FANDOM


Taunter

Whether they're from the windswept plains or the noblest castles, mighty Munchkin warriors live to fight! Using their brawn and all things pointy, warriors excel at killing things, especially Monsters.

- Smash Up: Munchkin rulebook

The Warriors are one of the 8 factions from the Smash Up: Munchkin set.

The Warriors focus on playing more monsters on bases and destroying monsters on bases, as well as getting benefits from destroying monsters on bases.

Other factions from the same set: Clerics, Dwarves, Elves, Halflings, Mages, Orcs, Thieves.

Cards Edit

Warriors

The Warriors have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 3 play-on-minion actions: Dumbbells, Eternal Hero, Shield of Ubiquity,
  • 0 play-on-base actions,
  • 7 standard actions (all of them affect one or more minions): Campaign, Cleave (2x), Dungeon Bait (2x), Ruckus, War Cry,
  • 4 actions that directly increase a minion's power: Campaign, Dumbbells, Shield of Ubiquity, War Cry.

Minions Edit

1x Big Hero - power 5 - Talent: Destroy a monster here OR play a monster here. FAQ

2x Star Player - power 4 - Ongoing: After a monster is destroyed here, place a +1 power counter on this minion. FAQ

3x Berserker - power 3 - Destroy a monster here with power less than or equal to this minion to place a +1 power counter on this minion. FAQ

4x Taunter - power 2 - You may play a monster here. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Campaign - Each of your minions on a base that has a monster gains +2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

2x Cleave - Destroy a monster. You may play any treasures you get from destroying it as extra cards. FAQ

1x Dumbbells - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion has +3 power. FAQ

2x Dungeon Bait - Play a monster on a base OR destroy a minion of power 2 or less. FAQ

1x Eternal Hero - Play on one of your minions. Ongoing: When this minion goes to the discard pile, place it and this action into your hand instead. FAQ

1x Ruckus - Choose a base. Play two monsters there OR destroy all monsters there but do not collect any treasure cards. FAQ

1x Shield of Ubiquity - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion has +2 power for each monster here. FAQ

1x War Cry - Destroy a monster to add its power to a minion at that base until the end of the turn. FAQ

Warriors

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Campaign: This does not affect minions played after this card.

Mechanics Edit

Warriors specialize in playing monsters and destroying them to get power boosts (in addition to their treasures). Some cards even allow them to gain power simply from the presence of monsters.

While players could think Warriors greatly depend on Munchkin bases to have monsters around, they actually have several cards allowing them to summon monsters into play on any base.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Big Hero Edit

Q: So, this is a power 5 minion and on each of my turns, I can play a random monster there to help me. Isn't that a little OP?

A: You're confusing how monsters work. When you play a monster, you don't control it. It sits there on the base, defending it and adding its power to the breakpoint like any of the other uncontrolled monsters.

Rule: Monsters are not controlled by the player who plays them

Q: I already have ten cards in hand. What happens if I decide to use this talent and destroy a monster that grants treasures? Do I draw the treasures and immediately discard down to 10?

A: You draw the treasures and don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: Is the monster played with this card affected by Flame Trap, Leprechaun, Pay the Piper, and other cards like Leprechaun because logically, that's what the card should be saying?

A: Yes. You're considered to have played the monster, so you're treated by those cards as another player playing a minion.

Rule: Monsters are considered as minions.

Q: If I play a Web Troll, does its ability trigger?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What if a monster is played on a base where it cannot be played? E.g. Tsar's Palace.

A: The monster is discarded without resolving its effect.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.


Questions on Star Player Edit

Q: Does it also get a +1 power counter when a Ghoul is destroyed?

A: Yes. The Ghoul's ability places it after on the top of the monster deck after its destruction, but it's still treated as having been destroyed.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If Star Player's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Star Player's ability and which ones were not (e.g. if you're playing Warriors Giants Ants or Warriors Mad Scientists)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.


Questions on Berserker Edit

Q: If there's a monster of power 3 or less on its base, do I have to destroy it?

A: No. While it doesn't say "you may", "Do X to do Y" abilities imply that doing X is optional.[1]

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Q: If Berserker's ability is cancelled, are the +1 power counters placed by its ability removed?

A: No. When you place a +1 power counter, it's a definitive effect (like drawing cards, if you play Enchantress, you're not going to discard the card you drew if Enchantress's ability is cancelled), so the +1 power counters remain even if the card that placed them has its ability cancelled. Besides, how are you going to keep track of which +1 power counters were added by Berserker's ability and which ones were not (e.g. if you're playing Warriors Giants Ants or Warriors Mad Scientists)? That would be very cumbersome.

Rule: Cancelling an effect does not necessarily undo what it did.

Q: After destroying the monster, I have more than 10 cards in hand. Do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on Taunter Edit

Q: Is the monster played with this card affected by Flame Trap, Leprechaun, Pay the Piper, and other cards like Leprechaun because logically, that's what the card should be saying?

A: Yes. You're considered to have played the monster, so you're treated by those cards as another player playing a minion.

Rule: Monsters are considered as minions.

Q: If I play a Web Troll, does its ability trigger?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Campaign Edit

Q: This gives +2 power to "each of my minions". Does it also give power to minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If I play this, and later during the same turn, a monster appears on a base that had no monsters, do my minions there gain +2 power as well? If I play a minion on a base with monsters, does it also gain +2 power? If my minion is moved from a base without monsters to a base with monsters, does it gain +2 power? If my minion is moved from a base with monsters to a base without monsters, does it lose its +2 power? If all the monsters on a base are destroyed, do my minions there lose their +2 power?

A: The official answer is yes[2].

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box now rules that it only increases the power of minions currently in play at the time the card is played, and not the power of minions played afterwards.

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer card says.

Q: If the only monster on a base is a controlled monster, do my minions there still gain +2 power?

A: Yes. The card only requires a monster, it doesn't say whether it needs to be uncontrolled or not.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If my only minion on a base is a monster I control, does it gain +2 power for itself?

A: Yes. A monster under your control is treated as being one of your minions and the fact that it is a monster works for Campaign.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - Diva can't copy it because it would already be directly affected by it.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +2 power. Note that if there are several minions that are directly affected by the action on its base, Dancing King only triggers once, not once per affected minion.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +2 power.
- Funky Town can't copy it because you need to be the one who played the action and so all your minions are already directly affected by it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Cleave Edit

Q: If I destroy a monster on Bastion, I get an extra treasure from Bastion's ability. Can I also play it as an extra card with Cleave's ability?

A: Yes. That treasure is indeed one that you got from destroying that monster, so it qualifies for Cleaves ability.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: After destroying the monster, I have more than 10 cards in hand. Do I immediately discard down to 10 before I can play the treasures?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even though it's not a monster), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is not a monster), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that if the minion that gets the copy is a monster, you can't play the treasures you get from destroying it as extra cards. That's because the rest of the ability should be resolved as written, and so "You may play any treasures you get from destroying it as extra cards" should be understood as "You may play any treasures you get from destroying the minion that was directly affected as extra cards."
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is not a monster), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that if the minion that gets the copy is a monster, you can't play the treasures you get from destroying it as extra cards. That's because the rest of the ability should be resolved as written, and so "You may play any treasures you get from destroying it as extra cards" should be understood as "You may play any treasures you get from destroying the minion that was directly affected as extra cards."
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is not a monster), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that if the minion that gets the copy is a monster, you can't play the treasures you get from destroying it as extra cards. That's because the rest of the ability should be resolved as written, and so "You may play any treasures you get from destroying it as extra cards" should be understood as "You may play any treasures you get from destroying the minion that was directly affected as extra cards."

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Dumbbells Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Dumbbells says "Play on a minion", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Dungeon Bait Edit

Q: Is the monster played with this card affected by Flame Trap, Leprechaun, Pay the Piper, and other cards like Leprechaun because logically, that's what the card should be saying?

A: Yes. You're considered to have played the monster, so you're treated by those cards as another player playing a minion.

Rule: Monsters are considered as minions.

Q: If I play a Web Troll, does its ability trigger?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What if a monster is played on a base where it cannot be played? E.g. Tsar's Palace, Ice Castle.

A: The monster is discarded without resolving its effect.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is more than 2), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 2), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is more than 2), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is more than 2), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Eternal Hero Edit

Q: It tells me to play it on "one of my minions". Can I play it on a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: If you use Gimme! to destroy a minion with Eternal Hero, does the minion return to its owner's hand or not? How about Eternal Hero?

A: When you play Gimme! and destroy the minion, Eternal Hero interrupts it. So, you need to fully resolve Eternal Hero before finishing resolving Gimme!'s ability. So, you resolve Eternal Hero by placing it and the minion in their owners' hands. Once you resume resolving Gimme!, Eternal Hero isn't in play anymore and can't be transferred.

Rule: Check the Card Resolution Order.

Q: I already have ten cards in hand. Something happens (a base scores, the minion with Eternal Hero is destroyed, etc.) that allows me to place Eternal Hero and the minion into my hand. What happens? Are they discarded anyway? Or do I get them and then immediately choose cards to discard?

A: You get them back and don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards. So, if it happens during another player's turn, you keep all the cards and can therefore play your next turn with more than ten cards in hand.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: An opponent plays this card on one of their minions. If I transfer it to one of my minions, e.g. with Tinx or Rules Lawyer, I have control of it, so if my minion goes to the discard pile, Eternal Hero and my minion will both be placed in my hand, right? Or does the "Play on one of your minion" prevent me from transferring it to my minions?

A: No, transferring an action doesn't make you its controller and transferring it to a different player's minion doesn't grant that player control of the action. The action's controller simply doesn't change. Also, you can transfer it to your minions; "Play on one of your minion" is simply a restriction for when the action is played, and is no longer relevant once the action is in play and doesn't further restricts how the action can be transferred (because transferring is different than playing!) So, the player who played it still controls it. Although, if the minion does get discarded, that player must then place the minion into your hand and place Eternal Hero into theirs (this goes against the card text, because of the general rule that cards go to their owner).

Rule 1: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Rule 2: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Eternal Hero says "Play on one of your minions", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Ruckus Edit

Q: Is the monster played with this card affected by Flame Trap, Leprechaun, Pay the Piper, and other cards like Leprechaun because logically, that's what the card should be saying?

A: Yes. You're considered to have played the monster, so you're treated by those cards as another player playing a minion.

Rule: Monsters are considered as minions.

Q: What if a monster is played on a base where it cannot be played? E.g. Tsar's Palace.

A: The monster is discarded without resolving its effect.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.

Q: What happens if I play Ruckus to destroy all monsters on Bastion?

A: You don't get any treasures, not even the ones from Bastion's ability.

Rule: "Can't" trumps "can."

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even though it's not a monster), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is not a monster), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is not a monster), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is not a monster), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Shield of Ubiquity Edit

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Shield of Ubiquity says "Play on a minion", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on War Cry Edit

Q: If there's a monster in play, do I have to destroy it?

A: No. While it doesn't say "you may", "Do X to do Y" abilities imply that doing X is optional.[1]

Rule: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", doing X is optional in both cases.

Q: After destroying the monster, I have more than 10 cards in hand. Do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: First of all, War Cry affects minions twice, first by destroying one (a monster) and then by giving power to one of the remaining minions on that base. When you use any of the effect-copying cards, each one may only copy one of the two effects, either the destruction or the power boost, not both. Of course, if you have several effect-copying cards that are triggered, you may have each one copy a different effect.
If you choose to copy the destruction:
- If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even though it's not a monster), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you don't add the power of the minion that got the copy to any minion. That's because the rest of the ability should be resolved as written, and so "add its power to a minion at that base until the end of the turn" should be understood as "add the power of the minion that was directly affected to a minion at that base until the end of the turn."
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the minion that gets the copy is not a monster), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you don't add the power of the minion that got the copy to any minion. That's because the rest of the ability should be resolved as written, and so "add its power to a minion at that base until the end of the turn" should be understood as "add the power of the minion that was directly affected to a minion at that base until the end of the turn."
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the minion it is on is not a monster), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you don't add the power of the minion that got the copy to any minion. That's because the rest of the ability should be resolved as written, and so "add its power to a minion at that base until the end of the turn" should be understood as "add the power of the minion that was directly affected to a minion at that base until the end of the turn."
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it destroys one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the minion that gets the copy is not a monster), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you don't add the power of the minion that got the copy to any minion. That's because the rest of the ability should be resolved as written, and so "add its power to a minion at that base until the end of the turn" should be understood as "add the power of the minion that was directly affected to a minion at that base until the end of the turn."
If you choose to copy the power boost:
- If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power. Note that you won't destroy an additional monster for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that was copied and is what led you to add power to a minion in the first place, and so the amount of power boost is already set.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power. Note that you won't destroy an additional monster for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that was copied and is what led you to add power to a minion in the first place, and so the amount of power boost is already set.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power. Note that you won't destroy an additional monster for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that was copied and is what led you to add power to a minion in the first place, and so the amount of power boost is already set.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if it affects one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets the same amount of power. Note that you won't destroy an additional monster for affecting a second minion; that part was already resolved before the part that was copied and is what led you to add power to a minion in the first place, and so the amount of power boost is already set.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artists are John Kovalic, who is well-known for drawing the art of many boardgames including Munchkin and several of its expansions, and Gong Studios, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • The font used for the Warrior cards is Quasimodo.
  • A Web Troll is present on Cleave.
  • Halflings are present in the Dumbbells and Dungeon Bait cards.

In other languages Edit

Language Name
French Guerriers
German Krieger
Russian Воины
Spanish Guerreros


Smash Up: Munchkin

Factions: Clerics  •  Dwarves  •  Elves  •  Halflings  •  Mages  •  Orcs  •  Thieves  •  Warriors
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Monsters  •  Treasures

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Sheep!  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/17014769#17014769
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/16247336#16247336