FANDOM


Neophyte

Wizards use their arcane knowledge to secure whatever cards you may need at the time. - AEG

Presto! Wizards conjure what they need with actions galore. They just keep pulling things out of their hats, so watch their hands. Or their hats... or that big portal to another reality they just opened in your kitchen.

- Core Set rulebook

The Wizards are one of the eight factions from the Core Set.

The Wizard faction focuses on drawing cards and extra plays, enabling a player to play several cards per turn.

Other factions from the same set: Aliens, Dinosaurs, Ninjas, Pirates, Robots, Tricksters, Zombies.

Cards Edit

Wizards

The Wizards have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is unusually low at only 24 or an average of 2.4 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3. They are also one of the rare factions to have received a titan from the TITANS Event Kit.

Among their actions, there are:

  • 0 play-on-minion actions,
  • 0 play-on-base actions,
  • 10 standard actions (1 that affects one or more minions, in bold): Mass Enchantment, Mystic Studies (2x), Portal, Sacrifice, Scry, Summon (2x), Time Loop, Winds of Change,
  • 0 actions that directly increase a minion's power.

Minions Edit

1x Archmage - power 4 - Ongoing: You may play an extra action on each of your turns. FAQ

2x Chronomage - power 3 - You may play an extra action this turn. FAQ

3x Enchantress - power 2 - Draw a card. FAQ

4x Neophyte - power 2 - Reveal the top card of your deck. If it is an action, you may place it in your hand or play it as an extra action. Otherwise, return it to the top of your deck. FAQ

Actions Edit

1x Mass Enchantment - Reveal the top card of each other player’s deck. Play one revealed action as an extra action. Return unused cards to the top of their decks. FAQ

2x Mystic Studies - Draw two cards. FAQ

1x Portal - Reveal the top five cards of your deck. Place any number of minions revealed into your hand. Return the other cards to the top of your deck in any order. FAQ

1x Sacrifice - Choose one of your minions. Draw cards equal to its power. Destroy that minion. FAQ

1x Scry - Search your deck for an action and reveal it to all players. Place it into your hand and shuffle your deck. FAQ

2x Summon - Play an extra minion. FAQ

1x Time Loop - Play two extra actions. FAQ

1x Winds of Change - Shuffle your hand into your deck and draw five cards. You may play an extra action. FAQ

Titan Edit

(available in each "Smash Up TITANS" pack released with the TITANS Event Kit)

1x Arcane Protector - Special: After you play your fifth or higher card in a turn, you may play this titan. Ongoing: You have +1 power here for every two cards in your hand. Talent: Draw a card. FAQ

Wizards

Bases Edit

Clarifications Edit

Here are the official clarifications as they appear in The Bigger Geekier Box rulebook:

Arcane Protector: You may play this right after your fifth (or later) card in the turn, no matter what phase of the turn it is.

Archmage, Chronomage: This extra action may still be played even if Archmage is destroyed the turn it is played.

Mass Enchantment: You must play the chosen card immediately. You control the card and how it is resolved.

Neophyte: You must play, place or return the action immediately.

Mechanics Edit

Wizards first specialty is on drawing lots of cards, especially focused on actions, this pairs with having a tremendous number of ways to play extra cards (with again, a slight focus on actions). This leads to many long combo turns that are often reliant on card draw gambles (especially when using other players deck or recycling your hand). Since Wizards are counter balanced by having weaker minion power, and few cards that allow them to do more than play other cards, they are heavily reliant on who they are paired with to be effective.

Because of Wizards huge amount of card draw potential they are very quick at cycling through their deck, with even some capacity to search their deck and use other peoples cards. This all combines to make Wizards a deck focused on increasing your options and how *much* you can do each turn if not adding a lot of variety themselves.

External Strategy Guides Edit

FAQ Edit

Questions on Archmage Edit

Q: If I manage to play Archmage during the Check for Scoring phase, perhaps as a result of a "special" ability, do I get the extra action play?

A: No. "On each of your turns" means during the Play Cards phase (phase 2) of each of your turns.

Rule: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of your turn".

Q: Its ability really works like a talent. Why is it an ongoing?

A: Talents appeared in the first expansion (Awesome Level 9000), while Archmage is from the Core Set. Also, while it works like a talent, it is not considered one, e.g. for Standing Stones, Changing Room, Potion of Redundancy Potion.

Rule: N/A

Q: Do you get the extra action immediately when you play it? Or at the start of your next turn?

A: You get the extra action on each of your turns, including the one when Archmage is played.

Rule: An Ongoing ability becomes active when the card is in play.

Q: I have an Archmage in play. On my turn, I haven't played the extra action yet and Archmage is destroyed. Do I still get to play an extra action?

A: Well, it depends. Archmage's ability is an "on your turn" ability. So, on your Play Cards phase, if you want to use its ability, you have to declare that you activate it, the ability does not activate itself by default (like how talents work). Once you've activated it, the extra action is "banked" for you to use later during that same phase; you don't play the extra action right away! Even if Archmage is destroyed, the extra action still remains "banked" and so you're free to play it. However, if you forgot to activate Archmage's ability before you destroy it, you haven't banked any extra action and so its ability is lost. UPDATE. The Bigger Geekier Box simplifies it that you can play the extra action even if Archmage is destroyed on the turn it is played.

Rule: Check Archmage's clarification.

Q: I have an Archmage in play and already played the extra action. If I play Doctor When or Do Over! to replay Archmage, do I get another extra action?

A: Yes. Even though it's the same minion, its ability is "refreshed" and can be used again.

Rule: When a card leaves play there is no memory of its previous status, so that even if it is replayed in the same turn it is treated as a new card, not the same card.


Questions on Chronomage Edit

Q: If I manage to play a Chronomage during the Check for Scoring phase, perhaps as a result of a "special" ability, do I get the extra action play?

A: Yes, and you have to play the extra action immediately or not at all.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: At the start of my turn, if I change a Sprout into a Chronomage, do I get the extra action play?

A: Yes, and you have to play the extra action immediately or not at all, you cannot save it for your upcoming Play Cards phase.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.


Questions on Enchantress Edit

Q: If I play an Enchantress on Haunted House, do I draw then discard a card ? Or do I discard then draw a card?

A: You draw then discard a card. Haunted House's ability is resolved after a minion is played. So, you first completely resolve the Enchantress's ability, then resolve Haunted House's ability.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".

Q: At the start of my turn, I have a Sprout in play and already ten cards in my hand. If I replace the Sprout with an Enchantress, I will have to draw an eleventh card. Is it immediately discarded instead? Or do I draw one and must immediately choose which card to discard?

A: You don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on Neophyte Edit

Q: I play Neophyte and reveal an action. I haven't played my normal action yet, can I still play the revealed action?

A: Yes. Extra and normal actions can be played in any order.

Rule: You can play extra minions and actions at any time during Phase 2 or not at all.

Q: With Neophyte, I reveal an action from the top of my deck. Do I have to play it immediately? Or because it's an extra, can I play it later on my turn?

A: You must either play it as an extra action (if possible), place it in your hand (if it is an action) or put it on top of your deck. You cannot just hold the card and wait until you're ready.

Rule: You must play an extra card immediately if the extra card play effect refers to a specific card.

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: There are three different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's an action and you choose to place it into your hand, it goes to its owner's hand, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.
- If it's an action and you choose to play it, then you control it like any card you play.
- If it's a minion, or an action that you don't want to either draw or play, it goes to the top of your deck, that's because, while the other players can see who owns the card, the card is merely revealed and doesn't change location.

Rule 1: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Rule 2: Cards you don’t own that are merely revealed in your hand or deck stay there.

Rule 3: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Q: At the start of my turn, I have a Sprout in play and already ten cards in my hand. If I replace the Sprout with a Neophyte, I will have reveal the top card of my deck. If it is an action, what happens if I decide to place it in my hand? Is it immediately discarded instead? Or do I draw it and must immediately choose which card to discard?

A: You don't discard any card until your upcoming Draw 2 Cards phase. At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.


Questions on Mass Enchantment Edit

Q: If I play Mass Enchantment, then choose an action card from an opponent to play, what happens?

A: You play the action as if you control it. If it is played on another card (a base or a minion), it stays and you still control it. When the action goes to the discard pile, it goes to its owner's discard pile.

Rule 1: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Rule 2: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: If I play an opponent's "instant" action, where is it discarded? My discard pile or theirs?

A: It's discarded in its owner's discard pile. If your opponent is the owner, it's discarded in theirs (usually the case). If you're the action's owner (very unlikely), it goes in yours.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: If I reveal a card owned by a different player than the deck it is revealed from, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's an action and you choose to play it, then you control it like any card you play.
- Otherwise, it goes to the top of the deck it was revealed from, that's because, while the other players can see who owns the card, the card is merely revealed and doesn't change location.

Rule 1: Cards you don’t own that are merely revealed in your hand or deck stay there.

Rule 2: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Q: If I play a Madness card from the top of an opponent's deck and choose to draw two cards, where is the Madness card discarded?

A: You played it, so you've got control of, which makes you its owner as well. Non-standard actions are discarded into their owner's deck, so the Madness card goes into your discard pile, not the other player's.

Rule: The current controller of each Madness card is treated as its owner as well.

Q: With Mass Enchantment, can I play an action from an opponent's faction and have it affect the minions of my factions? Or do the minion and action have to be from the same faction?

A: Any card from one faction can freely affect cards from other factions, not just their own. So if your minions are eligible targets for your opponent's action, you can target them.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: My opponent used Mass Enchantment to play a "play on a base" action from my deck (e.g. Difference Engine). I play Steam Man on that base. Since Difference Engine is one of my actions (even though another player played it). Steam Man has +1 power, right?

A: Nope. Because they played it, they became Difference Engine's controller, so it's "their" action now, not yours.

Rule 1: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Rule 2: "Your action" means "an action that you control".

Q: At the end of their turn, my opponent drew the last two cards from their deck, so their deck is empty. If I play Mass Enchantment and they have no card to reveal, what happens?

A: Your opponent needs to shuffle their discard pile to make a new deck. Then, they'll reveal the top card of that deck.

Rule: If you need to draw, reveal, search for or look at a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile and put it on the table face down—that’s your new deck.

Q: With Mass Enchantment, I play an opponent's action. The action tells me to do something else instead of discarding it. For example, placing it in my hand (Friendship Power), under my deck (Time Walk), on the top of my deck (Favor of Dionysus),... Do I place the card in my hand/deck?

A: If you choose to place the action in your hand or deck, it actually goes to its owner's hand or deck instead of yours.

Rule: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: I play Mass Enchantment and an opponent reveals a special action. Can I play it?

A: Yes, but the consequences will vary over whether the Special's condition is met or not. If it's not the case when it's revealed, then the action is discarded without effect. If it's the case, then you can play it, e.g. before a base scores, you play Mass Enchantment with a Mole and an opponent reveals a "before a base scores" action.

Rule: If a Special must be played when its conditions don’t allow it, it is discarded instead.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Mass Enchantment doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Mystic Studies Edit

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Mystics Studies doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Portal Edit

Q: If I play Portal, then somehow only get to reveal less than five cards, what happens?

A: Shuffle your discard pile into a new deck, then reveal the remaining number of cards. Note that Portal will not be in the discard pile until the ability finishes resolving, and it should end up in the new discard pile.

Rule 1: If you need to draw, reveal, search for or look at a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile and put it on the table face down—that’s your new deck.

Rule 2: On-play actions are discarded after they are resolved.

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: There are two different paths for the revealed card:
- If it's a minion and you choose to place it into your hand, it goes to its owner's hand, that's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.
- If it's an action, or a minion that you don't want to draw, it goes to the top of your deck, that's because, while the other players can see who owns the card, the card is merely revealed and doesn't change location.

Rule 1: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Rule 2: Cards you don’t own that are merely revealed in your hand or deck stay there.

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Portal doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Sacrifice Edit

Q: Does Sacrifice work with a minion in my hand and on the table? Or only on the table?

A: The minion you choose must be in play.

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control". (and a minion is only controlled if it's in play)

Q: If I choose a minion that "can't be destroyed" or has a similar ability (e.g. Warbot or Buccaneer), does Sacrifice still let me draw cards?

A: Yes. Drawing the cards and destroying your minion are independent. So even if the minion is not destroyed, you still draw your cards.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.

Q: It tells me to choose "one of my minions". Can I choose a minion I own that I don't control?

A: No. "Your minions" are minions you control, whether or not you own them. A minion you own but don't control isn't yours.

Rule: "Your minion" means "a minion that you control".

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: If I take control of an opponent's minion (Kitty Cats, Flower Child), can I use Sacrifice on it?

A: Yes. If you have control of it, then it's one of "your minions" and is therefore an eligible minion for Sacrifice.

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control".

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: - If Diva copies it, Diva is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't be able to draw additional cards for the destroyed Diva, because you've already drawn the cards before you're able to copy the destroy effect. Also, note that merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it, so you can't copy that part.
- If Dancing King copies it onto a minion (it can be itself), that minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't be able to draw additional cards for the destroyed minion, because you've already drawn the cards before you're able to copy the destroy effect. Also, note that merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it, so you can't copy that part.
- If We are Family copies it, the minion it is on is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't be able to draw additional cards for the destroyed minion, because you've already drawn the cards before you're able to copy the destroy effect. Also, note that merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it, so you can't copy that part.
- With Funky Town, you can only copy it if you're the one who played the action, but if Funky Town does copy it, the minion is considered as indirectly affected by the action and is destroyed. Note that you won't be able to draw additional cards for the destroyed minion, because you've already drawn the cards before you're able to copy the destroy effect. Also, note that merely choosing a minion doesn't count as affecting it, so you can't copy that part.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Scry Edit

Q: If I play Scry but my deck is empty, do I shuffle the discard pile into my deck or do I get nothing?

A: Shuffle your discard pile into a new deck, then search it. Note that Scry will not be in the discard pile until the ability finishes resolving, and it should end up in the new discard pile.

Rule: If you need to draw, reveal, search for or look at a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile and put it on the table face down—that’s your new deck.

Q: I play Scry. There's only a few cards left in my deck and they are all minions, do I shuffle the discard pile into my deck or do I get nothing?

A: Unfortunately, you get nothing. Your deck is not "empty", so no reshuffle. You get no action, but you still need to shuffle your deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I reveal a card I don't own, what happens?

A: It goes to its owner's hand. That's because the other players can see who owns the card and the card changes location.

Rule 1: When a card that others can see goes to the hand, deck or discard pile, it goes to the one belonging to the card’s owner.

Q: After playing this card, I (somehow) have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Scry doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Summon Edit

Q: During base scoring, I manage to play Summon with a Mole. I play a Neophyte as the extra minion, reveal the top card of my deck and play it since it's an action. Did I play correctly? Are extra cards only playable during the normal phase of my turn? And aren't special cards the only cards that are playable out of turn?

A: You played correctly. If a card that was played outside the Play Cards phase grants extra cards to play, then you can play them immediately. If those extra cards also grant more extra cards, you can also play them immediately. Note that if you don't play those extra cards immediately, they are lost.

Rule 1: Do exactly what the card says.

Rule 2: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: Can I play Summon without having any minions in my hand? How do I prove that I don't have a minion to play?

A: You can play Summon without playing a minion and there's no reason to prove you can't do it. Actually, when you play Summon (during your Play Cards phase), it just grants you the possibility to play an extra minion later. You don't even have to play one if you don't want to.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.

Q: I played Summon but then decided I don't want to play a minion anymore. Do I still have to play one?

A: No. Even though it says "Play an extra minion", you don't have to do it. Abilities that grant extra cards to play just increases the number of cards of that type that you can play for the turn, but they never force you to play one. This is an exception to the rule that tells you that you must follow a card's ability.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Summon doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied. Note that merely playing a minion doesn't count as affecting it.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Time Loop Edit

Q: With Time Loop, can I play only one action instead of two?

A: Sure. Time Loop just gives you the right to play two more actions this turn. You can play just one or none at all.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Time Loop doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Winds of Change Edit

Q: If I play Winds of Change while my deck is empty, do I shuffle my hand and discard pile together to make a new deck?

A: No. When your deck is empty, it remains empty until you need to draw, search, reveal or look at a card from it. In the case of Winds of Change, you first shuffle your hand into your empty deck. So, only your hand becomes your new deck. Draw cards from it. If that new deck has fewer than five cards, draw all of it, then shuffle your discard pile to make a new deck, and continue drawing from it. Note that Winds of Change will not be in the discard pile until the ability finishes resolving, and it should end up in the new discard pile.

Rule 1: Do exactly what a card says.

Rule 2: If you need to draw, reveal, search for or look at a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile and put it on the table face down—that’s your new deck.

Q: How does this interact with the Disco Dancers' mechanic and Funky Town's ability?

A: It doesn't interact with them at all, because Winds of Change doesn't affect any minions in play and so its effect can't be copied.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Arcane Protector Edit

Main article: Titans

Q: The card says "Special" so I can use it at any time, even outside of my turn, right?

A: Be careful, "Special" does not mean the card can be played out of turn. "Special" simply means that it's an ability that can be used when its condition is met. Whether it can be used out of turn, activated straight from your hand/discard pile, or if it can only be used when it's already in play (essentially being a synonym of Ongoing), it entirely depends on the wording. In the case of Arcane Protector, the condition is "After you play your fifth or higher card in a turn", so you can play it immediately after you play your fifth or higher card on any player's turn. So Arcane Protector can indeed be played on any turn, but only after you've played five or more cards in that same turn.

Rule: A Special ability will describe how it can be used.

Q: I don't get its Ongoing ability. How much power do I have when it's out?

A: At any moment of the game, you have to count the number of cards in your hand, divide that number by two and round it down. So if you have zero or only one card in hand, you have +0 power on Arcane Protector's base; if you have two or three cards in hand, you have +1 power on its base; if you have four or five cards in hand, you have +2 power on its base; if you have six or seven cards in hand, you have +3 power on its base; if you have eight or nine cards in hand, you have +4 power on its base; etc. Every two cards, you gain one more power.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: What is the power added to? Does it increase one of my minions power?

A: It is added to your total power on the base. It doesn't increase any of your minions' power. You just calculate your total power on the base normally, then add the power from Arcane Protector's Ongoing ability.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: A base is chosen to score. I have no minions there, but I have Arcane Protector there. It is similar to a minion, right? So I can still get VPs from the base if 0 is among the top three total power, right?

A: No and no. Arcane Protector is a titan, not a minion. To be eligible to receive VPs, you must have at least one minion or at least 1 total power on the base. If you have no minions and your total power there is 0, then you can't receive any VPs from the base. Now, if Arcane Protector had any +1 power counters on it and/or gave you any total power (e.g. from its Ongoing ability or on Kaiju Island), then you would have at least 1 total power and be eligible. Otherwise, no.

Rule: A player must have at least one minion or 1 total power on the base to be eligible to receive victory points.

Q: An opponent is playing with the Wizards with their titan. Their Arcane Protector isn't in play. I manage to play five or more cards in a turn, I can then invoke Arcane Protector through its Special ability and play it, right?

A: No, it doesn't seem like it's the intention. Out of play, "you" on cards probably refers to the player who has them physically, i.e. in their discard pile, hand, next to their deck, etc. To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: TBD

Q: After using its talent, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: You don't discard any card until your next Draw 2 Cards phase (so not any Draw 2 Cards phase!). At that point, you will indeed need to draw two cards and discard down to 10 if you have more than 10. That's the only moment where you must discard down to 10. At any other time, you keep your hand of cards.

Rule: On your Draw 2 Cards phase, if you have more than 10 cards in your hand after drawing, discard until you have exactly 10 cards left in your hand.

Q: I play an Argonaut. It counts as both playing a minion and playing an action, so it counts as playing two cards for the purpose of summoning Arcane Protector, right?

A: No, it counts as playing one card, it's just treated as if you played one card that counts as both a minion and an action.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Carmen Cianelli.
  • The artist for the titan (which was released after the Core Set) is Francisco Rico Torres, who also designed the art of many other factions.
  • School of Wizardry may be a reference to Hogwarts.

In other languages Edit

Language Name Translation (if different)
Chinese 法师
French Sorciers
German Zauberer
Greek Μάγοι
Italian Maghi
Japanese 魔術師 Magicians
Polish Czarodzieje
Portuguese Magos Magicians
Russian Волшебники
Spanish Magos


Core Set

Factions: Aliens  •  Dinosaurs  •  Ninjas  •  Pirates  •  Robots  •  Tricksters  •  Wizards  •  Zombies
Mechanics: Titans (optional, since the TITANS Event Kit)

TITANS Event Kit

Mechanics: +1 Power Counters  •  Madness  •  Titans

Sets

Main: Core Set  •  Awesome Level 9000  •  The Obligatory Cthulhu Set  •  Science Fiction Double Feature  •  The Big Geeky Box  •  Monster Smash  •  Pretty Pretty Smash Up  •  Smash Up: Munchkin  •  It’s Your Fault!  •  Cease and Desist  •  What Were We Thinking?  •  Big in Japan  •  That ’70s Expansion  •  The Bigger Geekier Box  •  Oops, You Did It Again
Promotional: All Stars Event Kit  •  Sheep!  •  TITANS Event Kit

References Edit