FANDOM


Loup garou

From howling at the moon, to cowing their pack, or ripping through town, the werewolves are here to assert their place as the alphas of Smash Up. Using their explosive power to beat down opponents, the werewolves will not relent in their drive to hunt and dominate all that stand against them.

- Monster Smash rulebook

The Werewolves are one of the 4 factions from the Monster Smash set.

The Werewolves focus on getting temporary boosts of power at certain moments of the game.

Other factions from the same set: Giant Ants, Mad Scientists, Vampires.

Cards Edit

Werewolves

The Werewolves have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is the usual 30 or an average of 3 per minion. Additionally, the Werewolves have numerous abilities that boost minion power beyond its base value. They are also one of the rare factions to have received a titan from the TITANS Event Kit.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 3 play-on-minion actions: Leader of the Pack, Moontouched, Unstoppable,
  • 2 play-on-base actions: Full Moon, Marking Territory,
  • 5 standard actions (all of them affect one or more minions): Chew Toy (2x), Frenzy (2x), Let the Dog Out,
  • 3 actions that directly increase a minion's power: Frenzy (2x), Full Moon.

Minions Edit

1x Pack Alpha - power 5 - Special: Before this base scores, each of your minions here gains +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

2x Loup-Garou - power 4 - Special: Before this base scores, this minion gains +2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

3x Teenage Wolf - power 3 - Talent: This minion gains +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

4x Howler - power 2 - This minion gains +2 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

Actions Edit

2x Chew Toy - Choose one of your minions. Destroy a minion with lower power at your minion’s base. FAQ

2x Frenzy - Each of your minions with power 4 or more gains +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

1x Full Moon - Play on a base. Ongoing: Each of your minions here has +1 power. FAQ

1x Leader of the Pack - Play on a minion. Talent: If this minion has the highest power here, you may play an extra action. FAQ

1x Let the Dog Out - Choose one of your minions. Destroy any number of minions at your minion’s base whose total power is less than or equal to your minion’s power. FAQ

1x Marking Territory - Play on a base. Ongoing: At the start of your turn, if you have more total power here than each other player, reduce this base’s breakpoint to zero. FAQ

1x Moontouched - Play on a minion. Talent: If this minion has the highest power here, draw a card. FAQ

1x Unstoppable - Play on a minion. Ongoing: This minion cannot be destroyed. FAQ

Titan Edit

(available in each "Smash Up TITANS" pack released with the TITANS Event Kit)

1x Great Wolf Spirit - Special: On your turn, if you have the most power on two or more bases, you may play this titan on one of them. Ongoing: During your turn your cards may use their talents an extra time. Talent: One of your minions gains +1 power until the end of the turn. FAQ

Werewolves

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Frenzy, Pack Alpha: This does not affect minions played after this card.

Leader of the Pack, Moontouched: If you play this on another player’s minion and it has the highest power, you still get the benefit. You also get the benefit if the minion is tied for highest power.

Mechanics Edit

Werewolves are themed around temporary boosts in power (representing how werewolves only transform during the full moon). This can take many forms, boosts until the end of the turn, talent boosts each turn, and boosts as a base breaks. Because of this, Werewolves hugely favor breaking bases on their turn as that maximizes the amount of gains they have on a base. On your turn all Werewolf minions have the potential to be at 4 power (which is quite high) and exploit this by gaining many different advantages for being the most power minions at a base. This all together makes Werewolves particularly good at being first place at bases with the right timing.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Pack Alpha Edit

Q: It gives +1 power to "each of my minions". Does it also give +1 power to minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: It has a Special power that happens during a base break. Does it have to be in play to use the special or can it also be played straight from hand as a pump?

A: It must already be in play.

Rule: Abilities that say "Special: Before/after this base scores" can only be used when they're already in play.

Q: Does its ability mean as its base is about to score all your minions gain +1 or do they have +1 every turn before the base scores?

A: They only get +1 power when the base they're on is chosen to score, not every turn until their base scores.

Rule: "Before a base scores" means during the before-scoring step of any turn, the base being the one chosen to score.

Q: Before a base scores, during the step where before-scoring cards in hand are played, I play a Pack Alpha with Hidden Ninja. Is it too late now to trigger Pack Alpha's ability?

A: No, you can still activate it.

Rule: If you play a card with a Special ability and the condition is already met, you must immediately resolve the Special ability.

Q: Before the base scores, my Pack Alpha there is activated. If I manage to play a minion there before the base scores (e.g. Shinobi, Hidden Ninja), does it also get +1 power?

A: The official answer is yes[1].

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box now rules that it only increases the power of minions currently in play at the time the ability is invoked, and not the power of minions played afterwards.

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer card says.

Q: Before the base scores, my Pack Alpha there is activated and my First Mate there gains +1 power. After the base scores, I move First Mate to another base, does it keep having +1 power?

A: No. When Pack Alpha is activated, your minions only gain +1 power if they are on the base where Pack Alpha's ability was activated, so if a minion is moved to another base, it loses the +1 power because it is no longer on the base where Pack Alpha's ability was used.

A: UPDATE. Because of how The Bigger Geekier Box now rules this card, Pack Alpha should be treated as giving the +1 power to all your minions as a definitive effect, so if First Mate is moved, it keeps its +1 power boost until the end of the turn.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: Before the base scores, my Pack Alpha there is activated. Another player then moves my Pack Alpha to another base (e.g. Some Day My Prince Will Come). Do my minions on the scoring base lose the +1 power? Do my minions on Pack Alpha's new base get +1 power instead?

A: No to both. When Pack Alpha is activated, its ability designates the base where Pack Alpha currently is as the base where your minions get +1 power. Then, until the end of the turn, no matter what happens to Pack Alpha, whether it's being destroyed or moved to another base, that base remains the base where your minions get +1 power.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: Before the base scores, my Pack Alpha there is activated. Another player then cancels my Pack Alpha's ability (e.g. Potion of Paralysis). Do my minions on the scoring base lose the +1 power?

A: No. When Pack Alpha is activated, its ability designates the base where Pack Alpha currently is as the base where your minions get +1 power. Then, until the end of the turn, even if Pack Alpha is removed from play or has its ability cancelled, that base remains the base where your minions get +1 power.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.


Questions on Loup-Garou Edit

Q: It has a Special power that happens during a base break. Does it have to be in play to use the special or can it also be played straight from hand as a pump?

A: It must already be in play.

Rule: Abilities that say "Special: Before/after this base scores" can only be used when they're already in play.

Q: Does its ability mean as its base is about to score it gains +2 or does it have +2 every turn before the base scores?

A: It only gets +2 power when the base it's on is chosen to score, not every turn until its base scores.

Rule: "Before a base scores" means during the before-scoring step of any turn, the base being the one chosen to score.

Q: I am trying to figure out Loup Garou's ability. So if a base did not have enough power, his ability would not trigger right? Even if it's missing 2 power?

A: That's right. Its ability only triggers if the total power of all the players on a base matches or exceeds its breakpoint during the Score Bases phase. If it does not, the base doesn't score and Loup-Garou's ability doesn't trigger.

Rule: A base is ready to score if the total power of all the players on that base is higher or equal to its breakpoint during phase 3.

Q: Before a base scores, during the step where before-scoring cards in hand are played, I play a Loup Garou with Hidden Ninja. Is it too late now to trigger Loup Garou's ability?

A: No, you can still activate it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Before the base scores, my Loup Garou there is activated. Another player then moves my Loup Garou to another base (e.g. Some Day My Prince Will Come). Does it keep its +2 power? What if its new base is then scored, does it now have +4 power?

A: Yes and yes. When Loup Garou is activated, its ability makes it gain +2 power. So, until the end of the turn, even if Loup Garou is moved to another base, it keeps its +2 power. If Loup Garou's new base is scored on the same turn, its ability is triggered again and it gains an additional +2 power.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: Before the base scores, my Loup Garou there is activated. Another player then cancels my Loup Garou's ability (e.g. Potion of Paralysis). Does it lose the +2 power?

A: No. When Loup Garou is activated, its ability makes it gain +2 power until the end of the turn. So, until the end of the turn, even if Loup Garou has its ability cancelled, it keeps the +2 power.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.


Questions on Teenage Wolf Edit

Q: Since it has a talent, which can be activated once a turn, we concluded that the werewolf player can activate that talent to make the teenage wolf a 4 power card each of their turns. We worried though that perhaps the intent was to have the Teenage Wolf only be power 4 during the turn it was played. Are we playing correctly to activate the talent each turn if desired and make the teenage wolf a 4 power repeatedly?

A: Yes, you played it correctly. A talent can be activated on each of the controller's turn.

Rule: A talent can be activated on each of its controller's turns.


Questions on Howler Edit

Q: When you play a Howler, it automatically becomes power 4, so can I play it on Tsar's Palace?

A: No, before it's in play a Howler has a power of 2. Its ability only happens once it's in play. So you cannot play Howler on Tsar's Palace and if you actually try to, the Howler will be discarded without effect.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.

Q: I have Full Moon on Tsar's Palace, so Howler will get +1 power from it. Can I now play it on Tsar's Palace?

A: No, before it's in play a Howler has a power of 2. Its ability and any abilities in play only happen once Howler is in play. So you still cannot play Howler on Tsar's Palace and if you actually try to, the Howler will be discarded without effect.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.


Questions on Chew Toy Edit

Q: It tells me to choose "one of my minions". Can I choose a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of Diva's power. Note that you can only copy the destruction; merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it so you can't copy that part.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that you can only copy the destruction; merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it so you can't copy that part.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that you can only copy the destruction; merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it so you can't copy that part.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if you destroy one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that you can only copy the destruction; merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it so you can't copy that part.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Frenzy Edit

Q: If I play Frenzy and then play another minion of power 4 or more afterward, does the new minion get +1 power from Frenzy?

A: The official answer is yes[1].

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box now rules that it only increases the power of minions currently in play at the time the card is played, and not the power of minions played afterwards.

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer card says.

Q: I play Frenzy and boost my minions. If an opponent manages to take control of one of my boosted minions before Frenzy expires, does the minion keep its boost?

A: No. Frenzy only boosts your minions. If one of them is later controlled by another player, it's no longer your minion and Frenzy doesn't affect it anymore.

A: UPDATE. Because of how The Bigger Geekier Box now rules this card, Frenzy should be treated as giving the +1 power to all your minions as a definitive effect, that is the restriction that only your minions are affected only matters when Frenzy is played. Afterwards, if the minion's controller changes the +1 power still remains applied to it until the end of the turn.

Rule: "Until the end of the turn" means the effect persists even if the card is removed from play.

Q: It gives +1 power to "each of my minions" of power 4 or more. Does it also give +1 power to minions of power 4 or more that I own but don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I have a power 3 minion in play. I play Frenzy, so Frenzy doesn't affect it. On the same turn, I later increase my power-3 minion by 1. Does Frenzy affect it and give it an additional +1 power?

A: The official answer is yes[1].

A: UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box now rules that it only increases the power of minions currently in play at the time the card is played, and not the power of minions played afterwards. This could also extend to minions that later enter the range of Frenzy's ability. So the answer is no.

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it (and it can copy it even if its power is less than 4), Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is less than 4), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- If We are Family copies it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion it is on is less than 4), the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power. Note that while the action is restricted to a minion controlled by the action player, the effect's copy still works if applied to a minion not controlled by that player.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action, but if Funky Town does copy it (and it can copy it even if the power of the minion that gets the copy is less than 4), the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and gets +1 power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Full Moon Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have a minion there, it gets +1 power, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your minions" means "their minions".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: It gives +1 power to "each of my minions". Does it also give +1 power to minions I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: I have Full Moon on Tsar's Palace, so Howler will get +1 power from it. Can I now play it on Tsar's Palace?

A: No, before it's in play a Howler has a power of 2. Its ability and any abilities in play only happen once Howler is in play. So you cannot play Howler on Tsar's Palace and if you actually try to, the Howler will be discarded without effect.

Rule: If conditions prohibit playing a chosen card, discard it instead.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Full Moon says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Leader of the Pack Edit

Q: Based on the wording, I can play this card on another player's minion. If I do, who can use the action's talent?

A: The action's controller. By default, an action's controller is the player who played it. Even if they play it on another player's minion, they are still the action's controller and only they can use its talent.

Rule: If you play an action on another player's minion, you're still the action's controller.

Q: Can I play this card on a minion that already has a talent? Can a minion have several talents?

A: You sure can play this card on any minion, with or without a talent. Also, the minion doesn't gain the action's talent, the talent belongs to the action and can only be used by the action's controller, not the minion's controller (if they were different).

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If the minion is tied for the highest power on its base, does this action's talent still work?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If a minion with this action is on Standing Stones, can I use this action's talent twice?

A: No. Unlike how Passengers or Potion of Redundancy Potion work, the talent isn't one of that minion's abilities, so it doesn't count.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says

Q: If a minion with this action is on Changing Room, does the minion get +1 power when I use this action's talent?

A: No, Changing Room's ability only applies to the minion's talent, either an original talent or one granted by an ability-giving action. Leader of the Pack doesn't grant the minion an ability, its ability is its own.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: An opponent plays this card on one of their minions. If I transfer it to one of my minions, e.g. with Tinx or Rules Lawyer, I have control of it, so I can use its talent, right?

A: No, transferring an action doesn't make you its controller and transferring it to a different player's minion doesn't grant that player control of the action. The action's controller simply doesn't change. In summary, only they can use Leader of the Pack's talent, not you.

Rule: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Leader of the Pack says "Play on a minion", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Let the Dog Out Edit

Q: What does "total power" mean?

A: You can choose any number of minions on that base. The "total power" is the sum of all the chosen minions' powers. That sum must not exceed your minion's power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: It tells me to choose "one of my minions". Can I choose a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of Diva's power. Note that you can only copy the destruction; merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it so you can't copy that part.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that you can only copy the destruction; merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it so you can't copy that part. Also, note that if several minions are destroyed on its base, Dancing King triggers only once and only allows you to destroy one additional minion, not one per destroyed minion.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that you can only copy the destruction; merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it so you can't copy that part.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action and if you destroy one of your minions, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed, regardless of the minion's power. Note that you can only copy the destruction; merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it so you can't copy that part. Also, note that if several minions are destroyed on it, Funky Town triggers only once and only allows you to destroy one additional minion, not one per destroyed minion.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".


Questions on Marking Territory Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so if I have more power there than my opponents, the base's breakpoints is reduced to zero at the start of my turn, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "your turn" means "their turn", "you" means "they" (i.e. your opponent) and "other player" means "one of their opponents".

Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.

Q: If I am tied for the most power on the base, does this activate?

A: No. If you are tied, it means that you don't have more power than at least one player, so it's not activated.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Do I compare my total power on the base with each other player there individually or do I compare it to the combined power of all the other players?

A: You compare it with each other player individually.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I'm the only player with minions there, do I have more power than each other players there?

A: Yes.

Rule: A player with no cards on a base has 0 power there.

Q: If I'm the only player with a minion there, but that minion has 0 power, do I have more power than each other players there?

A: No, if a player has no card on a base, they have a total power of 0 there.[2]

Rule: Players with no cards on a base have zero power there.

Q: When I play the Marking Territory action card on a base, and I have the most power there, does it break this turn?

A: Unless you manage to play Marking Territory during your Start Turn phase and fulfill its requirement, which is pretty uncommon, you must have played it during your Play Cards phase (phase 2), in which case Marking Territory's ability isn't triggered because it is not the start of your turn anymore.

Rule: "At the start of your turn" means "during the Start Turn (phase 1) of one of your turns".

Q: I already have Marking Territory in play, it's the start of my turn and I have more power there than the others, so do we score the base immediately or am I allowed to play cards there before it happens?

A: The base doesn't score until it's the Score Bases phase (phase 3). So you still have to go through phase 1 and 2 before scoring the base.

Rule: Before phase 3, it doesn't matter how much power each player has on each base, they will only score if they meet the requirement during phase 3, and phase 3 only.

Q: Marking Territory was triggered at the start of my turn. If Marking Territory is destroyed or returned before we score the base, is its breakpoint still 0?

A: Yes. Marking Territory was triggered, so even if it's no longer in play, the base's breakpoint is still 0.[3]

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Marking Territory was triggered at the start of my turn. If Marking Territory is transferred to another base, is its former base's breakpoint still 0? Is its new base's breakpoint now 0?

A: Yes. Marking Territory was triggered, so even if it's no longer on it, the former base's breakpoint is still 0.[3] As for the base where you transferred to it, Marking Territory wasn't on it when Marking Territory triggered, so its breakpoint is unaffected.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Marking Territory was triggered at the start of my turn. When it's finally the Score Bases phase of my turn, if there are no minions on Marking Territory's base, do we still score it?

A: Yes. The requirement for scoring a base is if the total power on the base (here 0) meets or exceeds its breakpoint (here 0 too), then the base must be scored. So the base is scored and since no one has any minion or any power there, no one gets any VPs.

Rule 1: A base is ready to score if the total power of all the players on that base is higher or equal to its breakpoint during phase 3.

Rule 2: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on a scoring base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: If you destroy your Sprout to find and play a Puck (or Chronomage), that would give you an extra action during the "start of your turn", since that's when the minion was played. Does it mean you could then play Marking Territory as that extra action which would immediately reduce the base breakpoint to 0 (if you have more power there that the other players), since it is still the start of your turn?

A: Yes.

Rule 1: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Rule 2: During the Start Turn phase, if you play a card, it is still the start of your turn.

Q: How does Marking Territory interact with monsters on its base?

A: Marking Territory actually reduces the base's starting breakpoint (this is mentioned in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook). Monsters then add their power to that new breakpoint.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Marking Territory says "Play on a base", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Moontouched Edit

Q: Based on the wording, I can play this card on another player's minion. If I do, who can use the action's talent?

A: The action's controller. By default, an action's controller is the player who played it. Even if they play it on another player's minion, they are still the action's controller and only they can use its talent.

Rule: If you play an action on another player's minion, you're still the action's controller.

Q: Can I play this card on a minion that already has a talent? Can a minion have several talents?

A: You sure can play this card on any minion, with or without a talent. Also, the minion doesn't gain the action's talent, the talent belongs to the action and can only be used by the action's controller, not the minion's controller (if they were different).

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If the minion is tied for the highest power on its base, does this action's talent still work?

A: Yes.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I already have ten cards in hand. What happens if I use this talent to draw another card? Is it immediately discarded? Do I draw and then immediately choose a card to discard?

A: You draw it and don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: If a minion with this action is on Standing Stones, can I use this action's talent twice?

A: No. Unlike how Passengers or Potion of Redundancy Potion work, the talent isn't one of that minion's abilities, so it doesn't count.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says

Q: If a minion with this action is on Changing Room, does the minion get +1 power when I use this action's talent?

A: No, Changing Room's ability only applies to the minion's talent, either an original talent or one granted by an ability-giving action. Moontouched doesn't grant the minion an ability, its ability is its own.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: An opponent plays this card on one of their minions. If I transfer it to one of my minions, e.g. with Tinx or Rules Lawyer, I have control of it, so I can use its talent, right?

A: No, transferring an action doesn't make you its controller and transferring it to a different player's minion doesn't grant that player control of the action. The action's controller simply doesn't change. In summary, only they can use Moontouched's talent, not you.

Rule: When you transfer an action, it doesn't change controller.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Moontounched says "Play on a minion", which means that it is not a standard action.

Rule: Definition of "standard".


Questions on Unstoppable Edit

Q: One of my cards tells me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. Sacrifice), or an opponent's card forces me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. Bear Hug), or a base's ability allows me to destroy one of my minions (e.g. R'lyeh), can I target my minion with Unstoppable played on it? If so, is it destroyed? If not, does it stop the rest of the ability if there were more to it?

A: Short answer: Yes, no and it depends. Firstly, you can indeed choose any of your minions as long as it fits the card's requirement (e.g. if your minion is on R'lyeh, you can target it with R'lyeh's ability, but you can't if it was on another base, obviously), but you must choose one if you have any in play and if it's a mandatory ability (i.e. there's no "you may"). Secondly, because one of your minions is targeted for destruction, Unstoppable's ability protects it, so your minion will not be destroyed. Lastly, you must finish resolving the card that was originally invoked. If the card was the kind of card that says "Destroy a minion to do Y" or "Destroy a minion. If you do, do Y", then the effect stated as "Y" can't be done at all, simply because in the end your minion isn't destroyed. If the card says something else, such as "Destroy a minion. Do Y", "Destroy a minion and do Y", etc., the destruction isn't a pre-requisite so you resolve the rest of the card's ability.

Rule 1: The card you target may be immune to the effects of the ability you are performing, but it is still a valid target.

Rule 2: When a card says "Do X to do Y" or "You may do X to do Y", you need to completely do the effect stated as "X" before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If you're asking about when Unstoppable is played, it doesn't interact with them at all, because Unstoppable says "Play on a minion", which means that it is not a standard action.
- If you're asking about when you copy a destroy effect onto an opponent's minion with Unstoppable protecting it, then the minion isn't destroyed.
- If you're asking about when an opponent's minion with Unstoppable protecting it is directly destroyed by a standard action and you want to copy that, then it's not possible because the minion can't be destroyed and because no minion was affected, you can't copy the effect.

Rule 1: Definition of "standard".

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".


Questions on Great Wolf Spirit Edit

Main article: Titans

Q: The card says "Special" so I can use it outside of my turn, but why does the card also say "on your turn"? Aren't Special playable at any time?

A: "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Great Wolf Spirit, the condition is "on your turn", which already restricts its usage during your Play Cards phase, not at any other times. Note that it's restricted to your Play Cards phase only, not any other phases of your turn either.

Rule 1: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Rule 2: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of each of your turns".

Q: If I am tied for the highest power on a base, do I still have the highest power there?

A: Yes, you've determined which power is the highest there, and if you have it, then you literally "have the highest power there", even in case of ties.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have a minion of power 0 on a base and no player has more than 0 power there. Do I have the highest power there?

A: Yes, you've determined which power is the highest there, which is 0, and you have 0 power there, so you have the highest power. However, this is not enough to summon Great Wolf Spirit. An official answer clarifies that you also have to have at least 1 power on those bases.[4]

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I'm the only player to have any minions and/or power on a base. Do I have the highest power there?

A: Yes, you have the highest power there even when the other players have no power there.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: It's my turn, there are two bases where no players (myself included) have any minion or power. So the highest power there is 0, and I have 0 power, so I can play Great Wolf Spirit, right?

A: No, you actually have to have at least 1 total power to have the highest power on a base.[4]

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Q: Titans aren't cards, are they? They are dividers.

A: Yes, they are. For gameplay purposes, they are considered as cards. In the case of Great Wolf Spirit, it means that you can also use its talent twice on your turn.

Rule: Titans are a type of card different from minions, actions, or bases.

Q: If I have Great Wolf Spirit in play, can I also use the talent of my titans (either Great Wolf Spirit or my other titan) an extra time?

A: You can indeed use Great Wolf Spirit's talent twice. However, if you already have Great Wolf Spirit in play, you can't have another titan in play as well. Remember that you can't play a titan if you already control one.

Rule 1: Titans are a type of card different from minions, actions, or bases.

Rule 2: If you already control a titan in play, you can't play another one.

Q: I have Great Wolf Spirit in play. If I use its talent twice, do I have to give the +1 power to the same minion?

A: No, you can choose any of your minions each time, either the same one or a different one..

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Its talent allows me to give +1 power to "one of my minions". Can I give it to a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: Its Ongoing says "During your turn" (as opposed to "On your turn"), so it means that my cards can use their talents an extra time during all the phases of my turn, right? Like they could only use their talents 0 times during the Score Bases phase, now they can use it one more time than that, right?

A: No, "during your turn", while rarely used (Tenacious Z, Cool Cats’ Alley, Standing Stones), is synonymous with "on your turn", so Great Wolf Spirit's Ongoing ability is limited to your Play Cards phase, not any phase of your turn.

Rule: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of each of your turns".

Q: I have a minion with a talent on Standing Stones. I use its talent normally, then use Great Wolf Spirit's Ongoing ability to use its talent a second time, can I then use Standing Stones to use its talent a third time?

A: No, Standing Stones state that your minion can "use its talent twice", not "use its talent an extra time". In your situation and based on Standing Stones's wording, when you want to invoke Standing Stones's ability, your minion has already used its talent twice so Standing Stones's ability doesn't apply anymore. To get full effect of Standing Stones and Great Wolf Spirit, you should first use your minion's talent twice, once normally and once through Standing Stones, and then use Great Wolf Spirit to use it a third time. This would work because Great Wolf Spirit allows you to use the talent "an extra time". Granted, this is purely based on Standing Stones's wording saying "twice", but that single word literally means that Standing Stones can only be used for the second use of the minion's talent, not any extra use.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I have a minion with a talent on Standing Stones. If I have Great Wolf Spirit in play and also play Expert Timing, my minion can then use its talent four times, right?

A: It depends. If you use Standing Stones's ability for the second use of its talent, then yes. If you want to use Standing Stones's ability at any other time, no because based on its wording, Standing Stones only allows a second use of the talent, not just an extra use.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: With Great Wolf Spirit in play, if I have a minion with several talents (e.g. Potion of Redundancy Potion, The Touch, Flighterizer), can I use each of its talents an extra time, or only one of them?

A: You can use each of its talents an extra time.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: It says "my cards" can use their talent twice. Can I also use the talents of cards I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your cards" are cards you control, whether or not you own them. A card you own but don't control isn't yours. Besides talents can only be used by their controllers and only on their Play Cards phase.

Rule 1: "Your card" means "a card that you control".

Rule 2:A talent can be activated on each of its controller's turns.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have Great Wolf Spirit there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. Great Wolf Spirit is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if Great Wolf Spirit had any +1 power counters on it and/or gave you any total power (e.g. on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: An opponent is playing with the Werewolves with their titan. Their Great Wolf Spirit isn't in play. It's my Play Cards phase and I have the most power on two or more bases, I can then invoke Great Wolf Spirit through its Special ability and play it, right?

A: No, it doesn't seem like it's the intention. Out of play, "you" on cards probably refers to the player who has them physically, i.e. in their discard pile, hand, next to their deck, etc. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Alex Stone.
  • The artist for the titan (which was released after Monster Smash) is Gong Studios, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • Teenage Wolf is a reference to the movie "Teen Wolf" (1985) with Michael J. Fox.
  • The moon icon in the art of Moontouched bears strong resemblance to the backside of the vest character Iori Yagami from The King of Fighters wears.
  • A Microbot Guard is the Teenage Wolf's Chew Toy.
  • A Gremlin and a Gnome are being attacked in the Let the Dog Out card.

In other languages Edit

Language Name
French Loup-garous
German Werwölfe
Italian Lupi Mannari
Spanish Hombres lobo


Monster Smash

Factions: Giant Ants  •  Mad Scientists  •  Vampires  •  Werewolves
Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Titans (optional, since the TITANS Event Kit)

TITANS Event Kit

Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Madness  •  Titans

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Sheep!  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/16247336#16247336
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/17221120#17221120
  3. 3.0 3.1 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/26164574#26164574
  4. 4.0 4.1 https://www.reddit.com/r/smashup/comments/8dewln/questions_on_time_box_cthulhu_creampuff_man/dxp22nr/