FANDOM


FlameTrap

Tricksters use their mischievous nature to make life extremely difficult for opponents. - AEG

Stealing things, stopping things, starting things, hiding your keys in the morning, collecting underpants for profit… for years, you've thought of these little people as pests. Now they've turned up as pesticide.

- Core Set rulebook

The Tricksters are one of the eight factions from the Core Set.

This faction features cards that bar opponents from making certain plays, or punishing those who do.

Other factions from the same set: Aliens, Dinosaurs, Ninjas, Pirates, Robots, Wizards, Zombies.

Cards Edit

Tricksters

The Tricksters have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion. They are also one of the rare factions to have received a titan from the TITANS Event Kit.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 6 play-on-base actions: Block the Path, Enshrouding Mist (2x), Flame Trap, Hideout, Pay the Piper,
  • 4 standard actions (none of them affect minions): Disenchant (2x), Mark of Sleep, Take the Shinies,
  • 0 actions that directly increase a minion's power.

Minions Edit

1x Leprechaun - power 5 - Ongoing: After another player plays a minion here with less power than this minion’s power, destroy it (resolve its ability first). FAQ

2x Brownie - power 4 - Ongoing: After another player plays a card that affects this minion, that player discards two random cards. FAQ

3x Gnome - power 3 - You may destroy a minion on this base with power less than the number of minions you have here. FAQ

4x Gremlin - power 2 - Ongoing: After this minion is destroyed, draw a card and each other player discards a random card. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Block the Path - Play on a base and name a faction. Ongoing: Minions of that faction cannot be played here. FAQ

2x Disenchant - Destroy an action that has been played on a minion or base. FAQ

2x Enshrouding Mist - Play on a base. Ongoing: On your turn, you may play an extra minion here. FAQ

1x Flame Trap - Play on a base. Ongoing: After another player plays a minion here, destroy it (resolve its ability first) and this card. FAQ

1x Hideout - Play on a base. Ongoing: If another player’s action would affect your minions here, destroy this card and the action does not affect your minions. FAQ

1x Mark of Sleep - Choose a player. That player cannot play actions on his or her next turn. FAQ

1x Pay the Piper - Play on a base. Ongoing: After another player plays a minion here, that player discards a card. FAQ

1x Take the Shinies - Each other player discards two random cards. FAQ

Titan Edit

(available in each "Smash Up TITANS" pack released with the TITANS Event Kit)

1x Big Funny Giant - Special: Instead of your regular minion play, you may play this titan on a base that has no player’s minions. Ongoing: Other players must discard a card to play a minion here. At the end of your turn, if there are no other players’ minions here, place a +1 power counter on this titan. Talent: Destroy a minion of power 2 or less here to move this titan to another base. FAQ

Tricksters

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Brownie: This is not triggered by cards that do not directly affect the Brownie, or by cards already in play that affect it.

Flame Trap, Leprechaun: The minion must be played at this card’s base, and still be at the same base with this card after the minion’s ability is resolved, to be destroyed. If the minion is immune to destruction, Flame Trap is still destroyed.

Hideout: If Hideout cancels the effects of an Ongoing ability, the cancelation lasts until the end of the current turn.

Mark of Sleep: Does not prevent using the abilities of actions already in play.

Mechanics Edit

Tricksters specialize in sabotaging and discouraging others efforts, while magnifying their own. They can punish players for affecting their minions or playing cards, which allows them to direct players towards/away from certain bases. In combination with making players discard, offers a lot of limitations of choice to opponents. There are also many actions that directly disallow opponents from doing certain things.

Tricksters also have some miscellaneous self synergy as well. Enshrouding Mist allows playing lots of minions on a certain base, Gnome allows destroying a minion with less power than minions you have on a base, and Gremlin allows you to punish other players for its self destruction.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Leprechaun Edit

Q: A low-power minion is moved to Leprechaun's base, does Leprechaun destroy it?

A: No. Leprechaun only destroys minions after they are played, not after they are moved.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play a Weed Eater on a base with an enemy Leprechaun. Weed Eater starts at power 5, so is it destroyed or not?

A: Yes. You resolve the minion's ability first, so its power drops to 3. And unless something can boost your Weed Eater's power or lower the Leprechaun's power, Weed Eater's (modified) power is less the Leprechaun's.

Rule: In play, a minion's power includes all modifiers.

Q: I play a War Raptor on a base with two War Raptors and an enemy Leprechaun. Is it destroyed or not?

A: No. You resolve the minion's ability first, so its power is increased to 5.

Rule: In play, a minion's power includes all modifiers.

Q: I play a power-5 minion on a base where another player has a power-5 Leprechaun and Sleep Spores. Is my minion destroyed?

A: Yes. Sleep Spores's ability applies immediately to your minion, so your minion has a power of 4 and is destroyed.

Rule: In play, a minion's power includes all modifiers.

Q: I play a power-5 minion on a base where another player has a power-5 Leprechaun and Hatchling. Is my minion destroyed?

A: It depends. Unlike Sleep Spores, which is applied immediately, Hatchling's ability is activated after you're done playing your minion and resolving its ability. But, Leprechaun's ability is also activated after you're done playing your minion. According to the rules, it's the current player who decides the order in which these two cards are activated. If Hatchling is activated before Leprechaun, your minion's power will be lowered to 4 and it becomes vulnerable to Leprechaun. However, if Leprechaun is activated before Hatchling, the minion survives Leprechaun's destruction and has its power lowered by 1.

Rule 1: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Rule 2: The current player decides the order of events that are supposed to happen simultaneously.

Q: If a player plays a minion (such as a Microbot Guard) to destroy the Leprechaun minion, will the Microbot Guard be destroyed after it destroys the Leprechaun?

A: Based on the wording, yes, but it's actually no: The Bigger Geekier Box ruled that Leprechaun and the minion must be on the same base after resolving the played minion's ability for the played minion to be destroyed.

Rule: Check Leprechaun's clarification.

Q: If a player plays Dusty Henry to shuffle the Leprechaun minion into its owner's deck, will Dusty Henry be destroyed after Leprechaun leaves play?

A: Based on the wording, yes, but it's actually no: The Bigger Geekier Box ruled that Leprechaun and the minion must be on the same base after resolving the played minion's ability for the played minion to be destroyed.

Rule: Check Leprechaun's clarification.

Q: If a player plays a minion on Leprechaun's base and moves Leprechaun (e.g. Bear Cavalry) to another base, will the minion be destroyed?

A: Based on the wording, yes, but it's actually no: The Bigger Geekier Box ruled that Leprechaun and the minion must be on the same base after resolving the played minion's ability for the played minion to be destroyed.

Rule: Check Leprechaun's clarification.

Q: If a player plays a minion on Leprechaun's base and moves itself (e.g. Twister) to another base, will the minion be destroyed?

A: Based on the wording, yes, but it's actually no: The Bigger Geekier Box ruled that Leprechaun and the minion must be on the same base after resolving the played minion's ability for the played minion to be destroyed.

Rule: Check Leprechaun's clarification.

Q: If a player plays Felicia Day on a different base that Leprechaun's base and therefore moves Leprechaun to its base, will Felicia Day be destroyed?

A: No. For Leprechaun's ability to activate (or any "After X, do Y" abilities for that matter), Leprechaun must "witness" the minion being played on its base when it is played even if the destruction would only happen way after that, so it must already be on Felicia Day's base right when it's played and before Felicia Day's ability is resolved. This is clearly not the case here.

Rule: Check Leprechaun's clarification.

Q: On my turn, a base with an enemy Leprechaun is 1 power away from breaking. I play a power-1 minion there. Does the base break before my minion is destroyed?

A: No. You only check if a base scores during phase 3 of a player's turn.

Rule: Before phase 3, it doesn't matter how much power each player has on each base, they will only score if they meet the requirement during phase 3, and phase 3 only.

Q: I play a low-power minion with a talent on a base with an enemy Leprechaun. Can I use its talent before it's destroyed?

A: Sadly no. While you do have to resolve your minion's immediate abilities before it's destroyed, a talent is not among the things that are resolved when the minion enters play.

Rule: When you play a card, an ability that starts with "Talent:" is never resolved immediately.

Q: Can Leprechaun destroy monsters?

A: If the monster is played by another player's card, yes because it's a minion and it's played by a player. If the monster is played by The Gauntlet's ability, no because the rulebook says so.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says. Except when the rulebook clearly addresses the issue.

Q: I play a Mimic on an enemy Leprechaun's base. Is my Mimic destroyed?

A: Supposing Leprechaun is still at power 5, then no. When you play Mimic, its ability is resolved before Leprechaun's ability, so Mimic becomes power 5 (or more, if there's a higher printed power in play!) and so the Leprechaun can't destroy it.

Rule 1: An Ongoing ability only becomes active when the card is in play.

Rule 2: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Leprechaun's base, is it still destroyed?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Brownie Edit

Q: I play a card with a talent that can affect Brownie (e.g. Snow White, Monkey on Your Back). If I use the talent on Brownie, do I discard cards?

A: From the What Were We Thinking? rulebook, playing a card with a talent and using the talent on the same turn does trigger cards that react to a "card being played". Indeed, the rulebook clarifies that if you play a card with a talent, and use the talent on the same turn to move one of your minions to Forgotten Horrors' base, it does trigger Forgotten Horrors (Reminder: "Forgotten Horrors - "Ongoing: After you play a minion here or play a card that moves your minions to here,..." So you could generalize this by saying that if Brownie triggers from another player playing a card that affects it, then Brownie also triggers from another player playing a card with a talent and using this talent on the same turn to affect Brownie. So, the answer would be yes, Brownie makes you discard a card if you use a talent, but only if the talent is used on the same turn as the card with talent is played.

A: UPDATE. Actually, The Bigger Geekier Box ruled that out. So, since talent is not activated when you play a card and since Brownie only activates from the card being played, the answer is no, you don't discard any card.

Rule: When you play a card, an ability that starts with "Talent:" is never resolved immediately.

Q: I play Assassination on a Brownie. Since Assassination only affects Brownie at the end of the turn and not after it is played, I don't have to discard any cards, right?

A: Wrong. Playing an action on a minion already counts as affecting it, so Assassination actually affects the Brownie when it is played.

Rule: Definition of "affect".

Q: I play We are Family on a Brownie. So from now on, if any other player plays a standard action that directly affects another minion on its base, I can copy it onto Brownie and force that player to discard two random cards, right? Mwahahahahahaha!!!

A: Sorry no, despite its wording, The Bigger Geekier Box clarified that the Brownie only triggers from being "directly" affected and We are Family copying an effect onto it only counts as "indirectly" affecting it.

Rule: Check Brownie's clarification.

Q: What if Brownie is affected by a base's ability that triggers when a player plays a card? (e.g. The Deep)

A: The card that affects Brownie is the base, not the card that was played by the player, so Brownie's ability doesn't trigger.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Before Unicrave scores, it is replaced by No-Moon™, which targets a base with a Brownie and places it in its owner's discard pile. Since Brownie is affected by a card (No-Moon™) played by a player (the current player), that player has to discard cards, right?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: I play a card that destroys or returns Brownie. Because Brownie is not in play anymore, I don't have to discard any cards, right?

A: Yes, you do. Brownie was triggered the moment you destroyed or returned it, so because it was triggered, its ability will be resolved even though it's no longer in play at that time.

Rule: TBD

Q: Player B plays a minion to break a base. It affects player A's card because the minion is destroyed (once the base is scored). So player B has to discard cards, right?

A: Not at all. You're confusing several things. First of all, if a player plays a minion, we don't check if the base scores until they are done playing their Play Cards phase (phase 2). Secondly, after a base scores, the minions on the base are not destroyed, they are discarded or it is also said that they "go to the discard pile", neither one is synonymous of being affected.

Rule 1: Before phase 3, it doesn't matter how much power each player has on each base, they will only score if they meet the requirement during phase 3, and phase 3 only.

Rule 2: Definition of "affect".


Questions on Gnome Edit

Q: Can I destroy one of my own minions with a Gnome?

A: Absolutely!

Rule: "A minion" means "any minion in play".

Q: I have to count the number of minions "I have there". Do minions there that I own but don't control also count?

A: No. "A minion you have" means "a minion you control (whether or not you own it)". Minions you just own but don't control don't count.

Rule: "Having" cards at a base means you control them.


Questions on Gremlin Edit

Q: If I destroy my own Gremlin, do I draw a card and all the other players discards a card?

A: Yes. A Gremlin's ability is triggered after its destruction no matter who destroys it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Why is this an Ongoing ability if it only activates once?

A: If it wasn't, it would only be resolved once when it's played and that's it. After that, any player can destroy it without triggering its ability because it's no longer active. By giving it the Ongoing qualifier, it ensures that the ability continues being active for as long as the Gremlin is in play.

Rule: N/A

Q: I have a Gremlin on a base. After it scores, does it trigger its ability?

A: No. After a base scores, cards there are "discarded", not "destroyed", so it doesn't activate Gremlin's ability.

Rule: After scoring, all cards still on that base go to their owners’ discard piles. This does not destroy them.

Q: I already have 10 cards in hand. If an opponent destroys my Gremlin, making me draw a card, is the drawn card immediately discarded instead? Do I draw it and immediately choose which card to discard? Do I keep it until the next Draw 2 Cards phase where I will need to discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: An opponent takes control of my Gremlin (Flower Child, Make Contact). If it is destroyed while they still have control of it, do I draw a card?

A: No. Under the control of another player, the card treats its new controller as if they had played it. So "you" on the minion would designate its current controller, and another player would be any player that is not the controller. So, if Gremlin is destroyed, its new controller draws a card and all other players (you included) discard a random card.

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: I have a Gremlin and Escape Hatch on the same base. If the Gremlin is destroyed, what happens?

A: Escape Hatch doesn't prevent the destruction, it just changes where the minion ends after it is destroyed. So, since Gremlin is effectively destroyed, you draw a card and each other player discards a random card.

A: UPDATE. Based on the wording, the Gremlin should count as being destroyed. However, The Bigger Geekier Box clarifies that minions retrieved with Escape Hatch aren't actually destroyed, despite the action's wording. So nothing happens because the Gremlin wasn't triggered.

Rule: Check Escape Hatch's clarification.

Q: I have a Gremlin and Medical Officer in play. If my Gremlin is destroyed and I choose to return it to my hand with Medical Officer, what happens.

A: Medical Officer prevents the Gremlin's destruction by replacing it with a "return" effect, so the Gremlin is not considered as having been destroyed and doesn't trigger.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Block the Path Edit

Q: I have minions of the same faction on a base. My opponent plays Block the Path there and names that faction. Do I have to remove the minions that are already there?

A: No, Block the Path doesn't work retroactively. It only prevents you from playing minions of that faction from the moment it is in play, so it will only concern the future minions that you will play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Can I name one of my factions?

A: Yes, but keep in mind that you will also be forbidden from playing minions of that faction there.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I named an opponent's faction and later somehow ended up with a minion of that faction in my hand. (e.g. Trade) Can I play that minion on the base with Block the Path?

A: No. The card doesn't forbid a specific player from playing minions of that faction. It just states no minions of that faction can be played there, no matter who plays them (even you). So you are not immune to Block the Path.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I'm prevented from playing Dinosaur minions because of Block the Path. I play Wildlife Preserve there. Can I now play a Dinosaur minion there?

A: No, well actually, you can try to, but your minion will be discarded without effect. Also, Wildlife Preserve only protects minions that are already in play, not in hand. Besides, Block the Path does something that's not listed in the definition of "affect" anyway.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.

Q: Can I move minions of the named faction to the base with Block the Path?

A: Yes. Block the Path only prevents minions from being played there, not moved there.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Block the Path says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Disenchant Edit

Q: Can Disenchant be used to destroy Ornate Dome or Magic Ward?

A: Yes. Ornate Dome and Magic Ward only prevents "Play on base" actions from being played on their base. Disenchant isn't such an action.

Rule: Only "play on a base" actions are played on a base.

Q: Can I use Disenchant on Shielding?

A: Yes. Shielding doesn't protect itself. Also, removing action from a minion doesn't count as affecting the minion.

Rule: Definition of "affect".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Disenchant doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied. Yes, destroying an action affects that action, but not the card (minion or base) it is on.

Rule: Definition of "affect".


Questions on Enshrouding Mist Edit

Q: When using the ability of Enshrouding Mist, do I have to play a minion on the same base with the regular minion play?

A: No. You can play your free minion on any base. The extra minion gained from Enshrouding Mist must be played on the base with Enshrouding Mist though. Also, remember that you can play your extra and free minions in any order.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Do I have to have a minion already on the base to use Enshrouding Mist's ability?

A: No. The card doesn't state that you need to have a minion there to use its ability, so you can play the extra minion even if you don't already have a minion there.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so now I can play an extra minion there on my turn, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent) and "on your turn" means "on their turn".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: Can I use this card's ability to play an extra minion multiple times in one turn?

A: No. The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook now restricts all "on your turn" abilities to a single use on each of your turns.

Rule: Each "on your turn" ability can be activated once on each of your turns.

Q: Before the base scores, I play Enshrouding Mist with a Mole. Can I play an extra minion?

A: No. Enshrouding Mist only gives you an extra minion "on your turn", i.e. during the Play Cards phase (phase 2) of your turn.

Rule: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of your turn".

Q: I play Enshrouding Mist on Ice Castle, can I now play a minion there?

A: No, well you can try, but even though Enshrouding Mist allows you to play a minion there, Ice Castle prevents it, and when cards conflict, "can't" always trumps "can". So if you do try to play it anyway, it will be discarded without effect.

Rule 1: "Can't" trumps "can".

Rule 2: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Enshrouding Mist says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Flame Trap Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base and then plays a minion there, since they're another player to me, Flame Trap should trigger and destroy their minion, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "another player" means "one of their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: I play a Zapbot on a base with Flame Trap. I resolve its ability first, so I play another Zapbot as an extra minion, and another one, and another minion of power 2 or less. After I'm done, does Flame Trap destroy all of them?

A: You've got the timing wrong. When Zapbot is played, you indeed have to resolve its ability first. But when you resolve abilities that give you extra cards, you don't play the card immediately. Instead, it is banked and you can later play the extra card. So, after your first Zapbot, you get an extra minion to play later, then Flame Trap is triggered, and destroys this Zapbot and itself. Because Flame Trap is now gone, you're free to play your extra minions there without them getting destroyed.

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box actually clarifies that extra cards can always be played immediately when you get them, so you can indeed chain minions before resolving Flame Trap. So, it's a very good question. Based on the wording, Flame Trap should trigger for each minion and destroy each of them even if Flame Trap is destroyed the first time its ability is resolved. To be determined. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: What happens if an indestructible minion is played on a base with Flame Trap? Does Flame Trap remain in play?

A: When a minion, indestructible or not, is played on that base, it triggers Flame Trap. So, after resolving the minion's ability, you must resolve Flame Trap's ability. First, you destroy the played minion. If it's indestructible, then its destruction fails. Then, regardless of whether the minion was destroyed or not, you must destroy Flame Trap.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.

Q: If I play Mechanic on Flame Trap's base, then use Mechanic's ability to play Ornate Dome from the discard pile onto Flame Trap's base, Flame Trap is now destroyed, but does it also destroy my Mechanic?

A: No. Ornate Dome destroys Flame Trap when it's played and in order for Flame Trap to destroy Mechanic, both Mechanic and Flame Trap must be on the same base, according to Flame Trap's clarification.

Rule: Check Flame Trap's clarification.

Q: Flame Trap is played on Pony Land and I already have a minion there. If I play another minion on Pony Land, does Pony Land protect my minions?

A: Yes. Pony Land is applicable as soon as you have two minions or more there. Flame Trap only triggers after you have finished resolving the new minion's ability, so it's already indestructible.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Flame Trap's base, is it still destroyed?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Flame Trap says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Hideout Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion there, it's no longer affected by my opponents' actions, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions" and "another player" means "one of their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: Does it also protect minions there that I own but don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If I play an action that would attach itself to a minion on a base with Hideout, what happens?

A: Hideout will prevent the action from being attached to that minion, so Hideout is destroyed and the action in question would go to its owner's discard pile.

Rule: Definition of "affect".

Q: Sleep Spores is currently affecting my minions. I play Hideout there. What happens? Are Hideout and Sleep Spores both destroyed?

A: Hideout is immediately destroyed and Sleep Spores stops affecting your minions for the rest of the turn.

Rule: Check Hideout's clarification.

Q: I play a Saucy Wench on a base with Hideout and destroy a minion there. Does Hideout protect against it?

A: No. Saucy Wench is a minion and Hideout only protects against opponents' actions.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If you're asking about when Hideout is played, it doesn't interact with them at all, because Hideout says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.
- If you're asking about when you copy an effect onto a minion with Hideout protecting it, then Hideout is destroyed and the minion isn't affected. Note that Hideout only protects against other player's actions, so if Hideout's controller plays a standard action, you can copy it with Dancing King and have it affect one of that player's minion, bypassing Hideout's protection because the minion is considered as being affected by its own controller's action.
- If you're asking about when a minion with Hideout protecting it is directly affected by a standard action and you want to copy that, then Hideout is destroyed, the minion isn't affected and because no minion was affected, you can't copy the effect.
- If you're asking about when an opponent's minion with Hideout protecting it is directly affected by that player's standard action and you want to copy that, then you can indeed copy it the same way.

Rule 1: Definition of "standard".

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".


Questions on Mark of Sleep Edit

Q: Does Mark of Sleep stop the player from using the talents or ongoing abilities of actions they already have in play?

A: No. Mark of Sleep only prevents them from playing actions. Actions already in play are not affected in any way.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: On my turn, I play Mark of Sleep against a player and then score a base. Can that player play a "before a base scores" or "after a base scores" action?

A: Yes. You only prevent them from playing actions on their next turn.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play Mark of Sleep against a player. When it's their turn to play, they manage to score a base. Can they play any Special actions?

A: Yes, they can. Mark of Sleep only prevents them from playing actions "on their turn", that is during the Play Cards phase (phase 2) of their turn.

Rule: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of your turn".

Q: Does Mark of Sleep prevent Argonaut from being played?

A: It depends. If Argonaut is played as a minion, Mark of Sleep does nothing to it. However, since Mark of Sleep makes the player unable to play actions, they don't have any opportunity to play an Argonaut instead of an action.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play Mark of Sleep on a player. Later, they play Force of Wil on someone. Could they do that?

A: It depends on when Force of Wil is played. If it's currently the Play Cards phase of the player who is playing Force of Wil, then no, because Mark of Sleep prohibits them from playing any action during that specific phase. At any other time, then it's perfectly legal. For example, if you play a second action after you play Mark of Sleep, then the player you targeted can indeed block you with Force of Wil. As long as it's not their next Play Cards phase, they are free to play Force of Wil on anyone.

Rule: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of your turn".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Mark of Sleep doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Pay the Piper Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base and then plays a minion there. Since they're "another player" from my point of view, they must discard a card because of Pay the Piper, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "another player" means "one of their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: Does the player choose which card they discard or does the Trickster player decide?

A: The one who played the minion and triggered the action's ability decides which card they have to discard.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play an Enchantress on Pay the Piper's base, do I draw then discard a card ? Or do I discard then draw a card?

A: You first completely resolve the Enchantress's ability, then resolve Pay the Piper's ability. So, you draw then discard a card.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: If I play Zombie Lord on Pay the Piper's base and discard a power-2 minion, can I play that minion as one of the extra minions?

A: Sure. You first resolve Zombie Lord's ability and bank extra minions to play from the discard pile, but the extra minions aren't played immediately. Then you discard a card because of Pay the Piper. When you're ready to play your extra minions, the card that you've discarded (if it's a minion of power 2 or less) can be played as one of the extra minions.

A: UPDATE. No. The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook clarifies that Zombie Lord's extra minions must be played immediately and so can't be saved (or "banked") for later. Pay the Piper will force you to discard a card AFTER Zombie Lord's ability is resolved and so you don't have any more extra minion plays from it (all unspent extra minion plays gained from Zombie Lord are lost if they aren't used immediately).

Rule: Check Zombie Lord's clarification.

Q: All I have in my hand is a bunch of Zapbots. Can I chain-play all of them on Pay the Piper's base, then discard zero cards (because I have none left)?

A: No. You must discard a card after each of your Zapbots. What happens is, you play a Zapbot and bank an extra minion (that is not played immediately), then you must discard a card. If you play another Zapbot on the same base as your extra minion, you again bank an extra minion (that is not played immediately), then you must discard a card.

A: UPDATE. Yes. The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook clarifies that extra card plays can always be played immediately when they are gained, even during phase 2. As such, you can indeed play all your Zapbots at once and then resolve Pay the Piper, which you can't pay because you won't have any cards to discard.

Rule: Extra cards can always be played immediately.

Q: If I play Mechanic on Pay the Piper's base, then use Mechanic's ability to play Ornate Dome from the discard pile onto Pay the Piper's base, Pay the Piper is now destroyed, but do I have to discard a card?

A: Yes, even though Pay the Piper is no longer in play, it was present when Mechanic is played, which is enough to trigger its ability. Then despite what happens to Pay the Piper, its ability is still resolved and you have to discard a card.

Rule: TBD

Q: If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on Pay the Piper's base, do I still have to discard a card?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Pay the Piper says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Take the Shinies Edit

Q: How do you randomly decide which cards to discard?

A: Choose your preferred method. The player could shuffle their hand face-down and discard the two top cards. The player could fan out their hand and have another player randomly choose two cards. Any random method will do.

Rule: N/A

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Take the Shinies doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Big Funny Giant Edit

Main article: Titans

Q: The card says "Special" so I can use it outside of my turn, but why does the card also say "instead of your regular minion play"?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Big Funny Giant, the condition is "instead of your regular minion play", this means that you can only activate it when you have a regular minion play available, which is only on your turn and more specifically on your Play Cards phase. It cannot be played out of turn, because, outside of your own Play Cards phase, you don't have any regular minion plays to give up.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: “Instead of your regular minion play” means instead of the normal minion play allowed during your Play Cards phase.

Q: If there's a restriction on where I can play a minion (e.g. Ice Castle, Overrun), does it also apply to Big Funny Giant if I play it instead of my regular minion play?

A: No, such a restriction only applies when you play a minion. If you convert your regular minion play into a titan play, you're playing a titan, not a minion, so the restriction doesn't apply.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says, especially when clarified in the rulebook.

Q: What happens to Big Funny Giant when the base that it's on scores?

A: It remains on that base until the step where you discard all the cards on the base. At which point it leaves play and is set aside. Any +1 power counter on it is removed.

Rule 1: During the Score Bases step where the cards are discarded, all the cards on the scored base are discarded simultaneously.

Rule 2: If, for whatever reasons, a titan must leave play, it's actually set aside near its owner's deck and any +1 power counters on it are removed.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have Big Funny Giant there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. Big Funny Giant is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if Big Funny Giant had any +1 power counters on it or gave you any total power (e.g. on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: An opponent is playing the Tricksters with their titan. Their Big Funny Giant isn't in play. There is a base where no one has a minion and I haven't played my regular minion yet, I can then invoke Big Funny Giant through its Special ability and play it there, right?

A: No, it doesn't seem like it's the intention. Out of play, "you" on cards probably refers to the player who has them physically, i.e. in their discard pile, hand, next to their deck, etc. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: If Big Funny Giant's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed on it by its own ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect, so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled).

Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: Can Big Funny Giant be played on a base with only monsters?

A: It depends. If all the monsters there are uncontrolled, then yes, there are no players' minions there, i.e. no minions there controlled by any player. If at least one monster is controlled there, then no.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: At the end of my turn, Big Funny Giant is on a base with only monsters. Can it still get a +1 power counter?

A: It depends. If all the monsters there are uncontrolled, then yes, there are no other players' minions there, i.e. no minions there controlled by any other player. If at least one monster is controlled there by another player, then no.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Another player has Big Funny Giant in play. If I play an Argonaut instead of an action on its base, do I still have to discard a card?

A: Yes. Playing an Argonaut, whether as a minion or instead of an action, still counts as playing a minion. It IS a minion after all.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Pierre Raveneau.
  • The artist for the titan (which was released after the Core Set) is Gong Studios, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • Their Hideout action shares the same name as one of the Vigilante bases.
  • The UNLUCKY box on the Flame Trap card is a reference to the Lucky Charms, a brand of cereal. Incidentally, their mascot is a Leprechaun.

In other languages Edit

Language Name Translation (if different)
Chinese 妖精 Fairies
French Petit Peuple Little People
German Gauner Rogues
Greek Κατεργάρηδες
Italian Folletti Sprites
Japanese 妖精 Fairies
Polish Szachraje
Portuguese Duendes Goblins
Russian Проказники
Spanish Duendes Goblins


Core Set

Factions: Aliens  •  Dinosaurs  •  Ninjas  •  Pirates  •  Robots  •  Tricksters  •  Wizards  •  Zombies
Mechanics: Titans (optional, since the TITANS Event Kit)

TITANS Event Kit

Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Madness  •  Titans

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again  •  World Tour: International Incident
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Smash Up Sheep Promo  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit