FANDOM


Archmage art

Wizards use their arcane knowledge to secure whatever cards you may need at the time. - AEG

Presto! Wizards conjure what they need with actions galore. They just keep pulling things out of their hats, so watch their hands. Or their hats... or that big portal to another reality they just opened in your kitchen.

- Core Set rulebook

The Wizards are one of the eight factions from the Core Set.

The Wizard faction focuses on drawing cards and extra plays, enabling a player to play several cards per turn.

Other factions from the same set: Aliens, Dinosaurs, Ninjas, Pirates, Robots, Tricksters, Zombies.

Cards Edit

Wizards

The Wizards have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is unusually low at only 24 or an average of 2.4 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Minions Edit

1x Archmage - power 4 - Ongoing: You may play an extra action on each of your turns.

2x Chronomage - power 3 - You may play an extra action this turn.

3x Enchantress - power 2 - Draw a card.

4x Neophyte - power 2 - Reveal the top card of your deck. If it is an action, you may place it in your hand or play it as an extra action. Otherwise, return it to the top of your deck.

Actions Edit

1x Mass Enchantment - Reveal the top card of each other player's deck. Play one revealed action as an extra action. Return unused cards to the top of their decks.

2x Mystic Studies - Draw two cards.

1x Portal - Reveal the top five cards of your deck. Place any number of minions revealed into your hand. Return the other cards to the top of your deck in any order.

1x Sacrifice - Choose one of your minions. Draw cards equal to its power. Destroy that minion.

1x Scry - Search your deck for an action and reveal it to all players. Place it into your hand and shuffle your deck.

2x Summon - Play an extra minion.

1x Time Loop - Play two extra actions.

1x Winds of Change - Shuffle your hand into your deck and draw five cards. You may play an extra action.

Wizards

Bases Edit

Mechanics Edit

Wizards first specialty is on drawing lots of cards, especially focused on actions, this pairs with having a tremendous number of ways to play extra cards (with again, a slight focus on actions). This leads to many long combo turns that are often reliant on card draw gambles (especially when using other players deck or recycling your hand). Since Wizards are counter balanced by having weaker minion power, and few cards that allow them to do more than play other cards, they are heavily reliant on who they are paired with to be effective.

Because of Wizards huge amount of card draw potential they are very quick at cycling through their deck, with even some capacity to search their deck and use other peoples cards. This all combines to make Wizards a deck focused on increasing your options and how *much* you can do each turn if not adding a lot of variety themselves.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Archmage Edit

Q: If I manage to play Archmage during the Check for Scoring phase, perhaps as a result of a "special" ability, do I get the extra action play?

A: No. "On each of your turns" means during the Play Cards phase (phase 2) of each of your turns.

Rule: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of your turn".

Q: Its ability really works like a talent. Why is it an ongoing?

A: Talents appeared in the first expansion (Awesome Level 9000), while Archmage is from the Core Set. Also, while it works like a talent, it is not considered one, e.g. for Standing Stones, Changing Room, Potion of Redundancy Potion.

Rule: N/A

Q: Do you get the extra action immediately when you play it? Or at the start of your next turn?

A: You get the extra action on each of your turns, including the one when Archmage is played.

Rule: An Ongoing ability becomes active when the card is in play.

Q: I have an Archmage in play. On my turn, I haven't played the extra action yet and Archmage is destroyed. Do I still get to play an extra action?

A: Well, it depends. Archmage's ability is an "on your turn" ability. So, on your Play Cards phase, if you want to use its ability, you have to declare that you activate it, the ability does not activate itself by default (like how talents work). Once you've activated it, the extra action is "banked" for you to use later during that same phase; you don't play the extra action right away! Even if Archmage is destroyed, the extra action still remains "banked" and so you're free to play it. However, if you forgot to activate Archmage's ability before you destroy it, you haven't banked any extra action and so its ability is lost.

Rule: An extra card isn't played right away, unless it was gained by a Special ability or outside the Play Cards phase.

Q: I have an Archmage in play and already played the extra action. If I play Doctor When or Do Over! to replay Archmage, do I get another extra action?

A: Yes. Even though it's the same minion, its ability is "refreshed" and can be used again.

Rule: When a card leaves play, you don't treat playing it again as the same card, even if it is physically the same.[1]


Questions on Chronomage Edit

Q: If I manage to play a Chronomage during the Check for Scoring phase, perhaps as a result of a "special" ability, do I get the extra action play?

A: Yes, and you have to play the extra action immediately or not at all.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: At the start of my turn, if I change a Sprout into a Chronomage, do I get the extra action play?

A: Yes, and you have to play the extra action immediately or not at all, you cannot save it for your upcoming Play Cards phase.

Rule: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.


Questions on Enchantress Edit

Q: If I play an Enchantress on Haunted House, do I draw then discard a card ? Or do I discard then draw a card?

A: You draw then discard a card. Haunted House's ability is resolved after a minion is played. So, you first completely resolve the Enchantress's ability, then resolve Haunted House's ability.

Rule: When a card says "After X, do Y", you need "X" to happen and be resolved completely before you do the effect stated as "Y".


Questions on Neophyte Edit

Q: I play Neophyte and reveal an action. I haven't played my normal action yet, can I still play the revealed action?

A: Yes. Extra and normal actions can be played in any order.

Rule: You can play extra minions and actions at any time during Phase 2 or not at all.

Q: With Neophyte, I reveal an action from the top of my deck. Do I have to play it immediately? Or because it's an extra, can I play it later on my turn?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Mass Enchantment Edit

Q: If I play Mass Enchantment, then choose an action card from an opponent to play, what happens?

A: You play the action as if you control it. If it is played on another card (a base or a minion), it stays and you still control it. When the action goes to the discard pile, it goes to its owner's discard pile.

Rule 1: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Rule 2: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.

Q: If I play an opponent's "instant" action, where is it discarded? My discard pile or theirs?

A: It's discarded in its owner's discard pile. If your opponent is the owner, it's discarded in theirs (usually the case). If you're the action's owner (very unlikely), it goes in yours.

Rule: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.

Q: If I play a Madness card from the top of an opponent's deck and choose to draw two cards, where is the Madness card discarded?

A: Since you played it, you discard it. So, it's discarded into your discard pile.

Rule: If you discard a Madness card, it goes into your discard pile.

Q: With Mass Enchantment, can I play an action from an opponent's faction and have it affect the minions of my factions? Or do the minion and action have to be from the same faction?

A: Any card from one faction can freely affect cards from other factions, not just their own. So if your minions are eligible targets for your opponent's action, you can target them.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: My opponent used Mass Enchantment to play a "play on a base" action from my deck (e.g. Difference Engine). I play Steam Man on that base. Since Difference Engine is one of my actions (even though another player played it). Steam Man has +1 power, right?

A: Nope. Because they played it, they became Difference Engine's controller, so it's "their" action now, not yours.

Rule 1: When a player plays a card, they become the card's controller.

Rule 2: "Your action" means "an action that you control".

Q: At the end of their turn, my opponent drew the last two cards from their deck, so their deck is empty. If I play Mass Enchantment and they have no card to reveal, what happens?

A: Your opponent needs to shuffle their discard pile to make a new deck. Then, they'll reveal the top card of that deck.

Rule: If you need to draw, reveal, search for or look at a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile and put it on the table face down—that’s your new deck.

Q: With Mass Enchantment, I play an opponent's action. The action tells me to do something else instead of discarding it. For example, placing it in my hand (Friendship Power), under my deck (Time Walk), on the top of my deck (Favor of Dionysus),... Do I place the card in my hand/deck?

A: If you choose to place the action in your hand or deck, it actually goes to its owner's hand or deck instead of yours.

Rule: When a card leaves play, the card goes back to its owner's hand, deck, or discard pile.

Q: I play Mass Enchantment and an opponent reveals a special action. Can I play it?

A: It depends. Special actions can only be played under specific circumstances. If it's not the case when it's revealed, you can't play it. If it's the case, then you should be able to play it. (e.g. before a base scores, you play Mass Enchantment with a Mole and an opponent reveals a "before a base scores" action) To be confirmed. TBD

Rule: If the action starts with "Special:", it can only be played at special times.


Questions on Mystic Studies Edit

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: No. You only discard down to 10 during the Draw Cards phase (phase 4) of your turn.

Rule: You only discard down to 10 cards during the Draw Cards phase (phase 4) of your turns; after drawing your two cards.


Questions on Portal Edit

Q: If I play Portal, then somehow only get to reveal less than five cards, what happens?

A: Shuffle your discard pile into a new deck, then reveal the remaining number of cards. Note that Portal will not be in the discard pile until the ability finishes resolving, and it should end up in the new discard pile.

Rule 1: If you need to draw, reveal, search for or look at a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile and put it on the table face down—that’s your new deck.

Rule 2: On-play actions are discarded after they are resolved.


Questions on Sacrifice Edit

Q: Does Sacrifice work with a minion in my hand and on the table? Or only on the table?

A: The minion you choose must be in play.

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control". (and a minion is only controlled if it's in play)

Q: If I choose a minion that "can't be destroyed" or has a similar ability (e.g. Warbot or Buccaneer), does Sacrifice still let me draw cards?

A: Yes. Drawing the cards and destroying your minion are independent. So even if the minion is not destroyed, you still draw your cards.

Rule: Cards are resolved entirely.

Q: After playing this card, I have more than 10 cards in hand, do I immediately discard down to 10?

A: No. You only discard down to 10 during the Draw Cards phase (phase 4) of your turn.

Rule: You only discard down to 10 cards during the Draw Cards phase (phase 4) of your turns; after drawing your two cards.

Q: If I take control of an opponent's minion (Kitty Cats, Flower Child), can I use Sacrifice on it?

A: Yes. If you have control of it, then it's one of "your minions" and is therefore an eligible minion for Sacrifice.

Rule: "Your minion" means "any minion you control".


Questions on Scry Edit

Q: If I play Scry but my deck is empty, do I shuffle the discard pile into my deck or do I get nothing?

A: Shuffle your discard pile into a new deck, then search it. Note that Scry will not be in the discard pile until the ability finishes resolving, and it should end up in the new discard pile.

Rule: If you need to draw, reveal, search for or look at a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile and put it on the table face down—that’s your new deck.

Q: I play Scry. There's only a few cards left in my deck and they are all minions, do I shuffle the discard pile into my deck or do I get nothing?

A: Unfortunately, you get nothing. Your deck is not "empty", so no reshuffle. You get no action, but you still need to shuffle your deck.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Summon Edit

Q: During base scoring, I manage to play Summon with a Mole. I play a Neophyte as the extra minion, reveal the top card of my deck and play it since it's an action. Did I play correctly? Are extra cards only playable during the normal phase of my turn? And aren't special cards the only cards that are playable out of turn?

A: You played correctly. If a card that was played outside the Play Cards phase grants extra cards to play, then you can play them immediately. If those extra cards also grant more extra cards, you can also play them immediately. Note that if you don't play those extra cards immediately, they are lost.

Rule 1: Do exactly what the card says.

Rule 2: Extra cards gained outside the Play Cards phase must be played immediately or not at all.

Q: Can I play Summon without having any minions in my hand? How do I prove that I don't have a minion to play?

A: You can play Summon without playing a minion and there's no reason to prove you can't do it. Actually, when you play Summon (during your Play Cards phase), it just grants you the possibility to play an extra minion later. You don't even have to play one if you don't want to.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.

Q: I played Summon but then decided I don't want to play a minion anymore. Do I still have to play one?

A: No. Even though it says "Play an extra minion", you don't have to do it. Abilities that grant extra cards to play just increases the number of cards of that type that you can play for the turn, but they never force you to play one. This is an exception to the rule that tells you that you must follow a card's ability.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.


Questions on Time Loop Edit

Q: With Time Loop, can I play only one action instead of two?

A: Sure. Time Loop just gives you the right to play two more actions this turn. You can play just one or none at all.

Rule: Extra cards are always optional.


Questions on Winds of Change Edit

Q: If I play Winds of Change while my deck is empty, do I shuffle my hand and discard pile together to make a new deck?

A: No. When your deck is empty, it remains empty until you need to draw, search, reveal or look at a card from it. In the case of Winds of Change, you first shuffle your hand into your empty deck. So, only your hand becomes your new deck. Draw cards from it. If that new deck has fewer than five cards, draw all of it, then shuffle your discard pile to make a new deck, and continue drawing from it. Note that Winds of Change will not be in the discard pile until the ability finishes resolving, and it should end up in the new discard pile.

Rule 1: Do exactly what a card says.

Rule 2: If you need to draw, reveal, search for or look at a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile and put it on the table face down—that’s your new deck.

Trivia Edit

  • The artist is Carmen Cianelli.

References Edit

  1. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/25184584#25184584

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.