FANDOM


Boots of running really fast

Treasures were introduced in the Smash Up: Munchkin set. They are minion and action cards that you get for various reasons. They can be played like any other minion and action. If they're ever discarded, they go to their own discard pile, not the discard pile of any player.

A common way to gain treasure is from monsters.

Cards Edit

Teasrues

The treasure deck has 22 cards, 3 of which are minions and the 19 remaining ones are actions.

Minions Edit

1x Dwarf Hireling - power 2 - You may play a card from the treasure discard pile on this minion as an extra action.

1x Halfling Hireling - power 2 - You may play an extra minion.

1x Tiger Steed - power 3 - You may destroy a minion here of power 2 or less.

Actions Edit

1x Bag of Caltrops - Play on a base. Ongoing: When another player's minion of power 3 or less is played here, destroy this treasure and that minion.

1x Boots of Butt-Kicking - Play on a minion. You may play an extra action. Ongoing: This minion has +1 power.

1x Boots of Running Really Fast - Play on a minion. Talent: Move this minion to another base.

1x Buckler of Swashing - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion cannot be destroyed.

1x Chainsaw of Bloody Dismemberment - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion has +2 power.

1x Chest of Holding - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion has +1 power for each treasure card on it.

1x Cross Bow - Choose a base and a faction. All minions there of that faction gain +2 power until the end of the turn.

1x Dungeon Rule Book - Destroy an action on a minion or base. Special: You may play this before a base scores.

1x Jetpack of Anachronism - Play on a minion. Ongoing: When this minion goes to the discard pile, place it into its owner's hand instead.

1x Kneepads Of Allure - Play on a minion. Ongoing: All minions here get +1 power.

1x Magic Missile - Play on a minion. Talent: Place this card on the bottom of the treasure deck. Destroy a minion here of power 3 or less.

1x Potion of Cowardice - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion has -2 power and loses all abilities.

1x Potion of Halitosis - Choose a base and a player. That player moves one of his or her minions from that base to another. Special: You may play this before a base scores. You must choose that base.

1x Potion of Idiotic Bravery - One minion gains +3 power until the end of the turn.

1x Potion of Line Cutting - Special: Play after a scored base's treasures are revealed, but before they are distributed. Place one of those treasures into your hand.

1x Potion of Paralysis - Special: Play before a base scores. Until the end of the turn, cancel the abilities of all cards on the base or on minions on the base.

1x Potion of Redundancy Potion - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion has the ability: "Talent: Use the talent ability of another minion."

1x Wand of Dowsing - Draw 2 treasure cards. Shuffle this card and the treasure card discard pile into the treasure deck.

1x Wishing Ring - Gain 1 VP. Place this card on the bottom of the treasure deck.

Rules Edit

Main article: Rules

Setup Edit

Prepare the Treasure Deck Edit

Gather all the treasure cards together to form the treasure deck. There are twenty-two treasure cards in total. Shuffle them and set this deck face-down to the side within easy reach.

The deck has a discard pile with shuffle-on-demand rules similar to the base deck.

Drawing Treasures Edit

Treasures are only obtained:

  • When you destroy a monster.
  • After the scoring of a base with (controlled and/or uncontrolled) monsters on it.
  • When a card tells you to get a treasure, by either drawing one, placing one into your hand, or playing one from the treasure discard pile.

Destroying Monsters Edit

If a monster is destroyed, then the player who destroyed the monster draws that many treasure cards into their hand from the treasure deck, without revealing them. To determine who destroyed it, take a look at the card that caused the destruction when it was activated (i.e. the one with the word "destroy"). Usually, the card tells its controller to destroy the minion. In that case, its the card's controller who gets credit for the destruction. If the card mentions that a specific player destroys it (e.g. Bear Hug, Ninja Dojo), then it's the designated player who gets credit for the destruction and gets the reward. If the destruction comes from an uncontrolled Plutonium Dragon, then reveal the appropriate number of treasure cards from the top of the treasure deck and discard them.[1]

Unlike normal minions, any ability that removes a monster from play (whether it's controlled or uncontrolled) sends it to the monster discard pile, nowhere else. E.g. taking control of a monster and then targeting it with Do Over! will send the monster to the monster discard pile, not to anyone's hand. Causing a monster to be discarded is not the same as destroying the monster, and only abilities that destroy the monster can earn the treasure reward.

Scoring a Base with Monsters Edit

After a base scores, add up all the treasure numbers for the monsters there (whether controlled or uncontrolled[2]), and reveal that number of treasure cards from the treasure deck. Every player with a minion at that base takes turns placing 1 of the revealed treasure cards into their hand until all revealed treasures have been taken starting with the winner of the base, then the runner up, etc. If players are tied for winner or any other place, resolve ties clockwise starting with the current player or whichever player is left of the current player. Even a player in fourth place on a base gets to participate in the loot distribution (provided, of course, that there are at least 4 treasures revealed). Note that even if you control a monster when its base scores, its treasures are still to added to the stash and split between the players.

Playing Treasures Edit

You can play treasures when an ability allows you to play one, or when it's one of the cards in your hand. When a treasure card is in your hand, you can play it by spending one of your minion or action play (depending on the type of treasure).

Just like "normal" minions or actions, the player who plays a treasure card gains control of it, though just like "normal" cards, their control can change. Each treasure is treated as if it was a "normal" card of its type (either a minion, or an action), with the following exceptions:

  • They don't have any owners. So they can't be targeted by cards that mention an "owner". E.g. Beam Up would do nothing to a treasure minion, since there is no "owner's hand" for the treasure to be returned to. Likewise Complete the Ritual would leave treasure minions and "play on a base" treasure actions alone, and the treasures would end up on the new base.
  • They aren't a faction. So when a card tells you to name a faction, you can't say "treasures".
  • If a treasure card ever leaves play, it goes to the treasure discard pile, not to any other discard pile, hand, or deck. For example, if a treasure minion is destroyed on Tar Pits, it is discarded, not placed under the treasure deck. Only the cards that explicitly designates treasures are the exceptions. Those cards are the Dwarf King, Strip Bare, Magic Missile, Wishing Ring, and Wand of Dowsing.

Although treasure cards cannot go to any player's discard pile, they can still end up in a player's deck (e.g. with Field Trip). It's possible for a treasure card to be discarded from a deck (e.g. with Walker). If this happens, the treasure card still goes to the treasure discard pile, not the player's discard pile.

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in the Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook:

Potion of Paralysis: This does not cancel the ability of the base, or of cards at other bases or in hands. It does cancel those of cards played to its base after it is played.

Tiger Steed: Despite its name, Tiger Steed is a separate minion, not played on or with any other minion.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Dwarf Hireling Edit

Q: What treasures can I play on Dwarf Hireling?

A: Only treasure actions that say "Play on a minion" (or a similar wording). You cannot use its ability to play "play on a base" actions, nor on-play actions.

Rule: Only "play on a minion" actions are played on a minion.


Questions on Halfling Hireling Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Tiger Steed Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Bag of Caltrops Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base and then plays a minion of power 3 or less there. Since they are another player from my point of view, their minion must be destroyed, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "another player" means "one of their opponents".
Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.
Q: I play a War Raptor on a base with an enemy's Bag of Caltrops and another War Raptor, so War Raptor should become power 4, is it immune to Bag of Caltrops?

A: No. Bag of Caltrops is triggered when another player plays a minion of power 3 or less. War Raptor is a minion of power 2, even though its ability changes its power once it's in play, but when you played it, it started at power 2.

Rule: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.

Q: I play a Weed Eater on a base with an enemy's Bag of Caltrops. Its ability lowers its power to 3. Is it destroyed by Bag of Caltrops?

A: No. Bag of Caltrops is triggered when another player plays a minion of power 3 or less. Weed Eater is a minion of power 5, even though its ability changes its power once it's in play, but when you played it, it started at power 5.

Rule: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.

Q: When I play a Flower Child on a base with an enemy Bag of Caltrops and choose to give it to that player, does it still trigger Bag of Caltrops?

A: Yes. Bag of Caltrops is triggered when another player plays a minion of power 3 or less, which you did, even if the minion changed controller.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Boots of Butt-Kicking Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Boots of Running Really Fast Edit

Q: Based on the wording, I can play this card on another player's minion. If I do, who can use the action's talent?

A: The action's controller. By default, an action's controller is the player who played it. Even if they play it on another player's minion, they are still the action's controller and only they can use its talent.

Rule: If you play an action on another player's minion, you're still the action's controller.

Q: Can I play this card on a minion that already has a talent? Can a minion have several talents?

A: You sure can play this card on any minion, with or without a talent. Also, the minion doesn't gain the action's talent, the talent belongs to the action and can only be used by the action's controller, not the minion's controller (if they were different).

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Buckler of Swashing Edit

Q: Choking Vines is on a minion. I play Buckler of Swashing on it. What happens?

A: At the start of Choking Vines' controller's turn, Choking Vines is activated and tries to destroy the minion, but Buckler of Swashing prevents it. Both cards remain on the minion. At the start of each of the Choking Vines' controller's turns, Choking Vines keeps trying to destroy the minion. Who knows? Maybe it will succeed eventually.

Rule: "Can't" trumps "can".


Questions on Chainsaw of Bloody Dismemberment Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Chest of Holding Edit

Q: It doesn't say "including this one" like some other cards (e.g. War Raptor, Juiced Up, Microbot Archive), so it doesn't give +1 power to the minion by itself, right? Otherwise, they would have said so.

A: Yes, it does give the minion +1 power by itself. The "including this one" was just there to clarify that those cards counted themselves toward their own abilities, but if you interpret Chest of Holding's ability literally, you must count how many treasures are attached to the minion (so including Chest of Holding), that minion gets that many +1 power. Otherwise, they would have used the wording "for each other treasure card".

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Cross Bow Edit

Q: Which factions can I name?

A: You can name any faction, one of yours or one of your opponents', or even one that isn't used in this game. There's no limitation.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Dungeon Rule Book Edit

Q: When used as a Special, do I have to destroy an action attached to the scoring base or to a minion on the scoring base?

A: No, there's no limitation, so it can be any action on any minion or on any base.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Jetpack of Anachronism Edit

Q: Is Jetpack of Anachronism also placed in the player's hand as well?

A: No. It's discarded into the treasure discard pile.

Rule: When a card leaves play, discard attachments.

Q: If I use Gimme! to destroy a minion with Jetpack of Anachronism, is the minion placed to its owner's hand or not?

A: Yes. You destroy the minion before transferring the action, so the action still applies and the minion is placed in its owner's hand.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.
Q: Can I destroy on an action on a minion while Sneaksy protects it?
A: Yes, removing actions from a minion doesn't count as affecting the minion.

Rule: Definition of "affect".


Questions on Kneepads Of Allure Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Magic Missile Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Potion of Cowardice Edit

Q: It doesn't say that minions have a minimum power of 0 like other cards (e.g. Glymmer, Poison, Sleep Spores). So a minion's power can go negative with this card, right?

A: No. Those other cards only reminded you of the general rule that "minion power is never reduced below zero". Even if the card doesn't remind you of it, it's still one of the rules of Smash Up that you must keep in mind.

Rule: Minion power is never reduced below zero.
Q: An opponent has Elder Thing in play. Can I play Potion of Cowardice to remove its immunity?

A: No. Their Elder Thing cannot be affected by your cards, and playing an action on it counts as affecting it, so it won't work.

Rule: Definition of "affect". Playing an action on a minion counts as affecting the minion.


Questions on Potion of Halitosis Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Potion of Idiotic Bravery Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Potion of Line Cutting Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Potion of Paralysis Edit

Q: Does it only cancel the abilities of cards on the base OR cancel the abilities of cards on minions? Not both?

A: It cancels both cards on the base AND cards on minions. The "or" is inclusive.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Shielding is played on a minion, as well as other actions, so Shielding protects the minion and its actions from being cancelled, but Shielding doesn't protect itself. Another player plays Potion of Paralysis, and since it cancels the effect of several cards at the same time, the current player decides the order, right? So they can choose to cancel Shielding first to remove its protection, then cancel the minion's ability and finally the other actions' abilities in any order, right?

A: No. Potion of Paralysis's cancellation ability happens simultaneously to all the cards, so there's no order to decide. You first evaluate which abilities can be cancelled, then cancel them all at the same time. Shielding was protecting the minion and its actions during that step, so Shielding's ability is cancelled, but not the minion's, nor the other actions'.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Potion of Redundancy Potion Edit

Q: How does this work? If I use the talent of a Baboom, where is the extra action played, on Baboom or the minion with the Potion? If I use the talent of a Teenage Wolf, which minion gets the +1 power, Teenage Wolf or the minion with the Potion?

A: You resolve the talent exactly as if the talent belonged to the minion with the Potion of Redundancy Potion, so with Baboom, the extra action must be played on the minion with this card, and with Teenage Wolf, the minion with this card gets +1 power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: When I play this card on a minion, does it overwrite the minion's original abilities?

A: No. The minion will keep its original abilities and will gain an additional one.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If played on a minion with a talent, can you only use one of its talents per turn or can you trigger each talent separately?

A: If played on a minion with a talent, the minion will then have two talents. Each talent can be activated once per turn, independently from each other, unless one of the talents makes the minion lose its other abilities (e.g. Bruiser).

Rule: Each talent can be activated once per turn.

Q: If I play this on another player's minion, who can use this action's talent?

A: You're still the action's controller, but in that case, it's the minion that has the talent, not the action. This means that it's only the minion's controller who can use the new talent.

Rule: A talent can be activated on each of its controller's turns.


Questions on Wand of Dowsing Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:


Questions on Wishing Ring Edit

Q:

A:

Rule:

References Edit

  1. Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook page 12, section "Plutonium Dragon".
  2. Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook page 12, section "Charm".

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.