.

2x Into the Time Slip - Return a card in play to its owner's hand.

1x It's Astounding - Play an action from your discard pile as an extra action.

1x Stasis Field - Play on a base. Ongoing: This base cannot score. Destroy this action at the start of your turn.

1x Time is Fleeting - Play after a base scores if there is a base in the discard pile. Add a base of your choice from the discard pile instead of drawing a new base from the base deck.

1x Time Walk - You may play an extra minion and an extra action this turn. Draw 2 cards. Place this card on the bottom of your deck instead of your discard pile.

1x Wormhole - Special: Play after a base scores. Shuffle your minions there into your deck instead of placing them in the discard pile.

Time Travelers

Bases Edit

Mechanics Edit

Time Travelers focus on getting useful cards you've used back in a place they can be used again, faster than they would via running out of your deck and reshuffling. They have a couple mechanics for this, primarily avoiding the discard pile and placing cards in the deck, but also placing back in your hand and playing directly from the discard pile. Overtime, this allows Time Travelers to have a deck increasingly made up only of great cards (and more of a threat as they burn through the deck). This also gives them an advantage when paired with factions that incidentally shuffle the deck. Time Travelers also allow quite a bit of replaying cards from your hand,which allow you essentially to use a minions ability twice and also move it to a different base.

Time Travelers also have a couple ways to play with the pace of the game to your advantage. They have cards that let you mimic an extra turn, bring back an already used base, and delay when a base can score.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Doctor When Edit

Q: If you return a minion you control but don't own, is it put back in your hand? Can you replay it?

A: No and no. It's returned to its owner's hand, or in the case of a treasure minion, it's discarded in the treasure discard pile. In both cases, you can't replay it, because it's not in your hand.[1]

Rule 1: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.

Rule 2: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: I play Seastar and get an extra minion play. If I play Doctor When to replay the same Seastar, do I get another extra minion play?

A: No. The limit is on the number of times a Seastar's ability is used. Even if it's the same Seastar, you've already used a Seastar's ability so you can't use it anymore.

Rule: When a card leaves play, you don't treat playing it again as the same card, even if it is physically the same.[2]

Q: I have a minion in play with a talent. I use its talent. If I play Doctor When to replay that minion, can I use its talent again?

A: Yes. Even though it's the same minion, its talent is "refreshed" and can be used again.

Rule: When a card leaves play, you don't treat playing it again as the same card, even if it is physically the same.[2]

Q: Do I have to replay the minion immediately or can I save it for later?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Repeater Perfect Edit

Q: If I play an action that allows me to play an extra minion, if I play Repeater Perfect as that extra minion, can I place the action on the top of my deck using Repeater Perfect's ability?

A: It depends. If the extra minion play is banked for later, then yes. You play the action, bank the extra minion play, and discard the action. When you later use the extra minion play to play Repeater Perfect, the action would already be in the discard pile, so you can retrieve it. However, if the extra minion play must be played immediately (e.g. when the extra minion play is gained outside your Play Cards phase, when the extra minion play is gained through a Special ability,...), then you must immediately play the extra minion if you choose to do so, before the action is discarded. In that case, when you play Repeater Perfect, the action isn't in the discard pile and therefore can't be retrieved.

Rule 1: On-play actions are discarded after they are resolved.
Rule 2: Unless gained from a Special ability or outside the Play Cards phase, extra cards aren't played immediately.


Questions on Time Raider Edit

Q: I have a Time Raider in play. I use its talent. If I play Doctor When or Do Over! to replay Time Raider, can I use its talent again?

A: Yes. Even though it's the same minion, its talent is "refreshed" and can be used again.

Rule: When a card leaves play, you don't treat playing it again as the same card, even if it is physically the same.[2]


Questions on Jumper Edit

Q: Jumper says "from play", while Doppelgänger says "from a base". What's the difference?

A: None. These terms mean the same. To be in play for a minion means to be on a base.[3]

Rule: A card is "in play" when it's on another card (minion or base).

Q: If another player took control of my Jumper, who controls its ability when it goes to the discard pile?

A: Your opponent, because they are the one controlling it when it leaves play.

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.


Questions on 1.21 Gigawatts Edit

Q: Can I choose to shuffle both my minions and my actions into my deck?

A: Other cards have used an inclusive "or", but here it seems to be exclusive. TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Do Over! Edit

Q: If you return a minion you control but don't own, is it put back in your hand? Can you replay it?

A: No and no. It's returned to its owner's hand, or in the case of a treasure minion, it's discarded in the treasure discard pile. In both cases, you can't replay it, because it's not in your hand.[1]

Rule 1: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.

Rule 2: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: I play Seastar and get an extra minion play. If I play Do Over! to replay the same Seastar, do I get another extra minion play?

A: No. The limit is on the number of times a Seastar's ability is used. Even if it's the same Seastar, you've already used a Seastar's ability so you can't use it anymore.

Rule: When a card leaves play, you don't treat playing it again as the same card, even if it is physically the same.[2]

Q: I have a minion in play with a talent. I use its talent. If I play Do Over! to replay that minion, can I use its talent again?

A: Yes. Even though it's the same minion, its talent is "refreshed" and can be used again.

Rule: When a card leaves play, you don't treat playing it again as the same card, even if it is physically the same.[2]

Q: Do I have to replay the minion immediately or can I save it for later?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Into the Time Slip Edit

Q: If I use this on a minion with actions attached to it, do I discard the actions?

A: Yes.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard attachments.
Q: Can I return a monster or a treasure with this card?
A: No. Monsters have no owners, so Into the Time Slip won't work on them. The rulebook even states that such cards don't apply to them. Similarly, treasures have no owners, so it could also apply to treasures.

Rule 1: Cards that refer to a minion’s owner do not apply to monsters.
Rule 2: Treasures have no owners.
Q: Can I return a base with this card? A base is a card after all.
A: No. Bases have no owners, so the rule about monsters can also be generalized to bases..

Rule: Bases have no owners.


Questions on It's Astounding Edit

Q: Since the extra action isn't played immediately, but is saved for later. Can you play It's Astounding, bank an extra action (with the restriction that it must be from the discard pile), discard It's Astounding because you're done resolving it, then choose to play It's Astounding as the extra action? Rinse and repeat, over and over again...

A: Yes, you can do that. Although it seems useless, this combo will be very strong with the Mythic Greeks.[4]

Rule 1: An extra card isn't played right away, unless it was gained by a Special ability or outside the Play Cards phase.

Rule 2: On-play actions are discarded after they are resolved.


Questions on Stasis Field Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base. My turn is next, so at the start of my turn, this action is destroyed, right? It's a base action after all and base abilities concern all players, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your turn" means "their turn". Also, a base's ability is only the text at the bottom of the base card, but an action's ability is just that action's ability, even if played on a base.
Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.
Q: What happens when I use a Mole to play Stasis Field onto the scoring base?

A: The scoring stops for that base, but you must continue the Score Bases if another base is ready to score.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play Stasis Field on a base. On their turn, the other players play minions on it, which brings the total power there over its breakpoint, but the base still doesn't score because of Stasis Field. At the start of my next turn, Stasis Field is destroyed. Does the base score right away or do I still have a chance to play cards there?

A: Stasis Field is destroyed is destroyed during phase 1 of your turn. You only check if any base scores during phase 3, so you still have the phase 2 of your turn to do, i.e. your Play Cards phase.

Rule: Before phase 3, it doesn't matter how much power each player has on each base, they will only score if they meet the requirement during phase 3, and phase 3 only.


Questions on Time is Fleeting Edit

Q: When can you play Time is Fleeting? It doesn't say "Special".

A: This is an oversight and Time is Fleeting should really say "Special:..."[5]

Rule: N/A

Q: Can you play Time is Fleeting and put into play the base that was just scored?

A: It seems Time is Fleeting, while to be played during the "play/use after scoring cards" step, is only resolved during the "draw a new base" step. So the scored base should already be in the discard pile at that time. If so, you can replay it. To be confimed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: Time is Fleeting lets you choose a new base from the discard pile. School of Wizardry or The Nexus lets the winner choose the next base. Which one takes precedence?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: On School of Wizardry, what if the winner is playing Time Travelers; can they look at the top three bases and then decide to play Time is Fleeting and pick a base from the discard pile instead?

A: No. If you're looking at the top three bases, then you're already resolving School of Wizardry, so you also must choose a base among those three. If you play Time is Fleeting, a base would have already been decided and you can't choose another one.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.


Questions on Time Walk Edit

Q: Do you have to decide if you want to play an extra action and minion before you draw the 2 cards, or do you draw the 2 cards, then play the extra action and minion?

A: The extra aren't played right away. When you play Time Walk, you "bank" one extra minion play and one extra action that you can play this turn. Then, you draw two cards. And finally, you put Time Walk under your deck. That's how Time Walk is resolved.

Rule: An extra card isn't played right away, unless it was gained by a Special ability or outside the Play Cards phase.

Q: It doesn't say "and/or" like Ghostly Arrival. Do you have to play both cards or can you choose to play one and not the other?

A: You can play either one, both or none at all. The extra cards are just "banked" and you can use them if you want to, but if you use one, you don't have to use the other.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.

Q: I play Time Walk. After drawing the two cards, my deck is now empty. How can I place Time Walk under my non-existent deck?

A: Your deck is not non-existent, it's just a 0-card deck. If you put a card on the bottom or the top of it, it just means that that card alone becomes your whole deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: When is Time Walk placed under the deck? Before or after you draw the two cards?

A: After you draw the cards. When you play a card, you resolve it in order, and drawing the cards comes before placing Time Walk under the deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: When Time Walk is played outside the Play Cards phase (e.g. Mole), the extra cards must be played immediately, but is that immediately before you draw the two cards or immediately after you place Time Walk under your deck?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: If I play Non-Infinite Loop with Time Walk, does Time Walk go to my hand or the bottom of the deck?

A: Time Walk replaces "discard the action" with "place it on the bottom of your deck", while Non-Infinite Loop replaces "discard the action" with "put it in your hand". Both are equally possible, so the current player decides.[6]

Rule: The current player decides the order of events that are supposed to happen simultaneously.

Q: If I play another player's Time Walk. (e.g. Min-Maxing, Mass Enchantment, Trade), under whose deck does it go?

A: It goes on the bottom of the rightful owner's deck, not yours.

Rule: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.


Questions on Wormhole Edit

Q: Wormhole (Time Travelers) lets you shuffle minions on a base back into your deck after a base scores. If this includes minions with effects that prevent discard, such as the Pirate First Mate (move to another base when scored) or Alien Scout (return to your hand), which takes precedence? Can the player choose?

A: The current player chooses which ability takes precedence.[7]

Rule: The current player decides the order of events that are supposed to happen simultaneously.

Q: On a scoring base, I control another player's minion and they control one of mine. If I play Wormhole, what happens to the minion they own but I control? What happens to the minion I own but they control?

A: Wormhole only affects your minions, i.e. the minions you control, so it won't do anything to the minion that you own but that another player controls, so that minion will go into your discard pile as usual. However, it affects the minion that they own but that you control, since it's one of "your minions". So, Wormhole will "reprogram" that minion to be shuffled "into your deck" instead of being discarded and that is not optional. So when you get to the "discard all cards on the base" step, that minion will be reshuffled into their rightful owner's deck, not "yours", as per the rules.

Rule 1: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Rule 2: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.

Trivia Edit

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/19167111#19167111
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/25184584#25184584
  3. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/16209147#16209147
  4. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/19207031#19207031
  5. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/15231667#15231667
  6. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/17003850#17003850
  7. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/25185019#25185019

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.