FANDOM


Walker art

“They’re coming to get you, Player 2.” It's hard to keep a good walker down. Zombies just keep coming back, and sometimes they come in waves. Sending zombies to the discard pile isn't “so long,” it's just “see you later!”

- Core Set rulebook

The Zombies are one of the eight factions from the Core Set.

The Zombie faction utilizes the discard pile, allowing players to regain cards or play them directly from the discard pile.

Cards Edit

Zombies

The Zombies have the usual 10 minions and 10 actions. The total minion base power (not counting any abilities) is slightly lower than usual at only 27 or an average of 2.7 per minion compared to the usual 30 and 3.

Minions Edit

1x Zombie Lord - power 5 - You may play an extra minion of power 2 or less from your discard pile on each base where you have no minions.

2x Grave Digger - power 4 - You may place a minion from your discard pile into your hand.

3x Tenacious Z - power 2 - Special: During your turn you may play this card from your discard pile as an extra minion. You may only use the ability of one Tenacious Z each turn.

4x Walker - power 2 - Look at the top card of your deck. Discard it or return it to the top of your deck.

Actions Edit

2x Grave Robbing - Place a card from your discard pile into your hand.

1x Lend a Hand - Shuffle any number of cards from your discard pile into your deck.

1x Mall Crawl - Search your deck for any number of cards with the same name and place them into your discard pile. Shuffle your deck.

1x Not Enough Bullets - Place any number of minions with the same name from your discard pile into your hand.

1x Outbreak - Play an extra minion on a base where you have no minions.

1x Overrun - Play on a base. Ongoing: Other players cannot play minions on this base. Destroy this action at the start of your turn.

2x They Keep Coming - Play an extra minion from your discard pile.

1x They're Coming To Get You - Play on a base. Ongoing: On your turn, you may play a minion here from your discard pile instead of from your hand.

Zombies

Bases Edit

Mechanics Edit

Zombies specialize in reviving minions from the discard pile, often as extra minion plays. With some added discard resortation to the hand and actions, but primarially minions. To maximize the advantage of this Zombies are one of the few factions that allow you to discard your own cards as having a storage of minions in your discard piles can be to your advantage.

Because of a heavy reliance on the discard pile Zombies often have a slow start to the game. Tenacious Z is a strong source of the zombies spam potential, so there are a couple cards in their deck to help find them in the deck faster and to directly discard them, as it is actually more valuable in the discard pile than in your hand.

Zombies also have some specialty in bringing minions onto bases where you have none as well. Which assists with their overall focus on extra minion plays. To counteract this advantage, Zombies have a slightly lower minion total power.

FAQ Edit

Questions on Zombie Lord Edit

Q: I play Zombie Lord. I have no minion on a base with Leprechaun, so I play a power-2 minion there that is destroyed. Can I keep playing it again and again on the same base because I still have no minion there?

A: Zombie Lord grants only one extra minion per base where you have no minions. If that minion is destroyed, you've used up your extra minion play there.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Do I have to play all the extra minions at the same time?

A: No. Minions are never played at the same time. You play them one at a time.

Rule: Cards are played one at a time.[1]

Q: If I play Zombie Lord and swarm every other base with Minions with immediate abilities, do I get to choose in which order they trigger?

A: Actually, the minions aren't played at the same time, but one after another. Each time you play one, resolve its ability, that's the order they activate.

Rule: Cards are played one at a time.[1]

Q: Can an extra power-2 minion be played on a base where it would get +1 power and therefore actually be a power-3 minion? (e.g. The Central Brain)

A: Yes. Playing a minion of power 2 or less means playing a minion while its printed power is 2 or less.

Rule: If it's not in play, a minion's power is equal to its printed power.

Q: If I play Zombie Lord on Pay the Piper's base and discard a power-2 minion, can I play that minion as one of the extra minions?

A: Sure. You first resolve Zombie Lord's ability and bank extra minions to play from the discard pile, but the extra minions aren't played immediately. Then you discard a card because of Pay the Piper. When you're ready to play your extra minions, the card that you've discarded (if it's a minion of power 2 or less) can be played as one of the extra minions.

Rule: Unless gained from a Special ability or outside the Play Cards phase, extra cards aren't played immediately.

Q: I play Zombie Lord. I use one of my extra minion plays to play Captain Ahab. I use its talent to move it to a base where I have an action attached to it, but no minions. Can I play another extra minion on Captain Ahab's previous base? Before moving Captain Ahab to its new base, there was no minion there, so I had the right to play an extra minion there. Now that Captain Ahab is there, can I still play the extra minion?

A: No to both. For the first question, you can no longer play an extra minion granted by Zombie Lord on Captain Ahab's previous base, because you used up your extra minion play for that base for Captain Ahab. For the second question, once a base which was eligible gets one of your minions, it is no longer valid for Zombie Lord's ability.[2]

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I play Zombie Lord. I use one of my extra minion plays to play Captain Ahab. I use its talent to move it to a base where I have a Zeppelin but no minions. I then use the Zeppelin's talent to move Captain Ahab to a third base (for example, Zombie Lord's). Can I play an extra minion on Zeppelin's base even though Captain Ahab moved to and then from it?

A: TBD

Rule: TBD
A: I have Cyclone in play as my only minion on its base. I play Zombie Lord on another base. I use Cyclone's talent to move itself to another base. Can I play an extra minion on Cyclone's former base?


A: TBD

Rule: TBD


Questions on Grave Digger Edit

Q: Do I get to use the minion's ability, the one I brought back from Grave Digger's ability, when I eventually play it?

A: Yes.

Rule: When you play a card, resolve the played card's ability completely.

Q: It doesn't say to reveal the card you place in your hand, so I don't have to reveal it if I don't want to, right?

A: No. Discard piles are "public knowledge", so you can check which cards are in any player's discard pile at any time. If you take a card out of the discard pile, players are supposed to know what card was taken out. So, you should reveal it. Otherwise, how are you supposed to prove that you didn't put an action instead of a minion?

Rule: Anyone may look through any discard pile at any time.


Questions on Tenacious Z Edit

Q: Is this card only playable from the discard pile?

A: No, it has no such restriction. If it's in your hand, you can play it normally, ignoring its special ability.

Rule: To play a minion, choose a minion in your hand and play it on a base.

Q: How do you play the special ability of the Tenacious Z minion, exactly?

A: On your Play Cards phase, you may use the special ability of one Tenacious Z to play it from your discard pile as if it were an extra minion play. You do not need to use up a normal or extra minion play to play Tenacious Z in this manner. Also, if you've already use a Tenacious Z's ability, you can no longer you any Tenacious Z's abilities.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Do I need to have a minion play available to use Tenacious Z's ability?

A: No. Tenacious Z's ability can be used without spending one of your extra or free minion play.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: If I play a Tenacious Z "normally", can I still play another Tenacious Z from my discard pile?

A: Yes. Since the first Tenacious Z was played without using its special ability, you can activate the other Tenacious Z's ability to play it from your discard pile.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: I haven't used a Tenacious Z's ability yet. On my turn, during the scoring of a base, can I use a Tenacious Z's ability to play it on the scoring base? It is a special after all.

A: No. Tenacious Z's ability says "during your turn", which should actually be worded as "on your turn". That is to says that a Tenacious Z's ability can only be used during the Play Cards phase (phase 2) of your turn. If you're resolving the scoring of a base, you're actually in phase 3.

Rule: "On your turn" means "during the Play Cards (phase 2) of your turn".

Q: Can I use a Tenacious Z's ability twice on the same turn, as long as it's the same Tenacious Z?

A: No. The limit is on the number of times a Tenacious Z's ability is used. Even if it's the same Tenacious Z, you've already used a Tenacious Z's ability so you can't use it anymore.

Rule: When a card leaves play, you don't treat playing it again as the same card, even if it is physically the same.[3]


Questions on Walker Edit

Q: Do I have to reveal the card to other players if I choose to return it?

A: No. You only "look" at a card, so show it to no one else.

Rule: If you "look" at a card, show it to no one else.


Questions on Grave Robbing Edit

Q: It doesn't say to reveal the card you place in your hand, so I don't have to reveal it if I don't want to, right?

A: No. Discard piles are "public knowledge", so you can check which cards are in any player's discard pile at any time. If you take a card out of the discard pile, players are supposed to know what card was taken out. So, you should reveal it. Otherwise, how are you supposed to prove that you didn't put an action instead of a minion?

Rule: Anyone may look through any discard pile at any time.


Questions on Lend a Hand Edit

Q: When I play Lend a Hand to shuffle cards from my discard pile, can I choose the Lend a Hand I just played as one of them?

A: No. Action cards go to the discard pile after the ability resolves. If you chose to reshuffle your entire discard pile, then Lend a Hand would be the only card left there.

Rule: On-play actions are discarded after they are resolved.

Q: Does the player choose which cards to shuffle or are they picked randomly?

A: The player chooses which cards to shuffle.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Mall Crawl Edit

Q: How does Mall Crawl work?

A: Search for any number of cards from your deck. The cards that you search for must all have one same name. Put those cards in your discard pile, then shuffle your deck. Any number can be from zero to your entire deck, but it must satisfy the condition that all the cards must share one same name. You must still shuffle your deck, even if you put zero cards into the discard pile this way.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: Does "any number of cards with the same name" mean any cards with a duplicate? So I can play one Mall Crawl and discard all my Tenacious Z and Walker, right?

A: No. "Any number of cards with the same name" means you can take any number of cards, but all these cards must have the same name as one another.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Not Enough Bullets Edit

Q: It doesn't say to reveal the cards you place in your hand, so I don't have to reveal them if I don't want to, right?

A: No. Discard piles are "public knowledge", so you can check which cards are in any player's discard pile at any time. If you take a card out of the discard pile, players are supposed to know what card was taken out. So, you should reveal it. Otherwise, how are you supposed to prove that you didn't put an action instead of a minion or that the minions you took all have the same name?

Rule: Anyone may look through any discard pile at any time.


Questions on Outbreak Edit

Q: Does the outbreak card let you play a minion on every base you don't have a minion on or just one base?

A: Just one.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.


Questions on Overrun Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base and then wants to play a minion there. Since they're "another player" from my point of view, that's illegal because of Overrun, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So "other players" means "their opponents".
Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.
Q: If I have a Sprout in play and an opponent plays Overrun on its base, does it cancel Sprout's ability? Or since Sprout's ability replaces it with another minion, I can still replace it, right? That's not playing a minion.

A: At the start of your turn, you have to activate Sprout's ability and do as much as you can, while resolving it completely, even if some part of it can't be done. Firstly, you destroy it (no problem here). Secondly, you search your deck for a minion of power 3 or less (no problem here). Thirdly, you play it on Sprout's former base (problem: Overrun forbids it, so you can't play it. What happens to that minion is to be confirmed TBD). Fourthly, you shuffle your deck (no problem here).

Rule 1: Cards are resolved entirely.

Rule 2: "Can't" trumps "can".

Q: I don't get why it's Ongoing? Do they mean that the card is destroyed at the start of your next turn and that the ongoing part remains in effect even after the card is destroyed? If not, then what is the point of it being Ongoing?

A: It's an Ongoing, so its effect lasts for as long as the card is in play. If it wasn't, it's effect would only be active when you play it and immediately stop. The Ongoing part is here to remind you that it lasts for several turns, then it's destroyed after a complete round of turns.

Rule: An Ongoing ability lasts for as long as the card is in play.


Questions on They Keep Coming Edit

Q: When you play a minion from the discard pile, do their effects happen? Like "draw a card", "gain one extra action",...

A: Yes.

Rule: When you play a card, resolve the played card's ability completely.


Questions on They're Coming To Get You Edit

Q: An opponent plays this card on a base, so now on my turn I can play a minion from my discard pile instead of my hand, right?

A: No. Your opponent played the action, so they control it, and therefore the action only addresses them and the ability must be interpreted from their point of view. So this ability must be understood as "On their turn, they may play a minion here from their discard pile instead of from their hand."
Rule: "You" on a minion or action means the controller of the card.
Q: Does They're Coming to Get You allow you to play minions from your discard pile with just the regular minion play, or does this bonus extend to extra minion plays generated by abilities?

A: It extends to extra minion plays as well. If you are granted the possibility to play any minion from your hand (either as your free minion, or as an extra minion), you can decide to play one from your discard pile instead of from your hand with this card.

Rule: Do exactly what the card says.

Q: All my Zapbots are in the discard pile and I haven't played my free minion yet. With They're Coming to Get You, can I play use my free minion to play a Zapbot, then use my extra minion play to play another Zapbot, then another, and so on?

A: No. The ability of They're Coming to Get You can only be used once per turn, so only one of your Zapbots can be played this way. This was confirmed by an official source.[4]

Rule: Do exactly what the card official answer says.

Trivia Edit

  • The artists are Dave Allsop (the faction cards) and Conceptopolis (the base cards).

References Edit

  1. 1.0 1.1 https://boardgamegeek.com/article/19200177#19200177
  2. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/15827615#15827615
  3. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/25184584#25184584
  4. https://boardgamegeek.com/article/11915821#11915821

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.